Savings or Checking?

Lordshelinator

Savings or Checking?

Postby Lordshelinator » August 14th, 2017, 4:10 pm

When using your Debit card, the new trend is that they ask you if your account is Savings or Checking. It seems helpful but they seem to bypass the amount confirmation and we all know how long it takes to refund a transaction on a debit card through the card if it's the wrong amount. My question, do you think this is helpful or nefarious?

Drea

Re: Savings or Checking?

Postby Drea » August 14th, 2017, 4:43 pm

I try to pay close attention when handing over my debit card, initially i was a firm believer in telling cashiers I will select the account for myself but what I've realised is that there are so many different type of machines. In fact one particular machine they actually have to select the account type first and then enter the transaction amount (so it may be a bit annoying for them to give it to you, then take it back to enter the amount and then return to you again to input your pin). But some places do give you the option to select, I fed up make errors unless F2 and F3 keys are labeled accordingly. Some machines do allow you to see the amount on the same screen that you enter your pin.

Postby RedVEVO » August 14th, 2017, 4:46 pm

If you mix up F2 and F3 the transaction will abort .

What new machines ?

There is a wireless and a wired .

Drea

Postby Drea » August 14th, 2017, 5:17 pm

Yea some machines have f1 and f2 or f3, but the way the options show up it looks lower and closer to the f2 option which i sometimes choose, and although I usually have $$ in both my accounts its annoying to me when I choose the wrong account.

I have seen many groceries with different machines, some have the big old clunky one, others have a shorter (cheap looking) one, i even came across one with a touch screen which mess me up have me pressing the screen at other places lol.

Postby 88sins » August 14th, 2017, 5:47 pm

Lordshelinator wrote:When using your Debit card, the new trend is that they ask you if your account is Savings or Checking. It seems helpful but they seem to bypass the amount confirmation and we all know how long it takes to refund a transaction on a debit card through the card if it's the wrong amount. My question, do you think this is helpful or nefarious?

They don't have to ask you to confirm the amount. You see the amount on the display, and agreed to pay that and by entering your PIN.

plenty people have their checking account linked to their debit card, along with a savings account. which is imho, just another way to tax the customer. Its convenient, but not worth the cost.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 14th, 2017, 11:40 pm

yeah this seems to be the trend , but to ensure the right amount is collected. after the transaction i verify the amount with the slip provided.
What i dont like is handing over my credit card as the security code is on the back so any one can get it .
Then they ask you for id and they get your address and birth date .
so they have all info to use your credit card online

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2017, 11:47 pm

I need to ask once again what's the holdup with local banks implementing the chip and pin security on all cards and machines.
Other countries had this so long ago, and now gone past that with tap and pay.

But we in Trinidad still card swiping in 2017.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 14th, 2017, 11:54 pm

I think rbc is about to implement one here. My new cc has only 1 year on it and I noticed a booklet with a chip and pin card on a bank workers desk.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 15th, 2017, 12:12 am

Republic bank implement this years ago, pin and chip but it sad to see other local banks now want to.
There are other technology out there where you dont even have to hand over your card but just scan it

Postby RedVEVO » August 15th, 2017, 12:18 am

hong kong phooey wrote:yeah this seems to be the trend , but to ensure the right amount is collected. after the transaction i verify the amount with the slip provided.
What i dont like is handing over my credit card as the security code is on the back so any one can get it .

Yes good advice .. :D

RBC lacking in security with credit cards ..

RBL have the pin and chip thing long time .. but can you use online ?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 15th, 2017, 1:56 am

RedVEVO wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:yeah this seems to be the trend , but to ensure the right amount is collected. after the transaction i verify the amount with the slip provided.

Yes no issue with using online, using foreign and they on the ball, if you do not inform them you are travelling and u use the card overseas expect a call, if you do not get the call expect your transaction to be declined.

Postby 88sins » August 15th, 2017, 5:45 am

RedVEVO wrote:

hkp, a tip. When confirming your identity using a cc, show them your ID card, don't hand it over. There's no DOB or address on the front of your ID card.

And to answer your question redvevo, it works online and overseas just fine.
Last edited by 88sins on August 15th, 2017, 5:51 am, edited 2 times in total.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 15th, 2017, 9:11 am

thanks 88sins but i rarely walk with my id card do to the fact that i expect to get robbed and then is another hassle.
so wallet is just credit card, bank card and DP and very little money

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 15th, 2017, 9:15 am

Scotia also uses chip and pin cards.

Be wary of when they swipe your card more than once, or remove and insert again, sometimes the transaction goes tru multiple times but usually its reversed once the banks reconcile.

idk when we will get the terminals where there is a screen facing the customer and customer swipes and sign on the touchscreen to complete the transaction or enter pin. The merchant never touches your card.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 15th, 2017, 9:40 am

originalbling wrote:Scotia also uses chip and pin cards.

Be wary of when they swipe your card more than once, or remove and insert again, sometimes the transaction goes tru multiple times but usually its reversed once the banks reconcile.

idk when we will get the terminals where there is a screen facing the customer and customer swipes and sign on the touchscreen to complete the transaction or enter pin. The merchant never touches your card.

The first time I saw the screen facing me was in walmart and I didn't know what to do - LOL

Postby 88sins » August 15th, 2017, 11:42 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
originalbling wrote:Scotia also uses chip and pin cards.

The first time I saw the screen facing me was in walmart and I didn't know what to do - LOL

had to be at lease one treenee in fareeen to mek we look bad so eh :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » August 15th, 2017, 12:00 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Yes no issue with using online, using foreign and they on the ball, if you do not inform them you are travelling and u use the card overseas expect a call, if you do not get the call expect your transaction to be declined.
Yup, no issues using it online. Any issues the rbl credit card center is easy to reach.
And x2 on notifying them when travelling.

Postby RedVEVO » August 15th, 2017, 12:50 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Yup, no issues using it online. Any issues the rbl credit card center is easy to reach.
And x2 on notifying them when travelling.

Understand above - if you in foreign or local standing in front vendor - you use your secret pin.

But if you using " Chip and Pin " card online how is it different from the others with no C & P ?

Tuner Phooey is correct . People can get your ID with all info and make illegal online transactions .

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 15th, 2017, 12:59 pm

^^ Cause in the case of online transactions you have to enter CC number, exp date and CVV code (3 digit code on back)

The PIN is only used where the terminal can read the chip and you use the pin as a level of "authentication". With the older terminals they still swipe your card and you sign the slip

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2017, 1:36 pm

Lordshelinator wrote:When using your Debit card, the new trend is that they ask you if your account is Savings or Checking. It seems helpful but they seem to bypass the amount confirmation and we all know how long it takes to refund a transaction on a debit card through the card if it's the wrong amount. My question, do you think this is helpful or nefarious?

helpful,
i've seen people click the wrong button up to 5 times and they keep having to redo transaction

in any event your slip will have the correct amount.

Postby RedVEVO » August 15th, 2017, 3:41 pm

Nefarious ..

It have bandit and "innocent" looking undercover gang members everywhere .. even Bess ting :roll:

fozzy2010

Postby fozzy2010 » August 15th, 2017, 6:01 pm

Recently heard my staff asking customers chequing or savings. When i asked them about it they said RBC recently changed/upgraded the machine. Before you would swipe the customers card, punch in the amount and pass to the customer. Now you have to press purchase, then choose debit or credit card, punch in the amount, choosing chequing or savings and then swipe the card.

skibz

Postby skibz » August 15th, 2017, 6:16 pm

Regarding the new machine, when you are entering the pin, you also see the amount on the screen.