PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby skylinechild » August 5th, 2016, 9:11 pm

fouljuice wrote:Any specific features you looking for?

Things I care for in a keyboard to run game: Per-key illumination, backlit separate media controls, and at least 5 macros keys.
If you need the Arx control, and Mechanical, then go ahead.

I never used Romer-G ones, but read mixed reviews, but as with all mechanical switches, it comes down to your preference.

keyboard is not for me.. person who is going to use it plays half life and mass effect & games like such...

talk to meh....

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 6th, 2016, 1:40 am

I mean, if they really want a mechanical keyboard and $$ is not a problem, then go for it. It has all the features I see as necessary.
If they don't care for mechanical, they could save some $$ by getting a non-mechanical.

If anyone they know, have one and they could try it out before, it would be even better.

At US$180 you can't really buy it and then say 'waye dan this thing too noisy' or 'it too sensitive' and rest it aside.
Reviews of this specific keyboard say different things. Some say it is real comfortable, some say the shape of they keys makes it uncomfortable. They have variable indentations, so some keys will feel different.

They might get accustomed to it if they didn't like it at first, but best they check out a video review too.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2016, 10:10 am

Does that person want to show off or actually play games on the keyboard; cause that is in the realm of show off
You can game on almost any keyboard...but if you are looking for a mechanical setup i advise cherry MX switches (There is a reason that their design has been copied since their patent has expired.)

There are so many options for the actual keyboard; media keys, programmable keys, ten keyless (no numpad) etc.

Personally i use a G710+ with MX brown switches. I don't use any of the programmable keys to game and rarely use the media keys. What is helpful on this keyboard is the game mode option which disables the windows key on the lower left of the keyboard and the volume control roller on the top right. Mechanical boards tend to be a bit heavier than normal membrane keyboards. There is white backlighting but i have it on the lowest level to help see the keys. I am definitely not into the flashy "Show" aspect that companies use to market keyboards to gamers. MX Brown switches are pretty quiet uless you are hammering on the keys. (mx blue are the really clicky/noisy ones)

There are plenty decent (non flashy) mechanical options for around 100US
CM Storm quickfire
Logitech g610
Corsair Strafe
SteelSeries 6Gv2

Postby skylinechild » August 6th, 2016, 4:58 pm

kamakazi wrote:Does that person want to show off or actually play games on the keyboard; cause that is in the realm of show off
You can game on almost any keyboard...but if you are looking for a mechanical setup i advise cherry MX switches (There is a reason that their design has been copied since their patent has expired.)

There are so many options for the actual keyboard; media keys, programmable keys, ten keyless (no numpad) etc.

Personally i use a G710+ with MX brown switches. I don't use any of the programmable keys to game and rarely use the media keys. What is helpful on this keyboard is the game mode option which disables the windows key on the lower left of the keyboard and the volume control roller on the top right. Mechanical boards tend to be a bit heavier than normal membrane keyboards. There is white backlighting but i have it on the lowest level to help see the keys. I am definitely not into the flashy "Show" aspect that companies use to market keyboards to gamers. MX Brown switches are pretty quiet uless you are hammering on the keys. (mx blue are the really clicky/noisy ones)

There are plenty decent (non flashy) mechanical options for around 100US
CM Storm quickfire
Logitech g610
Corsair Strafe
SteelSeries 6Gv2

you sir...are a true gentleman and a scholar... :oops:

ok person has a high end gaming asus laptop..doh ask me for model # and such cause I doh know. person can game on the laptop and the built in keyboard does work..but I want to get a unit specifically for gaming.

I have no clue on cherry MX switches but it sounds cool ..(yea I know as an IT guy I lack Discipline) but I don't game....

so from a quick run to father google seems the keyboard must have either cherry MX red or brown switches....sooo does the Logitech keyboard have this type of switch???

will appreciate more advice

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2016, 5:30 pm

Not all have this type of switch... But as mentioned earlier... The patent from cherry ended so most other brands (kailh,romer, etc)are straight copies.

Don't let the multitude of colors baffle you
There are mainly 3 types
Blue switches - Tactile feedback and mainly for typing
Red switches - linear with no tactile feedback
Brown - some tactile feedback

The tactile feedback part means you can actually feel a point where the keystroke registers.
There are illustrations online to show how the switches work
The other colors like green, black etc are just stiffer/softer variations on the three main types mentioned above

Some Logitech keyboards use cherry switches but not all of them.
Remember a mechanical keyboard is not a necessity to game but it helps.

Scholar... Nope...I just read a lot

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » August 7th, 2016, 8:40 am

currently have 2 x 2.0 GB of ram in system what the best way to add more ram. another 2 x 2.0 GB or is it possible for me to go 2 x 4.0 GB, the game i want to run max is 8 .0 GB. i wanted to go 4 x 4.0 GB for a total of 16 GB but don't want to waist my 2 x 2.0 GB sticks. so that why i considered only buying the 2 x 4.0 GB

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2016, 8:53 am

fred1266 wrote:currently have 2 x 2.0 GB of ram in system what the best way to add more ram. another 2 x 2.0 GB or is it possible for me to go 2 x 4.0 GB, the game i want to run max is 8 .0 GB. i wanted to go 4 x 4.0 GB for a total of 16 GB but don't want to waist my 2 x 2.0 GB sticks. so that why i considered only buying the 2 x 4.0 GB

DDR 2...3...4?
Version of Windows?
Motherboard model?
Last edited by kamakazi on August 7th, 2016, 8:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » August 7th, 2016, 8:53 am

Check your motherboard specs against the ram you're interested in first

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » August 7th, 2016, 11:57 am

thanks everyone who responded apparently i have 2 x 4.0 GB stick in system but for some reason it was only reading 4 GB instead of 8 GB so don't have to upgrade ram again but do you all suggest i do since most games now recommend 8 should i install 16 especially since i only rocking a 570 GTX

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CR ... UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CO ... UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004C ... UTF8&psc=1

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2016, 1:37 pm

I still have a Radeon hd5670 in a system with 16 gigs of ram... But the prices of memory have gone up a bit since my purchase.

Might get an rx480 or gtx1060... But I don't game like I use to... Mainly for CAD now
Sent you a pm fred

djrddragon

Postby djrddragon » August 7th, 2016, 2:36 pm

Hi

I'm a full time student ( hence the entry level) but i managed to save some money to upgrade my dual core system. Does anyone have suggestions (preferably local) for a motherboard and quad core processor i should get and where i could get it for arround 1000 TT

Thank you!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2016, 4:39 pm

Would love to help... But what do you currently have.

djrddragon

Postby djrddragon » August 7th, 2016, 8:20 pm

CPU:Athlon x2 ii 245
GPU:gt 730
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-M68M-S2P
RAM:3gb ddr2
Last edited by djrddragon on August 8th, 2016, 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 7th, 2016, 8:30 pm

djrddragon wrote:CPU:Athlon x2 ii 245
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2

You can use the cpu selling in here and maybe a 2gb stick of ram to upgrade to 4gb total:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=673153

djrddragon

Postby djrddragon » August 7th, 2016, 8:59 pm

Thanks!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 8th, 2016, 12:12 am

djrddragon wrote:CPU:Athlon x2 ii 245
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-M68MT-S2

I do not know why you want a quad core over what you have now.
My suggestion save the money and put it towards a full system upgrade;
I am saying this because current gen dual cores match the performance of quad cores from previous generations, while using less power. I don't think it wise to sink money into an old/outdated platform.

Your current mobo suggests that you might have DDR3 rather than the DDR2 you stated. Unless you can get a phenom for small money hold off on that upgrade

djrddragon

Postby djrddragon » August 8th, 2016, 12:45 am

Sorry i made a mistake my motherboard is the Gigabyte GA-M68M-S2p

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 8th, 2016, 10:34 pm

That one is ddr2... I still trying to find out why you want a quad core... Anyhow my recommendation remains the same though... Use what you have for the time being. If you definitely have to upgrade now... Consider the later generation Intel dual cores; the IPC (instructions per cycle) is a lot more than any AMD cpu which makes for a snappier more responsive system

Postby skylinechild » August 9th, 2016, 1:52 pm

kamakazi wrote:Not all have this type of switch... But as mentioned earlier... The patent from cherry ended so most other brands (kailh,romer, etc)are straight copies.

Don't let the multitude of colors baffle you
There are mainly 3 types
Blue switches - Tactile feedback and mainly for typing
Red switches - linear with no tactile feedback
Brown - some tactile feedback

The tactile feedback part means you can actually feel a point where the keystroke registers.
There are illustrations online to show how the switches work
The other colors like green, black etc are just stiffer/softer variations on the three main types mentioned above

Some Logitech keyboards use cherry switches but not all of them.
Remember a mechanical keyboard is not a necessity to game but it helps.

Scholar... Nope...I just read a lot

hmm so i need to find a gaming keyboard wit this type of switch..the colors not confusing..i read up on it....

red and brown for gaming blue for typing...other colors are variations of these basic three... got it ...

so now the question is.....how to tell which gaming keyboard has cherry MX switches and which doesnt..

reason why i was going with the latest offering from logitech as it has alot of features...but i'm unsure of the type of switches it has.

kindly advise.... thanx

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 9th, 2016, 3:05 pm

Searching on the keyboard you are interested in usually let's you know what switches are used... Amazon usually displays it in the different model options. Hope you get through

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 9th, 2016, 3:06 pm

skylinechild wrote:so now the question is.....how to tell which gaming keyboard has cherry MX switches and which doesnt..

reason why i was going with the latest offering from logitech as it has alot of features...but i'm unsure of the type of switches it has.

They would usually mention it in the specs/description.
You could see one keyboard with the option to choose which switch you want, providing it is available with that switch.

for example this Corsair K70, available with either Blue, Brown or Red switches.
https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Gaming-M ... B0149QC102

The Logitech has their own switch, Romer-G. (Not sure which Cherry switch it comes closest to)
Also know that each type of switch have somewhat different sounds.

gamefreak12

Postby gamefreak12 » August 9th, 2016, 10:32 pm

Need some help I want to build a tower for light gaming at a reasonable budget need help with a good mb and processor brand

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 10th, 2016, 12:18 am

How light?
Max/Min budget?
Local or Amazon?
What parts you have already, or you starting from scratch?

gamefreak12

Postby gamefreak12 » August 10th, 2016, 7:21 am

From scratch the tower case I ordering will be the thermaltake versa n21 snow edition

Postby RBphoto » August 10th, 2016, 2:18 pm

Hey, I bought the Lenovo Flex from price smart. Thought it was a great system with ok specifications for the price. I want to upgrade the RAM from 4GB. Crucial sells an 8GB stick that is compatible. Anyone know of any other brand that would have compatible RAM to replace the stock 4GB stick?

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby kamakazi » August 10th, 2016, 4:46 pm

gamefreak12 wrote:Need some help I want to build a tower for light gaming at a reasonable budget need help with a good mb and processor brand

Would love to assist but need some more info first
1. What type of games you planning on playing
2. Budget and what the budget has to cover

Tomshardware system builder marathon is a good place to get some ideas.

Postby skylinechild » August 10th, 2016, 8:16 pm

RBphoto wrote:Hey, I bought the Lenovo Flex from price smart. Thought it was a great system with ok specifications for the price. I want to upgrade the RAM from 4GB. Crucial sells an 8GB stick that is compatible. Anyone know of any other brand that would have compatible RAM to replace the stock 4GB stick?

crucial is good stuff...go online on crucial website and use the online tool to inspect ur system and they'll tell you what to buy....and once u know...its just as simple as amazon.

top three brands ( in any order) are corsair...crucial and kingston.

me personally i switch to crucial from kingston after gettin issues on a memory module.
and the module wasnt THAT old... prob 18mths or so.

also dont limit yourself to only 8gb..... the online tool will tell you the max amt of memory the pc could handle...so i'd recommend going up to 16 gig one time ....again if ur pc can handle it.

spend now and you'll have enough headroom when u install applications that require more amts of memory in the future !!! :!:

gamefreak12

Postby gamefreak12 » August 10th, 2016, 11:52 pm

Thanks bro

Postby RBphoto » August 11th, 2016, 12:02 am

skylinechild wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Hey, I bought the Lenovo Flex from price smart. Thought it was a great system with ok specifications for the price. I want to upgrade the RAM from 4GB. Crucial sells an 8GB stick that is compatible. Anyone know of any other brand that would have compatible RAM to replace the stock 4GB stick?

crucial is good stuff...go online on crucial website and use the online tool to inspect ur system and they'll tell you what to buy....and once u know...its just as simple as amazon.

top three brands ( in any order) are corsair...crucial and kingston.

me personally i switch to crucial from kingston after gettin issues on a memory module.
and the module wasnt THAT old... prob 18mths or so.

also dont limit yourself to only 8gb..... the online tool will tell you the max amt of memory the pc could handle...so i'd recommend going up to 16 gig one time ....again if ur pc can handle it.

spend now and you'll have enough headroom when u install applications that require more amts of memory in the future !!! :!:

Just say you have a man crush on me nah <3

Postby skylinechild » August 11th, 2016, 6:46 am

RBphoto wrote:
Just say you have a man crush on me nah <3

you sexy beast you....* speaks in austin powers voice...."do i make you horny baby !!! ???"