Leaving Trinidad for good...

Re: Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2023, 1:11 pm

^ you are living paycheck to paycheck here as well. the US u can earn a lot more for the same degree that u will earn here, especially in Tech.

however, the downside is their labour laws. u dont have much protection as here- here if u are unjustly fired the industrial court here will (most times) rule in your favour (my mom was a union member so she attests to that). in the US they can fire u for almost anything- and recently that might include a frivolous complaint to HR for sexual harassment for simply asking a coworker for a date who turns out to be a little too sensitive.

and once u are fired unlike here u lose not just your livelihood but your healthcare coverage as well.

so there are pros (especially if u are qualified and hard working) & cons.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 14th, 2023, 1:17 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:The lifestyle here nice if you can afford it. Beaches and rivers nearby is an amazing thing.

The weather is great

Free health care

Not that much taxes and regulations compared to other countries.

Everything attracts a fine abroad.

Not cutting your grass. Parking in front yuh house. Overtaking a school bus.

But the crime really sickening and worrying.....

You can have all of that if you choose somewhere like Brazil. Those things are really only a concern if you choose The US, Canada or the UK. Similar to Trinidad, but better economically positioned to weather any crisis. Lower cost of living, and the only thing you're really missing out on is food and family. You even get Carnival.

You can have those things in certain parts of the USA too. A good job can give you health insurance that covers everything.

That would require work and putting up with US work culture though, which is a tradeoff I am not willing to make. You lose the job, you lose everything. The US isn't a nice place to retire to unless you're very wealthy. US citizens themselves like to retire abroad where the weather is pleasant and the cost of living is cheap.

Wrong. Not for everyone. Not if you are working in certain fields like in medicine or have a masters or higher in CS. Ofcourse only a select few can do this.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » August 14th, 2023, 1:46 pm

People overlook the obvious. You will always live hand to mouth if you refuse to budget your money and live on less than you earn.

So many people complain about struggling financially while scrolling through Amazon on their iPhones to buy some nonsense they don't really need. In the US they have great retirement options for every citizen who is willing to sacrifice in the short term for long-term satisfaction. There are 401Ks and IRAs for retirement, 529s for tertiary education expenses, HSAs for health expenses not covered by insurance, etc. all of which give great tax advantages for all.

Even in T&T, there are decent retirement and insurance options provided by many companies.

I hate when I see people have a defeatist mentality about living comfortably in their retirement because they refuse to make sacrifices when they are young.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » August 14th, 2023, 1:54 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:You can have all of that if you choose somewhere like Brazil. Those things are really only a concern if you choose The US, Canada or the UK. Similar to Trinidad, but better economically positioned to weather any crisis. Lower cost of living, and the only thing you're really missing out on is food and family. You even get Carnival.

triniterribletim wrote:That would require work and putting up with US work culture though, which is a tradeoff I am not willing to make. You lose the job, you lose everything. The US isn't a nice place to retire to unless you're very wealthy. US citizens themselves like to retire abroad where the weather is pleasant and the cost of living is cheap.

I love the work culture of the US which is why I chose it. I love the mentality of "all who are willing to work can find a job to do." but then again I am young and a proud capitalist.

In the US you can literally work 24/7 if you chose to, meanwhile, in T&T you will catch your ass to find a second source of income that doesn't involve you creating a business and hounding your friends and family to give you business.

Yea the US doesn't reward job loyalty but neither does T&T which is why it is important for people to live below their means and have an emergency fund. If you lose everything because you lose your job, you were already living above your means.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 14th, 2023, 1:59 pm

leavingforgood wrote:People overlook the obvious. You will always live hand to mouth if you refuse to budget your money and live on less than you earn.

So many people complain about struggling financially while scrolling through Amazon on their iPhones to buy some nonsense they don't really need. In the US they have great retirement options for every citizen who is willing to sacrifice in the short term for long-term satisfaction. There are 401Ks and IRAs for retirement, 529s for tertiary education expenses, HSAs for health expenses not covered by insurance, etc. all of which give great tax advantages for all.

Even in T&T, there are decent retirement and insurance options provided by many companies.

I hate when I see people have a defeatist mentality about living comfortably in their retirement because they refuse to make sacrifices when they are young.

Conversely, I have seen people here in the States who worked and saved for decades and finally retire, only to succumb to some health ailment or disease, never getting to enjoy the fruits of their labour.

I take a more balance approach to life : live for and enjoy the moment, making sure to always travel the world at least twice a year, cherish and create new memories with friends and family, take care of my health and ensure I have a balanced diet with a rigorous exercise routine, while stashing and investing for the future. Life is way too short to wait to live and enjoy it.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 14th, 2023, 2:08 pm

leavingforgood wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:You can have all of that if you choose somewhere like Brazil. Those things are really only a concern if you choose The US, Canada or the UK. Similar to Trinidad, but better economically positioned to weather any crisis. Lower cost of living, and the only thing you're really missing out on is food and family. You even get Carnival.

triniterribletim wrote:That would require work and putting up with US work culture though, which is a tradeoff I am not willing to make. You lose the job, you lose everything. The US isn't a nice place to retire to unless you're very wealthy. US citizens themselves like to retire abroad where the weather is pleasant and the cost of living is cheap.

I love the work culture of the US which is why I chose it. I love the mentality of "all who are willing to work can find a job to do." but then again I am young and a proud capitalist.

In the US you can literally work 24/7 if you chose to, meanwhile, in T&T you will catch your ass to find a second source of income that doesn't involve you creating a business and hounding your friends and family to give you business.

Yea the US doesn't reward job loyalty but neither does T&T which is why it is important for people to live below their means and have an emergency fund. If you lose everything because you lose your job, you were already living above your means.

As someone who actually has a lucrative career in Corporate America, I can say the grass isn't always greener, and it is not about working hard but working smart. You want to be able to make money in your sleep without having to slave 24/7 to make those dollars.

Sure, the United States will provide you with the opportunity to work 24/7, but that life will eventually catch up to any mere mortal of a man. I'm not sure how young you are or your ethnic background, but as an immigrant you're going to have to prove yourself thrice as hard as your Caucasian counterpart, as most lucrative industries require appeasing to non-minorities, and learning the game to climb is only half the battle. The higher you climb, the more enemies you make, and its about navigating that system to get ahead.

I am still of the strongest opinion that America isn't the end all, be all, as the money you make here can be eaten up by taxes, if you don't know the game and plan well. Come here to learn the game, make your money, and diversify within and outside of the USA.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 14th, 2023, 2:51 pm

leavingforgood wrote:

You quoted me in this but I never said those things wtf?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » August 14th, 2023, 2:52 pm

leavingforgood wrote:People overlook the obvious. You will always live hand to mouth if you refuse to budget your money and live on less than you earn.

Well said plus they usually use their stock market usually for their retirement funds which is known for its stability and over long periods, historically, equities have outperformed other asset classes.

Postby Dave » August 14th, 2023, 3:46 pm

As was mentioned before....Budget... Budget...Budget!

Those who living paycheck to paycheck has the smart watch and the latest phones.
Nails and hair always done. You see them every evening on the news.

Two of the richest ppl I know in Trinidad drives Honda's and Toyota's and not because they can't do better, they choose that. They also don't have smart phones....they call ppl to get answers for them. One is Indian and the other is a self declared 1%.

Go figure what is deemed rich and what is perceived to be rich!

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2023, 3:56 pm

allyuh digressing the tred
but the bottom line is when a trini goes abroad they does have to fall in line work wise and not getaway with bad money habits like you could here

having said that though, america is the land where everybody liviing on credit and driving a fancy new leased car

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 14th, 2023, 10:10 pm

Many Trinis go to North America or Europe or Japan to work. I didn't want to follow that beaten path at all. Ever since I was a small boy running through the cane fields and fishing windballs out of drains, I knew the one thing I hated to do the most was work. It's not that I couldn't work, or didn't have the capacity to make something of myself, I just wanted to min-max my efforts. Perhaps it was from seeing my father always at work, and never really having any time for himself or his family, or at least as much as he would have liked to enjoy his hobbies, like fishing or hunting or playing cricket. It took him to an early grave at 45. I was 13 at the time and I resolved even harder to not waste the limited time I had been given.

I didn't come from money. I certainly had my needs provided for me, but not many luxuries. I made very atypical choices, but ones that were essential to what I thought was a good plan to have a leg up for my mad dash to the finish line. I skipped the going to Presentation that all my classmates decided to do, instead putting down CIC as my first choice, because to get somewhere in T&T, it's who knows you, and who better to make connections with than the 1%? I limed in the West, spent time at their houses and on boats, learned from the best at how to get ahead in life and put that into practice. Started making money immediately out of school, and investing in what at the time most people wrote off as the latest tech fad. I remember my boss at the time asking me why I was always going to Western Union to send money to China for imaginary internet money. I told him that I was going to retire when I was 30 and that he would still be working. So said, so done. I did a side hustle of government tenders as well, which also gave me a liquid asset base, as well as funded my house construction and bought me my first car.

By 28 I had already had what a lot of people dreamed of, a house, a car, a stable job with advancement prospects, but that wasn't enough. I wanted to be done with working hard. Fortunately at the time, there was the meteoric rise of crypto and that allowed me to cash out a chunk of my long term investments at an astronomical return rate. I would have been gone sooner if not for COVID-19. That was the longest I had gone without working, and that just greased the wheels even more. My timetable that I set for myself was only delayed by one year and I've been living the retired life since before my 32nd birthday.

I don't have to worry about pleasing others, no boss to kowtow to, no weekend calls or after hours emails, no conference calls with international suppliers because you're the only one who speaks a foreign language. Now the only boss that dictates the vagaries of my life is me.

Freedom is a helluva thing. Being able to just pick yourself up and go somewhere without worrying about constraints is the most amazing feeling. There is a lot to see and do out there, and doing it while you're young and unconstrained by the wear and tear of aging is definitely the way to go. There are things you can do abroad that you just would never have the chance to get to do in Trini.

I'd never stayed in a four star hotel before. Never ate at a Michelin star restaurant. Never thought I'd somehow end up married to a Japanese woman. Bought a condo in a safe city. Bought a showroom current model year Nissan. Travel nearly every month to some place new. The adventure is just beginning.

Don't work yourselves to death without enjoying what you worked for. Work is a means to an end and not an end in and of itself. Everyone has pathways that can take you to where you want to be that may not always be the traditional one or the smoothest, but will be much more rewarding than being another cog in the machine.

infamouskid

Postby infamouskid » August 14th, 2023, 10:58 pm

Xplode wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:How much are you guys making living away? Just curious about it.

With my leaf filter gutter system contracts here in Florida ,slow month I make $9000 to $15000 USD a month after i pay off my workers and utilities.

How much you’d say is “enough” money monthly in your state to cater for typical expenses such as groceries, gas, bills, etc.

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2023, 11:03 pm

^^^ very interesting read and congrats on ur achievements. I kinda did the same but never left Trinidad. I also retired early. I had ample opportunities of migrations but never did. I did bank my money abroad as I did not trust Trinidad. I still prefer living here and from time to time I visit other countries. I just had too much invested in Trinidad and lately in Tobago.

Trinidad is mess and everyday I advise young people to migrate from here. Got lots of family members with BSC and Masters and they just wasting their time depending on Trinidad.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 15th, 2023, 2:28 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ very interesting read and congrats on ur achievements. I kinda did the same but never left Trinidad. I also retired early. I had ample opportunities of migrations but never did. I did bank my money abroad as I did not trust Trinidad. I still prefer living here and from time to time I visit other countries. I just had too much invested in Trinidad and lately in Tobago.

Trinidad is mess and everyday I advise young people to migrate from here. Got lots of family members with BSC and Masters and they just wasting their time depending on Trinidad.

I think it's well and fine to tell young people to go away, especially if you're in your 20s, adapting to a foreign lifestyle and culture is easier.

Though i know someone who's making £150k a year in England but badly wants to come back home because of loneliness.

So the same addvice doesn't apply to everyone, and some people will leave and never look back (except when it comes to carnival and food) others will be home sick their entire life.

But no way to know to if you don't try.

I don't regret living and working for a few years. I came back into cushy high paid job with a decent savings. I'm very comfortable in TT, but I did also love living in the UK and miss the opportunities working there brought.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2023, 3:56 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^ very interesting read and congrats on ur achievements. I kinda did the same but never left Trinidad. I also retired early. I had ample opportunities of migrations but never did. I did bank my money abroad as I did not trust Trinidad. I still prefer living here and from time to time I visit other countries. I just had too much invested in Trinidad and lately in Tobago.

I think it's well and fine to tell young people to go away, especially if you're in your 20s, adapting to a foreign lifestyle and culture is easier.

Though i know someone who's making £150k a year in England but badly wants to come back home because of loneliness.

So the same addvice doesn't apply to everyone, and some people will leave and never look back (except when it comes to carnival and food) others will be home sick their entire life.

But no way to know to if you don't try.

I don't regret living and working for a few years. I came back into cushy high paid job with a decent savings. I'm very comfortable in TT, but I did also love living in the UK and miss the opportunities working there brought.
When I worked in the UK and lived in Cayman, Trinidad was a bit different and stable. At that time I did not care to migrate and concentrated on preparing myself to retire comfortably in Trinidad by my investments. I did just that.

If I had to do that in this present day I would migrate as there is no future for younger folk. Unless if the young folk are backed by their parents or have bank roll, then it's easy for them.

I never found myself missing Trinidad while in the UK or Cayman as there was always something to do and some other country to travel to.

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2023, 4:53 pm

Dotish facking me use to spend my $$$ usd on runescape. If I had only spend that $$ on crypto instead eh

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2023, 5:36 pm

if you in 20s even 30s and don’t have strings attached it is certainly worthwhile to try your hand abroad because things not getting better in the foreseeable future economy wise nor govt leadership wise.
it’s not rocket science to predict the trajectory
one just had to look at other countries
jamaica is a good example of seeing economic pressure and corresponding downward spiral.
but you can still live somewhat.

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2023, 5:42 pm

pugboy wrote:if you in 20s even 30s and don’t have strings attached it is certainly worthwhile to try your hand abroad because things not getting better in the foreseeable future economy wise nor govt leadership wise.
it’s not rocket science to predict the trajectory
one just had to look at other countries
jamaica is a good example of seeing economic pressure and corresponding downward spiral.
but you can still live somewhat.
Trinidad is very primitive and things have not improved for educated Trinis. The mere fact that trinis have a masters degree and have to rely on OJT to survive while taking instructions from someone who only has CXC shows you how primitive Trinidad is.

Trinidad is not good for younger educated people and the present political climate makes it even worse especially if u don't support the this ruling party

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 15th, 2023, 7:47 pm

Is it advisable to get married to a Trinidadian and migrate or to a woman in the country you're moving to.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 15th, 2023, 9:58 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Is it advisable to get married to a Trinidadian and migrate or to a woman in the country you're moving to.

You ever hear the joke about the Trini man who found a genie in a bottle on Maracas beach? That should answer your question right away.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » October 22nd, 2023, 7:08 pm

I'm surprised by how dead this thread has become but I want to take that as a sign that those of us who wanted to leave have done so.

I am officially out of the great T&T, praise the lord. It's so scary how quickly I have felt at home and how quickly T&T has started to feel like a distance memory. If it wasn't for Rowley going viral for wearing a hoodie I would've forgotten that I was trini lol

In the US people only care about 1 thing and 1 thing alone, which is money. From day 1 I put my head down and focused on building my new life here and so far I can safely say that life is good.

I have enjoyed my time here on tuner and this thread was my main motivation to get out. Now that I'm officially free, I am graduating from tuner and moving on with my life.

For everyone who is planning their move I wish you good luck and great fortune.

Postby zoom rader » October 22nd, 2023, 10:25 pm

^^^ well done bro. Do keep us posted on ur achievements.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 2nd, 2023, 9:41 pm

leavingforgood wrote:I'm surprised by how dead this thread has become but I want to take that as a sign that those of us who wanted to leave have done so.

I am officially out of the great T&T, praise the lord. It's so scary how quickly I have felt at home and how quickly T&T has started to feel like a distance memory. If it wasn't for Rowley going viral for wearing a hoodie I would've forgotten that I was trini lol

In the US people only care about 1 thing and 1 thing alone, which is money. From day 1 I put my head down and focused on building my new life here and so far I can safely say that life is good.

I have enjoyed my time here on tuner and this thread was my main motivation to get out. Now that I'm officially free, I am graduating from tuner and moving on with my life.

For everyone who is planning their move I wish you good luck and great fortune.

Are you in your own home or staying with family?

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » November 3rd, 2023, 5:31 am

Welcome to The USA.

life is fast paced especially if you stay in the city’s. I got out of the city as life is to hard expensive and congested I have been here since 2018 using money I came with from Trinidad I brought a 2005 sonata that the owner said was parked in his driveway for 3 years for $300 nothing was wrong with it lol. Somehow the alternator seized up and broke the fan belt and he parked it.
I used that car to get to work (under the table) and as soon as I got my work permit I hit the ground running. I sold the sonata for 2500 brought a 2008 Prius for $1000 that Prius got me into Hybrid battery repairs and sling shot myself up the ladder found a job at a airline sold that Prius for 3500 after it made me $75000. I brought a $500k house with a rental unit that pays the mortgage for me in 2021. Now I drive 2 Suburban LTZs a 2018 and a 2008 I use to tow my camper, boat, jet ski and snow mobiles.

Now I could relax and it didn’t take long to get here. I made a lot of money in Trinidad but couldn’t make this much progress in the previous 10 years before making the move.

Good-luck to those out here in the cold

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 3rd, 2023, 7:32 am

For those considering leaving, I've worked and lived in 3 countries (for extended periods of time) so I can give some feedback.

1. USA - By far the best choice if you're educated and working in corporate America. Salaries are massive, quality of life will be good in most states and cities. If you're not educated, things aren't too bad, but be prepared to work your ass off. Americans are not racist if you adapt to their culture and integrate well. If you hang out trinis and only associate with people with your background, then expect others to be somewhat unintentionally racist. I worked in NYC which is amazing, but honestly, a crazy place which is nice when young but you won't want to live there forever. I also worked in Chicago and Seattle (cold and depressing, but nice place). America is what you make of it, the freedom to move in society is incredible. So much opportunity and such a beautiful country.

2. UK - Hmm...I have a love hate relationship with the UK. I was there for 3 years. It's honestly, great, so much diversity, so much acceptance, lots of opportunity as well. So close to Europe, high quality of life. No one is expecting you to work overtime for free. NHS is amazing if you need it. However, the caveat with this is that taxes are high and salaries are low. In the UK making over £100k a year is rare, like 1% rare. In the US that's roughly $125K USD which is in some industries is considered a low salary. I got a friend who is a senior Software Engineer in FL that makes $300K and she's under 35. That kind of earning potential in the UK is unheard of unless you work for big tech or the investment firms in Canary Wharf.

3. Germany - (3 months in Hamburg) - Germany is weird.

thecloud1234

Postby thecloud1234 » November 3rd, 2023, 8:47 am

Anyone have experience working in Germany as a Trini expatriate? If yes ,
Do the ppl look like they like brown ppl
Are their domestic workers you can hire?
Generally is the regular man in the street speak German only?
Is the food healthy vs...doubles, kfc, black pudding, burger & fries......our staples are wheat flour and rice.... Carbs like eddoes,potato, yam, cassava,

While I at it....anyone know how working in houston could be for Trini?

Postby mero » November 3rd, 2023, 8:57 am

Dohplaydat wrote:For those considering leaving, I've worked and lived in 3 countries (for extended periods of time) so I can give some feedback.

1. USA - By far the best choice if you're educated and working in corporate America. Salaries are massive, quality of life will be good in most states and cities. If you're not educated, things aren't too bad, but be prepared to work your ass off. Americans are not racist if you adapt to their culture and integrate well. If you hang out trinis and only associate with people with your background, then expect others to be somewhat unintentionally racist. I worked in NYC which is amazing, but honestly, a crazy place which is nice when young but you won't want to live there forever. I also worked in Chicago and Seattle (cold and depressing, but nice place). America is what you make of it, the freedom to move in society is incredible. So much opportunity and such a beautiful country.

2. UK - Hmm...I have a love hate relationship with the UK. I was there for 3 years. It's honestly, great, so much diversity, so much acceptance, lots of opportunity as well. So close to Europe, high quality of life. No one is expecting you to work overtime for free. NHS is amazing if you need it. However, the caveat with this is that taxes are high and salaries are low. In the UK making over £100k a year is rare, like 1% rare. In the US that's roughly $125K USD which is in some industries is considered a low salary. I got a friend who is a senior Software Engineer in FL that makes $300K and she's under 35. That kind of earning potential in the UK is unheard of unless you work for big tech or the investment firms in Canary Wharf.

You still trying to sell we dem dreams you live outside boy?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 3rd, 2023, 11:30 am

mero wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:For those considering leaving, I've worked and lived in 3 countries (for extended periods of time) so I can give some feedback.

You still trying to sell we dem dreams you live outside boy?

I outside right now

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 3rd, 2023, 11:35 am

thecloud1234 wrote:Anyone have experience working in Germany as a Trini expatriate? If yes ,
Is the food healthy vs...doubles, kfc, black pudding, burger & fries......our staples are wheat flour and rice.... Carbs like eddoes,potato, yam, cassava,

Most Germans aren't overtly racist, but they do regard native Germans and Swiss to be intellectually superior.

Food was alright, lots of basic cafes, German bakeries tend to sell stuff that's more savory than sweet. Quite liked it. The beer is incredible, beer steins are massive lol. Kebab shops every too, lots of Turkish people in Germany. Indian food is plentiful but often not great compared to London. You'll get burger and fries.

Most Germans do know of Trinidad as we made it to their world cup, but most think we're an African country.

You not getting those carbs there, it's lots of potatoes, turnips, other root vegetables that aren't great.

Never been to Houston but some Trini friends there love it

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 3rd, 2023, 2:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
thecloud1234 wrote:Anyone have experience working in Germany as a Trini expatriate? If yes ,

Most Germans aren't overtly racist, but they do regard native Germans and Swiss to be intellectually superior.

Food was alright, lots of basic cafes, German bakeries tend to sell stuff that's more savory than sweet. Quite liked it. The beer is incredible, beer steins are massive lol. Kebab shops every too, lots of Turkish people in Germany. Indian food is plentiful but often not great compared to London. You'll get burger and fries.

Most Germans do know of Trinidad as we made it to their world cup, but most think we're an African country.

You not getting those carbs there, it's lots of potatoes, turnips, other root vegetables that aren't great.

Never been to Houston but some Trini friends there love it

Unless you're a Gypsy, most people in Europe won't have a problem with you. The moment I touched down in Rome, the car driver said in heavily accented English after asking where I was from "You are foreigner, so listen well, we have things called Gypsy here, do not make eye contact, do not fall for their tricks and do not give them money!". People from some Balkans countries thought I was a Gypsy, until I showed them my passport and then they were very friendly instead of apprehensive. If it's one thing all Europeans will openly hate, it's Gypsies.