Digicel Internet Thread

Archvile

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby Archvile » February 28th, 2016, 11:47 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
felix wrote:I SEE MASSEY OFFERING FIBRE NOW INTERNET AND TV ANYBODY HAVE ANY INFO

Is true bai!!

PNM win de election too!

HAHHAHA

Archvile

Postby Archvile » February 28th, 2016, 11:47 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
felix wrote:I SEE MASSEY OFFERING FIBRE NOW INTERNET AND TV ANYBODY HAVE ANY INFO

Is true bai!!

PNM win de election too!

HAHHAHA

Postby cinco » February 28th, 2016, 1:44 pm

Still waiting on digicel senior tech to explain

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 28th, 2016, 5:31 pm

Used Digicel internet yesterday for the first time. Funny how this ~15Mbps connection runs better than Flow's advertised 45Mbps.

Postby M_2NR » February 28th, 2016, 5:56 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:
kadijahveronica wrote:Digicel senior tech here ,so I am seeing everyone takkin about using their routers instead of the digicel router again I stress its not recommended as your Mbps will dramatically drop if you pull from our router in need be cases ( magic jack,usunblock) u can use your router as a portal jus my attaching it to our Ethernet port but any major bandwidth usage you should connect directly to our 2.4 GHz signal on our router thanks again

Need some clarification on this also, why would that happen? This is a red flag for me as i prefer using my own router for the 5Ghz band among other things.

Folks doh worry with these ppl, it rel sad d misdirection of the ppl that suppose to be supporting ya.

on the huawei configure the WAN as a bridge
then hook up your router (should be Gigabit if your Internet is 100Mbps+) to the Modem via the router's WAN port.
The configure your router's WAN to be PPPoE and put in username and password for your account.

Basically when you do this your router itself gets the WAN ip, performing routing and NAT functions and the Huawei is purely an ONT.

Appreciate you breaking it down, thanks. Good to know i can always depend on a tuner as opposed to the actual company rep.

Think you've officially appointed yourself as the tuner digicel tech support. :ugeek:

Also guys just signed up & digicel no longer requires a security deposit so installation is free. Not sure for how long & they have no online payment system as yet, was told it's being worked on still.

once a man set it up and it working, u all in the game.
Too bad if you try something similar on the flow moca setup, it panics and locks down the entire setup.

I honestly can't wait for Digicel to reach by us.

You all saw this:
http://www.speedtest.net/awards/tt/isp

Fastest ISP Digicel

1. Digicel 86.69 / 42.21 Mbps
2. Flow 41.84 / 5.12 Mbps
3. Blink 9.38 / 3.76 Mbps
4. Green Dot 7.89 / 6.49 Mbps

:shock: :shock: :shock:

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » March 2nd, 2016, 9:05 pm

South peeps who are anxiously waiting for an end to high pings and low bandwidth.
I heard Digi will be spreading some love to San Fernando and environs soon.
Keep the faith.

kai

Postby kai » March 5th, 2016, 11:29 pm

What range do you get from the digicel router?

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » March 6th, 2016, 10:55 pm

I haven't had hands-on experience with the PLAY modem (8245Q) but I have heard from others that it is very directional coverage. (Main signal from the internal antenna goes out through the front panel into the room. So place the unit so that the white panel faces into the area you want to cover! (a bit like a Claymore mine).

I do have experience with the 8245H (Business) ONT. I put the ONT outside my 2nd floor window and had good signal line-of-sight with good performance out to about 80+metres. I couldn't go any further due to walls and ocean preventing longer test distances! I will repeat the test again and try to document performance. Maybe someone else could do a similar test on the PLAY ONT? Remember to test it at 2.4 and 5.8GHz!

Comparing INDOOR coverage is like comparing apples and oranges because every house is different. But my neighbors to the left, right and above, have no problem using the WiFi either. At the weekends, I notice between 15 and 25 devices connected wirelessly. iPhones, iPads, PCs and Android devices.

kai wrote:What range do you get from the digicel router?

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 6th, 2016, 10:55 pm

anyone know when theyll be coming to santa cruz? i preregistered already but not hearing anything

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 7th, 2016, 1:02 am

What is the government doing about TSTT? These people are giving secret deals to customers calling everybody soon as they get the info that Flow has digitalized an area. TSTT will call people secretly and then offer cheaper packages.

Yet people in areas that don't have flow these people are not given the same prices. Isn't this against the law? and if not against the law isn't this as low and unprofessional as a monkey tossing feces at people in a zoo?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 7th, 2016, 1:14 am

kai wrote:What range do you get from the digicel router?

wireless wise...

with no major obstructions in a home where the router was on the second storey of the building...

I managed to get almost a 1/4 mile.

My personal router in the housing scheme area I live which is obstructed by many walls and other interference...

managed to get maybe 60-100 feet.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » March 7th, 2016, 7:52 am

The real question is, where does it stack up on these lists?

CNET Reviews:
http://www.cnet.com/topics/networking/best-networking-devices/802-11ac/
WiFi24GHz.JPG
WiFi5GHz.JPG
WiFi_Storage.JPG

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 7th, 2016, 11:26 am

which would be better for gaming? FLow or Play?

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2016, 11:43 am

metalgear2095 wrote:which would be better for gaming? FLow or Play?

The way flow has been treating folks these days green dot better than them for gaming

Postby mero » March 7th, 2016, 12:08 pm

How Is 4g for online gaming? Would green dot be better?

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2016, 12:09 pm

Green dot sucks actually but flow sucking worse than them of late

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 7th, 2016, 10:50 pm

mero wrote:How Is 4g for online gaming? Would green dot be better?

4G HSPA is pretty bad for online gaming, not something you want to go anywhere near.

4G LTE on the other hand is a lot better though its borderline when it comes to games. But it will work alright most of the time. Location also plays a role some people play just fine on 4G LTE and others not all about location. Some places the 4G LTE can almost get pings like a land line.

Ideally what you want is DSL or FTTH for games. But DSL too slow for modern day downloading of games. Well DSL isn't slow but TSTT packages is real sheit.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 14th, 2016, 2:57 pm

If the Digicel wifi internet signal from their router isn't reaching certain parts of my house, what's the best solution to extending it wirelessly?

felix

Postby felix » March 14th, 2016, 3:24 pm

where digicel reach now ?????

dartzreunion

Postby dartzreunion » March 14th, 2016, 4:08 pm

nowhere really, i called in last week and they said only like a few areas like north and stuff..didn't really listen after the lady said not close to starting south.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 14th, 2016, 6:32 pm

felix wrote:where digicel reach now ?????

Last I heard was St Anns

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » March 14th, 2016, 9:37 pm

Petit Valley also

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 16th, 2016, 12:33 pm

Not very far.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 16th, 2016, 10:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Not very far.

Postby adnj » March 19th, 2016, 4:28 am

daxt0r wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:
kadijahveronica wrote:Digicel senior tech here ,so I am seeing everyone takkin about using their routers instead of the digicel router again I stress its not recommended as your Mbps will dramatically drop if you pull from our router in need be cases ( magic jack,usunblock) u can use your router as a portal jus my attaching it to our Ethernet port but any major bandwidth usage you should connect directly to our 2.4 GHz signal on our router thanks again

Need some clarification on this also, why would that happen? This is a red flag for me as i prefer using my own router for the 5Ghz band among other things.

Folks doh worry with these ppl, it rel sad d misdirection of the ppl that suppose to be supporting ya.

on the huawei configure the WAN as a bridge
then hook up your router (should be Gigabit if your Internet is 100Mbps+) to the Modem via the router's WAN port.
The configure your router's WAN to be PPPoE and put in username and password for your account.

Basically when you do this your router itself gets the WAN ip, performing routing and NAT functions and the Huawei is purely an ONT.

Exactly. Huawei does support bridging.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » March 22nd, 2016, 11:07 am

Meanwhile in south we have nuttin, no massy, no play, no blink fibre. I blame the gouvament.

Daran

Postby Daran » March 22nd, 2016, 11:10 am

amd-dude wrote:Meanwhile in south we have nuttin, no massy, no play, no blink fibre. I blame the gouvament.

Spoke to someone in Digicel recently and she said fibre has already been run in almost all major towns in south. They're currently testing and should be launching in a few months.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 22nd, 2016, 11:19 am

amd-dude wrote:Meanwhile in south we have nuttin, no massy, no play, no blink fibre. I blame the gouvament.

Check the lines in your area look for the brand new black box one similar to what TSTT uses to connect people's hones to.

With Digicel you will notice its brand new and its fibre. Its easy to spot Digicel's fibre lines. Once that there you golden!!

If not keep in mind Trinidad is like 4000 Square KM with many undeveloped areas.

Daran

Postby Daran » March 22nd, 2016, 11:26 am

This isn't a Massy thread, but I've also found out Massy is 6-12 months behind Digicel in most of South.

dartzreunion

Postby dartzreunion » March 22nd, 2016, 12:11 pm

Daran wrote:

Spoke to someone in Digicel recently and she said fibre has already been run in almost all major towns in south. They're currently testing and should be launching in a few months.

hmm strange...i called Digicel and the person i spoke to said they didn't run any wires in south yet.Also spoke to a guy from Massy who it turns out lives near me (Siparia) and word is they should be in the area around the ending of August this year.