BBQ question to coal or not to coal

DMan7

Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2022, 2:02 pm

DAMN! Allya rel prepared for your BBQ's boi. Maybe baking it might be the best option for me yes.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 30th, 2022, 2:34 pm

gastly369 wrote:Avoid sookdeos coals realll inconsistent heat... Worst have ever used
I doh find so, i find they wukking good

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2022, 2:35 pm

What about the Fire Dragon charcoal? Good or bad?

Postby alfa » December 30th, 2022, 2:35 pm

pugboy wrote:chimney still better because all the coals get lit from bottom up
other methods you lighting outside in so the inner ones don’t reach white hot same time so you get more coals which now start to burn and sooty
if you don’t mind that extra carbon taste and particles

Does the chimney work with our local hardwood coal? I could never get that to light without kerosene and blow dryer. But when it does light it's pretty good and long lasting

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2022, 2:42 pm

depends on how properly the wood was converted to charcoal

fire dragon is guyanese, local guy imports and packages

Postby gastly369 » December 30th, 2022, 4:36 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Avoid sookdeos coals realll inconsistent heat... Worst have ever used
I doh find so, i find they wukking good
Prob the batch my side have used 4 times and all was dying out... Went Chinese grocery and got a clear bag with no name and worked much better lol

Postby Dave » December 30th, 2022, 5:30 pm

There are also fire starters for those wanting a no brainer.

Postby Rovin » December 30th, 2022, 6:32 pm

i have used that red dragon & rahamans guyanese charcoal since dise basically what easily available in d groceries besides kingford & to my feelings they blare up & burn up faster than local stuff but u can make it work by keeping a lil bit of water to tone it down when it flares up

1 time i tried d easy light series of kingsford briquettes & it really lights as easy as advertised when it new\fresh out of d bag , a simple match & it catches up easy, has some some sort of liquid fuel on it so obviously need to let that burn off before u put ur meats on d grill but by far easiest lighting coal i used

eating my last 3 piece of bbq from sunday as i typing here ... :lol: ... its still good

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 30th, 2022, 6:51 pm

Do you all know about seasoning your meats with Bitters?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 30th, 2022, 6:51 pm

DMan7 wrote:What about the Fire Dragon charcoal? Good or bad?
Wukkin good too

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2022, 6:56 pm

what allyuh burning this sunday?

i looking at a trifecta
chinese roast duck
char siu pork
smoked beef short ribs

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2022, 6:58 pm

i met the owner, he brings in bulk from guyana and sorts them out to repack
says them guyanese are scamps sometimes you get all dust

all the charcoal is from wood scraps from
camps in the forest when they chopping down trees en masse
like areas a good few miles square at a time

*KRONIK* wrote:
Wukkin good too

Postby *KRONIK* » December 30th, 2022, 8:15 pm

pugboy wrote:i met the owner, he brings in bulk from guyana and sorts them out to repack
says them guyanese are scamps sometimes you get all dust

all the charcoal is from wood scraps from
camps in the forest when they chopping down trees en masse
like areas a good few miles square at a time

*KRONIK* wrote:
Wukkin good too
Wheeeeey

Daz pressure....now i feeling bad

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2022, 8:24 pm

them guyanese is joke compared to the brazilians
them cutting down forest even worser

Postby gastly369 » December 30th, 2022, 8:55 pm

pugboy wrote:what allyuh burning this sunday?

i looking at a trifecta
chinese roast duck
char siu pork
smoked beef short ribs
Going by some family who cya cook.... Pain

Postby *KRONIK* » December 30th, 2022, 9:23 pm

gastly369 wrote:

i looking at a trifecta
chinese roast duck
char siu pork
smoked beef short ribs
Invite mih nah
Lewwe zess by you

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » December 31st, 2022, 4:51 am

gastly369 wrote:

i looking at a trifecta
chinese roast duck
char siu pork
smoked beef short ribs

Carry food as a good present - then eat your own food

Postby Chimera » December 31st, 2022, 7:21 am

Allyuh ever try coconut charcoal or briquettes

Postby timelapse » December 31st, 2022, 7:24 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Allyuh ever try coconut charcoal or briquettes
Imo,it burns out too fast.I bbq with a mixture of charcoal and dried wood chunks from my jamoon tree.

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2022, 8:49 am

The manufactured ones get good reviews, made in india

Somebody should start a local factory
They mix the char with starch and extrude it it a tube shape

Phone Surgeon wrote:Allyuh ever try coconut charcoal or briquettes

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 31st, 2022, 10:20 am

i looking at a trifecta
chinese roast duck
char siu pork
smoked beef short ribs

Now done season,

chicken (kung pao for smaller pieces and regular bbq treatment for the rest)
Jerk Pork, trying a new fresh jerk mix
Smoked lamb regular green seasoning cuz I fed up of the typical rosemary

Might bun some corn and aloo to go with it.

Postby Rovin » December 31st, 2022, 10:26 am

in africa they started using a type of grass weed growing wild in their water courses to make bbq coals & all over d world ppl making their own but i dunno why here we rather import than try to create\supply our own ...

Postby *KRONIK* » December 31st, 2022, 10:36 am

Rovin wrote:in africa they started using a type of grass weed growing wild in their water courses to make bbq coals & all over d world ppl making their own but i dunno why here we rather import than try to create\supply our own ...
Isnt that our M.O. in this country?

Buy and import everything,
Produce nothing,
Make life hard for any entrepreneur type activities

Postby Chimera » December 31st, 2022, 11:17 am

I'm looking into doing it locally. At the very least it would help clean up some of the coconut ppl dump as well as could provide some employment for a few people who I usually give odd jobs

Postby *KRONIK* » December 31st, 2022, 11:18 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I'm looking into doing it locally. At the very least it would help clean up some of the coconut ppl dump as well as could provide some employment for a few people who I usually give odd jobs
I will support this

Postby SR » December 31st, 2022, 6:33 pm

Gas smoker with hickory wood
20221218_084202.jpg
20221218_061118.jpg
20221218_055918.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » December 31st, 2022, 6:47 pm

SR wrote:Gas smoker with hickory wood
20221218_055918.jpg
20221218_061118.jpg
20221218_084202.jpg
Looking good

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2022, 6:54 pm

them birds was in the gym

Postby gastly369 » December 31st, 2022, 7:19 pm

Anyone ever tried to smoke meat with "DE HERBS"
Bob Marley style

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2022, 8:09 pm

I looked at it, it is a worthwhile business, we have endless supply of coconuts being dumped all over the place
some have started trying converting the husk to cocopeat for hydroponics

the main challenge is in the burning/conversion to charcoal, locally it is done with ancient method of hole in ground
better to have a proper setup using lpg and drums or something

then you need one of those gear grinders and come up with a setup to make a starch slurry with cheap rice to bind the charcoal dust bits and then a mixer/extruder which you can get out of india.

coconut briquettes will outperform the hit and miss coals we get. they will also leave less ash and crap like the yankee briquettes

Phone Surgeon wrote:I'm looking into doing it locally. At the very least it would help clean up some of the coconut ppl dump as well as could provide some employment for a few people who I usually give odd jobs