"State of Emergency" Thread

supercat2012

Re: OFFICIAL "State of Emergency" Thread

Postby supercat2012 » August 30th, 2011, 5:21 pm

STATE OF EMERGENCY (what a joke)so you people think giving up your "Privileges" (because we all know nobody has rights)will solve anything, "Give us more power and we will solve everything, give up some more of your Privileges and everything will be OK". sound familiar well it should it's an age old global strategy to keep the rich and powerful you guessed it rich and powerful. So they wanna make a difference, to much crime they say, i wish someone would point to major civilization in the world that does not have a crime ridden society. OK let me try hard to stay on the point here.....
You wanna stop crime eh well consider this, Drugs and Guns are illegal but you can buy WEED,CRACK, and almost any GUN/AMMO in a 3KM radius of anywhere in Trinidad. Then the so called criminals making HUGE amounts of money daily, having networks of connections in the POLICE, JUSTICE, POLITICAL,GOVERNMENT e.t.c creating gang wars Turf wars and all the BS going on in the country. First off no HUMAN-BEING have any damm right to tell anybody what they could and couldn't put into their own bodies, as long it does not cause harm to another human being go right ah frikin head. They banned a plant, everyday you pay the judges lawyers police prisons officers and more plus to MINE them to sit down in jail for WEED a substance that is weaker than beer, proven to CURE cancer, it actually reduces withdrawal symptoms of REAL drugs like alcohol and countless other points.Why not legalize all drugs?well some idiot is sure to say the hospitals would be overfull and people would OD and BS like that, there has never ever been a reported case where WEED was a cause of death proven to be impossible, so we talkin crack/coke, in Trinidad the crack these people smokin is of the lowest quality, it does considerably more damage than good quality cocaine. These people are addicts not criminals and should never have to see a jail,damaged lost minds they are the ones need love and care and what do we do throw them with rapists gangsters and killers, what you think will happen they come out more F up than before.If the addicts are going to use might as well be something that not killin them. Doh get me started on guns, in places like Texas and Florida as long as you got you ID card you have the Privilage to purchase a gun, do you hear of mass murders in those places? in Trinidad yuh have a business they robbin and shooting yuh and still no legal firearm. Now the muffler bearing dem wha lock yuh up for badtalkin dem on the internet hope you could see they must have their hands in all aspects of your life, is the truth they wanna censor

Major points - legalization of all drugs
- Privilege to bear arms
- The entire corrupt System created to keep the rich really rich the middle class
working like dog and the poor to scare the sheit out of the middle class to keep them
OBEYING

if you read this and feel offended then you are prob one of those who eats up everything coming out your T.V and the politicians mouth, think i talkin sheit well bring it !!........do your RESEARCH people.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 30th, 2011, 5:32 pm

blaming a bar owner for domestic violence is like blaming a supermarket for heart disease

these people earn their living by running a business just like alot of other people working in the private sector. Remove their market, customers or their ability to operate and they lose income - and that goes for their employees too.

in the same way we should also not blame the govt for crime. It is a breakdown in the very society we are part of. I would never drive on the shoulder to avoid traffic because not only is it illegal, I find it to be an immoral, unfair and selfish act. However when i see other people doing it I don't do anything about it other than shake my head - so I feel a bit responsible for allowing these jackholes to get away with driving on the shoulder and allowing my own society to degrade bit by bit.

Postby RBphoto » August 30th, 2011, 5:54 pm

supercat2012 wrote:STATE OF EMERGENCY (what a joke)so you people think giving up your "Privileges" (because we all know nobody has rights)will solve anything, "Give us more power and we will solve everything, give up some more of your Privileges and everything will be OK". sound familiar well it should it's an age old global strategy to keep the rich and powerful you guessed it rich and powerful. So they wanna make a difference, to much crime they say, i wish someone would point to major civilization in the world that does not have a crime ridden society. OK let me try hard to stay on the point here.....
You wanna stop crime eh well consider this, Drugs and Guns are illegal but you can buy WEED,CRACK, and almost any GUN/AMMO in a 3KM radius of anywhere in Trinidad. Then the so called criminals making HUGE amounts of money daily, having networks of connections in the POLICE, JUSTICE, POLITICAL,GOVERNMENT e.t.c creating gang wars Turf wars and all the BS going on in the country. First off no HUMAN-BEING have any damm right to tell anybody what they could and couldn't put into their own bodies, as long it does not cause harm to another human being go right ah frikin head. They banned a plant, everyday you pay the judges lawyers police prisons officers and more plus to MINE them to sit down in jail for WEED a substance that is weaker than beer, proven to CURE cancer, it actually reduces withdrawal symptoms of REAL drugs like alcohol and countless other points.Why not legalize all drugs?well some idiot is sure to say the hospitals would be overfull and people would OD and BS like that, there has never ever been a reported case where WEED was a cause of death proven to be impossible, so we talkin crack/coke, in Trinidad the crack these people smokin is of the lowest quality, it does considerably more damage than good quality cocaine. These people are addicts not criminals and should never have to see a jail,damaged lost minds they are the ones need love and care and what do we do throw them with rapists gangsters and killers, what you think will happen they come out more F up than before.If the addicts are going to use might as well be something that not killin them. Doh get me started on guns, in places like Texas and Florida as long as you got you ID card you have the Privilage to purchase a gun, do you hear of mass murders in those places? in Trinidad yuh have a business they robbin and shooting yuh and still no legal firearm. Now the muffler bearing dem wha lock yuh up for badtalkin dem on the internet hope you could see they must have their hands in all aspects of your life, is the truth they wanna censor

Major points - legalization of all drugs
- Privilege to bear arms
- The entire corrupt System created to keep the rich really rich the middle class
working like dog and the poor to scare the sheit out of the middle class to keep them
OBEYING

if you read this and feel offended then you are prob one of those who eats up everything coming out your T.V and the politicians mouth, think i talkin sheit well bring it !!........do your RESEARCH people.

You seem upset.

supercat2012

Postby supercat2012 » August 30th, 2011, 6:02 pm

damm upset man you need a pass to go out AT night sounds like
NAZI Germany to me.....

Postby S_2NR » August 30th, 2011, 6:04 pm

supercat2012 wrote:damm upset man you need a pass to go out AT night sounds like
NAZI Germany to me.....

dont beat up man.
tolerant trinis never have a problem. :|

Postby Habit7 » August 30th, 2011, 6:20 pm

How could gov't fight crime when Jack Warner in the Cabinet.

Maybe they should ask him how he allegedly brought in US$1 million and distributed bribes in the said Hyatt, den of gang leaders. Maybe that might help them catch the financiers.

Postby toyolink » August 30th, 2011, 7:03 pm

Some solid infor. shared by some associates in the recreational business has noted a fall off in sales of a low of 60% to a high of 85%.
Unfortunately,for the end of month payments many employees are going to get reduced incomes based on less hours and discussions with bankers,suppliers and landlords for softening of payments is now a reality.
Generally many who have for 2011 had to deal with falling sales feel the impact of the SOE could really be the killer blow since they may not be able to fund deficits at existing levels past Sept.
The real paradox is that all support and hope the SOE will yield results since the long term benefits could be good for all but it may come with some real collateral damage.
Maybe this should have been done 4 years ago when we had a financially robust economy which meant the business folks would have had greater funding capacity.
THEN AGAIN IF WISHES WERE HORSES BEGGARS WOULD RIDE!

Postby pugboy » August 30th, 2011, 7:43 pm

govts have to take a fair amount of blame simply for the fact that they are supposed to stand up for what is right
on all counts starting from the top

the most we could do is shake our heads when we see wrong because we don't have authority but leaders have position to take a stance and put stop to what is wrong
unfortunately we have become accustomed to seeing leaders do wrong and bobol is a way of life

jack warner is a good example, oversold tickets in 1989
collected few hundred million for 2006wc, TTFF bankrupt, money disappear
patrick manning same or worse

people blaming the 14yr girl's parents for bad parenting/leadership, similarly
govt is to blame for what happens at the bottom of society

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:in the same way we should also not blame the govt for crime. It is a breakdown in the very society we are part of. I would never drive on the shoulder to avoid traffic because not only is it illegal, I find it to be an immoral, unfair and selfish act. However when i see other people doing it I don't do anything about it other than shake my head - so I feel a bit responsible for allowing these jackholes to get away with driving on the shoulder and allowing my own society to degrade bit by bit.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » August 30th, 2011, 8:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:in the same way we should also not blame the govt for crime. It is a breakdown in the very society we are part of. I would never drive on the shoulder to avoid traffic because not only is it illegal, I find it to be an immoral, unfair and selfish act.

If there was a visible police presence on the highways, there wouldn't be that much madness on the roads (think about those Trinis who drive *very* carefully in the States). Is it that hard to put ten police cars on Uriah Butler?

Is not the government (past or present) responsible for law enforcement? Can't really see why the government can't be blamed...

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It is a breakdown in the very society we are part of.

I agree. But is this breakdown specific to Trinidad? What about London and Montreal?

Maybe this breakdown has to do with a growing underclass in Trinidad. Yes, some use education and hard work to improve themselves, but perhaps the economic policies of the government (past and present) has a lot to do with the underclass.

For example, why exactly are we all required to have (at least) third party car insurance when we all know the worth of this insurance? Has any government ever sought the protect the public from the insurance companies (by passing legislation to force insurance companies settle claims in a fair manner)?

mars

Postby mars » August 30th, 2011, 10:06 pm

"Robocop" just arrested at One Woodbrook Place...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 30th, 2011, 10:14 pm

some of these comments remind me of the guy who blamed the police because they were not around to tell him not to break the law

Postby rfari » August 30th, 2011, 10:20 pm

mars wrote:"Robocop" just arrested at One Woodbrook Place...

just heard that too.

Postby rollingstock » August 30th, 2011, 10:24 pm

^ If it's true, damn good.

Postby Chimera » August 30th, 2011, 10:30 pm

good fhmc.

he did kidnap a padna of mine in standard 5 :(

Postby pugboy » August 30th, 2011, 10:34 pm

robocop could write a book on his many successes at avoiding convictions
he like a teflon don

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » August 30th, 2011, 10:39 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:some of these comments remind me of the guy who blamed the police because they were not around to tell him not to break the law

despite this sophistry, the facts remain

police presence => less crime
no police presence => more crime

and law enforcement is the responsibility of the government

supercat2012

Postby supercat2012 » August 30th, 2011, 11:28 pm

Corn Bird wrote:despite this sophistry, the facts remain

police presence => less crime
no police presence => more crime

and law enforcement is the responsibility of the government

what ah joke

Postby rfari » August 30th, 2011, 11:35 pm

lola.308 wrote:Is anyone here from Arima?
The loudest music is playing and it sounds as though there is a party going on.... it's 11:11pm and I think we're still under a curfew and this is a hot spot....
can anyone give info on this?

i from rima. wey de music dey?

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 30th, 2011, 11:59 pm

The State of Emergency is to be extended for three months.
Once the extension is approved by a simple majority in the House of Representatives it would mean that the State of Emergency is legally in force until midnight on November 6, unless Government decides to lift it before that time. It will end on November 7.
A motion is to come to the House of Representatives on Friday asking the House to agree that the State of Emergency be extended for a period not exceeding three months.
Three months is the maximum time under the Constitution that the State of Emergency can be extended, before the (initial)15-day period, that the President has the power to impose. The State of Emergency began on August 22. The 15-day period ends on September 5. The extension would begin therefore on September 6 and end on November 6.
On Friday, the House will therefore debate two motions. The first motion will ask the House to debate the specific grounds on which the decision to declare a State of Emergency was based, according to Section 1 (9) of the Trinidad and Tobago Constitution. The House of Representatives does not approve this motion, it merely debates the resolution.
The second motion is the motion to extend the State of Emergency. This motion must be approved by a majority of MPs. As Government has a comfortable majority 29/12, it is expected that this motion would be carried with, or without the support of the Opposition PNM.
Under the Constitution the Government can extend a State of Emergency more than once, but the extension in the aggregate must not exceed six months.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 31st, 2011, 12:10 am

mars wrote:"Robocop" just arrested at One Woodbrook Place...

arrested AGAIN.....how much times they arrest this man and he always gets off.....

from kidnapping/murder to stealing a truckload of cigarettes........

he always gets of....guess that why he has that nickname.....

Postby Country_Bookie » August 31st, 2011, 12:21 am

salvation4U wrote:The State of Emergency is to be extended for three months.
Once the extension is approved by a simple majority in the House of Representatives it would mean that the State of Emergency is legally in force until midnight on November 6, unless Government decides to lift it before that time. It will end on November 7.

Good idea. We'll need the SoE for the mass suicides that will take place when Anonymous destroys Farsebook on November 5th.
Last edited by Country_Bookie on August 31st, 2011, 1:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 31st, 2011, 12:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:blaming a bar owner for domestic violence is like blaming a supermarket for heart disease

not blaming but simply stating the facts.........alcohol leads / contributes to domestic violence..

have seen it on many occasions.......

I personally cannot take a mans money and give him alcohol to drink.......knowing that he may jump in his car and kill someone before he reaches home......

IMHO...

SUPERMAN1325

Postby SUPERMAN1325 » August 31st, 2011, 1:16 am

Police have arrested a notorious kidnapping suspect in an operation in Woodbrook on Tuesday evening.

C News understand that the 45 year old man, of Enterprise Village, Chaguanas, was held at One Woodbrook Place just before 8pm.

The man has been labelled as a kidnapping suspect for many years. He was recently in the news over "landgrabbing" at Cashew Gardens.

Last year, he and two others were discharged by a Magistrate at the Tunapuna Magistrates' Court on charges of kidnapping, robbery, larceny and receiving stolen goods.

He was also before the Port of Spain Third Criminal Court alongside others on charges of kidnapping Sangre Grande jeweller, Mr Henry Francis, from his home on June 9th, 2002.They were also charged with assaulting Mr Francis.

A jury later acquitted them of kidnapping in the Port of Spain High Court. A few days later, he was granted $100,000 bail in the attempting to pervert the course of justice matter in the Port-of-Spain Magistrates' Court.

jus saw this on c tv website......

homeboy

Postby homeboy » August 31st, 2011, 2:08 am

Attorney: They were held because they are black
State of Emergency 'Anti-Gang' case...

By Jensen LaVende jensen.lavende@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Aug 30, 2011 at 11:40 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 30, 2011 at 11:40 PM ECT
DEFENCE attorney Cecil Pope was admonished by Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar yesterday after he claimed the only reason his client and 17 others were charged under the Anti-Gang legislation was because they are black.
"Your Worship, I could have been in their position because I am black just like these men... the only evidence against them in the colour of their skin," Pope, who was representing Jesten Superville, said.
Before he could utter another word, the Chief Magistrate stopped him and with a slight rise in her usual calm voice said: "No, Mr Pope, let me stop you there... make your comments outside of the court... when people come before me, I do not see skin colour... I am not going down that road."
Pope then apologised for comments and told the magistrate his client and his co-accused, all of whom are supposed members of the "Picton Road Gang", were arrested at the "whim and fancy" of the police. He added that the non-appearance of the arresting officer, Cpl Thompson of the Besson Street Police Station, warrants a dismissal due to a lack of prosecution.
Ayers-Caesar then became visibly upset when Pope asked her to consider bail for his client.
"Are you serious? Have you read the legislation? You are supposed to be a minister of justice... now listen to me," she told Pope, raising her voice over his, as he tried to interject with an apology. "You know the legislation does not allow you to get bail for this... you are going down a dangerous road. I don't care about your personal opinion."
Pope then repeated, "Ma'am, I'm sorry."
While all was being said several women in the public gallery began crying loudly and hugging each other, prompting the Chief Magistrate to tell Pope: "When you make those statements, you have this," referring to the loud sobs coming from behind the men.
Patrick Godson-Phillips, who represented four of the 18 men, told Ayers-Caesar the men were young and never had a matter before the courts. He asked for the case to start as soon as possible, adding that he will represent the other men for free, if needed, so the matter would start promptly.
After the matter was adjourned to September 26, two women told the Chief Magistrate they were mothers of two of the 18 men and if they knew their sons were in any gang-related activity, they would have left them to the mercy of the courts and not come before her and say that they were not.
"It's hard, hard, hard to know people innocent and are locked up," the women added.

WTF! because they are black?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 31st, 2011, 3:57 am

Wait. So the lawyer knows there is no bail and decides "to try a ting" and asks anyway? That is why we as a society are in a mess and need a SoE. Our society has been eaten away little by little over more than a decade and for the vast majority of people, as long as it didn't affect them directly, they ain't cater. Now we have a much overdue SoE, NOW people starting to beat up because it affecting them.

zionvzion

Postby zionvzion » August 31st, 2011, 6:43 am

:x I understand what Aunt Kamla trying to do and I'm kool with dat. But is pain for us arrrrrrr, why Peter must pay for Paul?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 31st, 2011, 6:57 am

DTAC wrote:Wait. So the lawyer knows there is no bail and decides "to try a ting" and asks anyway? That is why we as a society are in a mess and need a SoE. Our society has been eaten away little by little over more than a decade and for the vast majority of people, as long as it didn't affect them directly, they ain't cater. Now we have a much overdue SoE, NOW people starting to beat up because it affecting them.

Criminal lawyers will always be the scum of the earth.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 31st, 2011, 7:15 am

dont know how those criminal lawyers sleep at night nah

Postby bluefete » August 31st, 2011, 7:45 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:blaming a bar owner for domestic violence is like blaming a supermarket for heart disease

these people earn their living by running a business just like alot of other people working in the private sector. Remove their market, customers or their ability to operate and they lose income - and that goes for their employees too.

in the same way we should also not blame the govt for crime. It is a breakdown in the very society we are part of. I would never drive on the shoulder to avoid traffic because not only is it illegal, I find it to be an immoral, unfair and selfish act. However when i see other people doing it I don't do anything about it other than shake my head - so I feel a bit responsible for allowing these jackholes to get away with driving on the shoulder and allowing my own society to degrade bit by bit.

And this is where enforcement of the laws come in, Duane.

I too can only shake my head but I do not feel at all responsible for the Jack Daniels who drive on the the shoulder.

If the state apparatus would do its job, we would have much less people breaking the laws.

I am also mindful of the fact that when the state does its job, the law allows bail for many of these same people to go back out on the streets and do the same thing again.

Just saying.

Postby RBphoto » August 31st, 2011, 8:00 am

White CZ4A wrote:Criminal lawyers will always be the scum of the earth.

Doh be on them too much....They have a job to do... would like to see them on "Dirty Jobs" and have Mike Rowe all disgusted at having to be a lawyer...lol...