New Ford Ranger vs Navara what uall think

optimisticcharlie

Re: New Ford Ranger vs Navara what uall think

Postby optimisticcharlie » July 13th, 2014, 11:10 pm

kamakazi wrote:The new Ranger still going through teething issues. As time goes on they should be resolved but who wants to buy a brand new vehicle to have problems right from the get go.

The navara had its problems in the earlies... not sure if all have been rectified.

As far as ride quality goes... Once you have driven a d22... almost everything rides better by comparison. The navara is reasonably comfortable but if a man wants to put on 22s, ride quality is lower down that list of priorities. :smile:

I believe that van suspensions are better suited to handle our beautiful roads :smile:

I personally decided on a Lux
It was the cheapest automatic van at the time (the navara auto was $40k more than its manual counterpart and I couldn't justify that premium).
It's slow but vans have poor handling dynamics at speed so didn't really need the extra power. As for the auto. ...a manual in traffic isn't something I would like on a daily.

The navara would have been my choice for a manual van though :grin:

I think the manual ranger is a 5 speed....its a 6 speed in the nav.

Thnx for ur input very nice

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 14th, 2014, 9:38 am

kamakazi wrote:The new Ranger still going through teething issues. As time goes on they should be resolved but who wants to buy a brand new vehicle to have problems right from the get go.

The navara had its problems in the earlies... not sure if all have been rectified.

As far as ride quality goes... Once you have driven a d22... almost everything rides better by comparison. The navara is reasonably comfortable but if a man wants to put on 22s, ride quality is lower down that list of priorities. :smile:

I believe that van suspensions are better suited to handle our beautiful roads :smile:

I personally decided on a Lux
It was the cheapest automatic van at the time (the navara auto was $40k more than its manual counterpart and I couldn't justify that premium).
It's slow but vans have poor handling dynamics at speed so didn't really need the extra power. As for the auto. ...a manual in traffic isn't something I would like on a daily.

The navara would have been my choice for a manual van though :grin:

I think the manual ranger is a 5 speed....its a 6 speed in the nav.

I was about to build house and getting married a few years back

I was shopping around for an automatic pickup a few years ago to be a work horse on the house and be a good vehicle for family use.

my options were: Ranger, Sportero, Navara, Hilux, Bt50 and Dmax.

i drove all options but went with the Hilux
comfort, space, reliability, fuel economy- i get 700 km per tank of diesel 3 years later.

i am not a speed junkie but concerned with power when needed and reliability.

off road a few times a year and work horse as ever with the house
multiple trips - tile , cement, few yards of gravel/sand , appliances etc

also baby seat fits well in the back seat

I cant understand people who want bigger costlier vehicles but want to pay "B14" prices for the parts and service.

no regrets with the Hilux.
will buy again in the future based on proven reviews obviously
Last edited by mitch1980 on July 14th, 2014, 9:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

optimisticcharlie

Postby optimisticcharlie » July 14th, 2014, 9:43 am

Hmm personally i love the new hilux but not looking for a work horse to that extent but nice

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 14th, 2014, 10:53 pm

optimisticcharlie wrote:Hey guys wanna hear ur reviews on either or both vehicles, would be really appreciated.

Navara....because its not american :o

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 15th, 2014, 12:30 am

↑↑ I feel you have been reading the v8 boys discussion :smile:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 15th, 2014, 9:38 am

I see no problem if u buy a new vehicle and there is something wrong with it as long as the firm fixing at their cost.

keep in mind all vehicles will have manufactures faults. some more so and more serious than others. as long as the firm standing by their product I am ok

for me, the 2.2 ranger which is manual is under powered compared to the older 2.5 lighter rangers.. duh

the 3.2 auto is superb however does not come in manual. for me, an auto pickup is a waste.
I am not sure if m rampersad brings de 3.2 in manual, but that would be the engine I would look to get in manual

my daily for town driving is a b2500 2.5 wlt engine manual.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 15th, 2014, 11:00 am

↑ displacement isn't the entire story their. ..I believe the 2.2 has a earlier gen turbo whereas the 3.2 ranger and the 2.5 nav have a variable geometry turbo (aka vn turbo)... and as we have seen with Toyota that turbo makes a big difference
The earlier gen turbo 2.5 lux with intercooler is rated at around 115hp
The vn turbo 2.5 lux with intercooler has the same max torque as the 3.0l Lux and is rated at around 144hp :-)

Had an experience with a couple manual BT-50 Mazdas (first gen) where as the vehicles heated up the clutch engagement zone moved closer to the floor. (Early morning cold van clutch engages in the middle of the clutch pedal travel. ... Two hrs later clutch engages with pedal about 2cm of the floor).

Postby supercharged turbo » August 17th, 2016, 7:44 pm

Looking to get either a Ranger or Navara..must be manual and 4x4.Van would be used for carrying loads.Which is better in terms of reliability,ease of finding parts,resale value,performance etc.Might throw it a lil offroad now and then.Nothing to get stick up in,just a lil fun.

1471477288856.jpg
1471477281772.jpg

Postby supercharged turbo » August 18th, 2016, 2:00 pm

Anyone?

Postby Slartibartfast » August 18th, 2016, 2:09 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:
skylinechild wrote:no indian chariot no care....

the almighty Mahindra is in a caste of its own...its not even worth comparing its greatness to these peasant pickups

bodow

FTFY

Got a friend with the new ranger and he loves it. I've been in it a few times and I rather it to the Navarra in terms of styling and feel. Best I can do in terms of a review. I sure both of them could make at least 160km/h which is way faster than you should ever go in a pickup anyway.

Btw, please don't be one of those that buy a pickup for speed. Just... don't...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » August 18th, 2016, 2:23 pm

I worked for a while close to the new Ford service center in P.O.S., I can't begin to tell you the number of new Ford Rangers that I would see coming in on the back of wreckers on a weekly basis.

My old car broke down earlier this year, TCM did my wrecking. I was talking to the CSR about which vehicles they get the most call outs on, Ford Rangers and the new Hyundai Elantra topped the list.

Just my two cents.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 18th, 2016, 2:25 pm

I assume you mean crashed. Or you talking about vehicle problems?

Postby tr1ad » August 18th, 2016, 2:45 pm

That would be vehicle issues with the ranger .... Numerous issues

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » August 18th, 2016, 2:54 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I assume you mean crashed. Or you talking about vehicle problems?

Issues, not accident related. Mechanical, transmission, etc. New vehicles that couldn't even make it back to the service dept on their own.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 18th, 2016, 3:01 pm

Hmm. Well that's a shame cuz the ranger so sexy otherwise and well you know the elantra is basically a race car.

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2016, 3:23 pm

That is an excellent point of reference , to ask flatbed wrecker companies for their towing stats.

Similarly if you go to a bearing pressing shop you can find out which cars suspension bushings don't last

Postby supercharged turbo » August 18th, 2016, 4:20 pm

^^ Y11,Y12,Tiida...basically anything from Nissan now

axe

Postby axe » August 18th, 2016, 4:24 pm

http://www.topspeed.com/trucks/truck-re ... 68643.html

new Mercedes pick up to share Nissan NP300 platform

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » August 18th, 2016, 5:21 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Hmm. Well that's a shame cuz the ranger so sexy otherwise and well you know the elantra is basically a race car.

Indeed, the Ranger is very sexy. I heard there were teething issues, but after four years, 'teething' can't be the operative word here..those issues however, I think, are limited to the 2.2L engine. I've heard good things about the 3.2L. But what'd limiting these problems to Ford and not it's Mazda twin or is SSL better at hiding it's issues better than McEnearney??

Postby Team Loco » August 18th, 2016, 7:19 pm

Ranger over navara anyday. Hell i will take a rotted ke30 over a navara anyday

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 1st, 2018, 6:49 pm

LalChun wrote:Bess? And u considering a nissan? Lmao
Hahahahaha

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 1st, 2018, 6:52 pm

Hyperion wrote:I worked for a while close to the new Ford service center in P.O.S., I can't begin to tell you the number of new Ford Rangers that I would see coming in on the back of wreckers on a weekly basis.

My old car broke down earlier this year, TCM did my wrecking. I was talking to the CSR about which vehicles they get the most call outs on, Ford Rangers and the new Hyundai Elantra topped the list.

Just my two cents.
I saw that also ...

rebound

Postby rebound » November 1st, 2018, 6:56 pm

Neither is good......rock and a hard place there..

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 1st, 2019, 8:03 am

rebound wrote:Neither is good......rock and a hard place there..
When is the new ranger raptor coming

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » January 1st, 2019, 9:14 am

Men shud sav dey monee and go for some spellen lessons

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 1st, 2019, 3:46 pm

Monkey Man wrote:Men shud sav dey monee and go for some spellen lessons
D irony . Hahaha

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 2nd, 2019, 8:04 am

Joshie23 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Hmm. Well that's a shame cuz the ranger so sexy otherwise and well you know the elantra is basically a race car.

Indeed, the Ranger is very sexy. I heard there were teething issues, but after four years, 'teething' can't be the operative word here..those issues however, I think, are limited to the 2.2L engine. I've heard good things about the 3.2L. But what'd limiting these problems to Ford and not it's Mazda twin or is SSL better at hiding it's issues better than McEnearney??

I've also wondered this. I narrowed it down to 3 possibilities.

1 - SSL hides it better
2 - More Rangers on the road so more faulty ones
3 - Different tuning. Is it possible that they tuned the Ranger closer to the limits of the parts hence why they go bad?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 2nd, 2019, 8:17 am

That said, you really looking for the lesser of 2 evils. If these were my only 2 options in the world I'd choose the Ford. Both gonna break down sooner rather than later but the Ranger looks better and performs better...when it isn't broken.

I tend to be biased toward the Toyotas but objectively, my top 3 pics in order of preference are:

1 - Mitsubishi Sportero
2 - Toyota Hilux
3 - Isuzu D-Max

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2019, 8:32 am

Could be a bit more specific though
Since in last few years the various models have had engine changes and some more reliable than others

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 3rd, 2019, 1:55 am

Toyopet wrote:That said, you really looking for the lesser of 2 evils. If these were my only 2 options in the world I'd choose the Ford. Both gonna break down sooner rather than later but the Ranger looks better and performs better...when it isn't broken.

I tend to be biased toward the Toyotas but objectively, my top 3 pics in order of preference are:

1 - Mitsubishi Sportero
2 - Toyota Hilux
3 - Isuzu D-Max
To be honest.. months i scanning thru all these threads.. and barely see complaints of these vehicles on d list. I doh trust the hilux commenters.. hahaahaa... all i know is dmax engine loud.. and well yea never see a complaint for sportero.. but d new one still ugly...lol ... but i leaning to d older hilux.. cause d new one cabin space too small for a tall person. N yes i tested it. Lol