TTASA claims access rights to Camden - Drags on Nov 26+27th

gerard

Re: TTASA claims access rights to Camden - Drags on Nov 26+2

Postby gerard » November 17th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Good Day,

TTUNDRA will be registering members for the upcoming TTASA drag racing event at Camden Raceway. Registration will take place on Friday 18th November 2011 at the Central Regional Indoor Sport Arena at 8:00pm sharp.

TTUNDRA registration fee for competitive racers :$500.00 - per year which includes an ID card and T-shirt.

TTASA fia license fee:$300.00 - TTUNDRA will supplement this cost to it members by $100.00 i.e. it will cost members $200.00

See you there!

Gerard Best
TTUNDRA secretary.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 17th, 2011, 10:16 pm

^^^^ what about if i am already a TTUNDRA member, but cant make the meeting??

can i register for FIA license on sunday 20th??

gerard

Postby gerard » November 18th, 2011, 5:54 am

yes that's not a problem just be early on sunday and walk with your passport size picture.

link

Postby link » November 18th, 2011, 6:07 am

Just putting the basic info in one place...the layout diagrams remain at pg1

16Nov – Motor General Council Meeting
19Nov – equipment testing/verification (officials ONLY)
20Nov – 1st session 1-4pm at Camden - Mandatory Competitor registration leading to tuition / orientation / FIA Licence – Fee $300
24Nov – Briefing meeting 7.30pm (Indoor Sporting Complex at Saith Park, Chaguanas) & submission of entry forms – entry fee $350
26Nov – 2nd session 12-4pm at Camden – Mandatory driver checkout/observations for competence (MUST HAVE PREQUALIFIED BY REGISTERING/ATTENDING 1st session on 20 Nov)
27Nov – OFFICIAL COMPETITION – pit Gates close at 10am – scrutineering starts at 9am – races start at 12NOON !!

Please be advised the Briefing meeting has been confirmed on 24th November at the Indoor Sporting Complex at Saith Park, Chaguanas starting at 7.30pm

Cash prizes with trophies are up for grabs in ALL BRACKETS

Note : the FIA licence will be valid thru December 2012

rgds

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 18th, 2011, 8:41 am

link wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:It's this simple... If racers MUST hold a valid FIA license before permission is granted to race then the racers should demand the facility be up to FIA safety standards with a sand trap, safety net & all the other mandatory safety equipment that FIA requires. I think the racers should form a union to deal with problems like this.

but but but...... :idea:
Camden has a mud trap, cane net...& a water trap after all that.........GUARANTEED STOPPING...[more bait ?]
apprec yr posting suggestions to the problems u highlight, guys....

tks
rgds

Smh... The "bait" was meant for the media guys ie. Triniturbo & Sinister Audio, not for you :roll:

I'm asking a serious question concerning safety at your event & you replying with jokes about mud trap & water trap? You find it funny that a race car could potentially run off the end of the track & into the bushes if its chute fail to deploy?
Will you be using any form of traction compound on the track surface?
Seeing that Camden hasn't been used in years for drag racing, will TTASA being applying (dragging old car tires across surface) a layer of rubber on the surface prior to the carded event ?

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » November 18th, 2011, 8:45 am

^^^^ Yorkshirelass, these same questions crossed my mind also,
26Nov – 2nd session 12-4pm at Camden – Mandatory driver checkout/observations for competence (MUST HAVE PREQUALIFIED BY REGISTERING/ATTENDING 1st session on 20 Nov)

Will the FIA lic enable us to also participate (if it ever reaches to that), in circuit and other motorsports here, and anywhere an FIA sanctioned event is held? Who determines if the people checking /observing the drivers are competent to judge the competence of drag racing drivers in different brackets? I may be wrong, but circuit drivers are not accustomed to high horsepower machines 500+ and that changes everything (ask any serious drag racer).
This is like $1200.00 before preparation for the raceday (27th), maybe it would have been better to start with a test and tune day, with the pre requisites of-course (FIA lic). This would help in working out the logistics for a proper maybe international meet at the end of the year.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 18th, 2011, 9:28 am

zaxxon1 wrote:^^^^ Yorkshirelass, these same questions crossed my mind also,

Will the FIA lic enable us to also participate (if it ever reaches to that), in circuit and other motorsports here, and anywhere an FIA sanctioned event is held? Who determines if the people checking /observing the drivers are competent to judge the competence of drag racing drivers in different brackets? I may be wrong, but circuit drivers are not accustomed to high horsepower machines 500+ and that changes everything (ask any serious drag racer).
This is like $1200.00 before preparation for the raceday (27th), maybe it would have been better to start with a test and tune day, with the pre requisites of-course (FIA lic). This would help in working out the logistics for a proper maybe international meet at the end of the year.

roflmao

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » November 18th, 2011, 9:43 am

Agreed with this, a test and tune would have been better to get back a "feel" for the track, get everything back into place, prepare the track and surroundings properly instead of rushing into a full "competition" and rushing to get "fia license" etc. But then again... This is ttasa we talking about, its expected that everything gonna be rushed down and done halfway.

Postby wagonrunner » November 18th, 2011, 11:54 am

Midnight_Demon wrote: But then again... This is ttasa we talking about, its expected that everything gonna be rushed down and done halfway.

but aye nascaroni is pleased.

sparky

Postby sparky » November 18th, 2011, 11:59 am

Camp den is not an international race way and we are limited in the kind of infarstructure that can take place there added to the fact it is a temporary falicity with rules and guide lines to adhere to. However in any sport there must be rules and guide lines to govern that sport, in this case we choose to follow the FIA rules concerning drag racing. If people would take the time to read those rules and safety guide lines, it will instill a level of discipline that is neccessary for the growth of the sport. Things do not happen over night and it will take time to evolve and get better, it will need a collective imput to succeed

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » November 18th, 2011, 12:28 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:

Agreed with this, a test and tune would have been better to get back a "feel" for the track, get everything back into place, prepare the track and surroundings properly instead of rushing into a full "competition" and rushing to get "fia license" etc. But then again... This is ttasa we talking about, its expected that everything gonna be rushed down and done halfway.

They can't jam full price on racers with a test n tune. So it must be an all out competition.

moti

Postby moti » November 18th, 2011, 1:08 pm

easy money...........beat the christmas rush i say.

Postby wagonrunner » November 18th, 2011, 1:13 pm

moti wrote:easy money...........beat the christmas rush i say.

I feel it have a bess kaiso in there to this beat yunno.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhvnuuQ2cmQ

Tweety
Pro Drag

Postby Tweety » November 18th, 2011, 1:51 pm

I have not logged on for a long time and you know what .... SAME SH*T DIFFERENT DAY !!

Will trackbite be allowed? Some how I doubt this very much as it is an active runway and is the reason why we lost Camden in the first place. This means that no sub 10 seconds cars can run safely.

Sparky we do not CHOOSE FIA. The FIA is the world body that governs motorsport and even the NHRA are affiliated. I have read the FIA Drag Racing rules and the are safety oriented so Rotary Boys is very right to ask the questions about safety. TTASA cant choose which rules they want to follow and disregard the rest.

Who is conducting these “mandatory” driving schools and what credentials do they have to do this. I will not now or ever attend any “mandatory” driving school put on by TTASA nor would I will not be paying $200 or $300 for a license. TTASA once again is trying to get the Drag Racers to pay their sanctioning fees for the FIA. When I got my NHRA Drag License I had to make 5 or 6 runs (cant remember the exact amount now) and have them signed off by a recognised NHRA representative before i could get a license.

Anyway everyone knows how I feel about TTASA and they will never see 1 cent of my money!

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 18th, 2011, 2:14 pm

Tweety wrote:I have not logged on for a long time and you know what .... SAME SH*T DIFFERENT DAY !!

Will trackbite be allowed? Some how I doubt this very much as it is an active runway and is the reason why we lost Camden in the first place. This means that no sub 10 seconds cars can run safely.

Sparky we do not CHOOSE FIA. The FIA is the world body that governs motorsport and even the NHRA are affiliated. I have read the FIA Drag Racing rules and the are safety oriented so Rotary Boys is very right to ask the questions about safety. TTASA cant choose which rules they want to follow and disregard the rest.

Who is conducting these “mandatory” driving schools and what credentials do they have to do this. I will not now or ever attend any “mandatory” driving school put on by TTASA nor would I will not be paying $200 or $300 for a license. TTASA once again is trying to get the Drag Racers to pay their sanctioning fees for the FIA. When I got my NHRA Drag License I had to make 5 or 6 runs (cant remember the exact amount now) and have them signed off by a recognised NHRA representative before i could get a license.

Anyway everyone knows how I feel about TTASA and they will never see 1 cent of my money!

well said

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 18th, 2011, 2:22 pm

Tweety wrote:Anyway everyone knows how I feel about TTASA and they will never see 1 cent of my money!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 18th, 2011, 2:36 pm

sparky wrote:Camp den is not an international race way and we are limited in the kind of infrastructure that can take place there added to the fact it is a temporary facility with rules and guide lines to adhere to.
I am fine with this only.

However in any sport there must be rules and guide lines to govern that sport, in this case we choose to follow the FIA rules concerning drag racing.
I don't know who is we and when "we" choose to follow something that cannot allow drag racers to race any where with better motor racing governance than TnT.

If people would take the time to read those rules and safety guide lines, it will instill a level of discipline that is necessary for the growth of the sport.
Discipline ? can we type your user name on you-tube and see the said discipline taking place on the streets of TnT? or maybe its not you .

Things do not happen over night and it will take time to evolve and get better, it will need a collective imput to succeed[/quote]

One well known and respected racer may have set many right with his comments

Postby wagonrunner » November 18th, 2011, 2:49 pm

Tweety wrote:I have not logged on for a long time and you know what .... SAME SH*T DIFFERENT DAY !!

Very grateful you descided to log on today. Hopefully some will comprehend what you're saying.
Ignorant Ignis wrote:well said

Indeed

Postby tr1ad » November 18th, 2011, 3:23 pm

well said Mr G

but the new to the scene and don't care folks do exactly that.... don't care... they "getting" a place to run, they don't know of the history, they choose to listen to what certain individuals want them to hear

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » November 18th, 2011, 3:32 pm

sparky wrote:Camp den is not an international race way and we are limited in the kind of infarstructure that can take place there added to the fact it is a temporary falicity with rules and guide lines to adhere to. However in any sport there must be rules and guide lines to govern that sport, in this case we choose to follow the FIA rules concerning drag racing. If people would take the time to read those rules and safety guide lines, it will instill a level of discipline that is neccessary for the growth of the sport. Things do not happen over night and it will take time to evolve and get better, it will need a collective imput to succeed

No one saying don't follow rules and what not u know... Jus saying that if u going to follow. "Fia rules" then don't half a$$ it.. Make sure the track and spectator area set up to "fia" standards as well... As said before just seems like another money making scheme from ttasa

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » November 18th, 2011, 3:36 pm

My number one concern is Concrete Barriers at both sides.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 18th, 2011, 4:49 pm

wish i could ah make it but i putting ah sr20det in the skyline

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 18th, 2011, 5:04 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:
sparky wrote:Camp den is not an international race way and we are limited in the kind of infarstructure that can take place there added to the fact it is a temporary falicity with rules and guide lines to adhere to. However in any sport there must be rules and guide lines to govern that sport, in this case we choose to follow the FIA rules concerning drag racing. If people would take the time to read those rules and safety guide lines, it will instill a level of discipline that is neccessary for the growth of the sport. Things do not happen over night and it will take time to evolve and get better, it will need a collective imput to succeed

No one saying don't follow rules and what not u know... Jus saying that if u going to follow. "Fia rules" then don't half a$$ it.. Make sure the track and spectator area set up to "fia" standards as well... As said before just seems like another money making scheme from ttasa

like the fia licence they sold us in 2004/2005 that was only needed for ONE day of racing??? plus 100$ to actually race....

Im happy there is a 1320, don't get me wrong. But seriously FIA rules etc are not going to be followed to a T. The track needs lots of work and prep to just be safe. totally agree this is another money making scheme done by ttasa. :roll:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 18th, 2011, 5:42 pm

Buh men hadda buy Scotch and ham this christmas.. Where else yuh guh make that kinda money in 2 days without doing something illegal :lol:

I was reading FIA drag racing licensing rules & regulations today and it seems like the only way FIA putting their name on something, is if the track owner brings in a FIA inspector to inspect & approve the track.. I'm almost 1000% certain that Camden is not up to FIA standards and have not been approved for racing by FIA, so why on earth do you need a FIA license to participate on a airfield that has nothing to do with FIA :?

Not even the NHRA require a license to run in a lot of classes and they are under the FIA umbrella, so I don't understand why TTASA making it mandatory for those average Joes in their 16 second cars to get a FIA license before they can be allowed access to an airplane runway. I can understand they enforcing that "rule" on a guy with a 7 to 10 second car or a car that trapping 120+ MPH, but for the average guy to not big into racing, it's just plain stupid.

Postby wagonrunner » November 18th, 2011, 6:05 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Buh men hadda buy Scotch and ham this christmas.. Where else yuh guh make that kinda money in 2 days without doing something illegal :lol:

I was reading FIA drag racing licensing rules & regulations today and it seems like the only way FIA putting their name on something, is if the track owner brings in a FIA inspector to inspect & approve the track.. I'm almost 1000% certain that Camden is not up to FIA standards and have not been approved for racing by FIA, so why on earth do you need a FIA license to participate on a airfield that has nothing to do with FIA :?

Not even the NHRA require a license to run in a lot of classes and they are under the FIA umbrella, so I don't understand why TTASA making it mandatory for those average Joes in their 16 second cars to get a FIA license before they can be allowed access to an airplane runway. I can understand they enforcing that "rule" on a guy with a 7 to 10 second car or a car that trapping 120+ MPH, but for the average guy to not big into racing, it's just plain stupid.
moti wrote:easy money...........beat the christmas rush i say.

I feel it have a bess kaiso in there to this beat yunno.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhvnuuQ2cmQ

So far the chorus is "So where the car trunk with the money gone?
Tell me, tell me wheh it gone.
some say it in space (yeah).
Some say it over there (yeah)."

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 18th, 2011, 6:48 pm

LOL.

So they need to prove FIA has inspected it or they should not make it MANDATORY that you pay FIA license.

Basically it looking to me like a wallerfield gangsta drags that someone lock down and decide to make ah money on it.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 18th, 2011, 8:10 pm

WAIT WAIT WAIT....what is this i now read dey???
The FIA will NOT put their name on something unless an FIA inspector has inspected the area and approved it for use....is that correct??? :shock:

So im thinking to myself, how can TTASA charge people money to get an FIA license, to race on a borrowed AIRPLANE RUNWAY if the said runway doesnt have an FIA approval...Or does it :? Link now would be a good time to step in and clear the air....

IDK its just me, but people tell me i like to over think things too much....oh well *shrugs*

blitzkreig

Postby blitzkreig » November 18th, 2011, 8:57 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Buh men hadda buy Scotch and ham this christmas.. Where else yuh guh make that kinda money in 2 days without doing something illegal :lol:

I hope TTUNDRA Secretary reads this and explain this to their members.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 18th, 2011, 11:13 pm

Yea some answers now please, don't want people buying allyuh christmas presents and rum now over a false license talk

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 19th, 2011, 3:05 am

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:Yea some answers now please, don't want people buying allyuh christmas presents and rum now over a false license talk

2004 / 2005 all over again??......I wasted good gas money to race once with the BS fia licence... yeah once was the only time they required it. WTF??? this is exactly why we lost wallerfield. bunch of $$$$$ hungry arseholes wanting to make a profit on a person who wants to enjoy drags racing on a weekend.(in a safe location)

sorry trinituner crew etc, but I honestly stopped racing due to TTASA and their BS FIA etc.... Great there's a track... but TTASA shouldn't be involved... alyuh flick up with wallerfield.. what yuh expect, respect??? Flick link etc. Time to move aside. Yancy had a better drags anyway. HYMC move aside.

***random DM16 vent sorry.***