pugboy wrote:I hope the police have good court cases made for for the people they holding everyday
we still haven't heard anything from lawyers who looking to make a name for themselves by getting these gangleaders off the hook
I'm sure if it was the other way around anand would be one of those lawyers
DFC wrote:glad I don't have bb.
Follow d rules and obey yuh curfew laws and you good to go.
White CZ4A wrote:Hope they extend it... All these bars supposedly suffering.
Yes they are not making money but they have damned well made some money.
Fed up of the people with money saying that they can't spare any.
For fcuk sake, take a loss for the greater good. You can handle it!
*flame suit on*
White CZ4A wrote:Hope they extend it... All these bars supposedly suffering.
Yes they are not making money but they have damned well made some money.
Fed up of the people with money saying that they can't spare any.
For fcuk sake, take a loss for the greater good. You can handle it!
*flame suit on*
might see some opposition lawyers taking up the causepugboy wrote:I hope the police have good court cases made for for the people they holding everyday
we still haven't heard anything from lawyers who looking to make a name for themselves by getting these gangleaders off the hook
cinco wrote:i still dont think trinidadians grasp the gravity of the situation or what a SoE is all about
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday revealed Government would seek to extend the state of emergency but reduce curfew hours when the matter comes up for debate in Parliament on Friday.
She made the announcement to her constituents at Penal, after commissioning a water project at Temple Street, Digity Trace, Penal, which provides pipe-borne water to 168 residents for the first time.
Some housewives wept after hearing they no longer have to tote water for miles from ponds, rivers and springs. Persad-Bissessar also assuaged her constituents’ fears that criminals would ravage their villages when the state of emergency ended.
“I know some of you are worried about what will happen when the state of emergency ends, that the criminals will take revenge when the curfew comes to an end. “I want to assure you that we have strategies in place to deal with this if it should occur.” The Prime Minister said even though more than 800 persons have been detained since the state of emergency was declared last week, security forces still needed additional time to complete their work. She did not say what the new curfew hours would be, noting that matter had to first be discussed by members of the National Security Council. She added: “First we will go to Parliament on Friday and debate the statement from the President and you are the first to know that we are going to extend the state of emergency.
“What we also want to do is reduce the curfew hours so that people can go about their normal business and at the same time, the curfew can allow the protective services to do their job.” Persad-Bissessar said the National Security Council would give Government advice about reducing the curfew. She paid tribute to members of the Police Service who have been working round-the-clock to bring in the criminals. On Monday, detectives and CID officers in the Southern Division said they were not being paid overtime, even though they have been working in excess of 100 hours a week since the state of emergency was declared. Persad-Bissessar said: “I want to thank the protective services for the great job they are doing. They have conducted themselves with courtesy in most cases and they are making our citizens feel secure.”
She added that even though the state of emergency had affected the pockets of some businesspeople, family life had improved. She said: “Some people have said to me that they are now getting to spend more time with their children. It is a hard time for all of us but also it is a good time for us. “Today marks the eighth day in which not a single life was taken by a criminal and this is an accomplishment.” She added that Government would provide social programmes to help criminals get away from a life of crime, as well as assistance to families. She said the four-pronged approach of prevention, detection, rehabilitation and conviction would be enforced so that T&T could be a better, more productive and stable state.
sMASH wrote:cinco wrote:i still dont think trinidadians grasp the gravity of the situation or what a SoE is all about
... what, u mean effectively giving the police and regiment a ' do what u want and get away with it' card, especially when there have been numerous accounts of gross corruption of those same persons wielding that power over the citizens, who by the way, have their civil rights suspended...
nah man, canaval still good to go, so trinis cool.
*$kїđž!™ wrote:Bars owners complaining about losing money.....lol at this.......they are already millionaires....they complaining just only after a week...how much money they want????
Finally some families are actually getting food on the table.....husbands forced to go home with his salary rather than head to the bar and drink it out in RUM,,,,,,thank goodness....food and school stuff for the kids....
Abused wives gettin less or no licks these days cause the husband not coming home drunk since less time being spent at the bars......thank goodness again............no licks............................
Less drunk drivers on the road cause they passing the bar straight and heading home to their families....less accidents and lives lost due to drunk drivers.........thanks goodness bars close early
Alcohol and rum drinking...social ills....hence its called demerit goods......goods which provide little or no benefit to society.......
and the bar owning complaining!!! man fack them oui.......allyuh lucky...IMO they govt should close down all those stupid rum shops........
bluespeed wrote:rfari wrote:bluespeed wrote:
in a nut shell this must be done.....
1....revamp the TTPS
2....Revamp the TTCG
3.....revamp the TTA
4.....dismiss everyone in customs and the port and get new ppl
5.....build 10 sub naval bases with air support around the country
6.....fix the 360 radar system and make it functional(that's why it was purchased)
7.....buy 5 more helicopters 10 fast patrol vessels and 30 more interceptors
and your borders will be fortified.....3 opv's cannot accomplish that!!!! TALK DONE!!!
3 OPVs better than none. would you agree?
no!....
1. those vessels cannot maneuver on our coast line...you need smaller craft for drug interdiction pursuits ....
2. those vessels cannot be fired from the bridge...
3. I don't expect you to understand what i speak of because you are a civilian!!!
silver wrote:Allyuh men kixy yes.
The 'so-called' good side effects of the curfew just show how in-disciplined we are as a country. If we need a curfew to reduce drunk driving, ensure proportionate discretionary spending (entertainment), cessation or reduction of extra-marital affairs or spousal abuse or increase quality time spent with family...we much worse off than we think.
For those of us, however, who are not plagued by these issues, the curfew is simply a nuisance. A drain on the economy (and I don't believe anyone is in a position to say who has 'earned' enough money...in a free economy this is an absurd sentiment), and an imposition on our rights and freedoms as law-abiding citizens.
The salient question is whether the ill-effects and disadvantages are outweighed by the positive actual or future effects and impacts of the measures being implemented as a result of the SOE/curfew. Though initially apparent as a knee-jerk reaction, devoid of a clear objective, we have seen some small (yes small) measure of success, and thankfully so. To pronounce on its effectiveness as this point may be premature, but before any extension of the SOE or even reduction of curfew hours should be debated, the public deserves a better understanding of the goals.
Contractor: I'm no gang leader2 Hyatt suspects go to court...
By Jensen LaVende jensen.lavende@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Aug 29, 2011 at 11:44 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 29, 2011 at 11:44 PM ECT
THE two alleged gangsters captured last week at the Hyatt Regency hotel, Port of Spain, along with 21 other suspected gang members, appeared in court yesterday, all claiming innocence of the charges levelled against them.
Cedric "Burkie" Burke, 36, was charged with being the leader of a gang, while Keon "Baine" Bain, 31, was charged with being a gang member.
They were charged by PC Nobel Smith after officers attached to the Port of Spain Criminal Investigation Department (CID) arrested them while they were allegedly hiding out at the Hyatt on August 26.
Burke and Bain were nabbed by police around 11.30 a.m. on Friday in a room at the Waterfront hotel.
Karen Hall, a 26-year-old San Juan woman, who, according to police, claimed to be the men's secretary, was also detained at the hotel.
She was subsequently released after being interviewed by Port of Spain CID officers.
The two men, who paid in cash for their stay at the hotel, reportedly exchanged rooms often.
They had initially checked in on August 23, two days after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced a state of emergency in the country.
Burke's attorney Kirk Hogan told Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar that his client was a registered contractor who had secured a contract with the National Community for Self-Help.
The $300,000 contract, which falls under the Ministry of Community Development, was awarded on August 23, the day the men checked into the hotel and was signed by Reynold Baldeosingh.
Hogan said that his client, of Production Avenue, Sea Lots, had to give up another lucrative contract because he was arrested.
Bain, of Third Street, Maraval, was represented by defence attorneys Fitzgerald Hinds, Wayne Sturge and Mario Merritt.
Hinds, who spoke on behalf of the attorneys, asked for all the relevant disclosure, including size and characteristics of the gang.
He requested that the matter begin as soon as possible. Both men will reappear in court on September 20.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Con ... 53438.html
silver wrote:Allyuh men kixy yes.
The 'so-called' good side effects of the curfew just show how in-disciplined we are as a country. If we need a curfew to reduce drunk driving, ensure proportionate discretionary spending (entertainment), cessation or reduction of extra-marital affairs or spousal abuse or increase quality time spent with family...we much worse off than we think.
For those of us, however, who are not plagued by these issues, the curfew is simply a nuisance. A drain on the economy (and I don't believe anyone is in a position to say who has 'earned' enough money...in a free economy this is an absurd sentiment), and an imposition on our rights and freedoms as law-abiding citizens.
The salient question is whether the ill-effects and disadvantages are outweighed by the positive actual or future effects and impacts of the measures being implemented as a result of the SOE/curfew. Though initially apparent as a knee-jerk reaction, devoid of a clear objective, we have seen some small (yes small) measure of success, and thankfully so. To pronounce on its effectiveness as this point may be premature, but before any extension of the SOE or even reduction of curfew hours should be debated, the public deserves a better understanding of the goals.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:might see some opposition lawyers taking up the causepugboy wrote:I hope the police have good court cases made for for the people they holding everyday
most of them their defence will be based on wrongful accusation anyway
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:yupDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:might see some opposition lawyers taking up the causepugboy wrote:I hope the police have good court cases made for for the people they holding everyday
most of them their defence will be based on wrongful accusation anyway
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
But our population are in-disciplined and disrespectful, hell a large sector os society cannot even bring themselves to stop littering, although im sure their houses are clean inside, very little can be done to keep a proper queue in this country, everyone figures that they can SKIP and force their way into the front,
They dont obey traffic lights, they park illegally in front of peoples gates without due care or consideration, hopefully some good will come from this SOE
*$kїđž!™ wrote:Bars owners complaining about losing money.....lol at this.......they are already millionaires....they complaining just only after a week...how much money they want????
Finally some families are actually getting food on the table.....husbands forced to go home with his salary rather than head to the bar and drink it out in RUM,,,,,,thank goodness....food and school stuff for the kids....
Abused wives gettin less or no licks these days cause the husband not coming home drunk since less time being spent at the bars......thank goodness again............no licks............................
Less drunk drivers on the road cause they passing the bar straight and heading home to their families....less accidents and lives lost due to drunk drivers.........thanks goodness bars close early
Alcohol and rum drinking...social ills....hence its called demerit goods......goods which provide little or no benefit to society.......
and the bar owning complaining!!! man fack them oui.......allyuh lucky...IMO they govt should close down all those stupid rum shops........