pjfred wrote:So the world trade union or wtu supports owtu to the maximum and states it is beyond comparison cuz the hazards associated with oilfield jobs are highly fatal and as this industry still brings in the largest part of the pie to this country, it is unreasonable of any governing entity not to grant the increase especially after 6 years of no increase and ignorance by the company to pay the agreed bonuses and remuneration when others less deserving have gotten much more.
I say let's strike and see how far this country goes without our oil and support. Then you will value our contribution.
pjfred wrote:So the world trade union or wtu supports owtu to the maximum and states it is beyond comparison cuz the hazards associated with oilfield jobs are highly fatal and as this industry still brings in the largest part of the pie to this country, it is unreasonable of any governing entity not to grant the increase especially after 6 years of no increase and ignorance by the company to pay the agreed bonuses and remuneration when others less deserving have gotten much more.
I say let's strike and see how far this country goes without our oil and support. Then you will value our contribution.
bluesclues wrote:Garbage men getting 12k a month workin 2x 4 hr shift a day. Them have no reason to be striking right now. Just like owtu... now is not the time. But u have to blame the union agreement. What kind of agreement promises wage hikes regardless of company performance, and regardless of economic performance within a state company? Whoevrer forge these agreements just creating nipples to suck.. and owtu have all intention of sucking. A downsizing is on the cards. Too much steady losses. Positions have to made redundant. Start looking for a new wuk. But they know... nowhere else in the country will pay what they get from petrotrin so they have no negotiating power. They have much more to lose if they lose their wuk or worse if petrotrin shuts down or restructure.
Had they increased production it may be justified. But the people of tnt get nothing but decline for all their 'guaranteed rises' for every 4 year period. They dont deserve a raise. And i think its the people of trinidad and tobago that pay their salaries that decide that. What kind of employee asks for a raise in a decline of the company?
But ur point is taken. Fact is... if any of us strike in our sector the entire country will suffer. If teachers dont go to work school closed for the term. I sure owtu workers would like that. Hell, if all the fastfood workers strike and stay home most of allyuh starve and dead on the street.
pugboy wrote:like everybody forget how hassanali butter his salary and pension before he left the job and fix up a couple other high level managers too
GixxerMan wrote:pugboy wrote:like everybody forget how hassanali butter his salary and pension before he left the job and fix up a couple other high level managers too
and you point is?..... Malcolm Jones and Andrew Jupiter did no wrong? ....they were saints?
car wrote: The answer to your question about why Petrotrin workers get a high salary is because of the risk and health issues working there. Almost 90% of the workers will or already have some form of cancer from that refinery. Even if you work in the so called safe area like the admin building. All the evidence to this is there but not made public.
A piece of jewelery will be tarnished in just a few months from the exposure to the refinery. There are areas that if rain fall you have to shelter as the rain will be acidic in that area. I could go on an on with steam,noise,radiation, gas release and other things.
car wrote:They willing to take the risk for the money. If they leave they not going to get a job that is equivalent that will maintain their current lifestyle.
Due to inflation, at some point in time, the risk is not worth the money. At this point if the money increases the risk will be worth it. And that is one reason they are fighting for more money.
InsanityReigns wrote: Boy a 25 cents does turn black in a week. A visitor to pap refinery can't even take the smell of the refinery some even get sick for example the bank workers who vacate the banks at tropical plaza every time there's an emission. They close up the banks and go home. The Petrotrin worker however continues working, risking life, limb and health.
Ah that's why the salary comes into play. You think u will risk dying from cancer, injury and otherwise and leave a huge medical bill for your wife and chirren to pay off when yuh dead for minimum wage?
Them fellas with chrome finishes on their cars also does feel the pinch when their 1 year old vehicle starts to show rust and the finish start turning black.
car wrote:Half of the light poles that faces the boilers are rusted. The other half away from the boilers are like brand new. When you see this your blood will crawl and will make your pores raise.
litos wrote:Just asking valid Socialist questions here...
The basis of the Trade Union Movement is to strive for equity of social and economic opportunity for Labour. This is a given.
1) The central irony of the strike though...based upon the socialist argument...is that Petrotrin workers are already enjoying an inequitably large portion of the state's recurrent salary expenditure....added to this inequity are all the perks of the job that the workers enjoy...from housing to recreation.
2) A simple question: Why do Petrotrin workers....a state owned enterprise deserve such high salaries when the rest of the society barely getting by?
3) is it a matter of levels of education? Well.teachers and doctors are also well educated...i dont see them raking in tens of thousands.
4) is it a matter of skill? Well the janitor at Marios cleans just as skillfully as the Petrotrin ones.
is it a matter of levels of risk? Well by that same token the police men should be paid unreasonably highly also.
cheers.
GixxerMan wrote:pugboy wrote:like everybody forget how hassanali butter his salary and pension before he left the job and fix up a couple other high level managers too
and you point is?..... Malcolm Jones and Andrew Jupiter did no wrong? ....they were saints?
pjfred wrote:A top heavy company like us that was pilfered by the all government and their directors yet nobody was fired or held responsible like Malcolm Jones but yet u make statements like that!!! I will shut down this country cuz of people like u litos who too stupid and willing to bite the hand that feeds you.
hydroep wrote:According to the report just carried on TV6, Roget "understands" that certain friends of the Government stand to benefit from this strike by importing and selling fuel to Petrotrin at prices which the company will have to pay. Interesting.
Triniak47 wrote:Imagine a loss making company that pays billions in taxes.