Police using sirens to bypass traffic but no emergency

Re: Police using sirens to bypass traffic but no emergency

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 1st, 2018, 7:42 am

Rs you are blinded by the many deficiencies of the public service...instant dismissal pending the results of a pg test is employed by several private companies locally...this method is also practiced by at least one nat sec agency every three years and you dont hear employees complaining.....

To each his own man...my opinion is ttps would only get worse unless people grab the bull by the horns...they paid millions for a big time audit for ttps and people are afraid to implement some of the things the prof wrote...

Crime pays in t&t...so why stop a good thing..

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » April 1st, 2018, 8:20 am

Shakes go easy on stockie buoy nah. He mourning the death of big pappi Sheron like the rest ah dem crooks in the force. Have some facking compassion breddo, at least wait till the bandara done nah.

Postby Redman » April 1st, 2018, 11:23 am

All this ole talk.....what are the rules set by TTPS that govern the use of the sirens?

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 1st, 2018, 1:07 pm

What about those unmarked vehicles with sirens and flashing lights? Who are they? Are we supposed to yield and let them through just because they have a siren or a blue flashing light?

Postby 88sins » April 1st, 2018, 10:28 pm

Redman wrote:
The real answer is patrol car management systems that track what the vehicle is doing- but I feel most of the TTPS dont want that kinda transparency.

understatement of the millennium right here, but...
I know several years ago there was talk of installation of a GPS monitoring system in service vehicles as well as discussion on the implementation of a system to log what vehicles responded to what call, how long it took to arrive on scene & the route taken, & what vehicles were where when they should be in the station among others. Was supposed to be implemented in ttps & ttdf vehicles & ambulances to start & expand later on, but I'm not too sure if it was ever initialized.

Postby rspann » April 1st, 2018, 11:09 pm

Was introduced and still in effect.

Postby 88sins » April 2nd, 2018, 6:57 am

rspann wrote:Was introduced and still in effect.

If so that says quite a bit.

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2018, 7:34 am

Eh, something useful..
FB_IMG_1522668793668.jpg

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2018, 7:35 am

rspann wrote:Was introduced and still in effect.

If so that says quite a bit.

If not being monitored or followed up on, what sense does any system make?

SYKO

Postby SYKO » April 2nd, 2018, 10:14 pm

Every morning i see the same set using thr shoulder; a lo with a beige tuscon or an old white kia ceres, lights flashing and speed dwn the shoulder heading to caroni. Half 6 in the morning so he eh late.
Pcx 4075 Suzuki sx4, one seta lights and siren, he goin golden groove to be part of the prisoner transport, he is every morning between 620 and 640. So we not in a hurry too??

Postby Ben_spanna » April 3rd, 2018, 11:29 am

What does the LAW state for having to give right of way to vehicles with sirens or lights other than Fire and Ambulances ?

Postby Chimera » April 3rd, 2018, 6:40 pm

I realize allyuh blasting ttps and local law enforcement but I've seen that flabbergastery all over the world. Police putting on siren just to cross a red traffic light and then take it back off in canada. Fire trucks put on siren to cut through traffic and then pull up by the nearest McDonald's or Wendy's in the us.

Postby 88sins » April 5th, 2018, 5:54 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I realize allyuh blasting ttps and local law enforcement but I've seen that flabbergastery all over the world. Police putting on siren just to cross a red traffic light and then take it back off in canada. Fire trucks put on siren to cut through traffic and then pull up by the nearest McDonald's or Wendy's in the us.

common knowledge by now.
any system or device or law made or implemented by man eventually can & will be corrupted by man, regardless of where that system or law or man are.
Trini ain't unique in this

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2018, 8:04 am

Trinis just take it to a next level

Postby Ben_spanna » May 3rd, 2019, 12:18 pm

Every day now you see police continuing to Abuse their sirens still, all of them simply not wanting to wait in traffic, if you have a dash cam- can footage be used to get an officer into trouble? THis abuse of their powers must STOP!

Postby Slartibartfast » May 3rd, 2019, 12:28 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Every day now you see police continuing to Abuse their sirens still, all of them simply not wanting to wait in traffic, if you have a dash cam- can footage be used to get an officer into trouble? THis abuse of their powers must STOP!

I doubt. Maybe you should try a thing. Start a website to compile a bunch of the footage so you can document and proove how much of a problem it is. It still might do no good but it will be a good start and definitely can't be worse than nothing.

Postby rspann » May 3rd, 2019, 2:00 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Every day now you see police continuing to Abuse their sirens still, all of them simply not wanting to wait in traffic, if you have a dash cam- can footage be used to get an officer into trouble? THis abuse of their powers must STOP!

While we know some of them just don't want the food to get cold, a police car is useless tied up in traffic. They should be allowed to bypass. They should be in a position to respond to emergency calls.

Postby maj. tom » May 3rd, 2019, 2:11 pm

I don't have any problems with police, ambulance and fire using their sirens to get out of traffic because they have a job to do. I for one would like if there were more marked and undercover vehicles patrolling the highways. Then more than half of the jackasses who feel they playing need for speed would stop their retarded behaviour.

However I don't see why politicians should get a rolling escort to beat traffic. Let them sit for hours like the rest of the taxpayers and buss their tires and suspension on the highway potholes, and then we would see real change in this country.

Postby j.o.e » May 3rd, 2019, 2:44 pm

A police car passing me with a siren never bothers me. I can’t know when they are abusing it and I don’t care. If I called for assistance I would hope motorist would be doing everything possible to let the officers get to me quicker. Think about it as if your loved one was kidnapped or harmed. Some of y’all just bitter and toting over nothing

Postby Dizzy28 » May 3rd, 2019, 3:04 pm

maj. tom wrote:I don't have any problems with police, ambulance and fire using their sirens to get out of traffic because they have a job to do. I for one would like if there were more marked and undercover vehicles patrolling the highways. Then more than half of the jackasses who feel they playing need for speed would stop their retarded behaviour.

However I don't see why politicians should get a rolling escort to beat traffic. Let them sit for hours like the rest of the taxpayers and buss their tires and suspension on the highway potholes, and then we would see real change in this country.

cs/ Early last year had follow an ambulance with my brother in law. Afterwards the driver was telling us they have to follow all the traffic laws r.e. speed limits, not driving on shoulder, stopping at red lights and only proceeding through when safe etc. even when responding to an emergency. Was a real eye opener but kind of clarified why I never see ambulances on the shoulder.

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2019, 3:11 pm

maj. tom wrote:I don't have any problems with police, ambulance and fire using their sirens to get out of traffic because they have a job to do. I for one would like if there were more marked and undercover vehicles patrolling the highways. Then more than half of the jackasses who feel they playing need for speed would stop their retarded behaviour.

Most of the folk that drive on shoulders are off duty police. These cops most often drive taxis .

Postby j.o.e » May 3rd, 2019, 3:32 pm

Ambulance are very strict with road laws since about 7 years ago one was involved in an accident and the patient got hurt and I believe sued.

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2019, 3:39 pm

j.o.e wrote:Ambulance are very strict with road laws since about 7 years ago one was involved in an accident and the patient got hurt and I believe sued.
Well you see they are all owned by 1% and they have to account for everything.

But then again 1% prison trucks break the law every single day with the help of police.

Postby Gladiator » May 4th, 2019, 10:34 pm

A couple weeks ago two white fortuners with blue lights rushing through traffic making everybody split the lane for them to pass. When they reach Omera intersection they bounce a B15 crossing the light and then lose control and bounce up each other.

Every person that see them that morning pass and laugh them down.... you really have to wonder what they had to do that was so important. I sure some politician clown was late for some pappy show meeting or the other.

Postby zoom rader » May 4th, 2019, 10:48 pm

Gladiator wrote:A couple weeks ago two white fortuners with blue lights rushing through traffic making everybody split the lane for them to pass. When they reach Omera intersection they bounce a B15 crossing the light and then lose control and bounce up each other.

Every person that see them that morning pass and laugh them down.... you really have to wonder what they had to do that was so important. I sure some politician clown was late for some pappy show meeting or the other.
Not some politician, a PNM politician.

The opposition don't have that luxury

Postby stev » May 5th, 2019, 2:20 am

basically came here to same this same thing. lol

quick question for anyone that can answer (cuz i'm curious):

I saw on more than one occasion, ambulances with full siren and lights driving slower than usual (50-60) on the highway...
Why is this? are they operating on the patient inside and need no disturbances while en route to the hospital?

Triniak47

Postby Triniak47 » May 5th, 2019, 5:11 am

Sometimes the police are escorting sensitive material. For example in the oil field explosive like charges are used.
Its better to allow them to pass rather that sit in the traffic next to you.

Postby maj. tom » May 5th, 2019, 6:46 am

yesterday I saw flashing blues escorting a couple of police horses in a wagon going up north.

Yes, the ambulance drives at a speed in order to stabilize the patient. Plus an equipped ambulance is quite heavy, so stopping at higher speed is pressure for an unstable patient. Or any patient that requires an ambulance in the first place.

Postby nervewrecker » May 5th, 2019, 11:03 pm

rspann wrote:A police vehicle should never be tied up in traffic. They should be always free to use the siren to get out and be free to be used for what they were intended for . Having a vehicle and an officer /officers tied up in traffic is wasting resources.
A fire services vehicle is the same. Imagine a fire tender stuck in traffic somewhere and an emergency call comes in.......

what is up with all this sense you talkng? stop is this instant you hear me!

I find people who in the poluce way should get ticket.

I always make way for police, ambulance, fire service and bikers.

Postby 88sins » May 6th, 2019, 9:57 am

Gladiator wrote:A couple weeks ago two white fortuners with blue lights rushing through traffic making everybody split the lane for them to pass. When they reach Omera intersection they bounce a B15 crossing the light and then lose control and bounce up each other.

Not some politician, a PNM politician.

The opposition don't have that luxury

Need I remind you of Kamla's personal preference for air travel?. that puncheon pickled woman took it to a whole other level.