Re: Microsoft Surface Studio

Postby shogun » October 26th, 2016, 9:12 pm

So cool

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 26th, 2016, 9:27 pm

Looks good but the specs are pretty so so for the price? 32 Gigs and a GTX 980M at the top end? Meh. If you want a good looking weak as water setup, buy a Mac.

Oh and Duane, just install OSX Sierra on it with VMWare or turn it into a Hackintosh.

But, if the screen works anything like as smoothy as a Cintiq then maybe it'd work as a creation station to work alongside a proper render beast.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2016, 9:50 pm

^ I edit 4K video on my 2014 iMac 5K with ease.
And MacOS Sierra is free on it.

Unless you are referring to gaming, in which case neither the Surface Studio nor Mac are designed for.

The iPad Pro + Pencil works pretty well when I wanna draw, sketch etc.

I would love to try one of these Surface Studio's tho. The design, including that toggle wheel is truly inventive.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 26th, 2016, 9:58 pm

MacOS might be a step back for this machine.
Nice to see Microsoft innovating. With the new updates to coming to Windows 10, looks like OSX has some catching up to do.

MacOS may have easy video editing.. but Windows has MS Paint

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2016, 10:03 pm

neexis wrote:MacOS might be a step back for this machine.
i'd agree only on the fact that macOS does not support touch. They have iOS for that. And yes I wish they just had one OS, but handover and continuity fills the gaps.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 26th, 2016, 10:07 pm

Was now about to say this fail with some matte display but then I saw it actually comes with a Glossy Reflective Display just like the imac so yeah Good Job Microsoft well done.

I own a Dell S2415H Glossy Monitor for the purpose of reading text for long hours and this is the only gloss monitor I know off still in production luckily for Amazon I could get it as there was none down here so I had to take the chance of shipping it and hoping it comes in 1 piece. Was thinking of going 4K and could not find a glossy one so I didn't bother, ended up going back with the S2415H

For what its worth dell does have a 5K Glossy Monitor but its no match for this surface

https://www.amazon.com/Dell-Monitor-UP2 ... ds=Dell+5K

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2016, 11:35 pm

Impressive!

Though I'm not sure it was staged or not. It ignored the background and everything else except the sandcastle.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 27th, 2016, 2:06 am

http://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker/ ... lease-date

192 ppi Density? YUCK!!! not even a retina display. What a fail....

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 27th, 2016, 4:00 am

Looking at that demo I'm not sure whether it was live or a tech demo because you're talking about creating a 3d point cloud in real-time with perfect parallax and then stitching the point cloud perfectly into a textured 3d object using a smartphone.

Also her moving the phone up and down and closer and further away didn't seem to affect the sandcastle's dimensions being read at all.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 27th, 2016, 6:41 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:http://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker/2016/10/26/13380462/microsoft-surface-studio-pc-computer-announced-features-price-release-date

192 ppi Density? YUCK!!! not even a retina display. What a fail....

Do you know what those numbers mean and how they translate to real world use? If so can you tell the difference between 192 ppi and the 220 or so that Apple calls "retina" ?

Postby pete » October 27th, 2016, 6:46 am

Dude.. look at who posted it and just ignore yes.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 27th, 2016, 8:24 am

http://iphone.appleinsider.com/articles ... te-for-mac

Microsoft Surface Dial evokes comparison to Griffin PowerMate for Mac
By: Mike Wuerthele
Wednesday, October 26, 2016 4:46 PM

Microsoft has announced the wireless Surface Dial for its tablet and computer line, but a third-party option bringing much of the functionality of it to the Mac has existed for some time —the Griffin PowerMate.

The original Griffin PowerMate was USB powered and connected, and launched back in the tail-end of the MacOS 9 days in early 2002. Two versions exist now, with the PowerMate USB and PowerMate with Bluetooth connectivity versions being sold in parallel.

Both are customizable jog/shuttle wheels, allowing users to configure application-specific controls by keystroke or command in the companion app. The truly devout can connect up to 127 of the PowerMate USB model to one computer, with each having a custom function.

The PowerMate has been used by Photoshop users for a long time, and sees heavy use in audio and video editing as the bespoke jog wheel to quickly scrub through a selection. The "ground effect" light at the base of the USB model can be used for rudimentary user notifications as well, and can also be customized by the user.

No, the PowerMate won't do some of the things that the new Surface Dial will. It won't be detected automatically when placed on your Mac's screen, and pop up a color wheel like Microsoft promises that its wheel will, but it is also cheaper, and compatible with a wider range of computers, both old and new.

A version of the PowerMate software for the $40 USB version requires a PowerPC and OS X 10.3.9 or newer, with the best version of the driver and companion app compatible with Intel processors, and OS X 10.6 or newer. The $60 Bluetooth version has slightly stiffer hardware requirements, but if you own a Mac made since 2011, you're probably fine.

On the other side of the fence, Windows XP and Windows Vista users have available and reliable software as well. Windows 7,8, and 10 users have an installation path, but report quirks and crashes.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 27th, 2016, 10:17 am

very impressive this year

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 27th, 2016, 11:39 am

neexis wrote:Do you know what those numbers mean and how they translate to real world use? If so can you tell the difference between 192 ppi and the 220 or so that Apple calls "retina" ?

Yes 192ppi is bad. Its significantly less ppi than the galaxy S2 screen its easily noticeable.

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9100_g ... i-3621.php

Apple Retina is significantly better and easily noticeable compared to the surface studio. there is a reason that the 4K imac retina is only 21.5 inch large or their 5K Retina is only 27 inch. The 5K mac has the same ppi as the galaxy S2 but because you will sit further away you will not observe the pixels that easily but if you go 10 inches away from the screen you will see it is inferior to an iphone. 192ppi is pixelated to the human eye especially for the $3000 price microsoft is asking.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 27th, 2016, 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: RE: Re: Microsoft Surface Studio

Postby pete » October 27th, 2016, 5:18 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
neexis wrote:Do you know what those numbers mean and how they translate to real world use? If so can you tell the difference between 192 ppi and the 220 or so that Apple calls "retina" ?

Yes 192ppi is bad. Its significantly less ppi than the galaxy S2 screen its easily noticeable.

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9100_g ... i-3621.php

Apple Retina is significantly better and easily noticeable compared to the surface studio. there is a reason that the 4K imac retina is only 21.5 inch large or their 5K Retina is only 27 inch. The 5K mac has the same ppi as the galaxy S2 but because you will sit further away you will not observe the pixels that easily but if you go 10 inches away from the screen you will see it is inferior to an iphone. 192ppi is pixelated to the human eye especially for the $3000 price microsoft is asking.

This is a 28inch screen

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 27th, 2016, 7:11 pm

^ which is worse. its 28 inch and it has a Significantly LOWER resolution than the 27 inch 5K imac.

Like I said there is a reason the 4K imac is only 21.5 inch and the 5K imac is only 27 inch. Apple has carefully considered pixel density that will be close to the limit of the human eye and careful not to go overboard like all those crazy resolution 5 inch android phones. Resolution of this surface studio is horrible for a $3000 USD computer (Twice the asking price of a 5K Imac) and nothing will change that fact especially since you are going to be holding this surface studio closer to your eyes than any imac since this is touch screen etc

This should have had a 5K display at minimum to atleast compete with a 2 year old imac from 2014. Don't get me wrong I am sure this is a fine computer but Apple is going to wipe the floor with Microsoft given that we are talking about $3000 to $4000 US price range here.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 28th, 2016, 1:35 pm

Looks great. Love in innovation of the wheel thing but it seems a bit expensive for what you are getting. At least they are doing something new (and adding new features) for better functionality instead of removing essential and basic features in the name of "bravery"

Also, remember that this is just the first iteration of a new concept. I expect once this is successful their subsequent iterations would come with higher resolutions as a key feature.

Effectic I not hating on Apple but it looks like their marketing campaign is clearly effective on whatever your demographic is. Their "retina" display means nothing as I used to be able to see individual pixels on older iphones and ipads with the "retina" display. Also, increasing pixel density beyond human detection actually allows for images to appear more realistic, probably because it allows your brain to blur the lines where it sees fit just like it would do with real world objects. Compare the S5 (1080p) screen and the S6 (4k) and the difference is night and day, even though you can't see any pixels on the S5 (or S4).

Media editing and design has always been mainly an Apple stronghold (and is probably the last one left) and this computer is a clear attack on that market and I am curious to see how well it does.

BTW, I don't want Apple to lose or anything, just want them to get shaken out of the design rut that they have been in for the past few years and stop relying solely on incremental improvements and diehard fans to keep their brand alive.

2WNBoost

Microsoft Surface Studio

Postby 2WNBoost » October 28th, 2016, 6:03 pm

^^ There's no innovation with the wheel. It's not a new product concept.
What's new is the touchscreen interaction.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby Slartibartfast » October 29th, 2016, 2:52 pm

Yeah I'm not saying they reinvented the wheel or anything but the whole package is a nice step forward with all things considered.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 29th, 2016, 3:05 pm

Slartibartfast I did not say retina display was perfect, yes I use Ipads and yes you can see pixels.

However what Steve Jobs said was retina display is based on pixel density by a certain distance from your eyes. At a certain point the human eye can no longer tell the difference for the example the 4K resolution on the 5 inch sony xperia is really pointless. It drains the batter quickly just because they are using a 4K screen for marketing purpose. 4K on 5 inch is useless.

Mac retina displays are based on the distance you will have the macbook from your eyes, you are not going to be holding a 27 inch imac 10 inches from your eyes its going to be a lot further. Is it still perfect? nope but its as good as current technology will get us until the price of 8K screens come down and we have mobile GPU powerful enough to run it without creating problems.

But the surface studio is significantly less resolution than the 5K imac and even worse its 1 inch bigger. And even worse its touch screen and designed for very close up use so you are going to notice a lot of pixelation. For a $3000 USD computer it should have for the very least a 5K display which is becoming standard now for 27 inch. Even dell is selling a 5K monitor on Amazon now

https://www.amazon.com/Dell-Monitor-UP2 ... 5K+monitor

Postby Monk BANzai » October 29th, 2016, 6:16 pm

ahh finally ..Tuner analysts analaying a first version of updated tech...hahahahahahahahah

one word...Cintique...

Having said that now is a great time to buy Apple. Seeing like the transition/merger between mobile and desktop OS and UI/UX is matured enough to buffer purchases for a couple years well. That puck is the healing.

14856084_10100717495664933_323341832040298440_o.jpg

*snickers again....

Postby Slartibartfast » October 31st, 2016, 1:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Slartibartfast I did not say retina display was perfect, yes I use Ipads and yes you can see pixels.

However what Steve Jobs said was retina display is based on pixel density by a certain distance from your eyes. At a certain point the human eye can no longer tell the difference for the example the 4K resolution on the 5 inch sony xperia is really pointless. It drains the batter quickly just because they are using a 4K screen for marketing purpose. 4K on 5 inch is useless.

Mac retina displays are based on the distance you will have the macbook from your eyes, you are not going to be holding a 27 inch imac 10 inches from your eyes its going to be a lot further. Is it still perfect? nope but its as good as current technology will get us until the price of 8K screens come down and we have mobile GPU powerful enough to run it without creating problems.

But the surface studio is significantly less resolution than the 5K imac and even worse its 1 inch bigger. And even worse its touch screen and designed for very close up use so you are going to notice a lot of pixelation. For a $3000 USD computer it should have for the very least a 5K display which is becoming standard now for 27 inch. Even dell is selling a 5K monitor on Amazon now

https://www.amazon.com/Dell-Monitor-UP2 ... 5K+monitor
I still don't see the reason for the epic beatup. Even if it came with a 540 screen you wouldn't be able to afford it anyway.

All I saying is that it's a refreshing new spin on things (yes I know most if not all of the tech existed prior to the release of the MS Studio). I'm curious to see how it is received. I'm also hoping this shakes up Apple a bit to get them to start being innovative again. Their latest iPhone was just sad and the new MacBook Pros are just embarrassing; and it took them three years to develop it! Take a look at the comments on the youtube videos for the MS Studio and the MBP and compare them if you don't believe me.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 1st, 2016, 10:02 am

Is that 16hr batt life on the laptops that have me sold because its proper dedicated graphics cards also

neexis

Postby neexis » November 1st, 2016, 10:12 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
All I saying is that it's a refreshing new spin on things (yes I know most if not all of the tech existed prior to the release of the MS Studio). I'm curious to see how it is received. I'm also hoping this shakes up Apple a bit to get them to start being innovative again. Their latest iPhone was just sad and the new MacBook Pros are just embarrassing; and it took them three years to develop it! Take a look at the comments on the youtube videos for the MS Studio and the MBP and compare them if you don't believe me.

Definitely agree with you here. Lol @ 3 years for a touch bar though. Useful but maybe they could have made it bigger and expanded the capabilities even more?

Wouldn't mind giving MS a try here till Apple figures out what they're doing.. or till the future catches up with their courage.
Surface book looks like a nice premium notebook that I would definitely pick over a MBP right now.

If MS made an all in one with a smaller display, would also consider that too.