Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby pioneer » January 1st, 2013, 4:54 pm

iAware

Postby M_2NR » January 1st, 2013, 9:16 pm

I saw soldierknowsbest did it I think and I think it wasn't exactly 100% waterproof. I'm sure that'd void your warranty too no?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 1st, 2013, 11:15 pm

^ it doesn't make it waterproof - it makes it hydrophobic

your phone will still get "wet" and water will still get into the phone and behind the screen etc, however the Liquipel is applied at a molecular level and makes the materials repel water so while the circuit boards get covered in water, it doesnt affect the electrical workings - which is why the phone keeps working under water.

Postby bluesteel29 » January 2nd, 2013, 1:42 am

seems the LP is the best option out now

mojosodope wrote:Thought about it but after all the shipping costs involved it works out much cheaper to buy a lifeproof case if you're that worried about water damage.

M_2NR wrote:I saw soldierknowsbest did it I think and I think it wasn't exactly 100% waterproof. I'm sure that'd void your warranty too no?

yeah it will void the warranty n still isn't gonna be totally waterproof it seems

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2013, 2:16 am

^ how will it void the warranty? you cannot tell the phone has been treated.

the technology is undetectable, so it should not affect the warranty.

some devices have moisture indicators that are no more than paper stickers that indicate whether the inside of the device got wet or not and this is helpful for warranty investigations - however if your device is treated with liquipel, the moisture indicator wont work since it too will be water repellent.

Plus what is the chance of getting warranty honoured if your device gets dunked in water.

Liquipel's main purpose is to increase the chance of survival if you device gets wet, rather than to convert all gadgets into swimming gear. You should take it out and dry it out immediately if it gets dunked.

read more
http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/07/liquipel-hong-kong/

Postby black start » January 2nd, 2013, 2:39 am

liquipel, I could have used you a little while ago.

Postby sMASH » January 2nd, 2013, 6:55 am

i am not a fan of apple because of the explanation about the apple company given in the last minutes, but i do appreciate the life story of this man. this is a amazing, not because of how different

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2013, 2:35 pm

sMASH wrote:i am not a fan of apple because of the explanation about the apple company given in the last minutes
what explanation exactly? Alot was said in the last minutes.

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2013, 2:41 pm

You can't reason with people who fail to accept innovation.

Postby sMASH » January 2nd, 2013, 2:50 pm

oh, about the company having smaller sales numbers than the competitors but having greater, and most times the greatest profit margins. they are actually saying that the cost of the item is significantly less than what it needs to be. to me, the other devices were better value for money. they may not be as good as the apple devices, but the cost/benefit ratio is better.
is not no big beat-up i on, is just that, imo, u get greater value per dollar spent with devices like lg and samsung than apple, and they do what i want them to do. so i needn't pay a lot more money for a little more performance.

and i am not one to follow crowds. my impression is that iphone is the 'crowd' thing to do. so i would be more inclined to go different. even though i got a samsung, i got the beam. yeah the others are better, but it looks like uniforms when all u see are iphones and SIII's, nestled in tight shirts, tight pants, kick-an'-stab with fauxhawks.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 2nd, 2013, 2:55 pm

Apple isn't a saint.....

It's a business, most comapanies strive for that- a shorter value chain.

Postby sMASH » January 2nd, 2013, 2:57 pm

pios, about the iphone being great devices, even superior devices, u will get an iadmit or an iagree

Postby bluesteel29 » January 2nd, 2013, 3:02 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ how will it void the warranty? you cannot tell the phone has been treated.

the apple rep told me pt blank it will void the warranty

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2013, 3:20 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ how will it void the warranty? you cannot tell the phone has been treated.

probably cause he doesn't know about the process. Liquipel does not open the device or tamper with it in anyway.

a rep's safety net is to tell you anything added to the device can void the warranty if something goes wrong.

Postby bluesteel29 » January 2nd, 2013, 3:37 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:

probably cause he doesn't know about the process. Liquipel does not open the device or tamper with it in anyway.

a rep's safety net is to tell you anything added to the device can void the warranty if something goes wrong.

u could be right about the rep safety net...but they did know what liquipel was.

if i was the manufacturer i would look at it as ur tampering with my product at a molecular level...the LCI will no function as it should when coated

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2013, 3:41 pm

sMASH wrote:oh, about the company having smaller sales numbers than the competitors but having greater, and most times the greatest profit margins. they are actually saying that the cost of the item is significantly less than what it needs to be. to me, the other devices were better value for money. they may not be as good as the apple devices, but the cost/benefit ratio is better.
is not no big beat-up i on, is just that, imo, u get greater value per dollar spent with devices like lg and samsung than apple, and they do what i want them to do. so i needn't pay a lot more money for a little more performance.

and i am not one to follow crowds. my impression is that iphone is the 'crowd' thing to do. so i would be more inclined to go different. even though i got a samsung, i got the beam. yeah the others are better, but it looks like uniforms when all u see are iphones and SIII's, nestled in tight shirts, tight pants, kick-an'-stab with fauxhawks.
so you settle for less just because everyone else has more? How noble of you!

I buy a device because it works well.

Apple products have sold well over the past 5 years not because everyone has one. It sells well because their products are well made and they work well. If it was a fashion thing or it was crap but they fooled people into buying it then it may have sold well initially, but it would not continue to do so year after year.

Only the factory unlocked iPhones are expensive. Most iPhones sell for US$199 with packages that Apple negotiated with various carriers. Apple never intended the iPhone to sell factory unlocked, infact they kicked against it for years. Consumer demand and market trends forced Apple to sell factory unlocked phones. Right now you can get a iPhone 5 for free with certain bmobile contracts and that is based on deals that Apple cut with Bmobile.

It is good business sense to have large profit margins, however it does NOT mean you are raping the consumers at all.
Example 1: a music CD cost US$15 to US$30 and for years consumers bought these to listen to their favourite songs. They were accustomed to this since Albums sold like this, but you had to buy songs that you didnt listen to since they also came with the Album. Apple started selling individual songs on iTunes for US 99c and sales soared with massive profits. Songs went platinum faster.

Example 2: Software programs used to be sold on a disk or CD in a box with a CD case and a book for US$100 per copy. Creators would only sell hundreds or thousands of copies. Apple came in with the AppStore and sold an app for US 99c and sales soared with massive profits. Now creators will sell hundreds of millions of copies of the same program at 99c each.

The consumers were happy and bought more. The artists and programmers were happy cause they sold more.

So don't think that big profits mean you have to kill consumers - if that was the case, Apple would have died a long time ago.

Postby pioneer » January 2nd, 2013, 3:46 pm

iDuane has spoken

Postby sMASH » January 2nd, 2013, 4:40 pm

form, function, price and a slight measure of individuality.
in the iphone scenes, the others do the job i want gotten done, and the extra the iphone does, i don't need. the extra functionality does not increase linearly with the price. i would pay a lot more money for a little more function.

the inovation of jobs is great, and propelled the world we know to where it is. and the business sense of apple is great, iagree. iphone is a great device, but i get a better mix of what i want from other devices, for less money.

i seriously was considering a iphone this time around as it was the only device capable of doing what i wanted at a price i wanted, but then the others stepped up their functionality and offered enough at a cost i was willing to stand. and i managed to get a unit that not every body has, so better yet.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 2nd, 2013, 4:48 pm

It all boils down to choice, What you want and how you wanna spend your money

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2013, 4:52 pm

^ that's not what you said before

and I don't understand the logic of "managed to get a unit that not every body has, so better yet." with regards to functionality - or is that you are very concerned with individual fashion and style?

Postby sMASH » January 2nd, 2013, 5:52 pm

yes, that's what i said. and if some thing can be a lil different, it is a point to be considered, not the sole point though.

if product A has functionality = 5 and price = 5, and product B has functionality = 7 and price = 9 i may go with product A. but if i require a functionality of 6 then i would have to get product B.

if we expand functionality into features, which would now include form and expandability, or upgradablity, more or less a more complete sense of the product+service u are buying, we could say that product B is the apple stuff, and the apple fanboys would require features > 7. i now understand your point about the itunes kinda ting. even though the units might be costly, they make it back by getting the content a lot cheaper than before. but i doh need to deal up with ichunes, so i don't need that.

i was going to buy an iproduct until samsung stepped up their fones, and then they offered features that suited me, at a price that was a lot less than the iphones at the time.
the fact that i could go different and still achieve what i want, well, it made the decision all the better.

Postby sMASH » January 2nd, 2013, 5:56 pm

pioneer wrote:iDuane has spoken

iduane gets his dues via trucks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2013, 7:15 pm

sMASH wrote:yes, that's what i said. and if some thing can be a lil different, it is a point to be considered, not the sole point though.

if product A has functionality = 5 and price = 5, and product B has functionality = 7 and price = 9 i may go with product A. but if i require a functionality of 6 then i would have to get product B.

if we expand functionality into features, which would now include form and expandability, or upgradablity, more or less a more complete sense of the product+service u are buying, we could say that product B is the apple stuff, and the apple fanboys would require features > 7. i now understand your point about the itunes kinda ting. even though the units might be costly, they make it back by getting the content a lot cheaper than before. but i doh need to deal up with ichunes, so i don't need that.
but if you have an android device then you use Google Play which is more or less the same thing.

sMASH wrote:i was going to buy an iproduct until samsung stepped up their fones, and then they offered features that suited me, at a price that was a lot less than the iphones at the time.
the fact that i could go different and still achieve what i want, well, it made the decision all the better.
that is very different from this quote though
sMASH wrote:and i am not one to follow crowds. my impression is that iphone is the 'crowd' thing to do. so i would be more inclined to go different. even though i got a samsung, i got the beam. yeah the others are better, but it looks like uniforms when all u see are iphones and SIII's, nestled in tight shirts, tight pants, kick-an'-stab with fauxhawks.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 2nd, 2013, 7:19 pm

Wait nah, ah man come in ah apple thread to bash it? LMAO

Postby sMASH » January 2nd, 2013, 7:35 pm

I AM NOT BASHING I-ANYTHING. i am just saying that i am not an idude, but i still really respects the man that was steve jobs and can i-dentify with a lot of his choices and actions
... and that one factor i consider is individuality, which is lost by getting into the icrowd. but that factor is lower down in order than functionality, as i my self was considering an iphone. and then samsung featured sumting that would do what i want at a price i liked and afforded be the ADDED BONUS of still being a bit different from the icrowd and SIII wave.

i am saying that i am an outsider that still appreciates the I

*see me, i gone. i keeping my steve jobs comments to mehself. if i goin and see the movie, me eh tellin none ah allyuh*

Postby Stephon. » January 2nd, 2013, 7:40 pm

Postby Stephon. » January 2nd, 2013, 7:41 pm

Do Not Disturb -_-

eitech

Postby eitech » January 2nd, 2013, 8:01 pm

LMAO.

Postby Stephon. » January 2nd, 2013, 9:21 pm

RUMOR: iPhone 5S in colors, new sizes?

Rumor: Apple's next iPhones to debut this summer in more sizes, colors

Apple is said to be planning to offer customers more choices with the launch of its next-generation iPhone, including multiple colors and sizes, with an earlier-than-expected debut in the May-June timeframe.

Analyst Brian White of Topeka Capital Markets said in a note to investors Wednesday that his checks within the industry have indicated the so-called "iPhone 5S" will come in a variety of colors beyond the current black and white. He expects that the next iPhone will be available in a total of eight colors: the pink, yellow, blue, green, purple, silver and slate shades currently found on the iPod nano, and a (Product)Red model with proceeds benefiting AIDS research.

Beyond the new colors, White also said his industry checks found that a new model could become available in multiple screen sizes. Apple currently sells the 4-inch iPhone 5 alongside the 3.5-inch iPhone 4S and iPhone 4, but the company has never offered multiple screen sizes for a single model.

"We believe this is about to change with the next iPhone offering different screen sizes that we believe will allow Apple to better bifurcate the market and expand its reach," White said. "This eventually opens up the possibility for a lower-priced iPhone (i.e., iPhone mini) with a smaller screen size that could allow Apple to further penetrate markets such as China and open up opportunities in India."

The possibility of different iPhone screen sizes also opens up the opportunity for Apple to build a handset with a larger display. Apple's chief rival, Samsung, has found some success in the market with its Galaxy Note series, which features a 5.5-inch screen with its latest model.

The launch of the iPhone 5 in September marked the first time that Apple has changed the screen size of the iPhone. The new 4-inch screen is slightly taller than the previous 3.5-inch screen, but remains the same width, allowing the handset to be operated with one hand.

As for new colors, White expects that expanded options will also eventually come to the iPad lineup, though no timeframe was given. The iPad mini launched in late October with design cues borrowed from the redesigned iPhone 5 and iPod touch, including an anodized aluminum back, but the device lacks the array of color options found in the iPod touch lineup.

Source: http://appleinsider.com/articles/13/...e-sizes-colors

Postby Stephon. » January 2nd, 2013, 9:23 pm

Nokia Lumia and their effect :lol:

I find it looks good tho but it would be funny if apple goes any bigger than they actually are, considering when the iPhone 5 was first announced with the specs and size they did a long ass speech about why they didn't need to go bigger and the big debate people had over screen sizes and justifying the little increase in screen the Apple fans got with the iPhone 5.