Singapore to Stop Adding Cars to City From February 2018

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 23rd, 2017, 10:46 am

These people have great discipline. We should have been learning from this.

Singapore, among the world’s most expensive places to own a vehicle, will stop increasing the total number of cars on its roads next year.

The government will cut the annual growth rate for cars and motorcycles to zero from 0.25 percent starting in February, the transport regulator said on Monday.

“In view of land constraints and competing needs, there is limited scope for further expansion of the road network," the Land Transport Authority said in a statement on its website. Roads already account for 12 percent of the city-state’s total land area, it said.

Smaller than New York City, land in Singapore is a precious commodity and officials want to ensure the most productive use of the remaining space. Its infrastructure is among the world’s most efficient and the government is investing S$28 billion ($21 billion) more on rail and bus transportation over the next five years, the regulator said.

free_singapore_tour_900.jpg

Singapore requires car owners to buy permits -- called Certificates of Entitlement -- that allow holders to own their vehicles for 10 years. These permits are limited in supply and auctioned monthly by the government. At the most recent offering last week, the permit cost S$41,617 for the smallest vehicles.

The LTA said the zero-growth target will affect vehicles in Categories A, B and D under its permit system -- these include cars and motorcycles. The existing vehicle growth rate of goods vehicles and buses will remain at 0.25 percent per annum until March 2021 to give businesses time to improve the efficiency of their operations and reduce the number of commercial vehicles they require, LTA said.

These changes are not expected to significantly affect the supply of permits since the quota is determined largely by the number of vehicle deregistrations, the regulator said. The limit on vehicle growth rate will be reviewed again in 2020.

singapore_1.jpg

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... ruary-2018

Re: Singapore to Stop Adding Cars to City From February 2018

Postby skylinechild » October 23rd, 2017, 10:49 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:These people have great discipline. We should have been learning from this.

Singapore, among the world’s most expensive places to own a vehicle, will stop increasing the total number of cars on its roads next year.

The government will cut the annual growth rate for cars and motorcycles to zero from 0.25 percent starting in February, the transport regulator said on Monday.

“In view of land constraints and competing needs, there is limited scope for further expansion of the road network," the Land Transport Authority said in a statement on its website. Roads already account for 12 percent of the city-state’s total land area, it said.

Smaller than New York City, land in Singapore is a precious commodity and officials want to ensure the most productive use of the remaining space. Its infrastructure is among the world’s most efficient and the government is investing S$28 billion ($21 billion) more on rail and bus transportation over the next five years, the regulator said.

free_singapore_tour_900.jpg

Singapore requires car owners to buy permits -- called Certificates of Entitlement -- that allow holders to own their vehicles for 10 years. These permits are limited in supply and auctioned monthly by the government. At the most recent offering last week, the permit cost S$41,617 for the smallest vehicles.

The LTA said the zero-growth target will affect vehicles in Categories A, B and D under its permit system -- these include cars and motorcycles. The existing vehicle growth rate of goods vehicles and buses will remain at 0.25 percent per annum until March 2021 to give businesses time to improve the efficiency of their operations and reduce the number of commercial vehicles they require, LTA said.

These changes are not expected to significantly affect the supply of permits since the quota is determined largely by the number of vehicle deregistrations, the regulator said. The limit on vehicle growth rate will be reviewed again in 2020.

singapore_1.jpg

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... ruary-2018

meanwhile in sweet T&T...............

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2017, 10:50 am

They have a super efficient and clean MRT. We have the PBR, maxis, taxis and PH!!

However I always felt in Trinidad we should have started a system whereby every newly registered car should entail the deregistering and scrapping of another car. There should be some equilibrium in the number of vehicles allowed to traverse our 5000kms2 of land space.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 23rd, 2017, 10:56 am

Could the “Singapore Experience” Have Happened in Trinidad?

By Paul Hay
CJ Contributor

Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore’s first Prime Minister, died on 23 March 2015; and on 29 March 2015, the Straits Times published an article titled “The Singapore That Lee Kuan Yew Built” which stated that he “…foretold the transformation of the country from a tiny slum-ridden trading post ...” back in 1959.

On 1 April 2015, another article in the Straits Times, titled “Interactive Map: How Twittersphere Reacted to News of Mr. Lee Kuan Yew’s Death”, stated that over 1.2 million related tweets were sent in the week preceding his death. Unwittingly, I may have contributed to this statistic.

A Trinidadian Information Technology professional had posted one of my articles “Singapore: Example to the Caribbean in Doing Business” with the comment “Caribbean leaders think they can cut and paste Singapore success story here, they need (sic) address productivity and innovation first”....

Singapore was ranked first overall; and Trinidad and Tobago, the highest ranked Caribbean-Community nation at the time, ranked 69th. In the 1960s, both had similar economic structures, history, and institutions. But since 2007, Singapore has been one of the 5 most competitive nations in the world.

Again in the 1960s, both planned economic development by import substitution industrialization (ISI).

Initially, Singapore’s per capita income was as low as US$ 2,161 and its infrastructure was very poor. The economy was poorly diversified and poorly integrated globally. Capital was scarce, and there was hardly any FDI. But, a single party ruled the nation for decades, just as Trinidad and Tobago.

Singapore’s traditional entrepôt-trade, related supporting services and processing industries, were declining because direct routes had opened up between markets of the developed world and the other Southeast Asian nations.

In contrast, Trinidad and Tobago had the highest per capita income in the English-speaking Caribbean at US$ 4,370. Early that century, it had started producing oil and natural gas commercially, and this attracted multinational corporations, significant FDI, technology and skills.

Singapore also lacked high-quality institutions with strong governance structures. So, EDB was founded in 1961 as a statutory agency responsible for marketing Singapore and overseeing the establishment of industrial companies.

So, innovation also played a part in Singapore’s development: which supports the previous suggestion that Caribbean leaders need to address innovation. Terrence Farrell – former chairman of the macro-economic sub-committee of Trinidad’s Vision 2020 project also confirms Trinidad’s need of innovation.

In his book The Underachieving Society: Development Strategy and Policy in Trinidad and Tobago 1958-2008, he states that “There was little technology transfer, innovation or research and development occurring in any industry in Trinidad and Tobago”.

In addition, the government (of Trinidad & Tobago) also facilitated “…low-level, low productivity employment in the civil service, the local government bodies, and statutory corporations and later on in state enterprises”.

This led to increased expenditure on wages and salaries and “less of government expenditure was available to be directed to capital expenditure on social overhead capital and infrastructure that could promote external economies and increase productivity”.

With regard to the latter, he states: “that people of a country (T&T) may actually not aspire to the standard of living of the richer and more developed countries. They may choose to work less hard, be less innovative and productive, and consume more because they value leisure, conviviality and pleasure more…”

Singapore’s real per capita income exceeded that of Trinidad and Tobago just when oil prices started to increase, following the Arab/Israeli war in 1973. But, it was the inability of Trinidad and Tobago to implement the third and final 5-year plan that was its undoing....

https://www.caribjournal.com/2015/05/29 ... trinidad/#

Postby skylinechild » October 23rd, 2017, 10:57 am

Dizzy28 wrote:They have a super efficient and clean MRT. We have the PBR, maxis, taxis and PH!!

However I always felt in Trinidad we should have started a system whereby every newly registered car should entail the deregistering and scrapping of another car. There should be some equilibrium in the number of vehicles allowed to traverse our 5000kms2 of land space.

POST EDITED

you wouldnt talk that talk if one day someone bought a car and the head honcho in L.O say well ok....we hav to dismantle one car to remove it off the road.....lets destroy dizzy28 car.....

how they going to decide who car gettin destroyed..?? lottery system ??
same owner buy a newer car so the old car get destroyed???

what about a first time buyer of a car who doesnt HAVE a previous car to be deregistered and then dismantled ???

yes one could argue that ok if you bought a new car but what about the old car...you'll say you invest $$ purchasing that car and seeing it destroyed / dismantled is a financial loss... -regardless of how much time passed an almera / b15 is stil worth at LEAST 25 K.....and thats 25K in your pocket .....anyhow you put it its YOUR $$$ your investment being destroyed....

so now you want compensation for your older car....who going to buy that from you in order to destroy it ??

what about persons with larger families who have different jobs...??

not everyone cud be as fortunate like you to have a 1:18 scale skyline and evo 10 and subaru STI in their garage

idea sounds good but just leave it as that....an idea...
Last edited by skylinechild on October 23rd, 2017, 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » October 23rd, 2017, 10:58 am

All dem Tiida allyuh buyin...just now they will tell you when and where to drive your own car and who to car pool with.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 23rd, 2017, 11:07 am

MaxPower wrote:All dem Tiida allyuh buyin...just now they will tell you when and where to drive your own car and who to car pool with.

Really! and sacrifice the sale of vehicles in the process! IMHO, PTSC not being a feasible alternative is a large benefit to car dealers.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2017, 11:10 am

skylinechild wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:They have a super efficient and clean MRT. We have the PBR, maxis, taxis and PH!!

you wouldnt talk that talk if one day someone bought a car and the head honcho in L.O say well ok....we hav to dismantle one car to remove it off the road.....lets destroy dizzy28 car.....

how they going to decide who car gettin destroyed..?? same owner buy a newer car so the old car get destroyed???

yes one could argue that ok if you bought a new car but what about the old car...you'll say you invest $$ purchasing that car and seeing it destroyed / dismantled is a financial loss...anyhow you put it its YOUR $$$ your investment being destroyed....

so now you want compensation for your older car....who going to buy that from you in order to destroy it ??
Let the open market decide.
All those older cars that usually go for $15-40k can be bought by someone willing to purchase a car and then willingly deregistered. It would also serve to give a boost to the local used industry. However it should not be done with the exisitng tax, MVT regime we currently have.

the right to own a car is not a fundamental right.

not everyone cud be as fortunate like you to have a 1:18 scale skyline and evo 10 and subaru STI in their garage

The above proposition would not take away from the Government's responsibility to provide an efficient public transport system.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 23rd, 2017, 11:22 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Could the “Singapore Experience” Have Happened in Trinidad?

By Paul Hay
CJ Contributor

Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore’s first Prime Minister, died on 23 March 2015; and on 29 March 2015, the Straits Times published an article titled “The Singapore That Lee Kuan Yew Built” which stated that he “…foretold the transformation of the country from a tiny slum-ridden trading post ...” back in 1959.

On 1 April 2015, another article in the Straits Times, titled “Interactive Map: How Twittersphere Reacted to News of Mr. Lee Kuan Yew’s Death”, stated that over 1.2 million related tweets were sent in the week preceding his death. Unwittingly, I may have contributed to this statistic.

A Trinidadian Information Technology professional had posted one of my articles “Singapore: Example to the Caribbean in Doing Business” with the comment “Caribbean leaders think they can cut and paste Singapore success story here, they need (sic) address productivity and innovation first”....

Singapore was ranked first overall; and Trinidad and Tobago, the highest ranked Caribbean-Community nation at the time, ranked 69th. In the 1960s, both had similar economic structures, history, and institutions. But since 2007, Singapore has been one of the 5 most competitive nations in the world.

Again in the 1960s, both planned economic development by import substitution industrialization (ISI).

Initially, Singapore’s per capita income was as low as US$ 2,161 and its infrastructure was very poor. The economy was poorly diversified and poorly integrated globally. Capital was scarce, and there was hardly any FDI. But, a single party ruled the nation for decades, just as Trinidad and Tobago.

Singapore’s traditional entrepôt-trade, related supporting services and processing industries, were declining because direct routes had opened up between markets of the developed world and the other Southeast Asian nations.

In contrast, Trinidad and Tobago had the highest per capita income in the English-speaking Caribbean at US$ 4,370. Early that century, it had started producing oil and natural gas commercially, and this attracted multinational corporations, significant FDI, technology and skills.

Singapore also lacked high-quality institutions with strong governance structures. So, EDB was founded in 1961 as a statutory agency responsible for marketing Singapore and overseeing the establishment of industrial companies.

So, innovation also played a part in Singapore’s development: which supports the previous suggestion that Caribbean leaders need to address innovation. Terrence Farrell – former chairman of the macro-economic sub-committee of Trinidad’s Vision 2020 project also confirms Trinidad’s need of innovation.

In his book The Underachieving Society: Development Strategy and Policy in Trinidad and Tobago 1958-2008, he states that “There was little technology transfer, innovation or research and development occurring in any industry in Trinidad and Tobago”.

In addition, the government (of Trinidad & Tobago) also facilitated “…low-level, low productivity employment in the civil service, the local government bodies, and statutory corporations and later on in state enterprises”.

This led to increased expenditure on wages and salaries and “less of government expenditure was available to be directed to capital expenditure on social overhead capital and infrastructure that could promote external economies and increase productivity”.

With regard to the latter, he states: “that people of a country (T&T) may actually not aspire to the standard of living of the richer and more developed countries. They may choose to work less hard, be less innovative and productive, and consume more because they value leisure, conviviality and pleasure more…”

Singapore’s real per capita income exceeded that of Trinidad and Tobago just when oil prices started to increase, following the Arab/Israeli war in 1973. But, it was the inability of Trinidad and Tobago to implement the third and final 5-year plan that was its undoing....

https://www.caribjournal.com/2015/05/29 ... trinidad/#

I think the problem when comparing Trinidad to Singapore is that we leave out the racial and religious divide that is present in our country, as apposed to Singapore. This divide has allowed politicians to manipulate the society to their benefit.
We should also note that practically every politician in our country is in it for themselves and not the country or its population. Patratiosm in basically non existent in our island. So the comparison is somewhat unfair...

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2017, 11:28 am

Singapore had a benevolent dictator with great vision and foresight.
We had "tunnel vision" Eric Williams who was not as great as PNMites would have you believe. When you consider your non supporters a recalcitrant minority you couldn't have carried the country far.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 23rd, 2017, 12:52 pm

vaiostation wrote:I think the problem when comparing Trinidad to Singapore is that we leave out the racial and religious divide that is present in our country, as apposed to Singapore. This divide has allowed politicians to manipulate the society to their benefit.
We should also note that practically every politician in our country is in it for themselves and not the country or its population. Patratiosm in basically non existent in our island. So the comparison is somewhat unfair...

But it's the people who allow this.

Postby MaxPower » October 23rd, 2017, 12:59 pm

If the govt could raise taxes when they want and how they want, and the people stay quiet like some mooks....then they will do as they please with the cars as they please....because the population cannot do anything about it....and allyuh will abide by it

Postby desifemlove » October 24th, 2017, 8:21 am

MaxPower wrote:If the govt could raise taxes when they want and how they want, and the people stay quiet like some mooks....then they will do as they please with the cars as they please....because the population cannot do anything about it....and allyuh will abide by it

ah...ok. They teach some simpleton logic in UWI??

hmm...i know you went to sheit uni, and in real life you act loud but aren't very secure, but cool.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 24th, 2017, 8:39 am

desifemlove wrote:
MaxPower wrote:If the govt could raise taxes when they want and how they want, and the people stay quiet like some mooks....then they will do as they please with the cars as they please....because the population cannot do anything about it....and allyuh will abide by it

hmm...i know you went to sheit uni, and in real life you act loud but aren't very secure, but cool.

Yuh know plenty thing bout people.. yuh major is probably psychology.. daz probably d only thing yuh could do.

Postby MaxPower » October 24th, 2017, 9:11 am

desifemlove wrote:

Do you even own a car??? Lmfaooo...

Like you finally get a lil phone card to put on some data......damn suffering peasant

Postby skylinechild » October 24th, 2017, 9:27 am

skylinechild wrote:
Let the open market decide.
All those older cars that usually go for $15-40k can be bought by someone willing to purchase a car and then willingly deregistered.
It would also serve to give a boost to the local used industry. However it should not be done with the exisitng tax, MVT regime we currently have.

Dare i ask - who is going to purchase a used car willingly...then have it deregistered....therefore unable to use and thereby spending $$$ in an investment they cant use or get back.
who is going to stand that loss??

the right to own a car is not a fundamental right.

excellent so i guess if your idea comes to pass you'll be the first one in line to have their vehilce deregistered and then destroyed.

The above proposition would not take away from the Government's responsibility to provide an efficient public transport system.

that in blue s the only thing with sense you said thus far...

gooday *tips hat

Postby Dizzy28 » October 24th, 2017, 9:34 am

^ My apologies for not letting emotions influence my thought process as much as reality.

Postby skylinechild » October 24th, 2017, 9:42 am

Dizzy28 wrote:^ My apologies for not letting emotions influence my thought process as much as reality.

not emotins bruh...i TRYIN to think like you eah... but i cant stick my head that far up my a$$....

i figure thinking things through isnt your strong suit....you can come up with ideas on the fly thou....i'll giv yuh that.... :lol:

if you want reality

FACTS:
1. everyone needs a car as public transportation sucks
2. convenience of own car as opposed to Public transport
3.too much cars on the road
4. insurance is a rip off
5.govt can raise prices of cars and fuel and yet ppl will buy as there is no alternative.

fiction
we live in a utopian paradise where everyone has their way

Postby Dizzy28 » October 24th, 2017, 9:52 am

skylinechild wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:^ My apologies for not letting emotions influence my thought process as much as reality.

not emotins bruh...i TRYIN to think like you eah... but i cant stick my head that far up my a$$....

i figure thinking things through isnt your strong suit....you can come up with ideas on the fly thou....i'll giv yuh that.... :lol:

if you want reality

FACTS:
1. everyone needs a car as public transportation sucks - Some dispute
2. convenience of own car as opposed to Public transport - No Dispute
3.too much cars on the road - No dispute
4. insurance is a rip off - No dispute
5.govt can raise prices of cars and fuel and yet ppl will buy as there is no alternative. - Some dispute

fiction
we live in a utopian paradise where everyone has their way

You agree there is too much cars on the road as I. However unlike me you have failed to give a solution to that problem .

If you feel that until the GORTT creates a nationwide efficient public transport system we all drive then one day the (to use an american term) carpocalpyse will happen here where we all just end up in gridlock from the moment we leave home.

Postby skylinechild » October 24th, 2017, 10:00 am

You agree there is too much cars on the road as I. However unlike me you have failed to give a solution to that problem .

If you feel that until the GORTT creates a nationwide efficient public transport system we all drive then one day the (to use an american term) carpocalpyse will happen here where we all just end up in gridlock from the moment we leave home.

agreed too much cars on the road.... no i have suggestions but IF....and i say IF theyre implemented by the powers that be..everyone go be up in arms...unions employers ...employees..... etc....govt uncaring , how dey cud do this... etc etc etc
insert political sheeple party rant here

TRUTH is....everyone wants change but no one wants to be labelled the bad guy for doing it. making drastic changes that affects everyone across the board regardless of gender social status or amt of $$$ involved would be political suicide for that person.

where do you live bruh...in some places its already gird lock traffic to get to pos as soon as you leave home.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 24th, 2017, 10:47 am

skylinechild wrote:

agreed too much cars on the road.... no i have suggestions but IF....and i say IF theyre implemented by the powers that be..everyone go be up in arms...unions employers ...employees..... etc....govt uncaring , how dey cud do this... etc etc etc
insert political sheeple party rant here

TRUTH is....everyone wants change but no one wants to be labelled the bad guy for doing it. making drastic changes that affects everyone across the board regardless of gender social status or amt of $$$ involved would be political suicide for that person.

where do you live bruh...in some places its already gird lock traffic to get to pos as soon as you leave home.

I live Tunapuna and work PoS.

Pyol7

Postby Pyol7 » October 24th, 2017, 11:20 pm

I think the first step should be an east to west freeway and some adjustments to the South highway. I don't believe we have enough roads to start limiting registration of cars. Also, removing some government offices from POS would indirectly help.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 25th, 2017, 9:18 am

^ The average Trinidadian will never advocate for any solution that involves them giving up the use of their car!!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 25th, 2017, 9:43 am

Some simple solutions:
1. Creation of an efficient and effective mass transit system
2. Increase taxes on new vehicles
3. Introduce carbon taxes on transport sector
4. Decentralization of go to offices and business in POS
5. Increase security along major urban areas to promote public use of mass transit
6. Long term - removal of IC vehicles from city centers
7. Modernization of transport routes in addition to city and highway tolls.

These goals would line up with the UNDP 2030 SDG's to offer a sustainable way forward with both energy environments and social aspects taken into account. Currently the systems in place are unsustainable wrt to economic growth productivity and quality of life so radical changes would be required especially with the limited understanding of micro and macro economics that most Trinidadians have. It would take harsh decisions to make the changes needed.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 25th, 2017, 10:14 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Some simple solutions:
5. Increase security along major urban areas to promote public use of mass transit

These goals would line up with the UNDP 2030 SDG's to offer a sustainable way forward with both energy environments and social aspects taken into account. Currently the systems in place are unsustainable wrt to economic growth productivity and quality of life so radical changes would be required especially with the limited understanding of micro and macro economics that most Trinidadians have. It would take harsh decisions to make the changes needed.

Makes sense mostly. Even though itz liberally sprinkled with global warming nonsense.

Postby skylinechild » October 25th, 2017, 11:22 am

4. Decentralization of ALL govt to offices and business in POS

Currently the systems in place are unsustainable wrt to economic growth productivity and quality of life so radical changes would be required especially with the limited understanding of micro and macro economics that most Trinidadians have. It would take harsh decisions to make the changes needed.

lets add in some more
8. invest in renewable energy - solar farms and windmills. generate electricity to supply the population use caroni lands and mountains -
9. invest in electric cars.
10. staggered working hours - not everyone needs to work 8-4.
11. ban delivery vehicles from entering cities between 6am -6pm. some jobs like delivery could be done at other times.
12 .invest in technology that allows persons the ability to work from home.
13. implement laws to prevent persons stealing from the public purse ( politicians friends contractors etc)

to do all this things is goin to be hard but as i said earlier

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 25th, 2017, 11:38 am

Work from home is an ideal solution for some companies but it's takes a level of discipline that most don't possess. But you are correct a big opposition to these would be political will and the ability for the population to become more efficient and productive

airuma

Postby airuma » October 25th, 2017, 12:23 pm

I was of the opinion that (private?) vehicle inspection was a filter for separating the dilapidated vehicles from the road-worthy ones. If you can't maintain a vehicle properly, you should not own it!
BTW, back in the 80's Robbie banned the importation of apples and grapes to curb the forex consumption, we agree that there are too much vehicles on the road.... maybe it's time to.....

SSSavage

Postby SSSavage » October 25th, 2017, 12:28 pm

Trinidad has no recycling facilities no wonder the dumps are filling up.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 25th, 2017, 12:58 pm

Best way forward, but we must improve the existing and effect cultural change first before investing in rapid-rail etc.
Why? All this will do is make everything more expensive since the car is a status symbol like building on a hill.... the man on the top of the hill has the most money and he will get that money by increasing the prices of his goods/ services.
Implementing limits on the number of personal use vehicles might make more sense.
How will this be done? Raise fuel prices again?
If PP didn't do this, PNM surely will not, it's in the PNM's best interest to maintain a safe voting population in their safe seats.
IMHO, bus operators should be trained to provide some level of security and the buses should be equipped with IP cameras monitored by the TTPS, free wifi (to keep people busy), and personal safety messages similar to NYC
This will require the introduction of a new sign in our traffic regulations, "no entry to IC vehicles", all public transport vehicles providing service in the cities will have to conform, training of TTPS (and traffic wardens) to identify IC vehicles and the establishment of "park and ride" centers on the outskirts of the cities..... for the least!
YES! Implement tolls during the peak hours to encourage car pooling and use of public transport.

I will assume that you do not work for ANSA or Massy!