Flow Internet Thread

Swisha

Re: Slow FLOW

Postby Swisha » February 13th, 2011, 1:45 pm

^lucky u. i had the 4Mbps package without problems for a year then started getting half speeds.

was excited bout switching to Flow but like is always some kinda problem on both sides

Postby S_2NR » February 13th, 2011, 1:49 pm

sometimes i get probs..
but simply resetting the modem solves them.

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » February 13th, 2011, 2:03 pm

I have the same problem with Flow with the same package. A buddy who works for a oil and gas company and is IT administrator explained that based no his research this seems to be happening way more prevalent with Windows 7 and not with vista and xp.

I just upgraded to Windows 7 ultimate and this problem started. The night before upgrade i was getting excellent speeds on windows xp machine.

Just a thought, maybe it is the OS and not flow.

Any thoughts?

Postby S_2NR » February 13th, 2011, 2:11 pm

Soundwave wrote:
Stephon. wrote:ent^ BTW for those of you that SWEAR flow is the enemy, go to preferences > bittorrent and change the option to Forced.

I did that and got charged for rape...

wtf hahahhaha

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » February 13th, 2011, 10:30 pm

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 14th, 2011, 12:31 am

M_2nR & Lucian-2nr

As mods you should respect users positions in matters, even if you don't agree with them.

Obviously in this case you didn't.

May i suggest humbly that you post your opinion instead of assaulting users from your high seats.

Thank You.

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » February 14th, 2011, 9:43 am

Results for your FLOW and evidence of Bitorrent limiters by flow on users...which i could argue is a breach of their terms and conditions.

Is your upload traffic rate limited?

Your ISP appears to rate limit your uploads.
However, some of the measurements were affected by noise, which limits Glasnost ability to detect rate limiting.

Details:
Your ISP appears to rate limit your BitTorrent uploads. In our tests, uploads using control flows achieved up to 55 Kbps while uploads using BitTorrent achieved up to 32 Kbps.

There is no indication that your ISP rate limits uploads on port 6881 or 46971. In our tests, uploads on port 6881 achieved up to 32 Kbps while uploads on port 46971 achieved up to 40 Kbps.

Is your download traffic rate limited?

Your ISP appears to rate limit your downloads.
However, some of the measurements were affected by noise, which limits Glasnost ability to detect rate limiting.

Details:
Your ISP appears to rate limit your BitTorrent downloads. In our tests, downloads using control flows achieved up to 17 Kbps while downloads using BitTorrent achieved up to 22 Kbps.

There is no indication that your ISP rate limits downloads on port 6881 or 46971. In our tests, downloads on port 6881 achieved up to 17 Kbps while downloads on port 46971 achieved up to 19 Kbps.

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » February 14th, 2011, 1:42 pm

I'm in Maraval and having the same issue. If they don't sort out this soon I downgrading from the 25mb package or I might say fack flow altogether and just go blink.

ed_metal_head

Postby ed_metal_head » February 14th, 2011, 2:42 pm

Wolfie wrote:Tech support says they're not allowed to diagnose this issue

That boggles the mind. They were denying throttling only a week or so ago. Can we take this new response as an admission of throttling? Anyone else get the "not allowed to diagnose" response?

unimatrix001 wrote:if we could come up with some legitimate uses of torrents other than downloading linux distros, we could write a nice long letter to TATT to force flow to stop traffic shaping

Legitimate uses? Downloading software, movies, music, ebooks etc. Those are all legitimate uses of Bittorrent. However most of the content being downloaded infringes on copyright. However, there are examples of all these forms of media being shared legally via bittorrent.

http://gigaom.com/video/ten-more-sites-for-free-and-legal-torrents/

M_2NR wrote:LOL @ all of this.

Trini always like a free ting yes. I wanna see how ulyuh going to prove ulyuh not downloading pr0n and warez from torrents.

Get a usergroup (like usenet) or file sharing account (like RS,FS,HF), ~ $9.99 a month and no speed cutz.

Lucian-2nr wrote:^ hahahahah even 9.99us a month will be a problem for most of them... all most of them know is FREE TING ... zero problems on my end with downloads

I'd understand if you guys were criticising Trinis for being too cheap and then go on to mention legal options. Instead you're advocating that people pay to infringe copyright. What kind of warped logic is that?

The only advantage is a possible boost to speed. And, some ISPs in the US and England are already throttling Usenet. What if it happens down here?

dutch2004 wrote:I have the same problem with Flow with the same package. A buddy who works for a oil and gas company and is IT administrator explained that based no his research this seems to be happening way more prevalent with Windows 7 and not with vista and xp.

I just upgraded to Windows 7 ultimate and this problem started. The night before upgrade i was getting excellent speeds on windows xp machine.

Any thoughts?

Wolfie wrote:
Tried on centos server, fedora core 14 and windows all directly connected to the modem, same problem.

I think we can rule out an OS problem. I'm on Windows XP and have tried using Ubuntu. Same thing.

trini_champ wrote:I'm in Maraval and having the same issue. If they don't sort out this soon I downgrading from the 25mb package or I might say fack flow altogether and just go blink.

Maraval and Marabella too, eh? Sounds like we can rule out an area problem too. Maybe FLOW is rolling out the throttling slowly, kind of like their speed upgrades.

I'm surprised they're even doing this. Why throttle when the competition isn't? Doesn't logic dictate that a large percentage of your users will switch to the competition?

I have a friend working fairly high up in BLINK. He laughed at the issue and said they'd never throttle. I say never say "never" but at least it seems like they won't throttle in the immediate future. I much prefer FLOW, but I'm switching if this remains for a considerable length of time.

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » February 14th, 2011, 2:54 pm

Just called flow and they told me "they do not support BitTorrent". I asked the guy what he meant and he told me that BitTorrent is illegal and flow does not support the download of torrents. So I then asked him if Flow has done anything recently to slow down the download speeds and he claims to not know. So fcuk flow.

Postby Bizzare » February 14th, 2011, 2:57 pm

Things ok in Arima and Trinicity for me.

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » February 14th, 2011, 3:39 pm

Bizzare wrote:Things ok in Arima and Trincity for me.

Lucky you. Been getting crappy speeds for the last 2-3 weeks.

Was seein >500kbps speeds on average with decent torrents before. Now i lucky to get 100.

Flow 25MB package.

Postby teems1 » February 14th, 2011, 4:08 pm

i think they are throttling
Last edited by teems1 on February 15th, 2011, 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » February 14th, 2011, 4:09 pm

well then its confirmed that flow is doing this on purpose which is retarded..
this is probably d only time i would say blink owns flow.. :|

Postby teems1 » February 14th, 2011, 4:25 pm

redman10 wrote:well then its confirmed that flow is doing this on purpose which is retarded..

it's not permanent tho, it's to fix something and they are supposed to be back to normal soon

Postby Bizzare » February 14th, 2011, 4:31 pm

Good news....not affectin me really though......

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 14th, 2011, 4:40 pm

mitch wrote:free thing? so if i pay a $10 US to download stuff from usenet or RS that mean i doh like free thing and better than everybody else who using torrents to dwl d same things i downloading? :S

Exactly mitch , i knew that some so called pios (trying to be pious) members would point to such , but instead of getting drugs through your carrier, you now pay a service provider or syndicate for those said drugs , that makes it legal and you able call others cheap :lol: Really it seems more like paying for something that is free. They seem to pretend that priratebay , torrentractor and all the other sites are subscribed to only by trinis what a load of BS .

go strong with that warped logic

"
DM if they feel that they are so pious , what are their ring tones? , the porn they watch? the programs they use etc etc "
Last edited by cornfused on February 14th, 2011, 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 14th, 2011, 5:18 pm

man i was real happy that Flow finally going digital in my area so i could switch from Blink.

looks like i'll have to settle with Blink. at least they dont throttle speeds. Blink does have a Fair Usage Policy though.

maybe Flow should look into doing the same instead of telling customers they "don't support bittorrent" :S :S :S

Postby M_2NR » February 14th, 2011, 6:05 pm

ah man say i assaulting from "high seats"

as i mention prons and warez panties throwing up yes.

i got the same result as dutch2004 btw. Downloads are not limited but uploads were for torrents.

and LOL @ warped logic.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 14th, 2011, 9:17 pm

What about using Google DNS servers? will that change anything?

will masking your IP work?

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » February 14th, 2011, 10:53 pm

FLOW's DNS sucks. Use opendns.
Had problems with 200.1.104.35 and 200.1.104.36 today from within a FLOW facility. I use opendns at home and I get close to rated bittorrent speeds (down & up) in the St. Augustine area.

Postby S_2NR » February 15th, 2011, 4:35 pm

^^^haha wat?
do u even kno the purpose of a dns?

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » February 15th, 2011, 11:46 pm

Wolfie wrote:Tech support says they're not allowed to diagnose this issue.

Giving it a few more days then downgrading to the 5 mb package.

Having 24mb and not being able to use it for torrents is useless to me.

Tried on centos server, fedora core 14 and windows all directly connected to the modem, same problem.
0X

Affected areas reported in this thread:

St. Augustine
Tunapuna
El Dorado
Marabella

Add yours if you have the same problem.

Adding Arima. Speeds have been slow for Torrents, Steam Downloads and Gaming. Browsing and media streaming have both been fine.

Just want to add that I've had to reset my router at least 3 times in the past 2 days cause of no connection.

Problem started about 3 weeks ago I think. Will call support tomorrow.

teems1 wrote:
redman10 wrote:well then its confirmed that flow is doing this on purpose which is retarded..

it's not permanent tho, it's to fix something and they are supposed to be back to normal soon

Source?

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » February 16th, 2011, 1:15 am

redman10 wrote:^^^haha wat?
do u even kno the purpose of a dns?

Yes.
200.1.104.35 & 200.1.104.36 are poor examples of public dns servers.
196.3.132.1, 196.3.132.4 and 196.3.132.153 are as well.

A bittorrent client needs dns to resolve the hostnames of peers and trackers.

I'm not saying that these dns servers cause poor bittorrent performance, but using reputable public dns is simply best practice for overall reliability.

My own personal experiences using adsl, cable, wireless and metro-e in situations requiring high availability has conditioned me to never use a local isp's dns.

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » February 16th, 2011, 1:24 pm

dutch2004 wrote:I have the same problem with Flow with the same package. A buddy who works for a oil and gas company and is IT administrator explained that based no his research this seems to be happening way more prevalent with Windows 7 and not with vista and xp.

Any thoughts?

Oil and gas hiring jokers now?

South Man

Postby South Man » February 16th, 2011, 7:59 pm

Steupssss and I just buy a new 2TB hdd

Flow ftl

Postby M_2NR » February 17th, 2011, 3:29 pm

So who flow not working right now? I hope they didnt disconnect meh. :(

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » February 17th, 2011, 6:19 pm

^^Tried resetting router?

Postby M_2NR » February 17th, 2011, 6:27 pm

it started back working about 30mins after. :lol:
Flow FTW.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 17th, 2011, 7:03 pm

my torrents have been jacked up lately also having trouble with some online gaming my speed tests are coming out fine just last month i was getting nearly 3mb/s torrent downloads now the most i'm getting is 100k if im lucky thats on high seed torrents aswell i don't get it what is flow up to?