*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 25th, 2009, 6:39 pm

How about a set of "surround" headphones instead of a budget home theater??

See: http://www.amazon.com/Force-Digital-Wir ... pd_sim_e_6

And: http://gear.ign.com/articles/939/939782p1.html

shamun

Postby shamun » November 25th, 2009, 6:48 pm

Seven channel fisher bro thats what i hav pushing 2mids 2bass and 4 tweet

Postby X_Factor » November 25th, 2009, 7:46 pm

anyone ever used vifa speakers?...getting really good reviews on them and Dayton and they are pretty cheap on parts express
a simple DIY set up could happen

Postby crazybalhead » November 25th, 2009, 8:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:anyone ever used vifa speakers?...getting really good reviews on them and Dayton and they are pretty cheap on parts express

Good yes, simple no. Crossover and cabinet design critical.

Postby crazybalhead » November 25th, 2009, 8:43 pm

shamun wrote:Seven channel fisher bro thats what i hav pushing 2mids 2bass and 4 tweet

Steeeeeeeeeeeuuuuuuuuuuuups.

"Dat mussbe duz play rehlll loud fadda!!!!!!"

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 25th, 2009, 8:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ hang on..

Rotel
Klipsch Reference
Vandersteen
Marsh
Plinus
SV subs

AND DAIS THE TV YUH ROCKIN??? :shock:

hossss....

lordie

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 25th, 2009, 8:49 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:My old man's setup ... Currently the spearers are Silverline Sonatina III's ... Personally I favoured the tonality of the Vandersteens which were able to do that disappearing speaker trick you often read about but seldom experience ...

*drools *

.... puddles forms on floor....

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 25th, 2009, 8:52 pm

X_Factor wrote:anyone ever used vifa speakers?...getting really good reviews on them and Dayton and they are pretty cheap on parts express

as cbh said it sort of demanding but there are some site that you can probably build, I may end up building mines.

http://www.htguide.com/forum/

shamun

Postby shamun » November 25th, 2009, 9:01 pm

Build your own surroundsound and you will feel the music

Postby 16 cycles » November 25th, 2009, 9:30 pm

LOL....i was thinking same thing as Duane....rotel etc etc...and then the tv...

no sweat...all systems take time..

not a home theatre system above

avalon speakers, esoteric sacd, Einstein amp, isoclean power, jorma connects

best i ever heard in life...

person was setting up a home theatre with same products...might pass and take better pics of everything

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 25th, 2009, 9:40 pm

16 cycles wrote:LOL....i was thinking same thing as Duane....rotel etc etc...and then the tv...

no sweat...all systems take time..

not a home theatre system above

avalon speakers, esoteric sacd, Einstein amp, isoclean power, jorma connects

best i ever heard in life...

person was setting up a home theatre with same products...might pass and take better pics of everything

Ah ah ahhhhhhh .... And I came ... :oops:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2009, 10:14 pm

I was just kidding with Mr. Go Slow and the TV :lol:

on another note I'm seeing real extremes here in this thread - from US$150 HTIAB to that piece of sex posted by Go Slow and 16cycles

I would love to try out the SACD (super audio CD) on my MGS edition PS3 when I get my setup running. Straight HDMI audio from the PS3 to the receiver should be good.

I am still reading up and not sure what I want to get - its almost always stuff I cant afford! :(

Postby X_Factor » November 25th, 2009, 10:16 pm

in the end budget determines what u end up acquiring and ur passion for it as well
i hav about 3k to spend on a set up, what u guys recommend?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2009, 10:34 pm

^ saving :idea:

Postby X_Factor » November 25th, 2009, 10:36 pm

scene....

for wat and how much?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2009, 10:56 pm

^ well depends on what you want to start off with

starting off with a HTIAB gives no real room for growth and expansion.

component setups grow and upgrade over time.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 25th, 2009, 10:57 pm

there are just too many options out there meng ... try definitive technology , paradigm and psb

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 26th, 2009, 8:15 am

Duane- take a listen to a SACD of Eagles Hotel california Live, when you do a critical listening session, you will hear instruments that you never heard before in any system! :shock: :shock:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2009, 8:27 am

Soundstream_626 wrote:there are just too many options out there meng ... try definitive technology , paradigm and psb

definitive is good - their STS Mythos towers with built in sub seem interesting - never heard them though

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 26th, 2009, 9:53 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ well depends on what you want to start off with

Exactly, start with a decent 2.0 setup or 2.1 ... So get yourself a quality receiver, that should last a couple upgrades, and either two nice towers
or two decent bookshelves and a sub.

If you can, DIY the sub ... build a HT monster sub if you can! http://www.diysubwoofers.org/

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 26th, 2009, 10:02 am

Forgot to mention check here: http://www.hsuresearch.com/

Multiple packages, quality subwoofers!

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 26th, 2009, 10:04 am

Ok, now I am more confused than ever. :?

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 26th, 2009, 10:05 am

Too many choices. :?

Postby sharkman121 » November 26th, 2009, 10:07 am

Started off with a Us$250 budget...

Expanded to a Us$400 budget...

Now suddenly it all seems such an insignificant sum to get anything of quality...

Bess ah do like ru$$ell an put meh zebra in a bucket yes... :o

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2009, 11:28 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ well depends on what you want to start off with

Exactly, start with a decent 2.0 setup or 2.1 ... So get yourself a quality receiver, that should last a couple upgrades, and either two nice towers
or two decent bookshelves and a sub.

If you can, DIY the sub ... build a HT monster sub if you can! http://www.diysubwoofers.org/

I agree buy a good receiver first - everything will fall in place as you go along after

the receiver is afterall the heart of your system

Postby crazybalhead » November 26th, 2009, 11:39 am

A quick tip, if you are building your home theatre sub. Tune it as low as you can. Just above the Fs of the driver. That way you will get proper SUB extension.

Car subs a usually tuned to 33 Hz and up.

A home sub needs to be tuned lower. Mine is tuned at 24 Hz.

This means a big box, but it will sound better.

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2009, 11:50 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2009, 11:52 am

^ I was reading an article in the September 2009 issue of Sound & Vision magazine where they compared modern subs to traditional subs

modern subs are compact - as we usually see with home theater systems
traditional subs are HUGE boxes, some of them the size of a cupboard in a room.

they compared the following:

traditional
Axiom Audio EP600 v2
PSB subseries 500
SVSound PB-12

modern
BagEnd PD12E-I
JL AUdio Fathom F112
Velodyne Optimum-12

in the end they said the traditional subs provided the best pitch and deepest lows. The modern subs produced brutal punch in the second octave of bass with good (not amazing) output at low frequency.

overall the Axiom ranked on top though its size is impractical in most homes.

Postby SR » November 26th, 2009, 11:59 am

actually the jl fathom sounds fantastic
got a chance to hear it at jl audio

heavy price tag though

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2009, 11:59 am

well the definition of what is "modern vs traditional" is vague
there are many technologies used in sub design today

for them to make a blanket statement like that is exactly that, a blanket statement
without examining the design theory of the subs in their comparison.

fwiw tapped horn subs are possibly the most modern design in recent years
totally different than the typical ported/sealed/bandpass that have been around since the 60's but still good.

the biggest factor nowadays is probably the quality of the amp and electronics used to compensate for any weaknesses in freq response