What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Premchand1976

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby Premchand1976 » September 12th, 2017, 9:17 pm

Nervewrecker, question for you and others, the extra copper coils are to be removed and keep lines straight and short as possible from condenser to evaporator or can they be coiled up behind condenser and left for maybe future repairs / extensions ? Advantages / disadvantages in doing or not doing so ?

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2017, 9:49 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Nervewrecker, question for you and others, the extra copper coils are to be removed and keep lines straight and short as possible from condenser to evaporator or can they be coiled up behind condenser and left for maybe future repairs / extensions ? Advantages / disadvantages in doing or not doing so ?
If is the 410a systems most people usually use the full length and coil it up because monkey saw that and thats all monkey know.
The units designed to work with x amount of pressure and that includes the 10 feet of lines. You decrease lines you increase pressure.
Now refrigerant is a thing that changes pressure with temp while volume remains a constant. So if is a lil 2 feet of lines you trim off its negligible. But if you trimming lines its best to know the operating pressures and let out some refrigerant. I am not going to say how and whats the pressure. Who wants to know should go get certified like I did (for the copy cat technicians nah).
If the lines are too short the operating pressures will be significantly higher and your compressor will have a shorter lifespan. The current draw will also be higher.

So all in all, like I said, you get what you pay for.
Want a tech that will give you a neat job (no coil up bizness) and warranty, better be prepared to pay the few extra hundred dollars because in the future you going to have to call him anyways and candle will cost more than funeral.

Oh, and when you extend lines you have to add refrigerant and oil.

Postby rollingstock » September 12th, 2017, 10:01 pm

Yeah I know the thread title.

But....

Any reviews on the portable units from pricesmart?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2017, 10:07 pm

rollingstock wrote:Yeah I know the thread title.

But....

Any reviews on the portable units from pricesmart?

Neighbor had one, works like ass in all honesty so bad that he sold it. Because the compressor is still inside the room there will always be heat, just stay away from it. Else you too will be diving off your house roof after spending that money.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 12th, 2017, 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2017, 10:08 pm

Those would be mastertech or Frigidaire?
I think some out here are 110v so they pull double the current as a 220v unit would.
You have to burst a bigger hole in your wall than you would for a split unit to accommodate these so called portable units and cold air sinks. So having an evaporator up on top would do a better job than having it on the ground.

I worked on a Frigidaire split over the weekend and find the cooling capacity looked over rated.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2017, 10:10 pm

^ My Split is a Frigidaire its 12K BTU rated at 1350 Watts 220v, no idea if its over rated but it works incredibly good. Bought in 2009 December and it works to this day every day atleast 12 hours a day and sometimes 24 hours a day.

Problem with all them portable units is the compressor is inside your room so that sheit runs hot no matter what you do.

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2017, 10:23 pm

1350 / 220 is about 6A.
Daikin 12k btu pulls about 4A.

Pics of unit btw?
The one I worked on had a small evap like a 9000btu.
I been suspecting dishonest people passing off 9's as 12's just like they been passing off non inverters as inverters.

More fins = more surface area and better cooling / efficiency. Should see a trane 12k btu, yuh go bawl.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 13th, 2017, 12:17 am

nervewrecker wrote:1350 / 220 is about 6A.
Daikin 12k btu pulls about 4A.

Pics of unit btw?
The one I worked on had a small evap like a 9000btu.
I been suspecting dishonest people passing off 9's as 12's just like they been passing off non inverters as inverters.

More fins = more surface area and better cooling / efficiency. Should see a trane 12k btu, yuh go bawl.

Its the LONG ones, yes I am aware of the new ones that claim to be 12K BTU yet somehow it looks exactly like 9K mine looks exactly how a 12K is supposed to look which is very long with lots of surface area fins on the Evap.

let me know if you still want the pics

I found these images online this is 100% exactly what mine looks like

And i also observed everybody who is selling these small looking 12K BTU none of them has a 9K in stock for you to compare
My father has a"Coleman 12K BTU" Split the small looking ones and guess what? it cools like ass, it cools exactly like a 9K

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2017, 6:04 am

Odd enough the mini 12 pulls more current than a traditional 12.

Drea

Postby Drea » September 13th, 2017, 12:59 pm

What is a good small unit to get for a room that gets direct sunlight for the majority of the day? Not in need of anything fancy, I'm not even a fan of the cold but the heat these days unbearable. I tend to run a/c between 24-26 and after a while take it off. Suggestions. :?:

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2017, 3:54 pm

Drea wrote:What is a good small unit to get for a room that gets direct sunlight for the majority of the day? Not in need of anything fancy, I'm not even a fan of the cold but the heat these days unbearable. I tend to run a/c between 24-26 and after a while take it off. Suggestions. :?:
Will need to know size of room and location. Always best to have a site visit done.

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2017, 5:33 pm

Its usually best to leave the ac on btw. Once sized properly it will work, bring down the temp and cycle off.
No need to turn on and turn off.
One needs to know room size among other things

Postby skylinechild » September 14th, 2017, 2:41 pm

^^^^^ still waiting on yuh to fix meh up eah...still without AC......

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 14th, 2017, 4:04 pm

Drea wrote:What is a good small unit to get for a room that gets direct sunlight for the majority of the day? Not in need of anything fancy, I'm not even a fan of the cold but the heat these days unbearable. I tend to run a/c between 24-26 and after a while take it off. Suggestions. :?:

I eh know about turning it off, my room gets warm pretty quick due to how much electronics inside here pushing heat, UPS, Flow Modem, Router, Monitor, HEAT from my gaming PC, Light bulb and yes florescent real hot also. And not only that but because I on the western side I can't get breeze from east cause my brother lives on the eastern side. So outside does be real cool at nights but inside SUPER Hot.

Padner we living in one of the absolute most humid places on earth and the planet getting hotter each year. Without an AC I rather dead

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 14th, 2017, 4:22 pm

was just reading an article on AC being a matter of life and death rather than just added comfort https://www.theverge.com/2017/9/14/1629 ... t-symphony

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 14th, 2017, 4:31 pm

cryotec wrote:was just reading an article on AC being a matter of life and death rather than just added comfort https://www.theverge.com/2017/9/14/1629 ... t-symphony

^ That was a very nice find dude, love the article.

India is pretty much the worst place in the world to live, WAY hotter and more humid than Trinidad with a terrible electricity service.

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2017, 4:51 pm

Meanwhile boom champions and their degenerate followers knocking the school kid and staff for protesting due to lack of ac.
Oh how dem went to school and it didnt have ac.
Isnt there something in the osh act about being in a room for 2 hours if its over 24 degrees centigrade?

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » September 14th, 2017, 10:16 pm

Yea I heard them this morning. Oh it's the way they building the schools now. What the fack you want schools to be like long time where mosquitoes give half them children boboos on their skin and smelling like hog? Then again it's pnm people who like boom champions no progress keep everything old and shitty

matix

Postby matix » September 14th, 2017, 10:25 pm

Not surprised at all with boom champions. Hardcore red and ready

nick639v2

What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby nick639v2 » September 15th, 2017, 12:27 am

Gonna get 4 Daikin units installed soon, 2 12k and 2 36k..

Total cost installed is $20,000.00

How's the performance on these and availability of parts??

And...
Isolator panels are being installed on the 36k, should i do the same for the 12k units? Or panel breaker would be fine??

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2017, 5:45 am

nick639v2 wrote:Gonna get 4 Daikin units installed soon, 2 12k and 2 36k..

Total cost installed is $20,000.00

How's the performance on these and availability of parts??

And...
Isolator panels are being installed on the 36k, should i do the same for the 12k units? Or panel breaker would be fine??
Where you getting daikin 12's?
Price sounds good..
The 36's will need the isolators, 12's wont

Drea

Postby Drea » September 15th, 2017, 9:33 am

Will need to know size of room and location. Always best to have a site visit done.

Gotcha, not too good with guesstimating but I would average 12 x 12. and its a corner room one wall faces north and the other west (western side getting all the heat) and never much breeze.

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2017, 5:27 pm

Drea wrote:

Gotcha, not too good with guesstimating but I would average 12 x 12. and its a corner room one wall faces north and the other west (western side getting all the heat) and never much breeze.
Most likely you looking at a 12000btu of reputable brand name. Not all 12's are 12's.
My gree 12000btu inverter is the size of an 18000btu of some other brands.

Postby rspann » September 15th, 2017, 6:09 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Meanwhile boom champions and their degenerate followers knocking the school kid and staff for protesting due to lack of ac.
Isnt there something in the osh act about being in a room for 2 hours if its over 24 degrees centigrade?

As a qualified AC tech, you would know that and AC wouldn't work unless the room was sealed and without vent blocks like the old school classrooms. Without the AC and with the temps these days the children cannot be expected to stay in a room like that. Boom Champions just saying what koolaid does make you say.

Postby rspann » September 15th, 2017, 6:09 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Meanwhile boom champions and their degenerate followers knocking the school kid and staff for protesting due to lack of ac.

As a qualified AC tech, you would know that and AC wouldn't work unless the room was sealed and without vent blocks like the old school classrooms. Without the AC and with the temps these days the children cannot be expected to stay in a room like that. Boom Champions just saying what koolaid does make you say.

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2017, 7:00 pm

Some schools have been retrofitted with clear insulating sheets (not sure if plexi) over the vent blocks.
When I went to school temps were 30 degrees. Now is 36 degrees. I have a pic of a door measuring 70 degrees centigrade.

Postby ronsin1 » September 15th, 2017, 7:26 pm

The.school was rebuilt about 8 years ago it's not like the old blocks the.school.As no ventilation if the hvac system is not.working

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2017, 7:54 pm

This IR thermometer is on par with the fluke. Had it compared against the fluke for measurements that day. Image

bootmee

Postby bootmee » September 17th, 2017, 2:40 pm

Anyone has Daikin ? Any reviews ? How do they perform compare to Panasonic, Lennox and others.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 17th, 2017, 2:47 pm

bootmee wrote:Anyone has Daikin ? Any reviews ? How do they perform compare to Panasonic, Lennox and others.

Might get my daikin units installed this week so i'll post em, i have experienced with peakes and green energy to compare.

@nerve the installer buying the units bro so when i go to check him i will find out. The 12k was hard to source because they're is little on the market ( well so we heard from everyone we called)