Canadian Visa

Postby desifemlove » June 21st, 2016, 4:33 pm

may need to go to Canada later this year, and i know dey does have an ETA visa and a standard visa.

but can this be got only online, or at their High Commission?

ruffrider27

Re: Canadian Visa

Postby ruffrider27 » June 21st, 2016, 4:50 pm

T&T need the standard visa , could do everything online with a scanner and credit card . GCKey register required .

Determine your eligibility First , save your results and code then register .
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/e-services/mycic.asp

Postby rspann » June 21st, 2016, 6:17 pm

You don't go to the high commission again,they have a center on Warren St now where you drop off and pick up.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 21st, 2016, 7:01 pm

rspann wrote:You don't go to the high commission again,they have a center on Warren St now where you drop off and pick up.

https://www.csc-cvac.com/en-TT/selfserv ... on_centres

You got to make sure you have everything the check list ask for, using this option , the staff review the required documents once in order they send to the embassy . You have to reach early take a number be seated and wait . Could be turn down and asked to returned with proper documents .

pj15

Postby pj15 » July 11th, 2016, 4:07 pm

I've submitted an online application for a visitors visa and have received an email requesting that I submit my passport for processing of the visa. I'm based in Tobago for the next month so I'll have to send and receive it via mail/courier. Anybody have any experience doing this? What fees do I have to pay,etc? Is it just the delivery fee ...or the VAC fee as well? Thanks.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » July 11th, 2016, 5:35 pm

DHL close to $130 tt , well in Trinidad guessing more to send Tobago.
can use VAC or DHL

VAC have to go in person to pay $20 cad. email provided will tell you tracking procedure.
DHL will send the passport into the embassy and return to sender address , don't forget the printed page with the application number ,call first to see if they accept passports first ,may have to come Trinidad to main branch in El. Socorro

DHL. Possible Investment Ltd.
Unit 34, Charles James Building
Garden Side Street
Scarborough
Tobago
Email dhltabagoagent@gmail.com
Phone: 868 635 0823/ 868

pj15

Postby pj15 » July 11th, 2016, 5:54 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:DHL close to $130 tt , well in Trinidad guessing more to send Tobago.
can use VAC or DHL

VAC have to go in person to pay $20 cad. email provided will tell you tracking procedure.
DHL will send the passport into the embassy and return to sender address , don't forget the printed page with the application number ,call first to see if they accept passports first ,may have to come Trinidad to main branch in El. Socorro

DHL. Possible Investment Ltd.
Unit 34, Charles James Building
Garden Side Street
Scarborough
Tobago
Email dhltabagoagent@gmail.com
Phone: 868 635 0823/ 868

Thanks for your response... For clarification- if I submit in person to the VAC I'll have to pay the $20 CAD to have the pp couriered back to me? and if I send and receive via DHL it'll be $130 TTD "round trip" ?

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » July 12th, 2016, 6:06 am

The Canada high commission will returned your pp at VAC ,Warner St. Office to be picked up in person with correct id's shown.

DHL will deliver to certain areas ,sometimes they sub contract TTPOST , hand dilivered "yes round trip" or the option picked up at the counter in El Socorro .

xtech

Postby xtech » July 12th, 2016, 8:14 am

So Cocaine was found by Canadian border police in hot peppers exported from Piarco Airport at a Canadian airport.

Will this development affect new visa applications :drinking:

pj15

Postby pj15 » July 12th, 2016, 12:41 pm

Ruffrider27, thanks for your assistance pardna....I got everything sorted out. Future reference for anyone in a similar situation:

Go to Scotiabank to make payment of $20.17 CAD (fee for transmission of your passport from the visa centre to the visa office and back.) Bank details provided on VAC website. Be sure to collect the receipt for this transaction.

Proceed to DHL with your passport, passport request letter which was emailed to you, two copies of the consent form (obtained on the VAC website), bank receipt and your contact info. DHL has an arrangement with the Canadian Embassy,so just tell them what you want to do and they'll instruct you. You'll have to pay $80 TTD to send the package to the Visa centre and pay another $80 TTD for the return envelope if you opt to have the passport sent back to you instead of collecting at the VAC . That's it.

daas

Postby daas » July 18th, 2016, 8:11 am

Forgive my ignorance but just wanted to know a couple things...How difficult would it be to be granted the visa if you don't already have a job offer (applying for teaching jobs)? How long does it take to get the visa?

pj15

Postby pj15 » July 18th, 2016, 8:45 am

daas wrote:Forgive my ignorance but just wanted to know a couple things...How difficult would it be to be granted the visa if you don't already have a job offer (applying for teaching jobs)? How long does it take to get the visa?

Every applicant for a Temporary Resident Visa (TRV) ( visitors visas) is regarded as a potential immigrant; the visa officer is of the view that once you get to Canada you'll never leave. It is incumbent upon you to provide enough proof to the officer that you have ties to your homeland that will require you to return home after your visit. One such tie is a permanent job. In addition, you'll need bank statements, property deeds, etc, etc.....Given your employment status you'll have to provide everything you can provide to overcome their suspicion. It's going to be difficult for you ... I know people who were unsuccessful despite being fairly well established, but I don't know the reverse to be true.....unlike US visa applicants.
The process usually takes about 7 days but could be longer depending on whether they need to do background checks or verify the info. you provided.

ninja_55

Postby ninja_55 » July 22nd, 2016, 8:29 pm

Anyone apply for Canadian visa recently and got 10yrs based on the new 10yr passports now? I know we use to be limited to that 5yr visa because of the passport but anyone who renewing or applying for passport it's 10years now.