TriniTuner.com | Latest Event:
Humes wrote:But I say that a page or two ago. Why exactly should we impose our standards on them?
d spike, just because something is thought-provoking doesn't mean it's absolute. There are some similarities between slavery and this situation, but the differences are overwhelming. This is not slavery. Exploitation, perhaps, but far from slavery.
d spike wrote:Humes wrote:But I say that a page or two ago. Why exactly should we impose our standards on them?
d spike, just because something is thought-provoking doesn't mean it's absolute. There are some similarities between slavery and this situation, but the differences are overwhelming. This is not slavery. Exploitation, perhaps, but far from slavery.
Regarding jingoism within altruism, I said it's a good point, but there were other important points raised that concern standards in our country. Should our health authorities allow what they (the professionals) perceive to be unhealthy conditions to continue existing? If they live like that back home, and they are comfy so, all well and good - but this ain't China. If you flog women for wearing lipstick back home, dat is you and dem. Don't come here and want to do dat here. If they started preparing and selling food to supplement their income - now that you know the state of their kitchen - would the authorities allow this?
Your second point regarding a provoking thought and an absolute is quite right, I agree - but it is obvious that we do not share the same concept of slavery. Far too many Trinis' concept of slavery is fixed to a past era and ethnicity. If your concept is hinged on freedom (and well it should be), then at what point does freedom start? Being granted freedom does not mean that an ex-slave never was a slave. Slavery exists, the length of time it exists for does not affect its definition.
One example of a definition of slavery (on de internet - too lazy to go and dig in de dictionary):
# bondage: the state of being under the control of another person
# work done under harsh conditions for little or no pay
wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
Humes wrote:d spike, there are Chinese laborers in Trinidad walking around with cell phones and walking around liming after work.
Your definitions of slavery there would apply to your average minimum wage (or less) store clerk in Port of Spain. You're stretching too hard to link two different things and belittling the reality in the process.
Also, please stop assuming that my only knowledge of slavery is of Africans during early colonial times.