Digicel Internet Thread

azoturbo

Re: RE: Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby azoturbo » May 6th, 2016, 7:12 am

tr1ad wrote:The Digicel router has wifi, but my own router is connected via LAN cable to the Digicel

Can u tell me how the digicel is compared to the flow?

markie boy

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby markie boy » May 6th, 2016, 7:12 am

Kk koolz bro I signed up for the service so I wanted to know if I can still use my AirPort Extreme....

Postby tr1ad » May 6th, 2016, 7:15 am

Ping to Miami is 40-45ms; it's reliable thus far, no random outages yet;

Jinnz

Postby Jinnz » May 6th, 2016, 7:44 am

Can those who have their own router hooked up plz give a detailed description on how you achieved it.I tried to hook up a family members Airport extreme but no luck.The WAN page for the Digi Play (HG8245Q) seems to be locked an can not be edited as far as i can tell so i could not change it to Bridge mode etc as a member pointed out a few pages back......Bless

markie boy

Postby markie boy » May 6th, 2016, 10:53 am

Jinnz wrote:Can those who have their own router hooked up plz give a detailed description on how you achieved it.I tried to hook up a family members Airport extreme but no luck.The WAN page for the Digi Play (HG8245Q) seems to be locked an can not be edited as far as i can tell so i could not change it to Bridge mode etc as a member pointed out a few pages back......Bless

Inside for the info.....

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » May 6th, 2016, 10:56 am

You can use your own router if you like. Just log into the digicel router and disable it's two wifi networks. That's what I would do. Also I believe you must use ehternet port number 1 to connect your own router.

I have a friend with massy and yes it is straight FTTH like digicel. I've not seen the modem though.

TriP

Postby TriP » May 6th, 2016, 1:16 pm

massy modem looks like this..lol
2.jpg

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 6th, 2016, 10:51 pm

To use your personal router just patch in to one of the LAN ports on the Digicel modem/router. You can also disable the Digicel WiFi.
NB: DNS config is disabled on the Digi unit.

Latest speed test

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 6th, 2016, 10:56 pm

TriP wrote:massy modem looks like this..lol

Does anyone know the vendor Massy is using for its Fibre modems?
I know Digicel is using Huawei hardware.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 7th, 2016, 5:23 am

2WNBoost wrote:
TriP wrote:massy modem looks like this..lol

Does anyone know the vendor Massy is using for its Fibre modems?
I know Digicel is using Huawei hardware.

I believe Massy is using ONTs from Alcatel-Lucent.

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » May 7th, 2016, 1:13 pm

How is it with gaming? Looking to get the lowest ping possible!
This is my current connection with FLOW
If I run WTFast, I drop to about 40-45ms routing from here to Miami to the server in Dallas
Need to know if I can hit lower as I had Digicel install 3 main boxes for tenants to get access if they wish

vapourone

Postby vapourone » May 7th, 2016, 9:22 pm

How is the service ?.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » May 11th, 2016, 9:06 pm

Girlfriend got her's about a month ago. Opted for the regular 25meg connection and it works really good, I wish I had that buh nothing but blink for we bush people :( Better I shack up and go live there.

vapourone

Postby vapourone » May 13th, 2016, 5:52 am

I got 25mb this week thing running good . Flow really is the dial up of 1999

boxy

Postby boxy » May 13th, 2016, 7:36 am

have they rolled out in the east west corridor yet?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 13th, 2016, 10:37 am

Heard Massy using Flow lines is this true? well if its true how is it possible seeing as flow don't have GPON anywhere besides POS?

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » May 14th, 2016, 2:12 pm

I think you posted this in the wrong thread. There are separate forums for Massy and FLOW.

Heard Massy using Flow lines is this true? well if its true how is it possible seeing as flow don't have GPON anywhere besides POS?

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » May 14th, 2016, 11:12 pm

I am having problems browsing to IPv4 addresses on my IPv6 Digicel ONT. Will check again in the morning...

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 14th, 2016, 11:27 pm

The 50mb working really sweet, Curepe area. I just packed up my ASUS RT-N66U earlier today. Should I use that instead? I've had no issues with the wifi so far to go through the trouble I guess...

The customer service I received from since the sign up which took place on the pavement to the techs who did the install was excellent. More than I ever received with Flow in all the years I was with them. Called them to disconnect me and they said I have to wait 7 days unless I come in the office...lol. Digicel will eat up most of their market share if they can keep this up and then things will get entertaining :lol:

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » May 15th, 2016, 1:26 am

Just saw an article on the news about Digicel mobile problems today. (I was watching the news article on my Digicel Network DVR) :-)

Caribnomad wrote:I am having problems browsing to IPv4 addresses on my IPv6 Digicel ONT. Will check again in the morning...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 15th, 2016, 11:51 am

do you have to sign a contract with digicel?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » May 15th, 2016, 6:21 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:do you have to sign a contract with digicel?

yes

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2016, 7:47 pm

Yeah I signed up to digicel this weekend as I am fed up with flow.
Main issues with Flow is that they wanted to charge me almost $200 dollars and increase my bill by about $50 per month to switch to their HD TV system where as digicel is free.

Also to bundle with flow they want $500 deposit to sign a year contract where as with digi no deposit required.

Digi will be cheaper for me, and I get better TV with HD/more channels and setup box. Internet takes a hit by about 10 megabits but flow keeps cutting out and slowing down on me. Lastly phone package seems better as I can call cell phones no extra charge with their 500 bundled minutes.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby bluesclues » May 16th, 2016, 5:14 pm

drchaos wrote:Yeah I signed up to digicel this weekend as I am fed up with flow.
Main issues with Flow is that they wanted to charge me almost $200 dollars and increase my bill by about $50 per month to switch to their HD TV system where as digicel is free.

Also to bundle with flow they want $500 deposit to sign a year contract where as with digi no deposit required.

Digi will be cheaper for me, and I get better TV with HD/more channels and setup box. Internet takes a hit by about 10 megabits but flow keeps cutting out and slowing down on me. Lastly phone package seems better as I can call cell phones no extra charge with their 500 bundled minutes.

Set top

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 16th, 2016, 8:02 pm

I really want to switch to Digi but I guess its going to happen in 2018. Because I have a 2 year deal with flow for 60MB for $196 and somehow by some miracle it apparently just works. And the only thing that happened to fix my issues was changing the speed package so its really hard to touch this right now.

Going from 60 to 25 might be hard I dunno. But at the same time I don't want to let any deal with Digicel pass because I don't intend to pay for installation.

Anyone knows how long the free installation with Digicel will last?

Postby DVSTT » May 17th, 2016, 7:41 am

I'm getting 1/10th the speed I'm paying for from flow. 3mbps. I thought it was the router and I was messing with all the settings in it to no avail. Then I plugged directly to the modem, same speed. Digital can't come fast enough.

boxy

Postby boxy » May 17th, 2016, 8:00 am

have they reached east west corridor yet?

Postby K74T » May 17th, 2016, 8:16 am

Call them nah.

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » May 20th, 2016, 10:39 am

Anyone using the service mind posting a pic with their ping to Miami?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 20th, 2016, 11:59 am

138ms
4.23 Mbps down
0.45Mbps up
steups