Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Altec55

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Altec55 » May 2nd, 2016, 11:18 am

aaron17 wrote:I have a question ...may be an age old one..

On a 2 lane highway , I know the signs say keep left except when overtaking. But they also say the speed limit is 80Kmph.
So both lanes are 80 and the left lane is 80 and less? But if you want to take over on the right lane , you are going more than 80? So yea that's my question.....

Speed limit is a different from keeping left except when overtaking. Yes the speed limit is still 80. Keeping left except when overtaking has to do with creating an environment for safe driving.

Speed limit is 80 yes
Driving in the right lane when a vehicle behind you wants to pass is illegal yes (note that speed limit doesn't matter)
Passing on the left lane is illegal yes

People try to use the speed limit to justify blocking the right lane (illegal) and causing traffic.

A mere 10 years ago you could flash your lights and a man will put on his indicator and move to the left lane like normal and smooth driving on both lanes. Today flashing your lights has no effect and therefore people drive in and out, this therefore creates unsafe conditions.

Postby aaron17 » May 2nd, 2016, 11:20 am

80 is fine by me ..any one want to answer my question?

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » May 2nd, 2016, 11:26 am

if someone in the left lane driving 40 and you mash out and rip past him at 60, no you are not above 80.

if someone driving 80 and you mash out and pass him at 81, yes you are above 80.

whats the question?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 2nd, 2016, 11:31 am

Boi that 80km really sickening .Atleast i have an excuse to reach work late

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 2nd, 2016, 11:35 am

If anything I wish that the ticket system was tiered... Something like 80-90 $100, 90-100 $500, 100-120 $1000, 120+ $4000

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 2nd, 2016, 11:36 am

kamakazi wrote:If anything I wish that the ticket system was tiered... Something like 80-90 $100, 90-100 $500, 100-120 $1000, 120+ $4000

Thats another form off tax form off the PNM

Postby Rovin » May 2nd, 2016, 11:42 am

allyuh really think d govt concerned bout accidents\road deaths , its really another form of bringing revenue since oil $ low , they already reap millions from drunk drivers

anyway , what will bring in alot of revenue is ticketing d retards who from d minute they enter d highway they drive on d right lane @ 60 or less & they eh moving left no matter what

also ticket all d idiots who drive on d shoulder - that is a another big $ maker ....

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 2nd, 2016, 11:47 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:allyuh really think d govt concerned bout accidents\road deaths , its really another form of bringing revenue since oil $ low , they already reap millions from drunk drivers

anyway , what will bring in alot of revenue is ticketing d retards who from d minute they enter d highway they drive on d right lane @ 60 or less & they eh moving left no matter what

also ticket all d idiots who drive on d shoulder - that is a another big $ maker ....

three police toting submachine guns stop mih fm driving on the shoulder once... :o

that was ah big deterrent...

Postby K74T » May 2nd, 2016, 12:07 pm

The officers will be deployed with the speed guns from tomorrow and not today as previously reported.

Postby aaron17 » May 2nd, 2016, 12:21 pm

Altec55 wrote:if someone in the left lane driving 40 and you mash out and rip past him at 60, no you are not above 80.

if someone driving 80 and you mash out and pass him at 81, yes you are above 80.

whats the question?

The question is: if the limit for both lanes are 80 and if the left lane can accommodate for under 80 only?

Postby j.o.e » May 2nd, 2016, 12:40 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Altec55 wrote:if someone in the left lane driving 40 and you mash out and rip past him at 60, no you are not above 80.

whats the question?

The question is: if the limit for both lanes are 80 and if the left lane can accommodate for under 80 only?

Dude you wrote regs ? The rules of the road haven't changed, they just have a a new way to measure speed

Stay left except when overtaking in other words

Overtaking ? no
Move over.
It's that's simple. And don't say you're doing 80 so you can stay right .... Let the police enforce speed limits.

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » May 2nd, 2016, 12:59 pm

aaron17 wrote:

whats the question?

Question 1: Yes the speed limit is 80 for both lanes
Question 2: It most probably can, because everyone who wants to pass now has to pass on the big empty left lane.

The problem isn't the speed limit, the problem is people's attitudes. What is the problem with keeping left except when overtaking? If i doing 120 and i see someone coming up behind me, i move to the left, sometimes it doesn't require a change in speed, sometimes i speed up to get in front of someone on the left, sometimes i slow down to get behind someone on the left.

So the real question is: "Why don't people keep left or move over if someone wants to pass?"

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 2nd, 2016, 1:01 pm

kamakazi wrote:If anything I wish that the ticket system was tiered... Something like 80-90 $100, 90-100 $500, 100-120 $1000, 120+ $4000

This day and age you want a police officer use equipment, stop you, and spend time to issue you a ticket for $100????
Be reasonable. Everything has a cost. Start the bidding at $1000 and go up

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 2nd, 2016, 1:11 pm

All this in a country where we cannot even get people to STOP utilitizing the shoulder as their own lane!

What they need to do now is FINE people $ 8,000.00 if they get caught on the shoulder!

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 2nd, 2016, 1:14 pm

TurboSingh12 wrote:Boi that 80km really sickening .Atleast i have an excuse to reach work late

:roll: typical trini mentality!

Just leave Home EARLIER nah man!

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 2nd, 2016, 1:43 pm

BRZ wrote:
TurboSingh12 wrote:Boi that 80km really sickening .Atleast i have an excuse to reach work late

:roll: typical trini mentality!

Just leave Home EARLIER nah man!

I does done leave home 4.30am when some people still dreaming :(

Postby Les Bain » May 2nd, 2016, 1:56 pm

Them south people making the POS commute go real feel that.
I doh think I go ever see Gulf City again :cry:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 2nd, 2016, 2:01 pm

Taking me more than an hour to reach to work in point lisas now..and it's not that I used to drive fast - 100 km/hr before

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » May 2nd, 2016, 2:59 pm

Are radar detectors illegal to own and operate?

Postby aaron17 » May 2nd, 2016, 3:01 pm

remember 50km/h as well in built up areas.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 2nd, 2016, 3:26 pm

I see a man moving 80 KPH on the right lane and keeping back everyone who wanted to speed and break the law and he wasn't moving for nothing ... but technically how can you get pissed of with him as both him and the drivers behind him are doing nonsense ...
One braking the keep left except when overtaking and the rest speeding ...

Most people will still braking the speed limit and driving at around 100 KPH
even saw a police vehicle on rivulet moving around 90kph ... so much for getting the law enforcers to follow the law.

Next dumb thing is asked the GMRTT (ambulance) drivers whats their speed limit, they said 80 just like everyone else. They said they never really obey because they have to get the patients to the A&E as quickly as possible but now they do have to follow speed limits or be ticketed. That extra few minutes could save a patient's life ... shouldn't there be a provision to allow ambulance drivers to operate their vehicles at 100 to 110?

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2016, 3:35 pm

We need to pay attention to the signs.

For example, the limit on the flyover heading south is 70 KMPH.

Heading west and east just before sea lots 50KMPH

On the foreshore and all through to carenage, 50 KMPH.

NOT 80.

I heard some radio announcers express incredulity at those numbers this morning.

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby kamakazi » May 2nd, 2016, 3:35 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Are radar detectors illegal to own and operate?

According to the amendment.... Yes

timothymcdavid

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby timothymcdavid » May 2nd, 2016, 3:48 pm

kamakazi wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:Are radar detectors illegal to own and operate?

According to the amendment.... Yes

:shock: Oh Rass

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 2nd, 2016, 3:59 pm

Thank god they not using radar then ...

Postby De Dragon » May 2nd, 2016, 4:07 pm

drchaos wrote:I see a man moving 80 KPH on the right lane and keeping back everyone who wanted to speed and break the law and he wasn't moving for nothing ... but technically how can you get pissed of with him as both him and the drivers behind him are doing nonsense ...

even saw a police vehicle on rivulet moving around 90kph ... so much for getting the law enforcers to follow the law.

Next dumb thing is asked the GMRTT (ambulance) drivers whats their speed limit, they said 80 just like everyone else. They said they never really obey because they have to get the patients to the A&E as quickly as possible but now they do have to follow speed limits or be ticketed. That extra few minutes could save a patient's life ... shouldn't there be a provision to allow ambulance drivers to operate their vehicles at 100 to 110?

IIRC, ambulances are not exempt from speed limits, red lights etc.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 2nd, 2016, 4:21 pm

Hmmmm ..... time to start cracking down on them ambulances for speeding above 80 KPH and breaking red lights when they have cardiac arrests then. Much needed revenue can be collected for the government coffers by enforcing the law on these ambulance drivers

Postby aaron17 » May 2nd, 2016, 4:31 pm

drchaos wrote:I see a man moving 80 KPH on the right lane and keeping back everyone who wanted to speed and break the law and he wasn't moving for nothing ... but technically how can you get pissed of with him as both him and the drivers behind him are doing nonsense ...

whats the speed limit of rivulet road tho?

Postby Morpheus » May 2nd, 2016, 4:52 pm

Smh. Dunno what to say nah. I'm kinda unaffected anyway. Traffic to go to work. Traffic to go home...... Is in de night I have to worry :confused:

But like mentioned before. Keep left except when overtaking, use indicators, stop driving with your headlights off in the night, etc

Postby aaron17 » May 2nd, 2016, 4:55 pm

yea and maxi and taxi passengers who are in the front seats.. most of them pretend to wear seat-belts just for show..so shocking...