Re: Teachers Salary Trinidad

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 18th, 2017, 9:54 am

I know a t3 who collecting around 11 Before tax

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 18th, 2017, 10:53 am

Teachers make nothing. ..plus take disrespect from kids daily...
Waste of time career choice op

Drea

Postby Drea » June 18th, 2017, 11:51 am

Its unfortunate to see some of the comments in here based on observations, I have a couple of former classmates who are in the teaching field and most seem to like it. At the end of the day teaching is a special calling and I believe many people now are just choosing to go into teaching as an easy job with 2 months vacation plus Christmas and Easter. Seeing a lot of younger teachers in the school, whereas you know when you were entering secondary school there were these seasoned older teachers who didn't make joke.
But I'm not discrediting the fact that now children in schools are muchhh more difficult to deal with, plenty teachers trying to get into the prestige schools and avoid the government ones. And another problem one of my friends who is at a government school is having is working under a principal that don't do sh*t and just don't care, their main purpose is to collect a salary.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 18th, 2017, 2:42 pm

Above a certain level the politics steps in and the principals can do very little but tow the line. So they resign themselves mentally.

Also in many cases especially in the government schools the principals hide or don't publicly declare the statistics of their school because if the school looks bad so do they and they get poor treatment from the Ministry.
Last edited by Numb3r4 on June 18th, 2017, 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TBrown

Postby TBrown » June 18th, 2017, 2:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I know a t3 who collecting around 11 Before tax

How can a t3 be collecting 11k before tax ? Is that private or government ?

These rates posted in the forum are not factual ?

Postby X_Factor » June 18th, 2017, 4:21 pm

T3 secondary before tax starts at 12k

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 18th, 2017, 7:16 pm

Government.... Only a few years service...well daz wah d person tell me...shrugs shoulders... This profession would have been a good choice if corporal punishment was still around

dannycole

Postby dannycole » June 20th, 2017, 5:23 am

There're a lot of countries where the job in the educational sphere is ungrateful. It gives the professionals 2paths - tutoring after official work and bribes. Only in some Scandinavian countries, like Finland teacher is an honorable title. After graduation, I also had a 1-year practice of teaching and you know, it does not worth spending time and health. Now, working as a freelance editor and content writer at college paper writing service I feel much better as an expert, have a good salary and much more time for the personal and professional development.
Last edited by dannycole on April 8th, 2019, 6:56 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby adnj » June 20th, 2017, 8:06 am

There aren't too many teacher shortages so I have to believe that the pay is sufficient for the people starting. But there seems to be a lot of gripes from the old timers trying to retire.

TBrown

Postby TBrown » June 21st, 2017, 6:04 pm

adnj wrote:There aren't too many teacher shortages so I have to believe that the pay is sufficient for the people starting. But there seems to be a lot of gripes from the old timers trying to retire.

The shortage is real but I know of people waiting over 2 years just to get accessed. That is where the problem stems from....the employees at the MOE. I don't know if they put applications in a cupboard and label it "pending for 2 years" while they relax. Why so slow ?

Off the salary....i did some research and not finding this question so obviously no answer...whats the necessary qualifications to become ss principal ? Before was seniority (which comes with experience)... what is it now?

Postby X_Factor » June 21st, 2017, 6:52 pm

for primary school...degree...b.ed and 3 yrs in a management post I believe...

TBrown

Postby TBrown » June 25th, 2017, 9:47 am

X_Factor wrote:for primary school...degree...b.ed and 3 yrs in a management post I believe...

Well u should know they dropped primary to 5 Os. Idk if one can get promotion with that tho. Either way I'm qualified for secondary. So my aim is principal. Management degree masters should make sense ?

Postby adnj » June 28th, 2017, 6:27 pm

Maybe a Masters degree in Education. You won't get much in the way of school management with an MBA.

Postby X_Factor » June 28th, 2017, 6:29 pm

his opportunities would be out of the school and working in the MOE on contract in a managerial position
maybe overseeing, planning, executing
but having a masters and getting 16k as a principal primary and all the stress associated with it is far from worth it

Postby adnj » June 28th, 2017, 8:32 pm

I thought he said that he wanted to be a school principal.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 28th, 2017, 9:20 pm

16k as a principal... dat is licks

TBrown

Postby TBrown » June 29th, 2017, 9:21 pm

Secondary... the 18k seems worth it to me. Thanks for the advice on education masters

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » July 16th, 2022, 12:34 pm

Do UTT graduates get the T3 status or is it UWI alone?
Any major difference between both graduates?