casper

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby casper » October 3rd, 2012, 9:14 am

iM@st@1 wrote:
xtech wrote:In 2007 on my 2G I never used google maps

So who cares if apple maps failed. Geeze

why fuss over innovation the original iPhone was a great leap in innovation copied by all....ever since 2007 the competition trying an finally catch up. So you expect a great leap of innovation with the iPhone to stay out front one time?

My car drives on 4 wheels same way my great great grandparents drove in house pulled wagons. The only innovative thing i see here is that I got an engine instead of a horse.

Do I buy a 2012 Hyundai an complain / laugh at all the fanboy Ford drivers who still drive on 4 wheels like me... because i have push to start button on my dash

Meh boy alot of ppl care about that feature. Maps are very important to travelers & it's a pretty standard thing on a world phone.

& yea I did expect more cause it's the 5th model & one the most hyped up devices to be released from a company which is known for being ahead of the game....& with this imo they no longer are.

Don't really understand what's ur point in the rest of ur post.

agreed

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 9:59 am

iM@st@1 wrote:Aesthetics really wasn't an issue, I mean it is the sleekest looking iphone yet, I'm diggin the design but it's just the lack of 'innovation' that disappointed me.

@ Duane ... u should prob look at M_2NRs vid & review ur thgts on it being a much 'better' phone. The performance increase is marginal at best. + ur paying premium on a smart phone that doesn't even have proper navigation in this day of technology. At least with the 4/4S you could stay on 5.1.1 & retain ya google maps. But everything ina apple timin right.
take a look at the performance results that I posted before
viewtopic.php?p=6548215#p6548215

Google Octane test

1080p

in most cases the iPhone 5 is 2.5x faster than the 4S
As with computer processors it is difficult to do real world tests to see these differences - e.g. testing an Intel i5 vs an i7 by checking to see how quickly they open MS Word; it is going to look like they have the same performance.

IMO the argument about the Maps is a moot point
Maps is an app and just like 3rd party apps can be changed and updated daily without needing to update the hardware on the phone.

Nothing is wrong with the GPS and hardware navigation of the iPhone 5. The Apple Maps app just is not as complete as Google or Bing Maps.

Complaining about the Maps as a shortfall of the iPhone 5 is like complaining that the new version of WhatsApp not switching windows on new messages is a problem with the iPhone 4S

Postby Chimera » October 3rd, 2012, 10:00 am

iDynamic wrote:I was informed from a friend in the USA that some apples stores currently have them contract free for just under $700 us (I googled it to confirm)...... So rite now im jus organizing to find someone that willing to go for it n bring it back into trini via hand luggage :)

any idea which apple stores in miami sellin them factory unlocked?

i googling and only finding the contract price lol

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 3rd, 2012, 10:46 am

iM@st@1 wrote:Aesthetics really wasn't an issue, I mean it is the sleekest looking iphone yet, I'm diggin the design but it's just the lack of 'innovation' that disappointed me.

@ Duane ... u should prob look at M_2NRs vid & review ur thgts on it being a much 'better' phone. The performance increase is marginal at best. + ur paying premium on a smart phone that doesn't even have proper navigation in this day of technology. At least with the 4/4S you could stay on 5.1.1 & retain ya google maps. But everything ina apple timin right.
take a look at the performance results that I posted before
viewtopic.php?p=6548215#p6548215

Google Octane test

1080p

in most cases the iPhone 5 is 2.5x faster than the 4S
As with computer processors it is difficult to do real world tests to see these differences - e.g. testing an Intel i5 vs an i7 by checking to see how quickly they open MS Word; it is going to look like they have the same performance.

IMO the argument about the Maps is a moot point
Maps is an app and just like 3rd party apps can be changed and updated daily without needing to update the hardware on the phone.

Nothing is wrong with the GPS and hardware navigation of the iPhone 5. The Apple Maps app just is not as complete as Google or Bing Maps.

Complaining about the Maps as a shortfall of the iPhone 5 is like complaining that the new version of WhatsApp not switching windows on new messages is a problem with the iPhone 4S

I was in no way implying anything was wrong with the gps/hardware of the phone, sor shouldve been a lil clearer. But I find it unfair to a consumer to release an incomplete app which is of major importance imo on their flagship product & doing away with what was working flawlessly bf. I'm all for them doing their own thing but it shouldve been perfected bf release is all I saying.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 10:52 am

^ yes and everyone agrees with that, however that is a downfall of the app, not the phone.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 3rd, 2012, 11:23 am

breds just go to google.maps.com on your iphone and select add to homescreen, voila, you get back google maps :roll:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 3rd, 2012, 11:49 am

You know how to add a shortcut, good for u bro :?

Of course one app won't be the downfall of the whole phone, we jus back & forth about it. It's a marvelous piece of engineering & i respect that. Know it will improve sometime I guess

jcrew

Postby jcrew » October 3rd, 2012, 12:39 pm

Hey guys, having a problem with the proximity sensor on my 4s, basically the screen not locking when i am on a call. Do you guys know what can be done or who can fix the problem?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 3rd, 2012, 12:41 pm

Everyone speaking of the specs, IMO the most noteworthy improvement for me is the move from glass to aluminum on the body.

That alone is what made me want a new iPhone.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 3rd, 2012, 12:48 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
iDynamic wrote:I was informed from a friend in the USA that some apples stores currently have them contract free for just under $700 us (I googled it to confirm)...... So rite now im jus organizing to find someone that willing to go for it n bring it back into trini via hand luggage :)

any idea which apple stores in miami sellin them factory unlocked?

i googling and only finding the contract price lol

Gonna call a few this week when I get free time will keep u updated , the code is "device only"

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 3rd, 2012, 1:01 pm

i recently spoke to an AT&T rep they told me if you purchase it off contract they suppose to an can unlock it for you at request

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 3rd, 2012, 1:32 pm

Anytime you buy an iPhone at full price, 650, 750, 850, they will unlock it for you. Same thing happened last year when users who paid full price for their AT&T phones in stores, when they connected to iTunes it notified them that they were unlocked.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 1:59 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Everyone speaking of the specs, IMO the most noteworthy improvement for me is the move from glass to aluminum on the body.

That alone is what made me want a new iPhone.
the thing is that most people who already got their new iPhone 5 are saying that the glass was more scratch resistant than the aluminum

we will soon see

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 3rd, 2012, 3:31 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:You know how to add a shortcut, good for u bro :?

Of course one app won't be the downfall of the whole phone, we jus back & forth about it. It's a marvelous piece of engineering & i respect that. Know it will improve sometime I guess

and all you seem to know how to do is beyotch and moan

Postby pugboy » October 3rd, 2012, 3:42 pm

these spec comparisons are very reminiscent of those old PC magazines
where half the magazine is ad's touting benchmarks and the other half is reviews with another set of benchmarks.
thankfully the average pc is neither here nor there for the average user

mind you lcd tv's went thru a similar phase and pretty much over too......

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 3rd, 2012, 3:46 pm

jcrew wrote:Hey guys, having a problem with the proximity sensor on my 4s, basically the screen not locking when i am on a call. Do you guys know what can be done or who can fix the problem?

Did you try blocking the sensor with your hand to make sure it working ? Or you can Check the setting.

Postby M_2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 7:38 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the thing is that most people who already got their new iPhone 5 are saying that the glass was more scratch resistant than the aluminum

we will soon see

yuh cya please people bai.

BTW ollur don't mess with Duane eh... he almost at Strauss level :poke:

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 3rd, 2012, 8:12 pm

Lol!!!

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 3rd, 2012, 8:57 pm

Just came off the phone with an apple rep from the la galleria store Miami , he said from tonight 10pm their time on the apple website I can preorder for next day pick up tomorrow in the store (usual scene)

He also said stock is currently sold out but they restock a lot randomly.

Finally the good news he confirmed that they sell the AT&T phones contract free no need to sign any contract or provide any of that information , the only thing he will need to complete the transaction is just an AT&T # (could be prepaid / postpaid because the phone is contract free )

That store exact price after tax is $687 for the 16GB

Postby M_2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 9:19 pm

iDynamic wrote:Just came off the phone with an apple rep from the la galleria store Miami , he said from tonight 10pm their time on the apple website I can preorder for next day pick up tomorrow in the store (usual scene)

Finally the good news he confirmed that they sell the AT&T phones contract free no need to sign any contract or provide any of that information , the only thing he will need to complete the transaction is just an AT&T # (could be prepaid / postpaid because the phone is contract free )

and it locked or unlocked? remember in the past they sold iPhones in this way all the time but were locked.

Postby Chimera » October 3rd, 2012, 9:30 pm

in any event, the iphone 5 can be easily factory unlocked

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 3rd, 2012, 10:34 pm

M_2NR wrote:
iDynamic wrote:Just came off the phone with an apple rep from the la galleria store Miami , he said from tonight 10pm their time on the apple website I can preorder for next day pick up tomorrow in the store (usual scene)

and it locked or unlocked? remember in the past they sold iPhones in this way all the time but were locked.

Locked to AT&T but was also reading guys that purchased the 5 this way simply plugged into iTunes and it becomes unlocked !

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » October 3rd, 2012, 11:53 pm

quick question guys my mother-in-law brought one for me from at&t but its on contract would it be factory unlcoked or is there any where i can get it unlock if possible?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 4th, 2012, 12:10 am

battlefield 3 wrote:quick question guys my mother-in-law brought one for me from at&t but its on contract would it be factory unlcoked or is there any where i can get it unlock if possible?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Unlock-Code-Ser ... 2c688434e5

top rated seller = no problems, most of the time.

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » October 4th, 2012, 12:14 am

mojosodope wrote:
battlefield 3 wrote:quick question guys my mother-in-law brought one for me from at&t but its on contract would it be factory unlcoked or is there any where i can get it unlock if possible?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Unlock-Code-Ser ... 2c688434e5

top rated seller = no problems, most of the time.

kool thanks bro

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 5th, 2012, 1:05 am

looks like factory unlocked is making its way online now (live 12 am)

*crosses fingers

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 5th, 2012, 1:06 am

looks like factory unlocked is making its way online now (live 12 am)

*crosses fingers

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 5th, 2012, 6:09 am

not available here in the US still online

Postby RASC » October 5th, 2012, 6:34 am

VVVVVVV
Last edited by RASC on October 5th, 2012, 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » October 5th, 2012, 6:52 am

Please see below. Make sure you buy the correct model depending on your travel and data needs.
Last edited by RASC on October 5th, 2012, 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.