VIDEO: Pedestrians Knocked Down By Vehicle At Crossing

Babsy

VIDEO: Pedestrians Knocked Down By Vehicle At Crossing

Postby Babsy » December 17th, 2016, 3:25 pm

A video showing two pedestrians being knocked down while trying to cross the roadway near a crosswalk on Thursday night is making the rounds on social media.

The incident is said to have taken place on Cipero Street, San Fernando, in the vicinity of City Wok restaurant.

http://www.thepettyroom.com/video-pedes ... -crossing/

Re: VIDEO: Pedestrians Knocked Down By Vehicle At Crossing

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2016, 3:27 pm

They say it is Jenny's south
Look like man get up, hope nobody foot got run over

Postby skylinechild » December 17th, 2016, 9:02 pm

Babsy wrote:A video showing two pedestrians being knocked down while trying to cross the roadway near a crosswalk on Thursday night is making the rounds on social media.

The incident is said to have taken place on Cipero Street, San Fernando, in the vicinity of City Wok restaurant.

http://www.thepettyroom.com/video-pedes ... -crossing/

at first i thought near a cross walk... nah u hadda be a special kind of kant to see a crosswalk and not use it,
you deserve to get run over...

after watching the vid the persons are indeed ON the crosswalk.

there was an article a few yrs ago where a motorist struck someone trying to cross the queens park Savannah...in the vicinity of a crosswalk (zebra crossing) the judge asked the lady why she didnt use the zebra crossing.
needless to say the "victim" was demanding compensation from the driver.
she lost the case. :lol:

would try to find the article..

and OP kindy endit your post.... NEAR a crosswalk and ON a crosswalk is two different things
and in before tuner specialists decide to differentiate between crosswalk and zebra crossing..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 17th, 2016, 9:07 pm

pugboy wrote:They say it is Jenny's south
Look like man get up, hope nobody foot got run over
Jenny's Wok south is now called City Wok.

this is the zebra crossing in front the establishment.

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2016, 9:20 pm

Heard last week a person/child won a case against a teacher who hit a student who stepped into the road by the school.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 19th, 2016, 8:54 am

Oh Damn..u can never be carefully when crossing the road.....on a zebra crossing or not....I always make sure the car comes to a complete stop and he driver acknowledges me and my family to cross....u can never assume the driver and car would stop automatically....it does operate so.... make sure driver sees u and car comes to a complete stop ppl.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 19th, 2016, 8:56 am

If that's jenny wok in south...that's a straight road probe to speeding but any driver who frequents there knows u must slow cause pedestrians are always crossing there....they even have a security who acts as a crossing guard sometimes....guess he was off duty ....

Postby SR » December 19th, 2016, 11:06 am

Ahh but who painted the crosswalk..... traffic management or city wok??

Postby tr1ad » December 19th, 2016, 12:22 pm

Traffic management, they also installed the crossing light (flashing amber)

Postby SR » December 19th, 2016, 1:34 pm

Nice they wukin in south

Postby K74T » December 19th, 2016, 6:49 pm

Reliable article from the Express, not some weird website.

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2016, 7:01 pm

Wuk or wok ?

Postby desifemlove » December 19th, 2016, 7:51 pm

driver should be charged and banned for life. or put in jail possibly for murder if the person dies.

and "who painted the crosswalk?" haha....sorry, a driver must be attentive at all times. if there are people on the side of the road, use good judgment and stop.

the issue is good driving training.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » December 19th, 2016, 8:01 pm

Sadly, this accident was waiting to happen. Drivers don't open the zebra crossing rules anymore. Traffic management has to do an educational series about the importance of stopping for pedestrians on or waiting by a zebra crossing.

I hope the victims recover fully

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 19th, 2016, 8:21 pm

I feeling it a little for the driver though... He/she wouldn't have seen them crossing until they were in his/her path as the vehicle in the opposing lane effectively blocked the pedestrians from being seen. As much as the driver should have been more cautious... You observe that the family behind assess the situation differently and stops to ensure that it is safe on the other Lane before they cross... Unlike the people that got hit

Postby desifemlove » December 19th, 2016, 8:22 pm

they should still be charged. it's attentive driving.

Postby sMASH » December 19th, 2016, 8:38 pm

Need to charge pedestrians for reckless crossing. Just like some drivers can have the right if way in a situation, but still do something to avoid an accident, same should apply to pedestrians.

Postby rspann » December 19th, 2016, 9:27 pm

desifemlove wrote:they should still be charged. it's attentive driving.

Baby girl,is English your first language?

Postby desifemlove » December 19th, 2016, 9:34 pm

sMASH wrote:Need to charge pedestrians for reckless crossing. Just like some drivers can have the right if way in a situation, but still do something to avoid an accident, same should apply to pedestrians.

It depends. the traffic appeared pretty slow, and how could the driver not know it's a crossing? the driver should have the book thrown at them.

Postby Redman » December 19th, 2016, 9:35 pm

well the man eh look left until the suv was on top of him....regardless of who has right of way.....man vs car never works out for the man. He should have been more aware-

Postby desifemlove » December 19th, 2016, 9:39 pm

rspann wrote:
desifemlove wrote:they should still be charged. it's attentive driving.

Baby girl,is English your first language?

No, since you don't use standard English a lot either....i generally don't on Web forums.

Postby rspann » December 19th, 2016, 9:43 pm

We not talking about standard English, you know what attentive means? How de fork they cud charge somebody for attentive driving?

Postby desifemlove » December 19th, 2016, 9:48 pm

dunno, don't care.

i do care when YOU care about typographical errors.

Postby Morpheus » December 19th, 2016, 10:21 pm

Pops engaged his Zebra Crossing immunity

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 20th, 2016, 12:08 am

desifemlove wrote:dunno, don't care.

please stop....your bs is just typical rum shop talk that goes on here all to often......

driver is in the green in my view. it was night, car with lights on going in the opposite direction would have obscured his view.....pedestrians just walk out into the road.....zebra crossing or not, they just walked into the road and didn't even look at the westbound lane...play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

Postby desifemlove » December 20th, 2016, 7:10 am

cacasplat3 wrote:

please stop....your bs is just typical rum shop talk that goes on here all to often......

driver is in the green in my view. it was night, car with lights on going in the opposite direction would have obscured his view.....pedestrians just walk out into the road.....zebra crossing or not, they just walked into the road and didn't even look at the westbound lane...play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

haha...i'm a trained advanced driver. due attention is key at all times. especially at a crossing. why not slow down or be more attentive at a crossing? it'swhy this country is in sheit, too many people not following rules and being slack cos dey does want easy pass. If i had my way, there would be harsh penalties for sheit likethis, it's what this country needs to progress. an iron fist, not fools condoning traffic accidents and bad driving.

Postby Morpheus » December 20th, 2016, 9:44 am

And since primary school they teach you to look both ways when crossing the road.

Both parties need to exercise caution Desi... being on a zebra crossing does not make you immune. Suppose somebody flying through with a stolen car? You feel they slowing down at any Zebra Crossings? Or some drunk fool maybe.

As a pedestrian, well I can only speak for me, I not proceeding until I am sure les drivers acknowledge my presence. I rather wait than be right and "bennup" in a hospital...
Last edited by Morpheus on December 20th, 2016, 9:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: RE: Re: VIDEO: Pedestrians Knocked Down By Vehicle At Crossing

Postby Dizzy28 » December 20th, 2016, 10:14 am

cacasplat3 wrote:

Isn't that zebra crossing a flashing amber light and not traditional red yellow green????

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2016, 10:32 am

U look one way, then the other, and then the first way again.... three times, and cross on the third time.
If people learn to leave the roads for the cars and to use the sidewalks, things will have a natural order.

But u have people ignorantly crossing highways, using the road to walk, two abreast, three abreast, while the other side of the road has a sidewalk, standing in the road practically occupying the complete lane waiting for taxi, putting the empty alcohol beverages on the roads and side walks as a sign of 'we could have afford a beer tonight and must mark the spot for all to know where we consumed it', and just walking across the road at their leisure, instead of waiting until it is safe or there is a group of people to justify halting the flow of traffic.

The culture is that of 'is a niceness' and 'we having ah time' all the time ... but it just reeks of disorder and inefficiency stemming from unintelligence, to me. U see more order and synergy with ants than these 'bounce meh nah's.'

Need to have dedicated crossing points, and and a pedestrian traffic light system too.

U forget the cctv footage from arima I thing, of the man that just step forward from the pavement from behind the parked car, on to the road, and was immediately bounced by the oncoming vehicle?

The man looked to see the traffic after he stepped onto the road.

Arrive alive should have a pedestrian program too. But I feel they would have a better chance at teaching crab to walk forwards and backwards.

Postby desifemlove » December 20th, 2016, 3:34 pm

Morpheus wrote:And since primary school they teach you to look both ways when crossing the road.

Both parties need to exercise caution Desi... being on a zebra crossing does not make you immune. Suppose somebody flying through with a stolen car? You feel they slowing down at any Zebra Crossings? Or some drunk fool maybe.

As a pedestrian, well I can only speak for me, I not proceeding until I am sure les drivers acknowledge my presence. I rather wait than be right and "bennup" in a hospital...

the law says one has to stop when driving. what is taught in primary school is one thing. what is the law is another.