A motion of no confidence..

Re: Gov't to increase fuel prices in April 2017

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 4th, 2016, 11:10 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pete wrote:I wish they were buying more buses and making it cheaper to take public transport instead of driving..

reliable and timely is the name of the game.

I remember the old blue buses used to run like clockwork.

Those old Blue PTSC buses were Thomas Buses made in USA truly legendary stuff. Built for extreme abuse they were superior than even Volvo and Mercedes Benz in terms of reliability. Volvo has some kind of alien tech their Diesel engine double long buses runs like a new gas engine car somehow.

Back in the 90's PTSC had a real bus service then when there was the summit the then Manning decided on going with Chinese brands and it all went down hill from there. UNC came in and started opening up crazy amount of routes and didn't bring in the buses required to cover those routes so it went to the shitter even more.

And for 4 years in Power the UNC did nothing for bus service it wasn't until election they bought Chinese SunLong buses which was just an election strategy. We need people in government who will serve the people not use the people like pawns in their stupid game.

Currently the bus service is still mediocre you can't have a hourly schedule bus service for Piarco but half the time it does not show up that is just bad. Its an airport we talking about until the government does something about management at PTSC we will never get anywhere. Many times I used to be in City Gate waiting and tourists would come up to me asking about the Airport Bus saying they have to catch their flight I would say welcome to Banana Republic Trinidad and this was under the UNC watch.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 4th, 2016, 11:18 pm

There was a case where 2 girls from Europe were on vacation to Port of Spain I remember this as it was yesterday, they had some bags and decided to put it in the luggage section of the bus underneath. When we arrived at the airport their bags were covered in dust, oil and grease. And mind you they had to carry this on the aircraft they broke down in tears AND they almost missed their flight because PTSC sent a bus 2 hours late. Allyuh feel those 2 girls bothering to come back and spend money in this country? not a fat chance. And we want to talk about tourism as a source of foreign exchange? HA

I then realized PTSC does not clean anything the lazy maintenance crew is either striking or looking to eat ah food or bull the nearest 400 pound security guard, anything to get out of doing his job. Half the time the AC filter is clogged in a new bus because nobody is cleaning the filters.

Government come government go its the same thing bunch ah quacks forever a banana republic.

Postby pete » November 9th, 2016, 2:25 pm

When your boss makes you apologise cause local government elections are in two weeks but you still can't keep a straight face.

Re: A motion of no confidence..

Postby desifemlove » November 9th, 2016, 6:33 pm

Firms invest in other countries due to factor and demand conditions. This includes raw materials, labour, shipping routes, suppliers, business regs/laws, political stability. it also means creating an environment for this, and being able to identify a vision. also takes risks to attract firms. saying "why would they come and be defeatist" flies in the face of how many countries have developed. Singapore is a country many Trinis look up to, and under the British it was only important due to its position. ONly when the late PM Kee came in, did Singapore became wealthy. Similar with Hong Kong, China (PRC and ROC), South Korea, Japan, Ireland, etc.

I guarantee that neither PNM or UNC won't diversify since they lack the brains and the balls to identify areas and be proactive. Or their special interests will prevent them "cos dey ent want competition....." By the middle of this century, T&T will still be an energy-based economy, probably when literally half of the world's energy is renewable. I'd bet money in it even lol.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 9th, 2016, 7:43 pm

desifemlove wrote:Firms invest in other countries due to factor and demand conditions. This includes raw materials, labour, shipping routes, suppliers, business regs/laws, political stability. it also means creating an environment for this, and being able to identify a vision. also takes risks to attract firms. saying "why would they come and be defeatist" flies in the face of how many countries have developed. Singapore is a country many Trinis look up to, and under the British it was only important due to its position. ONly when the late PM Kee came in, did Singapore became wealthy. Similar with Hong Kong, China (PRC and ROC), South Korea, Japan, Ireland, etc.

If your selling a product u must ask the fundamental question: why would someone 'buy' your product. What is your unique selling proposition? Thats marketing 101.

If u dont ask and get feedback...youre flying blind.

I guarantee that neither PNM or UNC won't diversify since they lack the brains and the balls to identify areas and be proactive. Or their special interests will prevent them "cos dey ent want competition....." By the middle of this century, T&T will still be an energy-based economy, probably when literally half of the world's energy is renewable. I'd bet money in it even lol.

Not true. Some EU countries rely more heavily on wind or solar but its very expensive. In the USA renewable energy is approx 14% of total large scale energy production.

There are many issues with renewable energy. First off neither wind or solar can compete with baseline coal or nat gas. The technology iz not up to scratch. It is too expensive. Noo commercial wind or solar plant on planet earth can survive without Big Gubbament subsidies.

Re: RE: Re: Gov't to increase fuel prices in April 2017

Postby adnj » November 9th, 2016, 9:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:about $3.90 TTD for a liter of Gas in the US we pay what about $3.60 TTD so the next 15% increase should take us to the price in the US.

No. The price of fuel in the USA is approximately TTD 4.40 per liter. Fuel prices in the USA are also highly volatile due to crude oil prices and availability. T&T currently has some of the least expensive fuel in the world.

http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 9th, 2016, 10:40 pm

adnj wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:about $3.90 TTD for a liter of Gas in the US we pay what about $3.60 TTD so the next 15% increase should take us to the price in the US.

No. The price of fuel in the USA is approximately TTD 4.40 per liter. Fuel prices in the USA are also highly volatile due to crude oil prices and availability. T&T currently has some of the least expensive fuel in the world.

Nope ...

Came back from states 3 weeks ago and paid about 2.03 usd per gallon. Using exchange rate of 6.79 we get 13.7837 ttd per US Gallon.
Divide that by 3.78541 to get price per liter and works out to be TTD $3.64 per liter.
Also that price is RON 91 which they label as 87 octane at the pump which is equivalent to our super.

Postby rspann » November 9th, 2016, 10:58 pm

pete wrote:When your boss makes you apologise cause local government elections are in two weeks but you still can't keep a straight face.

England has the Queen, USA has the Trump, but we have the Jack.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 10th, 2016, 8:33 am

So what he apologise, the douen still intends to raise fuel again.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 10th, 2016, 8:47 am

no body protesting so he will do it again
everybody happy with the fuel increase
online tax
property tax
and even certain companies getting millions of dollars

TK!

Postby TK! » November 11th, 2016, 1:32 am

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:

Nope ...

Came back from states 3 weeks ago and paid about 2.03 usd per gallon. Using exchange rate of 6.79 we get 13.7837 ttd per US Gallon.
Divide that by 3.78541 to get price per liter and works out to be TTD $3.64 per liter.
Also that price is RON 91 which they label as 87 octane at the pump which is equivalent to our super.

correct. the OP can check gasbuddy.com. prices have been lower for premium up there ever since it went to 5.00 here (or whatever it is).

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 12th, 2016, 5:55 am

Just like i said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161111 ... ic-decline

TRINIDAD and Tobago has suffered the biggest quarterly economic contraction in its history.
The Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago (CBTT) yesterday said the economy contracted a record -6.7 per cent in the first half of 2016 year-on-year compared to the same period in 2015, where a contraction -0.6 per cent was due to a fall in activity in the energy sector. 
The information was released as Central Bank Governor Dr Alvin Hilaire launched the November 2016 Monetary Policy ­Report (MPR) yesterday at the Central Bank tower in Port of Spain.
Quarterly economic contraction in the country in the second quarter of 2016 was the worst ever in the country’s history, according to the Summary Economic Indicators and CBTT data dating back to 1991. 
The Summary Economic Indicators that Hilaire and Deputy Governor Sandra Sookram released yesterday showed a -8 per cent contraction of the economy in the second quarter of 2016, the worst ever quarterly contraction in the country’s ­history.

Imbert doesnt know what he is doing if he didnt know that this is the effect his policies would have. Stifling the local economy. Creating uncertainty and thus a reduction in local spending.

So let me hear the pnm panderers now? Allyuh feel thats the end? The decline will keep coming. Look out for more decline in 2017 quarter on quarter.

Postby desifemlove » November 12th, 2016, 2:08 pm

desifemlove wrote:Firms invest in other countries due to factor and demand conditions. This includes raw materials, labour, shipping routes, suppliers, business regs/laws, political stability. it also means creating an environment for this, and being able to identify a vision. also takes risks to attract firms. saying "why would they come and be defeatist" flies in the face of how many countries have developed. Singapore is a country many Trinis look up to, and under the British it was only important due to its position. ONly when the late PM Kee came in, did Singapore became wealthy. Similar with Hong Kong, China (PRC and ROC), South Korea, Japan, Ireland, etc.

I'm talking about attracting firms that can either supply and/or make goods, which has to be part of any diversification drive. T&T alone cannot set up stuff to produce overseas, and FDI is the norm even for big countries. it's defeatist to say "dey ent coming!" well why not? why is there no way to make them come or make it worth their while to come? this is why i say it takes initiative and balls, and a cursory look around the world to see how other countries have developed shows this. PNM/UNC people cite ideas, but never have the will to carry them out. Getting an assembly plant from a foreign firm, for whatever industry would provide jobs, but more consistent FOREX and growth. instead PNM/UNC (and to me they're the same) have spent decades on talk and no action. I guarantee that by 2050, nothing will change and by that time oil prices will be a lot lower and the country poorer.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 13th, 2016, 6:55 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161112 ... o-surprise

UWI financial economics lecturer Vaalmikki Arjoon said Friday the eight per cent quarterly shrinking of the economy in the second quarter of the year attests to the failure of current economic policies.

This thread will document impbert failure in addition to the predictions made, and as the damage becomes more and more apparent, we will realize we needed too get rid of this man as finance minister A S A P.

Postby Redman » November 13th, 2016, 7:00 am

So if Vaalmiki and you wrong ...yuh taking his head and yours??

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: A motion of no confidence..

Postby bluesclues » November 13th, 2016, 7:05 am

Redman wrote:So if Vaalmiki and you wrong ...yuh taking his head and yours??

The thing is.. i not wrong. Havent been wrong. And vaalmiki aint wrong neither. The only person wrong is impbert. Impbert doesnt understand the science of economic management. He is just chooking up in his fadda head.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 13th, 2016, 7:09 am

Let me put it this way redman. The ONLY WAY trinidad going to see positive growth under these new policies put in by impbert... is if the pnm bribe and extort the CSO to report false figures.

Lmao

Postby Redman » November 13th, 2016, 8:04 am

Its easy to make predictions when you have nothing at risk.
Nothing any one could have done would change the fact that our GDP growth is directly correlated to the movement of oil prices......

So if nothing is done-and oil stays here-Q1 and Q2 (early half 2017 for you) guess what-GDP will show +ve ...does that invalidate your concerns? or Validate theirs???
No and No.

Growth in TnT will move with Oil..... no surprise.

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » November 13th, 2016, 9:17 am

I find they should do things to stimulate flow of money in the economy instead of taxing everyone and saving up money in the piggy bank so they could take it home

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 13th, 2016, 10:57 am

Redman wrote:Its easy to make predictions when you have nothing at risk.
Nothing any one could have done would change the fact that our GDP growth is directly correlated to the movement of oil prices......

So if nothing is done-and oil stays here-Q1 and Q2 (early half 2017 for you) guess what-GDP will show +ve ...does that invalidate your concerns? or Validate theirs???
No and No.

U really think we will see positive growth while these policies remain? If oil is down then other sectors have to step up. And other sectors reporting decline and job loss. U really think q3 or q4 this year will show growth. Carnival was supposed to be the boost government was expecting. It didnt happen. Oil price rise so q3 at least should report growth. But we will see. I know i for one cut down my spending.

U say gdp growth is driven by oil price. So that mean when oil price was rising all over $100 we was seeing 50% or at least 20% gdp growth? But wait, did u factor in the declining oil production rates? With this year being the lowest since the start of the decline more than 2 decades ago? But besides that. There is no economic philosophy that states gdp growth is pegged to oil price. Our politicians might create policies which depend on the oil price as their philosophy. But that doesnt mean it's the right thing to do. It is both lazy and careless to just extract resources and spend the profits without having an incling to save and reinvest in expansion and becoming prepared for unexpected expenses that may arise in the future.

Gdp growth my friend, is tied to economic activity. That means circulation. That means ppl buying, selling and reselling goods and services at a faster rate. For that to happen they have to have money in their pocket and the confidence that they can make more to replace what they spend, and at the rate they wish to spend. Only the 'too big to fail' does spend out all their money bad and then extort the government for taxpayer money to keep themselves afloat. Ppl dont have that luxury.

Postby Redman » November 13th, 2016, 11:07 am

CORRELATED is what I said.

And if at the end of the day GORTT is the biggest spender---what drives economics activity??

And get the historical charts -see if we have any periods where the GDP disconnects from the oil prices.

but the real point is - that the stats are year over year and a number is a spot in time that says nothing without the trend lines.
So if all remains the same the YoY comps will improve.....but that dont say sheeeit.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 13th, 2016, 11:51 am

Redman wrote:CORRELATED is what I said.

And if at the end of the day GORTT is the biggest spender---what drives economics activity??

The crime that results from ppl having to fight for chicken scratchings while the government awards big contracts to a selected few. U dont think that would have a negative impact on economic activity? If the government spending high to cook the books in reporting gdp growth and that not reflected on the ground where it supposed to be, who are they fooling?

And get the historical charts -see if we have any periods where the GDP disconnects from the oil prices.

but the real point is - that the stats are year over year and a number is a spot in time that says nothing without the trend lines.
So if all remains the same the YoY comps will improve.....but that dont say sheeeit.

ive looked at them before and i will look at them again, but what i can guarantee is that the results will be unimpressive. By the numbers ud think trinidad went through another boom period. But on the ground the price of everything quadrupled. Thats what high government spending does. Fix the books to look good for international reports. Meantime is desert in the city for inhabitants who slaving for a pitance.

For true gdp growth the spending has to occur at the ground level by the citizens. The easiest way to make that happen is through higher wages. They could try and hack and stack how much they want. But the beast is so designed to function properly in only one way, and attempting to circumvent it's purpose comes with diverse consequences.

Postby Redman » November 13th, 2016, 12:07 pm

You cant de link TnT from oil prices just so.
You cant raise wages jess so.

IMHO I would like to see GORTT shrink and increase the private sectors input.
Let GORTT just get the fack outta the way.
but that will take time and a culture change alongside the financial sector doing something for a change.

That aint a Political problem at this point in time....

This admin has to stabilize ....and then worry about growth-you cant get people to invest in diversification if they generally feel uncertain...

And we do have hang overs from the last admin that need to be dealt with...

The best thing this admin can do is to change the systemic issues we have that make it difficult to incubate new industry or attract new entrants to the industries we want to expand..
We need to realise its more than a 5 year change AND that we will see some rough times as we adjust and shake out the excesses.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 13th, 2016, 12:13 pm

@redman, ah hope yuh see the 'Correlation'.

Lol

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 13th, 2016, 12:23 pm

Collecting the taxes is one thing. But is what they do with the money. And this opt has to be temporary. We already paying IMPORT DUTY. So why the need for a permanent online purchase tax? What is an import? Not a foreign purchase? Seems redundant.

Postby De Dragon » November 14th, 2016, 9:55 pm

No and No.

Declines in our oil/gas production will negate some of any price increases. These increases will be long in coming as many producers like the US, Iran and Iraq ramp up their production. The issue here is that knowing this, but basing the majority of your policies on this recovery is foolhardy, yet Impsbert and Co. seem determined to go this route.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 15th, 2016, 3:41 am

We are looking at the engineered destruction of our economy supported by plain faced deception of the ppl's perception. The man is literally providing the public with false point of views to validate his course.

We have declining production when we supposed to be increasing. We cant increase because they spend out all the money instead of investing in becoming independent in drilling and exploration which allowed foreign investors to cash out on half our oil resource gdp and budgetary contribution every year.

In light of that this can be easily analysed and summarized in a simple statement and famous quote...

'A problem cannot be solved by the same level of intelligence that created it.'

*drops mic*

Postby Redman » November 15th, 2016, 4:32 am

foreign investors to cash out on half our oil resource gdp and budgetary contribution every year

Bc explain that.

Postby Redman » November 15th, 2016, 4:43 am

No and No.

Declines in our oil/gas production will negate some of any price increases. These increases will be long in coming as many producers like the US, Iran and Iraq ramp up their production. The issue here is that knowing this, but basing the majority of your policies on this recovery is foolhardy, yet Impsbert and Co. seem determined to go this route.

Don't be deceived by the politics.
It fairly easy to reverse the decline.in production..The oil is there....The activity of drilling and workers was not.

We don't need 100 ...We just need stability in price.

Producers could be profitable in the 30s.
Not happy...but profitable...
We have the skills the knowledge and the experience...is an easy move WHILE diversification is ramped up.

Postby De Dragon » November 15th, 2016, 7:22 am

Redman wrote:

No and No.

Don't be deceived by the politics.
It fairly easy to reverse the decline.in production..The oil is there....The activity of drilling and workers was not.

We don't need 100 ...We just need stability in price.

Producers could be profitable in the 30s.
Not happy...but profitable...
We have the skills the knowledge and the experience...is an easy move WHILE diversification is ramped up.

We are negligible in the oil pricing world, so again while local producers may be reducing production due to depressed oil prices, the likelihood of those prices being depressed for some time again doesn't help us. The diversification effort has also been hit a blow as now non-energy items such as cement, new car sales are down by double digit percentages. This malaise will only spread the longer we wait. Trinidad and Tobago has over a century in oil/gas production but it has never helped us to control more of the value chain. We merely settle for royalties and other relatively paltry revenues while the majority goes to the oil companies, and their associated countries and economies.