SimSimmer69 wrote:You can always become an airline pilot. It's a very rewarding career.
Thanks for letting me knowDaran wrote:Petroleum is a dying field. Trust me. You 15? By the time you finish masters in 8 years....
Both actually, I don't "want" money, I need money to support myself in the future and my family but it doesn't play a big role in which career I chose, engineer (with masters) is 8 years and medicine is 10 (from what i've heard) still don't know which to chose, hopefully as I grow more i'll be able to understand what I want, but thanks for sharing your thoughtsneexis wrote:Age 15 and you're already limiting yourself to just those two options?
Considering the $$ in your thread title, you should probably not do medicine. In Trinidad that program will take you at least 5 years to complete. Bear in mind that the majority of graduates from the last 3 years have been unemployed since, so they make around $0. right now. People who "don't mind" being a doctor usually have no idea what the training and work entails.
If you are looking at careers based on how much money you can make, you should probably do more research into other options, eg. finance. Even with sciences you can do any of these things.
Something to think about: What is more important here, a career that makes you money or doing something that you can actually enjoy?
Alright but im preparing myself, I know what I want and what I gotta do to get there, yes i've limited myself but I wanna kinda contribute to the country, when I die I wanna die as someone who gave something to the country, not as a accountant or anything like that, so thats why im interested in medicine or engineer even tho I gotta work hard and put in the years (plus I really like biology)R3TROB3N wrote:I second this, DO NOT LIMIT YOURSELF. And if you considering the Income both fields do pay fairly well BUT it really depends on the COMPANY AND YOUR ABILITY TO LAND A JOB+ EXPERIENCE. What a lot of young ppl don't realize that your income is dependent on how experienced you are in the specific field, every TOM DICK HARRY HAVE a medical or engineering degree so its really the experience would net you the "hyped" income everyone be telling you about. =12-30K but depends on the experience.
Now in terms of time
Engineering is about 5 years minimum to go from undergraduate to Masters plus the other training you would need to learn on the side (engineers hadda learn more things that wah UWI/UTT will teach yah) along with the mandatory 2-3 years training (cause no company gonna hire a green engineer jusso to go mash up their plant).
Now To Work Abroad
Foreign don't give a sheit about Trinidadian Engineers unless you bring REAL VALUE to the table, (Thus I fall back on the experience) but lets say you mean at the fresh graduate level, it is expected to hadda pull a 3.5/4.0 GPA (Or First Class Honours) to really gt with foreign (mind you the requirements can be lower but this is the standard and well it would make your life much easier). (I know UTT have some options but I believe UWI is still respected more internationally. Better yet if you apply for a open scholarship or earn one from any of the foreign universities then you will be much better off to get started internationally wise. (CAPE is a must)
Doctor
Income
Expect the same income range and similar with YOUR FIELD EXPERIENCE WOULD DICTATE YOUR INCOME (PLUS OTHER FACTORS)
Years of study
Now I know a medical student personally and for her it was expected that medicine would have taken her 7 to 8 years.
5 being for the expected medical education and the remaining 2-3 years for specialization. AND YOU HAVE TO TRAIN FOR ABOUT 3 YEARS if I not mistaken before the Medical Board can grant you a license to practice medicine.
Foreign
See above.
Now I will reiterate that DO NOT LIMITED YOURSELF cause a problem a lot of young ppl have is they see that Engineering, Law Or Medicine is the only respectable fields it have in Trinidad And Tobago and THAT IS A BIG LIE. It have many other awesome fields that you can get fulfillment in life and mind you (EITHER OF THESE FIELDS IS LEVEL HARD WORK) don't let the idea that you will be in a office and collect a fat pay at the end of the month jusso its serious hell and know engineers and doctors who can agree. These are fields you truly must have a drive and passion to dive in, not something you hear sound nice and you could just slide in norms.
PS both fields require sciences (CHEM, PHYSICS, BIO along with good understanding of English and Maths, More so with Maths if you plan on doing engineering) so doh make that decision now in your life.. wait till you finish csec then decide.
Goodluck
Nahh, what if I crash? LolSimSimmer69 wrote:You can always become an airline pilot. It's a very rewarding career.
As I said, I appreciate the reply but Im not money hungry lol I wanna wear a proud title you know, I wanna have a good job I wanna give to the country, also considering job availability in the next 8-10 years, risks of the job, and how many years of education I need to put down in order to be thatabbow wrote:There are many fields to choose from...dont let the "work for big money" fool you. Feeling trapped in a office all day for money that vanishes in a few days isnt all that rewarding.
When I was your age, the internet was not around and cellphones were far off...we had limited knowledge and options for careers... there is vast amount of information available to you to help you make this choice yourself when the time is right.
kinnie wrote:So let's say I chose medicine, im 15 in form 3 (3rd term)
How much years would it take for me to officially be a doctor? After intern
Cause I been googling sheit whole month lol and they keep putting USA stuff and I from trinidad
Thanks for your thoughts but how long would it take for me to be a doctor? I'll be 27-28 years right?Zetski wrote:Hey kin, I was browsing through and realized you liked biology.. when I was younger I wanted to be a doctor myself but when I got into form 4 my interest changed completely.
I would recommend pursuing medicine than engineering because
1) More diverse (specialists, veterinary, pediatrician etc..)
2) Less stress (when it comes to getting a job)
3) Your contribution is noticed far more.
4)Technology is changing so rapidly that being an engineer is a liability.
Cons with Medicine
1) I hope you have belly to deal with dissecting a dead carcass..
2) A lot of reading
3) Responsibility
You never know when your interest would change.. you're pretty young and I admire the effort and interest in early preparation but take your time when deciding no need to rushthat will only cause you to make a decision you would regret.
Why do I need to go away, can't I study medicine in UWI?Daran wrote:Lol ok cape is 2 years.
Eng is 3 and MSc is 1.
Med is 5 years and you'll need to go away to become an obgyn. US is 4 years and UK 3.
kinnie wrote:Thanks for your thoughts but how long would it take for me to be a doctor? I'll be 27-28 years right?Zetski wrote:Hey kin, I was browsing through and realized you liked biology.. when I was younger I wanted to be a doctor myself but when I got into form 4 my interest changed completely.
I would recommend pursuing medicine than engineering because
1) More diverse (specialists, veterinary, pediatrician etc..)
2) Less stress (when it comes to getting a job)
3) Your contribution is noticed far more.
4)Technology is changing so rapidly that being an engineer is a liability.
Cons with Medicine
1) I hope you have belly to deal with dissecting a dead carcass..
2) A lot of reading
3) Responsibility
You never know when your interest would change.. you're pretty young and I admire the effort and interest in early preparation but take your time when deciding no need to rushthat will only cause you to make a decision you would regret.
Cape=2 - Degree=3 - then Medical School=5 - then internship/residency=1
GPDaran wrote:kinnie wrote:So let's say I chose medicine, im 15 in form 3 (3rd term)
How much years would it take for me to officially be a doctor? After intern
Cause I been googling sheit whole month lol and they keep putting USA stuff and I from trinidad
GP or specialist?