Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby rspann » September 22nd, 2018, 10:40 pm

Youngstar1989 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
rspann wrote:[quote=" Kronik]
You could have just done an epoxy floor, guaranteed seamless[/quote]

I'm building a new building for my business and I'm going with the epoxy floor. I did some research and I agree with you on this. Getting the concrete perfectly level before epoxy is my main priority ,because I can't bear to see a wavy floor ,and it will be highlighted by the epoxy. Rory and others ,any ideas?[/quote][/quote]
Call SCL Trinidad Limited (675-5555) and see if they have a self levelling screed that could be applied over the floor with proper bond on which you could apply the epoxy coating.[/quote][/quote][/quote]

Hey, did you get through, what do they have available and what's the cost?[/quote]

The second story is just about complete and when all the painting and installation of glass is completed and the scaffolding is moved in a couple of weeks ,then I'll be attacking the ground floor. This way it will be the last thing and will be less prone to any damage. I'll post updates when it's being done.

Postby rspann » September 22nd, 2018, 10:50 pm

stang wrote:Seeking recommendations for anyone local that can do custom made wooden doors (internal and external) ? I heard about someone in Rio Claro, but didn't get a contact number.

Also looking for someone to do a small patio roof. Any recommendations for a roofman would be welcomed.

Thanks

Lots of joiners make doors. Why do you need custom built though? You can get almost any standard size and material ready made. Bhagwansinghs and ABC has a wide range .If it's odd sizes though, try Francis Woodworking in Cantaro Village ,Santa Cruz. He did some mahogany French doors for me, installed the glass ,everything and they were perfect. German Tech in Williamsville, Ramkal's Sawmilling in Penal comes to mind too. They both do cupboard doors and panel doors too. The key to getting good quality door is to make sure the wood used is properly dried.

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 23rd, 2018, 7:49 am

Whats the most economical and efficient way to mix concrete (4 yards)?
Ransome mixer, hand mix, ready mix???

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2018, 8:00 am

I'm not sure of the current prices for a truck and pump but if you're only casting one slab, Readymix may be less expensive.

Renting a mixer and the number of workers to move and level the concrete, the wheel barrows, and the planks will add up.

Postby De Dragon » September 23rd, 2018, 11:22 am

adnj wrote:I'm not sure of the current prices for a truck and pump but if you're only casting one slab, Readymix may be less expensive.

Renting a mixer and the number of workers to move and level the concrete, the wheel barrows, and the planks will add up.

ReadyMix. Less headache in terms of cost, consistency and time.

Postby rspann » September 23rd, 2018, 12:15 pm

Youngstar1989 wrote:Whats the most economical and efficient way to mix concrete (4 yards)?

4 cu\ m is just $3100.

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2018, 12:22 pm

Not to mention requiring space to have the gravel delivered and place to mix

adnj wrote:I'm not sure of the current prices for a truck and pump but if you're only casting one slab, Readymix may be less expensive.

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2018, 2:28 pm

rspann wrote:
Youngstar1989 wrote:Whats the most economical and efficient way to mix concrete (4 yards)?

4 cu\ m is just $3100.

4 cubic yards (op wants) is 3 cubic meters. Can you order 3 m^3?

Postby rspann » September 23rd, 2018, 2:39 pm

Yes, I ordered 1 cu m once.

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2018, 3:16 pm

Thanks.

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 23rd, 2018, 8:38 pm

Thanks for the advice

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 23rd, 2018, 8:40 pm

I called and was told, i need to pay transport of 800ttd for anything less than a load.

Who can you guys recommend?

Postby rspann » September 23rd, 2018, 10:17 pm

Youngstar1989 wrote:

I called and was told, i need to pay transport of 800ttd for anything less than a load.

I have done jobs where they poured into wheelbarrows for my workers to cast a driveway and around a house. They have up to one hour per load.
Premix. Call my salesman 499 3990.

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 24th, 2018, 6:48 am

rspann wrote:
Youngstar1989 wrote:

Thank you, respect! Will give him a call

I have done jobs where they poured into wheelbarrows for my workers to cast a driveway and around a house. They have up to one hour per load.

ramorr

Postby ramorr » September 25th, 2018, 6:13 am

Hey guys, looking for a recommendation on a plumber in the central area.
Quality work at a reasonable price!

telfer

Postby telfer » September 25th, 2018, 6:38 am

rspann wrote:
Youngstar1989 wrote:

.......How much do they charge for the pump trucks if u casting a decking??

Postby rspann » September 25th, 2018, 6:52 am

$2500.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » September 26th, 2018, 9:54 am

question fellow tuners.
so lets say i draw up a plan according to the code.
what are the steps for approval?
Just submit to T&C and regional co-operation fill out the necessary forms?

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2018, 10:52 am

ron_28 wrote:question fellow tuners.
so lets say i draw up a plan according to the code.
what are the steps for approval?
Just submit to T&C and regional co-operation fill out the necessary forms?
Outline Planning Permission

Outline Approval should first be obtained before an application for full planning permission is submitted.  Outline Approval informs an applicant whether or not the type of development proposed is consistent with existing land use policy and provides overall development standards applicable to the particular site.  Submission of an outline application reduces the risk of unnecessary expense in the preparation of plans and technical drawings for a development that may not be approved.

To obtain outline approval, you must submit the following documents to the regional office responsible for the area concerned:

Two copies of the completed Outline Application Form (TCP/3)

Two copies of a location sketch with sufficient information to enable the site to be clearly and positively identified by a field officer.  Information such as the plot number, postal address, number of the nearest light pole or mile mark, prominent landmark, culvert and other similar information, will be useful on location sketches.

The numbered cadastral sheet on which the site is located (if available).  Information on how to obtain a cadastral sheet (map of the location) can be located by following the 'Maps and Survey Control' link at the end of this section

Copy of the deed or oldest and latest tenancy receipt and survey plan relating to the parcel of land to be developed. 

Application forms (TCP/3) can be obtained by following the link below or from the nearest regional office.  A link providing contact information for the regional offices is located at the end of this section.  Detailed plans and drawings are not required at this stage.

An acknowledgement slip will be issued to the applicant when the application form is submitted.  The Development Control Inspector from the Town and Country Planning Division will visit the site to collect information pertaining to the application.  Then, an evaluation and report is attached to the application and submitted for consideration.  A Notice of Grant of Approval or Refusal of Outline Planning Permission is prepared and sent by mail to the applicant.  Outline approval can be obtained within a two-month period.

Outline Planning Permission Application Form (TCP/3)

Maps and Survey Control

Additional Information

Additional information regarding planning development and control can be obtained from your nearest regional office or from the Town and Country Planning Division at (868) 627-9700 ext. 2134.

https://www.ttconnect.gov.tt/gortt/portal/ttconnect/!ut/p/a1/jdDBCoJAEAbgp_HqjC6WdjMwM4PQqGwvobCthrmim_b4mTexrLnN8P3wM0AhAlrETcZjmYkizt87nV38QEfDswjuArRQDz3NQcMnpqd14DwAobvqgGNoa_9IEPG_PH4Z-2d-zwo4AZ1i7nI-AuOaPZjosQHKc5H0PznbRUJMDrRiV1axSn1U3TmVsqwXCirYtq3KheA5U6VU8FMiFbWEaAChvB-ip3cz8mZrvwBwx82o/dl5/d5/L2dBISEvZ0FBIS9nQSEh/?WCM_GLOBAL_CONTEXT=/gortt/wcm/connect/gortt+web+content/TTConnect/Non-National/Role/AnInvestor/OwningPropertyinTandT/Development+Planning+and+Control

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 27th, 2018, 7:54 am

Good morning tuners,
I would like some help in a situation i currently face.
We live on government leasehold property, however d lease has ended and we have also breached the lease agreement.

My grandfather was the lease holder but his 2 sons built house on the plot of land against the agreement which stated only one house allowed.

He left a will for his house and land to go to his wife and on her death the land to be shared between the 3 sons, one gets the main house and 1 acre land and the 2 others who built on the land to get 1 acre each.

How do we proceed to get the land shared and the lease extended or what else can b recommended in this situation?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 27th, 2018, 8:29 am

Youngstar1989 wrote:Good morning tuners,
We live on government leasehold property, however d lease has ended and we have also breached the lease agreement.

My grandfather was the lease holder but his 2 sons built house on the plot of land against the agreement which stated only one house allowed.

He left a will for his house and land to go to his wife and on her death the land to be shared between the 3 sons, one gets the main house and 1 acre land and the 2 others who built on the land to get 1 acre each.

How do we proceed to get the land shared and the lease extended or what else can b recommended in this situation?
I don't think you can change the lease abs sub divide the land, most you can do is get the original lease renewed and have a signed agreement between the leaseholders stating who occupies which portion

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2018, 8:57 am

If the lease has expired with no conditions of continuity, then there is no lease.

You cannot renew a lease after expiration but you can request a new lease with the same or other conditions.

When a new lease is written, you will need to notify the owner of improvements made, meaning the additional homes, etc.

If the lease had a condition of one house built and more were built, there is an argument that the improvements were made at risk and no compensation should be awarded in case of cessation of the lease. It sounds as if this were an agricultural lease and the limits of agricultural lands would mean that the additional homes were not approved either, which further increases your risk.

Sharing the leased land is subletting and that may or may not be allowed in the lease.

eitech

Postby eitech » September 27th, 2018, 11:04 am

My samsung tv keeps the last state after a power failure. If it was on before a power failure it turns on after power is restored. If it was off before power failure it remains off after power is restored. There is no timer or scheduled setting enabled. I not seeing no other setting to address such. Online help is failure too. I tink is a un5 series 49” model

Nexus

Postby Nexus » September 27th, 2018, 11:41 am

Make sure all lease rents are paid! Once the state is accepting it makes the case for them keeping the agreement running. You can enquire about a renewal but that will very likely open a can of worms; they will do an investigation etc. If I was you, don't trouble trouble, the families will have to come to their own agreements with repect to access, succession etc.
There are hundreds of persons that have violated their leases like this, there was an attempt to change the land use from Agri to resisdential and commercial in the St Augustine, Monroe Rd and bamboo areas, but that was the last govt. Have no idea what became of that, as I say, don't chook a Jep nest!

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 27th, 2018, 6:17 pm

Read the deed from cover to affidavit multiple times. I have seen many caroni/sugar welfare 20 & 30 year leases which were expired and on month-month tenancies, which were then converted to freehold by request of the commissioner of state lands.

At the end of the day, you have to talk with COSL about this.

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 27th, 2018, 9:01 pm

Kronik wrote:

I don't think you can change the lease abs sub divide the land, most you can do is get the original lease renewed and have a signed agreement between the leaseholders stating who occupies which portion

Well remember we in breach of the lease due to 3 houses on d plot rather than one. So not sure we will be able to get it renewed.

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2018, 9:12 pm

I have not heard of any govt agency going to evict any expired lease owners and there are surely many.

For example in Woodbrook if you see an old dilapidated house, chances are it have family bacchanal and the lease also expired so the property cannot be sold over.
However to renew requires the property to adhere to all the normal t&c stipulations, e.g.
Wall setbacks etc.

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 27th, 2018, 9:12 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

Read the deed from cover to affidavit multiple times. I have seen many caroni/sugar welfare 20 & 30 year leases which were expired and on month-month tenancies, which were then converted to freehold by request of the commissioner of state lands.

Does lease land carry a Deed? We don't have one, where can i get one?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 27th, 2018, 9:53 pm

Youngstar1989 wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

Does lease land carry a Deed? We don't have one, where can i get one?

Leased lands do carry a deed, and generally they start like this. Otherwise instead of the President it has NHA/HDC or whatever.
If there is a lease agreement, it has to have a paper with the terms of agreement. Maybe not a deed like this specifically, but whatever you have as this lease agreement, read that inside and out.
Trinidad Land Lease.PNG
Trinidad Land Lease.PNG (40.32 KiB) Viewed 6893 times