RASC wrote:I've been advising ppl over here...forget the clothes.
It is NOT cold, the weather is NOT a major issue.
Medical supplies, Food, sanitation supplies, water purification tablets and heavy machinery to remove and clear streets.
That is what is most important right now.
eurogirl wrote:RASC wrote:I've been advising ppl over here...forget the clothes.
It is NOT cold, the weather is NOT a major issue.
Medical supplies, Food, sanitation supplies, water purification tablets and heavy machinery to remove and clear streets.
That is what is most important right now.
Rene the mere comfort of removing dusty clothing and wearing fresh clothes provides a calming reaction ..
so yea wey we sending the clothes ???
I have linens as well ..
Maserati wrote:if no organizations at this point in time are accepting clothes then hold off till they are..some of all yuh look like you just want to off load all the old clothes you have...
Terran wrote:I don't know if this is a repost, but here is life before the earthquake.
http://worldfocus.org/blog/2009/02/19/d ... -mud/4120/
Terran wrote:I don't know if this is a repost, but here is life before the earthquake.
http://worldfocus.org/blog/2009/02/19/d ... -mud/4120/
sharkman121 wrote:oh fackkkkk![]()
i wonder how long God go be a trini for boy
UWI seismologist, Dr Joan Latchman said yesterday that Trinidad and Tobago, despite the fact that our fear of major earthquakes may be lulled because we have not had a major shake in decades, is in fact 22 years overdue.
She said a tremor of similar proportions to the one which wrecked Haiti’s capital city of Port-au-Prince just two days ago has been on the cards for over two decades.
And if it does hit, those living in areas like the swampy Beetham Gardens, Laventille hill sides, the reclaimed sea beds in West Trinidad and unplanned squatting communities are those who are most vulnerable to experiencing the worst effects of the brutal shaking that will come along with the earthquake.
This according to a team of seismology experts and earthquake engineers who held a press conference at the University of the West Indies Seismic Research Unit, in St Augustine yesterday.
When asked about this country’s level of risk, given the proximity of Haiti, Latchman said, ’We do sit on the corner of the Caribbean plate, all of the Eastern Caribbean, including Venezuela is on a seismic plate boundary. So yes we will have earthquakes.’
After explaining that seismologists have given the country a century long cycle in relation to the occurrence of large earthquakes, she then said given that the last major shake occurred between Grenada and T&T in 1888, the country was about 22 years overdue.
She said, ’We do expect a large event soon. How soon is what we don’t know.’
However, Latchman said there was no need for mass panic if the country kept in mind that earthquakes are not what kill people, but instead it was the falling debris and sometimes improperly built buildings which did the damage.
She warned that the country should prepare.
’When the big earthquake does occur, we do not want it to devastate the economy and destroy the country.’
Dr Walter Salazar, an earthquake engineer at UWI also said that Trinidad and Tobago should have country specific building codes, that was based on the result of seismic maps done for this region, not based on codes that work for foreign countries.
He said at present T&T uses a United States developed building code.
Salazar warned, ’Using building codes, from abroad is not appropriate.’
He said the region must begin to understand their own level of ’seismic hazard.’
Both agreed this country had no country specific building codes and no agency properly enforces laws on building construction in this country and that needs to be rectified.
While they said engineers would adhere to the standards for large projects, they said these rules are not always held by those constructing residential properties.
Lloyd Lynch, Acting director of UWI’s seismic research centre said, ’We need stronger compliance, stronger agencies to police construction.’