Re: Best MBA in Trinidad? Need help choosing

Postby Dizzy28 » August 18th, 2014, 10:52 am

spirited721 wrote:
spirited721 wrote:Most of the institutions mentioned here as options or that are offering degree programs aren't accredited locally so idk what you're getting at. ..

Breadfruit fall in somebody garden??

No padna. I was just informing you that most of the places ppl talking about (like sbcs & sams) not accredited. So ppl shouldn't use that as something to sway their decision.
For those who want to know which are accredited: http://www.actt.org.tt/index.php/services/accreditation/list-of-accredited-institutions

Why shouldn't one use accreditation as a factor in making their decision? Accreditation is there just for that reason actually. It is a quality measure for those institutions that they meet certain requirements.

Postby The_Honourable » August 18th, 2014, 1:14 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Why shouldn't one use accreditation as a factor in making their decision? Accreditation is there just for that reason actually. It is a quality measure for those institutions that they meet certain requirements.

It is a factor but remember there are 2 types of accreditation by ACTT:

• Program Accreditation
• Institutional Accreditation.

ACTT Accreditation Explained: http://www.actt.org.tt/index.php/services/accreditation

I remember UWI, UTT and COSTAATT around 2008-2009 had (most of) their degree programs accredited but the institution itself was accredited 2-3 years later. CTS, SHEL & Sital for example have not been accredited institutionally but the degrees they offer like the Australian degree is accredited by ACTT. SBCS is the same, it has not been accredited institutionally but the Heriot Watt degrees (and probably others) they offer are.

I just learnt this part. We MUST consider accreditation by international bodies. In our case of MBA's, the bodies are:

Association of MBAs (AMBA)
AACSB International and
EQUIS

So let's say ACTT hasn't accredited the degree as yet but it is accredited by at least one of these international bodies, you are safe especially if you are seeking opportunities outside Trinidad. Two or more, like yuhself.
Acc.png
Number of schools with single, double and triple (AACSB-AMBA-EQUIS) accreditation outside North America.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 19th, 2014, 5:44 am

Local Accreditation is a moot point when it comes to these Distance Education Programs. SAMS, SBCS, SITAL etc. are glorified testing centers, not really educational Institutions.

They simply inserted themselves into the educational supply chain in order to charge what they call "tuition". SAMS, SBCS or SITAL will not appear anywhere on the final award of your degree and it would appear as though they were never even there. They do not mark/grade any scripts or course work as it is all sent back to the Awarding Institution. Calling "academic" employees of these institutions Professors or Lecturers is laughable at best. Tutor, demonstrator or Teaching Assistant seems more fitting.

If people are fussing about accreditation for SAMS, SBCS or SITAL then they might as well do the same for the guy giving lessons under his upstairs house.The lessons teacher is to CXC what SAMS/SBCS/SITAL is to Henley/Heriot Watt.

If you are concerned about Accreditation, look at the awarding (UK,AUS,CAN, US) institution instead.

Postby The_Honourable » August 20th, 2014, 5:37 pm

Update - The Henley MBA at SAMs has been suspended until further notice. It was THE best MBA being offered in the Caribbean so far and recognized internationally. I don't know if SAMs screwed up or Henley doing some changes to the degree.

Postby desifemlove » May 14th, 2015, 10:35 pm

pugboy wrote:how many of them lecturers actually run a business successfully with full responsibility and not as regular employee
to say they can lecture in Master of Business Administration ?

Erm....I've known CEO's/MDs who do..

but then provided it from good content, who cares? I would only care about passing with a good grade.

Postby desifemlove » May 14th, 2015, 10:48 pm

Azzuri wrote:Hi 2nrs,

Recently I've decided to further my post grad studies with an MBA. My background (if it helps) is that I'm 31, BSc & MSc in Chemical Engineering from UWI. I'm looking to expand my knowledge as I move up the corporate ladder in my workplace. I have also considered doing a Phd, but at this point in my life, I don't have the passion in Chem Eng to do a full Phd.

Anyhow, I've looked at almost all the local MBA programs, which are:
• Australian Institute of Business 12 Month MBA - Sital
• Heriot Watt MBA - SBCS
• UWI/Arthur Lok Jack IOB - 3 MBAs, International, Sustainable Energy and Executive
• Anglia Ruskin MBA - SAMs

All seem somewhat good in terms of the course content. But being a UWI grad I'm leaning toward Lok Jack. I have a meeting next week with Lok Jack to discuss the differences in the 3 MBA programs they offer, but I'd like some outsider knowledge on at the pros and cons of each.

Honestly, they're just two major things I'm considering when choosing this MBA
1. Quality of Lecturers - I like to learn by listening in class and not cramming at home.
2. Relevance of the work learned meaning content should not be outdated or too theoretical

Other than that, I don't care about the difficulty, most recognized, accreditations, amount of work etc.

Links for each program below:
http://www.aib.edu.au/about-sital.html
http://www.sbcs.edu.tt/programme/view/80
http://www.lokjackgsb.edu.tt/graduate_programme.php?id=40
http://www.samtt.com/samtt.com/anglia_MBA.html

I also looking, but Lok Jack seems like a good bet, and they have links with other unis in US. Heriot-Watt looking good too.

Postby desifemlove » October 6th, 2016, 4:55 pm

I did some of the Heriot-Watt, but for me not advisable. people will have their own views, but the content isn't much developed than undergrad, and it's just classroom, no presentations, seminars, etc. Lok-jack to me is more like how business school should be, a higher level of tuition and more of a mix, not just a classroom lecture and closed-book exam. Not saying it won't suit everybody, but then Lok-Jack is more like the top US or UK and European business schools in content and tuition.

i was taught by the current CEO of RBC T&T in one course (Mr. Darryl White), many of the SBCS lecturers are well to do professionally, so they stand up in that way.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » October 6th, 2016, 7:31 pm

desifemlove wrote:I did some of the Heriot-Watt, but for me not advisable. people will have their own views, but the content isn't much developed than undergrad, and it's just classroom, no presentations, seminars, etc. Lok-jack to me is more like how business school should be, a higher level of tuition and more of a mix, not just a classroom lecture and closed-book exam. Not saying it won't suit everybody, but then Lok-Jack is more like the top US or UK and European business schools in content and tuition.

i was taught by the current CEO of RBC T&T in one course (Mr. Darryl White), many of the SBCS lecturers are well to do professionally, so they stand up in that way.

Did you transfer from the Heriot Watt to Lok Jack? Or u had to start over from scratch?

I'm currently enrolled in the HW but thinking about switching for the same reasons.

baboo

MBA

Postby baboo » January 11th, 2017, 5:08 pm

Any tuners here doing their MBA with Heriot Watt? are you doing it with SBCS or on your own?

Re: MBA

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2017, 5:14 pm

Fork MBA..learn a second language

Postby The_Honourable » January 11th, 2017, 5:26 pm

desifemlove wrote:I did some of the Heriot-Watt, but for me not advisable. people will have their own views, but the content isn't much developed than undergrad, and it's just classroom, no presentations, seminars, etc. Lok-jack to me is more like how business school should be, a higher level of tuition and more of a mix, not just a classroom lecture and closed-book exam. Not saying it won't suit everybody, but then Lok-Jack is more like the top US or UK and European business schools in content and tuition.

I have to agree that the lecturers are very good. As Cooloh mentioned, did you finish or you transferred?
Last edited by The_Honourable on January 17th, 2017, 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » January 12th, 2017, 8:13 am

i do, or did, it's pretty rubbish imho. no different to first degree Business mgmt.

Lok Jack or more rigorous, and how a Masters should be.

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » January 16th, 2017, 3:16 pm

I did mine with HW many years ago. I'll list out the Pros and Cons as I see it:

Pros:
Self study in your own time. The classes are mandatory once you have GATE but otherwise its an individual course.
No coursework or assignments
Intake anytime during the year and sit exams three times per year. This is good if you want to finish quicker but can be a lot of work to cover
No Final year project
No Group assignments -that way you don't have to get together with sufferers who don't pull their facking weight
Classes are mixed between evenings and weekends

Cons
All your marks are based on a single exam
No coursework. I know it sounds weird but I prefer to be assessed partly on an examination and partly on coursework
No Final year project - same reasons as for coursework
The textbooks are not consistent and can vary in terms of the quality of information provided. I actually had to use a couple of other textbooks for supplemental reading to understand some concepts.

All in all, i think the ALJ is probably the most rigorous of all the MBAs in T&T. I lecture on the AIB MBA and wouldn't necessarily recommend that one - it's a little (or a lot) watered down, and tres extensive. Hard on your weekends too.

baboo

Postby baboo » January 17th, 2017, 10:05 am

Anyone studying on their for the Herriot Watt MBA?

Postby The_Honourable » January 17th, 2017, 12:28 pm

baboo wrote:Anyone studying on their for the Herriot Watt MBA?

Currently I am but pausing at the moment as my job and certifications is priority right now.

What you need to know baboo?

death365

Postby death365 » January 17th, 2017, 2:15 pm

Sam mba has no exams ... some courses are 2 written papers or 1 written and a group presentation ...

so if u hate exams .... u'll love it :idea:

Postby The_Honourable » January 17th, 2017, 8:40 pm

Emmar01 wrote:I did mine with HW many years ago. I'll list out the Pros and Cons as I see it:

Pros:
Self study in your own time. The classes are mandatory once you have GATE but otherwise its an individual course.
No coursework or assignments
Intake anytime during the year and sit exams three times per year. This is good if you want to finish quicker but can be a lot of work to cover
No Final year project
No Group assignments -that way you don't have to get together with sufferers who don't pull their facking weight
Classes are mixed between evenings and weekends

Cons
All your marks are based on a single exam
No coursework. I know it sounds weird but I prefer to be assessed partly on an examination and partly on coursework
No Final year project - same reasons as for coursework
The textbooks are not consistent and can vary in terms of the quality of information provided. I actually had to use a couple of other textbooks for supplemental reading to understand some concepts.

All in all, i think the ALJ is probably the most rigorous of all the MBAs in T&T. I lecture on the AIB MBA and wouldn't necessarily recommend that one - it's a little (or a lot) watered down, and tres extensive. Hard on your weekends too.

Good review Emmar01.

I see you mentioned the AIB masters that SHEL, CTS & SITAL offers. As you lecture on it, can you give Pros & Cons like you did for Heriott Watt? I noted the three cons you gave but you can mention it again.

I am getting mixed reviews in the Anglia Ruskin MBA offered by SAMS. Anybody want to elaborate?

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2017, 7:24 am

The_Honourable wrote: I am getting mixed reviews in the Anglia Ruskin MBA offered by SAMS. Anybody want to elaborate?

The Anglia Ruskin MBA is like doing a BSc.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 29th, 2017, 8:51 am

Does anyone here have experience doing the MBA in sustainable energy management?
Registered for the MBA and wanted some feedback
I'm thinking it would be helpful as I already have a BSc and MSc in engineering with 10 yrs work exp

TBrown

Colleges For MBA

Postby TBrown » May 6th, 2017, 8:50 am

Well... I checked out Sital but I'm unsure of their ratings.

I want to do my mba in HR.

I was considering returning to USC cause it's what I already know but I love the idea of open book exam offered by Sital. Plus it being one year with many exit points

There's also Cipriani.

Which college you guys recommend.

Re: Colleges For MBA

Postby tr1ad » May 6th, 2017, 3:54 pm

AIB offered at Sital is just utter rubbish

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » May 6th, 2017, 6:02 pm

Isn't AIB on the whole rubbish?

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » May 6th, 2017, 6:43 pm

I used to lecture on the AIB MBA and it is really watered down. Don't be fooled by the one-year completion. What the schools fail to tell you is that most studenrs take 18months to complete. It is also somewhat counter-intuitive to 'learn' a full MBA module and content in three weeks, just think about it. Thats like learning CXC physics over three weeks and sitting the exam.

If you're unemployed and have access to good source companies for reference and case study info then at a stretch you can do it in 12 months. Ive been with the program for five years and never met a student who completed it in that timeframe.

Bear in mind that AIB are going fully online in 2018 so local schools will not be offering intakes after Oct 17. Inbox me for further info if you need.

Expat1

Postby Expat1 » December 4th, 2017, 4:18 am

An MBA in 12 months does not make any sense. One needs a bachelor's degree before even considering the Graduate Management Aptitude Test (GMAT) in order to get admitted into any worthwhile MBA program. Even so the genuine MBA program is two years for 22 courses. Therefore the total number of years to acquire this degree is six years with a minimum of 62 courses. Good luck with your non-bachelor, 12 month MBA diploma at best but certainly not a degree. It may work in Trinidad but nowhere else.

Expat1

Postby Expat1 » December 4th, 2017, 4:30 am

I seriously doubt that there is a single internationally recognised MBA degree program in Trinidad. Why? You do not have the qualified tenured professors, libraries or resources. Those British and Australian on-line courses are simply cash grabs.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 4th, 2017, 7:00 am

Be honest people...all this mba msc mphil etc etc...how much ah allyuh making more than 15k per mth with it???

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » December 4th, 2017, 9:25 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Be honest people...all this mba msc mphil etc etc...how much ah allyuh making more than 15k per mth with it???

Well im in IT but it`s true I don`t really see much ppl making 15k with a MSc/MBA alone.

I only had IT certs and experience and got offered 20k for a ICT role (can`t say which company lol)

But i`m doing my MSc atm in SAMS.

Also does anyone know about the MBA from CTS in digital technology management? i heard it `s about 40k max and it`s with Bedforshire rather than AIB.

Postby The_Honourable » February 19th, 2018, 1:00 am

Tuners, I noticed that SITAL, SHEL and CTS switched from the Australian (AIB) MBA to the University of Bedfordshire MBA. It's like they switched from one "12 month" mba to another.

What happened? reviews?

Postby zoom rader » February 19th, 2018, 5:13 am

Man, bodi making more money than MBA

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 19th, 2018, 6:47 am

what he said...^

and not bashing here eh....but I spoke to some HR personnel in a recruiting department and they stated that when they see qualifications from

SAMS
SITAL
COSTATT etc etc

they just put that application aside...UWI or Arthur Lok Jack or some international university is what they go for...shrugs shoulders..

as I said before...I'd stick to being bilingual or multilingual