COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby eliteauto » June 8th, 2021, 3:49 pm

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:are ALLL vaccines 100% effective in preventing severe cases, hospitalizations and deaths?

Yea for the most part, Sinopharm is perhaps a little less effective in this compared to the others, but it's still quite good at this.

I think so to, I have no reason to doubt that it prevents severe cases.

You have doubts smash?

I heard fuad khan this morning saying that sinopharm is the best vaccine and he took AZ as his 1st shot but now he wants sinopharm as the second.

Of the "whole virus" types of vaccines, Sinopharm is best, but the others in this category are the Sinovac and Bharat from India.

I think the mRNA vaccines are usually preferred, as they can be used on persons with weaker immune systems.

mRNA vaccine (Pfizer/Moderna) Injects messenger RNA (recipe to make a protein) into your body. Your body creates the protein, Antibodies kill the spike protein so your body is now safe.

Protein subunit vaccine (Novovax). Instead of injecting the recipe for the protein, the protein itself is injected. Antibodies kill it.

Adenovirus vaccine (AZ/J&J) Injects a modified version of a chimpanzee virus into the body. This chimpanzee virus cannot replicate, but the body sees it as COVID so it builds the antibodies for it.

Whole virus vaccine (Sinopharm/Sinovac/Bharat). Injects a weak or inactivated version of the virus into your body. Your body detects it and fights it off. This is the most traditional version of vaccines that we're most accustomed to.

question is, 100%.
are all vaccines 100% effective in preventing severe illness and death?

No vaccine is 100%

Postby teems1 » June 8th, 2021, 3:54 pm

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:are ALLL vaccines 100% effective in preventing severe cases, hospitalizations and deaths?

Yea for the most part, Sinopharm is perhaps a little less effective in this compared to the others, but it's still quite good at this.

You have doubts smash?

I heard fuad khan this morning saying that sinopharm is the best vaccine and he took AZ as his 1st shot but now he wants sinopharm as the second.

Of the "whole virus" types of vaccines, Sinopharm is best, but the others in this category are the Sinovac and Bharat from India.

I think the mRNA vaccines are usually preferred, as they can be used on persons with weaker immune systems.

mRNA vaccine (Pfizer/Moderna) Injects messenger RNA (recipe to make a protein) into your body. Your body creates the protein, Antibodies kill the spike protein so your body is now safe.

Protein subunit vaccine (Novovax). Instead of injecting the recipe for the protein, the protein itself is injected. Antibodies kill it.

Adenovirus vaccine (AZ/J&J) Injects a modified version of a chimpanzee virus into the body. This chimpanzee virus cannot replicate, but the body sees it as COVID so it builds the antibodies for it.

Whole virus vaccine (Sinopharm/Sinovac/Bharat). Injects a weak or inactivated version of the virus into your body. Your body detects it and fights it off. This is the most traditional version of vaccines that we're most accustomed to.

question is, 100%.

No vaccine is 100%, however the results from the trials were extremely positive.

https://youtu.be/K3odScka55A?t=275

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 8th, 2021, 3:58 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I would like anyone who got the AZ(not like weeks ago eh)....maybe today, tomorrow, near future or something.......try that bs with the magnet and come back with a report. I was "fortunate" to see that dumbarse experiment and im still mindfcked....it nah make sense

Went and tried it with a HDD magnet on mih mother who got it yesterday.

I got slapped. Thanks a lot man.

Nothing magnetic happened BTW.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2021, 4:03 pm

Got my AZ shot approximately 1.50pm.
Two hours later nothing - Almost no pain at the injection site and I feel normal otherwise.

Process at the Tennis Centre was pretty good. Didn't realize how big of an operation they have going on there. Buts its also easy to see how it could be overwhelmed without proper appointment systems.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 8th, 2021, 4:20 pm

What you talking about? Post a link
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I would like anyone who got the AZ(not like weeks ago eh)....maybe today, tomorrow, near future or something.......try that bs with the magnet and come back with a report. I was "fortunate" to see that dumbarse experiment and im still mindfcked....it nah make sense

Postby Kenjo » June 8th, 2021, 4:21 pm

Lol

carluva

Postby carluva » June 8th, 2021, 4:23 pm

No. Never 100%.

However, the likelihood of being hospitalized or getting serious complications with the vaccine is considerably lower than if you didn't. You can still contract the virus, but having the antibodies already, you are better able to fight the virus. You may get viral symptoms, but likelihood of major symptoms is reduced.
sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

You have doubts smash?

question is, 100%.

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2021, 4:26 pm

Last edited by sMASH on June 8th, 2021, 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2021, 4:33 pm

political post

Postby eliteauto » June 8th, 2021, 5:18 pm

ROFL dem cyah be serious

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » June 8th, 2021, 5:37 pm

Vaccines are driving the US reopening

Postby paid_influencer » June 8th, 2021, 5:44 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Vaccines are driving the US reopening

the other night had an NBA playoffs game with 18,000 fans in attendance, some with masks some without. They are pretty much back to normal now and it is glorious.

*standard disclaimer that the vaccines they have are different to the vaccines we have, and in our local context persons still need to continue wearing masks, social distancing and limiting gatherings until advised otherwise.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2021, 5:55 pm

The number of vaccinated went up by almost 7000 in today's report

Postby MaxPower » June 8th, 2021, 6:15 pm

I would like to be vaccinated, but i am worried about the long term effects.

This virus is new, and the research is rushed.

Scary stuff.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 8th, 2021, 8:06 pm

Trust in the science bro the only reason not to take is a history of allergic reactions and a history of severe blood clots

Else the benefits far out weigh the risks

Odds of blood clot from vaccine 0.0004 odd of blood clots from covid 15%

Its really a no brainer
MaxPower wrote:I would like to be vaccinated, but i am worried about the long term effects.

Scary stuff.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 8th, 2021, 8:20 pm

MaxPower wrote:I would like to be vaccinated, but i am worried about the long term effects.

Scary stuff.

The virus isn't new, vaccines aren't new, even the mRNA vaccines and associated research span decades.

You're choosing between covid and a 1 in 250k chance of a blood clot (with AZ & J&J), Sinopharm 'should' be safer, but we don't know yet.

I'm getting my AZ vaccine tomorrow, finally!

Postby MaxPower » June 8th, 2021, 8:24 pm

Thanks for the reassurance team.

DPD, let us know how it goes.

Postby redmanjp » June 8th, 2021, 9:58 pm

more ppl tend to get side effects from the second shot than the first - perhaps due to the immune system recognizing the spike protein and launching a more stronger rapid response than the first time

Postby Gladiator » June 8th, 2021, 10:28 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Scary stuff.

The virus isn't new, vaccines aren't new, even the mRNA vaccines and associated research span decades.

You're choosing between covid and a 1 in 250k chance of a blood clot (with AZ & J&J), Sinopharm 'should' be safer, but we don't know yet.

How do you know which one you getting in advance?

Postby eliteauto » June 8th, 2021, 10:32 pm

At present if you're getting it through a Ministry as staff, you're getting AZ, through a health center appointment/walk-in you're getting Sinopharm

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 8th, 2021, 10:40 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Scary stuff.

How do you know which one you getting in advance?

employer arranged it....i mean i assume it's AZ as that's what they said.

Technically I'm not supposed to get it as I'm an external consultant but they put me down.

Postby redmanjp » June 9th, 2021, 12:09 am

yeah they gave all the AZ to Ministries to give to staff. those have to use out quick as they have a short expiry

Postby redmanjp » June 9th, 2021, 1:31 am

some places going all out

so im assuming no effects on the effectiveness of the vaccine from the weed? i was told no alcohol for 48 hrs.

https://www.seattleweekly.com/northwest/state-to-allow-joints-for-jabs-promotions-to-support-vaccinations/

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2021, 4:56 am

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/20 ... m-vaccine/
washington post wrote:China’s great vaccine hope, Sinopharm, sees reputation darkened amid covid spikes in countries using it

By
Adam Taylor
and
Paul Schemm

June 3, 2021 at 6:15 p.m. AST

correction

This article originally stated that Chile and Uruguay were also widely administering the Sinopharm vaccine. These countries are using another Chinese vaccine named Sinovac. This article has been corrected.

Last year, Bahrain became one of the first countries to throw support behind China’s Sinopharm vaccine, granting it emergency use approval in December — a substantial boost for Beijing’s global ambitions for the vaccine, despite doubts on the part of some scientists over lack of public safety and efficacy data.

Now, the Persian Gulf country is the latest to raise doubts about the vaccine’s effectiveness.

Bahraini officials told news outlets this week that it would be offering Pfizer-BioNTech doses to certain high-risk individuals who have already received two Sinopharm jabs, suggesting they no longer saw two doses of the Sinopharm vaccine as enough, in the face of a new wave of coronavirus infections.

The policy comes just weeks after the World Health Organization granted Sinopharm emergency use listing, making it the first Chinese-developed vaccine to receive the global health body’s stamp of approval.

The vaccine, developed by Sinopharm with the Beijing Institute of Biological Products, makes up a significant chunk of China’s own supply of vaccines for domestic use. Though slow to start, China’s vaccination drive is ramping up, with officials suggesting 80 percent of the country could be immunized by the end of the year.

In Bahrain, however, a vaccination drive that relied heavily on Sinopharm has so far produced at best mixed results and failed to curb a rise in new cases.

Almost 50 percent of the country has been fully vaccinated, according to The Washington Post’s tracking, but the country has seen its worst wave of cases yet in the past few weeks, and the government has implemented a two-week lockdown in a bid to tame the outbreak.

According to the Bahrain News Agency, 1,936 new cases were reported on Thursday, bringing the total cases in the country of 1.6 million to more than 240,000, with over a thousand deaths.

Waleed Khalifa al-Manea, Bahrain’s undersecretary of health, told the Wall Street Journal in an article published Thursday that people fully vaccinated with Sinopharm who are over 50, with chronic illnesses or obese are being urged to get a booster of Pfizer-BioNTech six months after their last Sinopharm shot.

Bahrain and neighboring United Arab Emirates — which also relied heavily on Sinopharm for their rapid vaccine rollouts — had previously announced they would offer third-dose Sinopharm booster shots starting in mid-May, after studies showed that some of those vaccinated had not developed sufficient antibodies.

In Bahrain, residents can use an app to book their booster shots. Though they can choose either Sinopharm or Pfizer-BioNTech doses, those who meet certain risk groups would be advised to get the latter.

Sinopharm representatives did not respond to a request for comment.

Why the world’s most vaccinated country is seeing an unprecedented spike in coronavirus cases

The Gulf nation isn’t the only place where vaccine rollout has coincided with large waves of cases. In the Seychelles, Chile and Uruguay, all of whom have used Sinopharm or another Chinese vaccine called Sinovac in their mass vaccination efforts, cases have surged even as doses were given out.

A surge in infections in the Seychelles provided a “critical case to consider the effectiveness of some vaccines and what range we have to reach to meet herd immunity,” Yanzhong Huang, a senior fellow for global health at the Council on Foreign Relation, told The Washington Post at the time.

A WHO panel report last month found Sinopharm had a 79 percent efficacy rate in stopping symptomatic covid-19 in adults between 18 and 59, citing evidence from clinical trials in China, Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan and the United Arab Emirates.

While that efficacy was in the same range as that of a vaccine produced by AstraZeneca, it was considerably lower than that of the Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna vaccines, which have reported efficacy of more than 90 percent.

Unlike those vaccines, which use new mRNA technology to train the immune system using a snippet of virus code, Sinopharm’s uses an inactivated version of the virus to do the same — an older, though well-established, technology.

The WHO panel also cautioned that it had a “low level of confidence” in the vaccine’s efficacy in people 60 and older, and a “very low confidence” about potential side effects in that age group, due to a lack of data.

Despite the concern about Sinopharm’s effectiveness, experts say the vaccine still works as intended in most cases and that it could play a significant role in shortages of vaccine doses around the world.

This week, millions of Sinopharm doses rolled off the production line in Beijing, intended to play a major role in the United Nations-backed vaccine sharing program Covax, amid persistent shortages. Sinopharm officials said Wednesday they hope to distribute more than 1 billion doses outside of China in the second half of 2020.

Separately, the WHO granted emergency use listing to another Chinese vaccine developed by Sinovac this week, reporting that the vaccine prevented symptomatic disease in 51 percent of those vaccinated and prevented severe cases in 100 percent of the population.

However, officials said there was not enough data to estimate the Sinovac vaccine’s efficacy in those over 60.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » June 9th, 2021, 5:03 am

I got the AZ through my work on Monday lunchtime. Was pretty normal until like 4pm, started feeling very tired. An epic fever came some time during the night, the kind that makes your teeth chatter. Had fever and body soreness Tuesday morning. I used paracetamol throughout (it works wonders btw). Last dose I took was Tuesday around 3pm. Wednesday 5am, fever has not returned, hopefully that's the worst of it gone. Injection site is still pretty sore.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 9th, 2021, 5:24 am

Captain Awesome wrote:I got the AZ through my work on Monday lunchtime. Was pretty normal until like 4pm, started feeling very tired. An epic fever came some time during the night, the kind that makes your teeth chatter. Had fever and body soreness Tuesday morning. I used paracetamol throughout (it works wonders btw). Last dose I took was Tuesday around 3pm. Wednesday 5am, fever has not returned, hopefully that's the worst of it gone. Injection site is still pretty sore.

I like NyQuil for any nighttime fever because it knocks you TF out

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2021, 6:27 am

Looks like them big boys looking to bring some of the good stuff
IMG-20210609-WA0018.jpg

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 9th, 2021, 6:44 am

covering all the bases yes

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 27079 cases, 599 deaths, 9833 active, 16647 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2021, 7:48 am

If allyuh see them lines for vaccines...health centers south of the caroni in a mess atm...major super spreader event

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 27079 cases, 599 deaths, 9833 active, 16647 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2021, 7:59 am

From the looks of it atm....MOH fcked this up for sure!!!!! Carenage, freeport, couva, chag IN AH MESS for vaccines...UTTER MADNESS!!!!