WTK: Where can I get US currency to buy?

Energy0091

WTK: Where can I get US currency to buy?

Postby Energy0091 » October 11th, 2016, 3:58 pm

So thanks to the 'shortage' taking place, the banks are picking and choosing who the sell US to. Their current rates are $6.7615 Ttd- $1 US.
Where are some reasonable places I can get at least $1000 US?

Re: WTK: Where can I get US currency to buy?

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2016, 6:33 pm

It's illegal to buy or sell unless you are licensed,OP.

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » October 11th, 2016, 6:35 pm

Or a Syrian

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 11th, 2016, 6:57 pm

Pickin and choosin to sell us .... steups .

Try another financial institution .

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2016, 7:20 pm

Royal and republic are the hardest for the small man
They allocate mostly to their big business customers

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » October 11th, 2016, 7:31 pm

Oh, I didn't know it was illegal. Thanks for the replies tho.

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2016, 7:38 pm

republic does real play the fool,
they use a policy of saying you have to go to your "home" branch to buy usd
which by their definition is the first branch you ever opened an account by them with
I have 3 accts all diff branches but the first is in a mall branch which opens at 11am
absolutely useless to me

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2016, 8:17 pm

Even if you have a USD account, you still can't get, they giving $200 per day, sometimes $500. If you want to close the account, they saying that Central Bank instructions are that you have to take it in TTd

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2016, 8:18 pm

Energy0091 wrote:Oh, I didn't know it was illegal. Thanks for the replies tho.

Just do it wisely. It's only illegal if they know.

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2016, 8:31 pm

One way people getting foreign exchange easily Is if they know someone from the US who is building a house or buying land or car in Trinidad,and he needs a lot of TTD, all they do is Take the USD up there and give him TTD here. It works. There are people who send money for their relatives, you just have to work it out with them.. If you have a credit card, you can withdraw in the US (Scotia is $250 per day in BOA) and pay back here in TT. You gotta be creative.
Last edited by rspann on October 11th, 2016, 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » October 11th, 2016, 8:37 pm

fellas who work for US$ here probably liking themselves

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2016, 8:46 pm

Ent? I have friends who drive Airport, Hyatt and Hilton taxis,they always have.

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2016, 8:46 pm

credit card atm withdrawal is hit with a 3% surcharge immediately so the effective rate is 7
you can withdraw to your cc limit though, the debit card is limited to $250 as you said

we beginning to operate like how them venes operate here lol

rspann wrote:One way people getting foreign exchange easily Is if they know someone from the US who is building a house or buying land or car in Trinidad,and he needs a lot of TTD, all they do is Take the USD up there and give him TTD here. It works. There are people who send money for their relatives, you just have to work it out with them.. If you have a credit card, you can withdraw in the US (Scotia is $250 per day in BOA) and pay back here in TT. You gotta be creative.

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » October 11th, 2016, 8:46 pm

eliteauto wrote:fellas who work for US$ here probably liking themselves

For real

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2016, 8:49 pm

I have a pardner on tuner who going to be rolling in USDs from next month,I hope he don't forget meh when he get through. He know who he is , I doh have to read and spell.

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2016, 10:00 pm

I think you can raise that debit card limit with Scotia. I use to take out 500 a day when I had an account with them years ago