The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby pioneer » December 25th, 2012, 11:12 pm

pete wrote:Does the wifi one have GPS?

Apple really sticking with that yes.. almost all samsung devices have a gps chip, don't know why they haven't put it on the ipad mini or ipod touch..

Why would they need to create further expense by putting gps in a wifi only product?

The one with cellular data has gps, which makes sense.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 25th, 2012, 11:19 pm

Apple really sticking with that yes.. almost all samsung devices have a gps chip, don't know why they haven't put it on the ipad mini or ipod touch..

Why would they need to create further expense by putting gps in a wifi only product?

yeh i just read that :( elsewhere.
so that means i have to get the cellular version,
hmmm but i wonder if i get the cellular and don't put data on it and still use my iphone tether it would work the same in the car.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 25th, 2012, 11:23 pm

yeh but if a customer has an iphone already it would be a good feature to have. because if you have an iphone you already have data and a tethering capability but in some instances would like a larger screen like me

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 25th, 2012, 11:24 pm

merry xmas btw :)

Postby pete » December 26th, 2012, 7:11 am

You don't need data for GPS to work. There are apps to use offline maps. What about exercise apps like endomondo etc? I use it on my wifi Samsung player. A gps chip can't be that expensive, but of course.. "you don't need GPS" right..

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 26th, 2012, 10:09 am

My iPhone 5 maps actually work without Internet tho :s
Last time I was coming back from the us I was using it to locate where we were over the Caribbean Sea.

Postby pete » December 26th, 2012, 10:21 am

Exactly. It's useful but apple depriving the people with ipod touches and wifi ipads!

Postby nemisis » December 26th, 2012, 10:30 am

They ain't depriving no one, you want the feature cough out the cash for it, they don't hide that the iPod andipad wifi don't have gps. You depriving yourself buy buying the cheaper product that does not have it then complaining when you realize how important the feature could be..

Postby M_2NR » December 26th, 2012, 12:55 pm

gosh boy pete dbu. :lol: if yuh dont like a product, simply buy something else.

jm3, wondering* and yea you can tether it for data but not the GPS info.

___

Side news, MS is supposedly developing a cloud based GPS.
Looks cool!
http://www.theverge.com/2012/12/24/3801 ... 99-percent

Postby Redman » December 26th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Got the iPad updated.
Apparently all I needed was a 16 year old geek nephew. Who updates this while playing ps3

Merry Christmas fellas ,
Hope it's a righteous 2013

Postby pioneer » December 26th, 2012, 3:34 pm

What he did redman?

GPS is available at different price points with different uses/users in mind - pete

Postby Redman » December 26th, 2012, 7:22 pm

Breds he just went through the update sequence.
Like I thought I did a gazillion times.

Differences were the laptop and network were his vs mine.

So I figure it might be the security settings in the laptop.
Before you ask I bought the laptop from f1 connect.
Lol

Postby pioneer » December 26th, 2012, 8:31 pm

LOL

prolly had a firewall blockin?...first time u tried to upate?

Postby M_2NR » December 26th, 2012, 8:35 pm

probably your host info or something

eitech

Postby eitech » December 26th, 2012, 9:05 pm

Being unable to send a txt to a digi mobile would be a network problem or a phone problem. I can send with another iPhone.

Postby Redman » December 26th, 2012, 9:27 pm

Nah I updated the iPad last year, the phone repeatedly through the laptop and the laptop repeatedly.
It began when I tried to update iPad to iOS 5 incidentally just before iOS 6

I figured it was the iPad cuz the phones and laptop updated fine
Until today that is.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 27th, 2012, 5:13 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:My iPhone 5 maps actually work without Internet tho :s
Last time I was coming back from the us I was using it to locate where we were over the Caribbean Sea.

Travelled through a few euro countries using the offline version of tripadvisor on the iphone 5 last month.
It made life easy.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 27th, 2012, 6:11 am

pete wrote:Exactly. It's useful but apple depriving the people with ipod touches and wifi ipads!

Since it's christmas... and we long time drinking buddies, I will behave :)
But when next year reach, fire in yuh skin.

Postby noshownogo » December 27th, 2012, 7:36 am

Ok so the more I use the iPad Mini the more I want a Retina version with more RAM and better processor.

iPad 4 park up atm due to weight and size. 7.9'' feels just right :oops:

Gripe with the Mini, headphone jack is in the wrong place, should be on the top or bottom right instead of left. Seems more natural that way.

I like how it could ignore your thumbs on the very edges of the screen for more comfortable handling. The detail in design cues taking from the iPhone5 now makes the iPad 4 look dated. Stereo speakers also a bragging point over the mono configuration of the 4.

Postby pete » December 27th, 2012, 8:44 am

My sister got a mini yesterday.. Will play with it and try to decide between that and a galaxy tab..

Postby M_2NR » December 27th, 2012, 11:22 am

Pete u know u want a galaxy bad. :lol:

Postby Stephon. » December 27th, 2012, 11:27 am

Hear this right, I have a macbook pro I got last year and it's the model with 4GB 15" 500GB HDD etc.
I found out that you can actually upgrade the stuff inside the MacBook (how crazy is that!)
Is it possible that I can upgrade to 8GB ram in this particular macbook pro or nah? Also can I change the processor or nah?

Here's the specs from the thing

I know that most laptops (windows) the specs say something along the lines of "4GB ram (expandable to 8gb)" dunno...

Postby Stephon. » December 27th, 2012, 11:29 am

And just an FYI the people with the Mini and the people that got the Mini for Christmas or bought it over the holidays as gifts for people, you do know that the Mini 2 with retina coming out in March right?

Anyways you cant get mad and say that you didn't see this coming.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 27th, 2012, 11:58 am

pete wrote:My sister got a mini yesterday.. Will play with it and try to decide between that and a galaxy tab..

If you buying a Mini, buy NOW or wait till new iPad Mini comes out. Not in between.

Postby Stephon. » December 27th, 2012, 12:18 pm

Why should he get a new Mini NOW when the new one is right around the corner? It's already in the "between" stage :/

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 27th, 2012, 12:38 pm

Stephon. wrote:Hear this right, I have a macbook pro I got last year and it's the model with 4GB 15" 500GB HDD etc.
I found out that you can actually upgrade the stuff inside the MacBook (how crazy is that!)
Is it possible that I can upgrade to 8GB ram in this particular macbook pro or nah? Also can I change the processor or nah?

Here's the specs from the thing

I know that most laptops (windows) the specs say something along the lines of "4GB ram (expandable to 8gb)" dunno...

Yes you can once is not the retina version, I upgraded my ram to 10G and put in a SSD.

Postby Stephon. » December 27th, 2012, 1:05 pm

Where did you do it? Can you do it yourself or would it be better to have it done somewhere? I feel like I need to upgrade because my book kind of freezes when I'm playing music from iTunes while browsing the web. Just this morning I was doing a project in Keynote and the music was "sticking" in the background on iTunes. Complete mess! :(

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » December 27th, 2012, 1:44 pm

Stephon. wrote:Where did you do it? Can you do it yourself or would it be better to have it done somewhere? I feel like I need to upgrade because my book kind of freezes when I'm playing music from iTunes while browsing the web. Just this morning I was doing a project in Keynote and the music was "sticking" in the background on iTunes. Complete mess! :(

You should try memory from http://www.crucial.com/mac/index.aspx
It's guaranteed to work with Macs and the price isn't bad
Just plug in the info on your system and it will provide you with the options for your system.

How to guides are available here:
http://www.ifixit.com
Last edited by 2WNBoost on December 27th, 2012, 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 27th, 2012, 1:50 pm

Stephon. wrote:Where did you do it? Can you do it yourself or would it be better to have it done somewhere? I feel like I need to upgrade because my book kind of freezes when I'm playing music from iTunes while browsing the web. Just this morning I was doing a project in Keynote and the music was "sticking" in the background on iTunes. Complete mess! :(

Did it my self...

Bought the RAM and SSD from here

http://www.crucial.com/

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » December 27th, 2012, 3:10 pm

So anyone knows where I can get a 15inch MBP retina today besides computer synectics marabella? They already sold out :(