The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

dredman1

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby dredman1 » September 30th, 2012, 9:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:how do you get the card?
I think the link he listed said email delivery, so no physical delivery of card. Would be cool if it indeed works.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 30th, 2012, 9:29 pm

dredman1 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:how do you get the card?
I think the link he listed said email delivery, so no physical delivery of card. Would be cool if it indeed works.

I've gotten in the past
Seems in short supply recently
Here's a screen grab from an old email in my trash
I checkout as a guest, pay with Paypal and use the Texas address they provide for international orders
ITunes Email.png

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 1st, 2012, 9:40 pm

2WNBoost wrote:
jm3 wrote:
jm3 wrote:whats the smallest itunes card that can be bought? now that i am legit ios6 i need to buy whatsapp and thats all i want until a new jb comes out

scratch that had a retarded moment

also i checked into bringing an iphone 5 for myself and was pleasantly surprised however when is the factory unlocked version available or is it available right now in the apple store? my mum or dad could send one down for me from canada.

Factory Unlocked are available now in Canada and a number of European countries.
The only problem is, it costs more in Canadian dollars and the exchange rate is higher.
Double Whammy :( :(

that sucks guess they will be making a trip over the border for me lol :)
apple store in buffalo

Postby M_2NR » October 1st, 2012, 10:05 pm

Didn't a tuner buy a US iPhone in store that was factory unlocked? see previous pages.

__

So... @chronic Factory Unlocks work perfectly. Take a bit of time though but its absolutely worth it. Then again he was in BBJAM at the same time so I was impressed he even responded to all his emails.
Side Note: IF you have an iPhone 4 that you're gonna get factory unlocked, if it's on 01.59.00, update the baseband. I was having lots of signal issues and I updated to iOS 6... BOOM full. Just goes to show the work the guys (@planetbeing et al.) put into ultrasn0w for it to work.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » October 2nd, 2012, 1:43 am

Yea I got 2 factory unlocked iPhone 5's about 2 weeks ago in the Falls in Miami, just walked in and they sold me them.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 2nd, 2012, 4:53 am

bolo23 wrote:Yea I got 2 factory unlocked iPhone 5's about 2 weeks ago in the Falls in Miami, just walked in and they sold me them.

more like waited in line for hours then sold you :lol: :lol:

but on a serious what price did you pay?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 2nd, 2012, 12:38 pm

new black ipad mini

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » October 2nd, 2012, 3:04 pm

Yea ur absolutely right pimptacular I had to wait a while for them, they costed me 799 and 899 after taxes.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 2nd, 2012, 4:28 pm

bolo23 wrote:Yea ur absolutely right pimptacular I had to wait a while for them, they costed me 799 and 899 after taxes.

I'm actually one of the disappointed faithfuls, this new iphone imo is a such a bore, I hope some more drastic changes are made when the 5s hits.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 2nd, 2012, 4:41 pm

^ its a faster processor and memory with a better camera and larger screen - should also have longer battery life

the "features" are in iOS 6 since the 4S and 5 can both do the same thing, the 5 is just faster at it.

not sure what you were expecting

Postby Stephon. » October 2nd, 2012, 4:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the 4S and 5 can both do the same thing,

Genuinely wondering the same.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 2nd, 2012, 5:15 pm

Simply put, if you have 4S, save your money and upgrade to the 5S when it comes out, the most I'm going to do in the next year is buy a new screen protector.

Postby M_2NR » October 2nd, 2012, 5:23 pm

Or, if you have a 4, buy a used 4S :lol:

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 2nd, 2012, 5:52 pm

pretty much yeah, it's crazy how reasonably priced you can get a used 4S for right now.

Postby Stephon. » October 2nd, 2012, 5:58 pm

Glad I'm not the one that said it this time lol.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 2nd, 2012, 6:05 pm

dafuq? :lol:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 2nd, 2012, 6:33 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ its a faster processor and memory with a better camera and larger screen - should also have longer battery life

the "features" are in iOS 6 since the 4S and 5 can both do the same thing, the 5 is just faster at it.

It's more or less a slightly updated 4S :|

Having been an owner since the 2G, I was expecting not the inevitable 'upgrades' which this phone is supposed to have which has been covered already by other current phones but something new & exciting. Maybe expandable memory, nfc, more customizable OS....not just updating the phone to match with current ones & saying its the next 'big thing'.

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 2nd, 2012, 6:44 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ its a faster processor and memory with a better camera and larger screen - should also have longer battery life

It's more or less a slightly updated 4S :|

Having been an owner since the 2G, I was expecting not the inevitable 'upgrades' which this phone is supposed to have which has been covered already by other current phones but something new & exciting. Maybe expandable memory, nfc, more customizable OS....not just updating the phone to match with current ones & saying its the next 'big thing'.

U just describe android there....

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 2nd, 2012, 7:10 pm

Yea cause for the 1st time it's actually looking better

Postby M_2NR » October 2nd, 2012, 7:37 pm

"Great iPhone 4S vs. iPhone 5 comparison video"
http://9to5mac.com/2012/10/01/great-iph ... son-video/

To all those saying the 4S is the same... ;)

BTW i eh gone rake out for an iPhone 5, just showing some real world tests and how they stand. It is a bit faster and soon enough apps will utilize its longer screen.

and then there is this:
http://mostly-tech.com/2012/09/29/the-d ... enchmarks/

casper

Postby casper » October 2nd, 2012, 9:43 pm

Swisha wrote:dafuq? :lol:

Oh shhhhhitttttt Lolz

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 2nd, 2012, 10:20 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:It's more or less a slightly updated 4S :|
no it's not

it's a much better device spec wise, the OS ensures that it works the same way as the older device, just the newer model does it much faster and more efficiently

that is what a good OS does

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 2nd, 2012, 10:31 pm

i find it hilarious you all think a iPhone '5s' is coming out.. (the "s" mark is simply a mid model upgrade...) if you were disappointed with the iPhone 5, the iPhone 5s will probably be nothing more than a 'tweak' - better camera, faster processor and NO aesthetic changes

#truestory #hardluck #truthhurts #nanynanybooboo #stickyourheadindoodoo

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 2nd, 2012, 10:52 pm

I really like the 5 aesthetically that's why I'm holding out until the 5S comes out because it will have upgraded internals and retain what I already like about the phone. And I was not disappointed in the 5 in any way, I just rather spend $800 US next september while I have a perfectly fine 4S right now.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 2nd, 2012, 11:37 pm

Aesthetics really wasn't an issue, I mean it is the sleekest looking iphone yet, I'm diggin the design but it's just the lack of 'innovation' that disappointed me.

@ Duane ... u should prob look at M_2NRs vid & review ur thgts on it being a much 'better' phone. The performance increase is marginal at best. + ur paying premium on a smart phone that doesn't even have proper navigation in this day of technology. At least with the 4/4S you could stay on 5.1.1 & retain ya google maps. But everything ina apple timin right.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 3rd, 2012, 5:48 am

In 2007 on my 2G I never used google maps

So who cares if apple maps failed. Geeze

why fuss over innovation the original iPhone was a great leap in innovation copied by all....ever since 2007 the competition trying an finally catch up. So you expect a great leap of innovation with the iPhone to stay out front one time?

My car drives on 4 wheels same way my great great grandparents drove in house pulled wagons. The only innovative thing i see here is that I got an engine instead of a horse.

Do I buy a 2012 Hyundai an complain / laugh at all the fanboy Ford drivers who still drive on 4 wheels like me... because i have push to start button on my dash

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 3rd, 2012, 6:18 am

Xtech I hope is level sarcasm in your post yes

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 3rd, 2012, 6:31 am

People vex they eh get star trek biznizz on they iphone 5.
All who thought they was going to get holographic keyboard projected out, and thought that after Siri find a menu for them, she woulda jump out de phone and cook it for them.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 3rd, 2012, 7:35 am

I was informed from a friend in the USA that some apples stores currently have them contract free for just under $700 us (I googled it to confirm)...... So rite now im jus organizing to find someone that willing to go for it n bring it back into trini via hand luggage :)

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:08 am

xtech wrote:In 2007 on my 2G I never used google maps

So who cares if apple maps failed. Geeze

why fuss over innovation the original iPhone was a great leap in innovation copied by all....ever since 2007 the competition trying an finally catch up. So you expect a great leap of innovation with the iPhone to stay out front one time?

My car drives on 4 wheels same way my great great grandparents drove in house pulled wagons. The only innovative thing i see here is that I got an engine instead of a horse.

Do I buy a 2012 Hyundai an complain / laugh at all the fanboy Ford drivers who still drive on 4 wheels like me... because i have push to start button on my dash

Meh boy alot of ppl care about that feature. Maps are very important to travelers & it's a pretty standard thing on a world phone.

& yea I did expect more cause it's the 5th model & one the most hyped up devices to be released from a company which is known for being ahead of the game....& with this imo they no longer are.

Don't really understand what's ur point in the rest of ur post.