The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby RASC » October 5th, 2012, 7:28 am

•GSM model A1428*: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 4 and 17)
•CDMA model A1429*: CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1900, 2100 MHz); UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5, 13, 25)
•GSM model A1429*: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5)

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks

Use the above plus the wiki international LTE list to make your selection, depending on your travel and data needs.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 5th, 2012, 9:08 am

Tim Cook, Apple CEO wrote:Steve’s passing one year ago today was a sad and difficult time for all of us. I hope that today everyone will reflect on his extraordinary life and the many ways he made the world a better place.

One of the greatest gifts Steve gave to the world is Apple. No company has ever inspired such creativity or set such high standards for itself. Our values originated from Steve and his spirit will forever be the foundation of Apple. We share the great privilege and responsibility of carrying his legacy into the future.

I’m incredibly proud of the work we are doing, delivering products that our customers love and dreaming up new ones that will delight them down the road. It’s a wonderful tribute to Steve’s memory and everything he stood for.

Remembering Steve Tribute Video on Apple.com

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 5th, 2012, 9:30 am

It's been one year already?! Wow. Doesn't feel like that at all.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2012, 9:56 am

RASC wrote:•GSM model A1428*: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 4 and 17)
•CDMA model A1429*: CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1900, 2100 MHz); UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5, 13, 25)
•GSM model A1429*: UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5)

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks

Use the above plus the wiki international LTE list to make your selection, depending on your travel and data needs.
What do the iPhone 5 model numbers mean (A1428 / A1429)?

In deciding to go with blazing fast LTE capability in the iPhone 5, Apple was forced to release three different devices to meet compatibility with different LTE network standards worldwide.

The A1428 model iPhone 5 is the Canadian and US AT&T network GSM iPhone, including broad support for UMTS/HSPA+DC-HSDPA (frequencies 850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz), GSM/EDGE (frequencies 850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz), and LTE bands 4 and 17.

The A1429 iPhone comes in two different flavors, one CDMA and one GSM. The GSM model is designed to support LTE in Asia (including Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, and South Korea). This GSM iPhone will also work on LTE in Australia, Germany, and the UK on bands 1, 3, and 5.

The CDMA version of model A1429 works on Sprint's and Verizon's LTE networks in the US, along with the KDDI network in Japan on bands 1, 3, 5, 13, and 25. The CDMA version also supports GSM bands, making the CDMA iPhone 5 compatible with GSM networks. However, the CDMA A1429 will not support LTE on GSM networks in the US.

http://www.iphonefaq.org/archives/972158

Postby stev » October 5th, 2012, 10:31 am

Hey Guys,

not sure if it was discussed before, just got an email from work with this and wanted to share....gonna check them out 2mrw.

Postby RASC » October 5th, 2012, 10:32 am

The cdma version seems like your best bang for your buck if:

You don't live in the states/canada and not too perturbed by being on at&t or Canadian HSDPA only when visiting.

...because you get hsdpa and lte all across the globe no worries and LTE on Verizon or Sprint and hsdpa on at&t and Canadian carriers. That's a decent compromise for all around more coverage IMHO.

Postby pioneer » October 5th, 2012, 12:23 pm

In iOS6, how to do I copy/paste text?

Using an ipod touch 4G

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 12:34 pm

pioneer wrote:In iOS6, how to do I copy/paste text?

Using an ipod touch 4G

Don't u have to hold down, then drag the markers to include whatever u wanna copy and copy.

Then paste by holding down where u wanna paste it.

casper

Postby casper » October 5th, 2012, 12:46 pm

Using an ipod touch 4G

fckuckin noob

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 5th, 2012, 2:15 pm

SRASC wrote:Image

Tim Cook, Apple CEO wrote:Steve’s passing one year ago today was a sad and difficult time for all of us. I hope that today everyone will reflect on his extraordinary life and the many ways he made the world a better place.

One of the greatest gifts Steve gave to the world is Apple. No company has ever inspired such creativity or set such high standards for itself. Our values originated from Steve and his spirit will forever be the foundation of Apple. We share the great privilege and responsibility of carrying his legacy into the future.

I’m incredibly proud of the work we are doing, delivering products that our customers love and dreaming up new ones that will delight them down the road. It’s a wonderful tribute to Steve’s memory and everything he stood for.

Remembering Steve Tribute Video on Apple.com

Nice tribute for Steve.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 5th, 2012, 2:22 pm

stev wrote:Hey Guys,

not sure if it was discussed before, just got an email from work with this and wanted to share....gonna check them out 2mrw.

Looks good but I wonder if they'll have competitive pricing or it'll probably be cheaper to literally fly Miami and pick it up from in person. They got to pay that West Mall rent somehow plus "Luxury Tax".

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 5th, 2012, 7:18 pm

Using an ipod touch 4G

so your internet skills only include trolling i see, interesting

Postby M_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 9:09 pm

oh geezus... im not gonna clean up those multiple quotes :|

pios see what S_2NR say, I urge you to check the manual and go into safari hit the bookmarks button and go through the manual... or manuel... Lots of stuff to learn.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 5th, 2012, 9:50 pm

Can an iphone 4S from canada on the Rogers network be unlocked? It was bought in Feb...

dj_diablo_live

Postby dj_diablo_live » October 5th, 2012, 10:23 pm

iDynamic wrote:Just came off the phone with an apple rep from the la galleria store Miami , he said from tonight 10pm their time on the apple website I can preorder for next day pick up tomorrow in the store (usual scene)

He also said stock is currently sold out but they restock a lot randomly.

Finally the good news he confirmed that they sell the AT&T phones contract free no need to sign any contract or provide any of that information , the only thing he will need to complete the transaction is just an AT&T # (could be prepaid / postpaid because the phone is contract free )

That store exact price after tax is $687 for the 16GB

how can u pre order within those times if the sites still says choose carrier???

Postby M_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 11:15 pm

dredman1 wrote:Can an iphone 4S from canada on the Rogers network be unlocked? It was bought in Feb...

yup... costs a lot though.
eg: http://cutyoursim.com/index.php/remote- ... ne-4s.html

@chronic does them also. I think its $140 from him.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 6th, 2012, 12:05 am

cool - thanks M_2NR

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » October 6th, 2012, 8:36 pm

question fellas,

all who have iphone 4 & 4s and upgraded to ios6, if you have whatsapp are you currently seeing your contacts display picture?

i had a 4s and upgraded to the ios6 6 and for some reason am not able to see my contacts display picture again, moved from the 4s to a iphone 5 and contacts pictures still not showing up, deleted the app, rebooted, re-installed the app, rebooted and still not showing, any recommendations as to how i could fix it?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2012, 9:01 pm

^ not sure

I'm on an iPhone 4 with iOS 6 and the contacts display photo is working properly

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 6th, 2012, 9:05 pm

Hi

I'm looking to setup Bmobile prepaid data on an iPhone 4, anyone knows on how to do this

Thanks
Last edited by src1983 on October 6th, 2012, 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » October 6th, 2012, 9:05 pm

Since I updated to iOS 6 I ain't getting data.

Any advice?

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 6th, 2012, 9:12 pm

Redman wrote:Since I updated to iOS 6 I ain't getting data.

Any advice?

If ur in digicel u need to reimport the settings

Postby Redman » October 6th, 2012, 9:44 pm

Thank you sir.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 7th, 2012, 7:02 am

Dion76 wrote:question fellas,

all who have iphone 4 & 4s and upgraded to ios6, if you have whatsapp are you currently seeing your contacts display picture?

i had a 4s and upgraded to the ios6 6 and for some reason am not able to see my contacts display picture again, moved from the 4s to a iphone 5 and contacts pictures still not showing up, deleted the app, rebooted, re-installed the app, rebooted and still not showing, any recommendations as to how i could fix it?

Working good for me on iPhone 4 right up to 5 . Did you jailbreak your phone before ?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 7th, 2012, 8:47 am

src1983 wrote:Hi

I'm looking to setup Bmobile prepaid data on an iPhone 4, anyone knows on how to do this

Thanks

Just change the APN to bconnected.

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 7th, 2012, 8:51 am

SRASC wrote:
src1983 wrote:Hi

Thanks

Just change the APN to bconnected.

Did that and nothing :(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 7th, 2012, 9:00 am

Guess you'd have contact bmobile concerning it. Was on a BlackBerry plan previously by chance?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 7th, 2012, 9:00 am

Yeah well my contact pictures aren't working either. But some start to show while others don't.

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 7th, 2012, 9:06 am

SRASC wrote:Guess you'd have contact bmobile concerning it. Was on a BlackBerry plan previously by chance?

Person was on Bmobile's postpaid Internet plan

Will call them today and see what's happening

Thanks

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 7th, 2012, 9:43 am

Post some pics of yuh iPhone nah SRASC ....also how it goin?