Re: Meguiar's Ultimate Car Cleaner Challenge

Postby Bizzare » April 23rd, 2012, 4:42 pm

read my edited post..... :cry:
do you users accept my apology. :cry:

Postby Bizzare » April 23rd, 2012, 4:47 pm

i mean, it can still be hacked that way, but not as easily. no one will take the time to decompile the flash app and all that cha la la.

Pseudo code - Every time the flash app is loaded, generate a random string in the flash app, encrypt the values to be sent to the server according to that random code. Anytime values are being passed to the server, send the random string, along with the encrypted values, so on the server side, it can be decrypted according to what the random string is. Only the server and the flash app will know how to read the values according to what the random string and not these cheaters who intercept the values and change it.

e.g. if the random string generated is 69 and your score is 10:30, the flash app will for example - multiply 1030*69 and send it to the server - 71070... along with that it will send the random string generated - 69... plus the time non-encrypted version - 10:30.

The server will know to divide the value "71070" by the random string value - "69" and get 1030.....
Then it will match it up to the non-encrypted version "1030" & "10:30" and see if they match. If they don't, fork even entering anything to the database....

That was just an example. Of course the method of encryption will be WAYYYY more mathematically complicated. But as simple as that is, even I wouldn't have took the time to figure out how were the values being "encrypted".

Postby Trini Hookah » April 23rd, 2012, 5:36 pm

dai devil ting.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 23rd, 2012, 6:36 pm

Bizzare wrote:i mean, it can still be hacked that way, but not as easily. no one will take the time to decompile the flash app and all that cha la la.

Pseudo code - Every time the flash app is loaded, generate a random string in the flash app, encrypt the values to be sent to the server according to that random code. Anytime values are being passed to the server, send the random string, along with the encrypted values, so on the server side, it can be decrypted according to what the random string is. Only the server and the flash app will know how to read the values according to what the random string and not these cheaters who intercept the values and change it.

e.g. if the random string generated is 69 and your score is 10:30, the flash app will for example - multiply 1030*69 and send it to the server - 71070... along with that it will send the random string generated - 69... plus the time non-encrypted version - 10:30.

The server will know to divide the value "71070" by the random string value - "69" and get 1030.....
Then it will match it up to the non-encrypted version "1030" & "10:30" and see if they match. If they don't, fork even entering anything to the database....

That was just an example. Of course the method of encryption will be WAYYYY more mathematically complicated. But as simple as that is, even I wouldn't have took the time to figure out how were the values being "encrypted".

sounds logical and should be able to be done by a gd programmer, but probably it was not thought about in the req during analysis stage or was not feasible in terms of budget

Postby Bizzare » April 23rd, 2012, 6:49 pm

I don't think that should alter the budget, doesn't take much to implement. These securities are protocol for any client where a SERIOUS competition is concerned I suppose.

Postby Mark! » April 23rd, 2012, 6:51 pm

I say we fight for the hampa

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 23rd, 2012, 6:56 pm

Mark! wrote:I say we fight for the hampa

see what i tell you the roids will do to you. now yuh wanna play muscle man

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 23rd, 2012, 7:05 pm

Bizzare wrote:I don't think that should alter the budget, doesn't take much to implement. These securities are protocol for any client where a SERIOUS competition is concerned I suppose.

well once they have accepted the product the only way they can insist on changes from the programmer is if there is a clause in the contract that would allow free maintenance or upgrade of some type if the customer is not satisfied after implementation.
otherwise the programmer will not do it freely once it was signed off as accepted and tested.

Postby Mark! » April 23rd, 2012, 7:09 pm

adriano7910 wrote:
Mark! wrote:I say we fight for the hampa

see what i tell you the roids will do to you. now yuh wanna play muscle man

ogoarrr i fighting behind keyboard dan

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 24th, 2012, 8:52 am

any update on this

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 24th, 2012, 10:16 am

i doh care how it spoil...de whole ting spoil! mash up...

* goes to cry in my cry corner*

wait...bizarre say he see oddah ppl cheating so he cheat too to expose the cheaters? lol logic dey boy!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 24th, 2012, 10:43 am

wait....d ting get pull off yes...no lambo to clean again....

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 24th, 2012, 11:37 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:wait....d ting get pull off yes...no lambo to clean again....

since yesterday....and no one answered what will be the outcome after all of this

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2012, 12:16 pm

^ waiting on an update

Postby BrotherHood » April 24th, 2012, 3:16 pm

It good....nobody gets no prize because some spoil it for all of us.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 24th, 2012, 7:50 pm

dont say it gd. i might of come first if it was honestly done. and you know we good so you could of gotten to borrow products once you use it sparingly :lol: :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » April 25th, 2012, 12:30 am

^^ :lol: :lol:

I take back my previous post.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 27th, 2012, 10:36 am

BUMP!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2012, 7:24 pm

adriano7910 wrote:dont say it gd. i might of come first if it was honestly done. and you know we good so you could of gotten to borrow products once you use it sparingly :lol: :lol:
perhaps

but there was also a huge disparity between your score of 5:41 and then Marc Harripaul at 7:20. All the times after follow with only one or two seconds apart after that. Makes it look like the 7sec area were the true honest ones. Not doubting you though

Postby Bizzare » April 27th, 2012, 7:40 pm

adriano7910 wrote:dont say it gd. i might of come first if it was honestly done. and you know we good so you could of gotten to borrow products once you use it sparingly :lol: :lol:
perhaps

but there was also a huge disparity between your score of 5:41 and then Marc Harripaul at 7:20. All the times after follow with only one or two seconds apart after that. Makes it look like the 7sec area were the true honest ones. Not doubting you though

Bizzare wrote:so those guys cheated and were gonna win unfairly

one of those guys spotted. :lol:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 27th, 2012, 7:52 pm

perhaps

That score was made after over 15hrs of trying over a 5 day period with over 5 different methods of trying to clean the car at three different computers over 1000 times.
If given the chance i will be willing to prove my time once given a proper computer and enough time to become once again accustom to the process.

Postby Bizzare » April 27th, 2012, 7:59 pm

adriano7910 wrote:trying over a 5 day period

Sherlock says BUSTED!!!!
Game wasn't even up for five days. This thread itself is evidence of that :lol: :lol:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 27th, 2012, 8:01 pm

If you would check all scores you would see my times were consistently dropping as my technique improve from 11 seconds to 9 seconds to 8 to 7 to 6 and then finally a lucky instant of 5.** over a long drawn out period throughout the duration of the promotion.

I feel vindicated after making an honest effort in front of many witnesses over this promotion to be made out as a possible cheater.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 27th, 2012, 8:04 pm

Bizzare wrote:
adriano7910 wrote:trying over a 5 day period

Sherlock says BUSTED!!!!
Game wasn't even up for five days. This thread itself is evidence of that :lol: :lol:

whatever or however long it was. the point was not to be accurate but to emphasize my effort. I do not possess the knowledge to do whatever it was that was required to be done to manipulate the game.

Meguiar's TnT

Postby Meguiar's TnT » April 27th, 2012, 8:06 pm

We have gone though the results and while we know that some participants may have cheated, honestly it is impossible for us to tell who cheated and who did not.
In light of this we were forced to cancel the game after a few days even though it was initially scheduled to run for 2 weeks with one set of 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners each week.
We do apologise to all the participants who genuinely tried their best at the game.

We are trying our best to have the game changed to prevent this from happening in the future.
Meguiar's will run the game again giving everyone a fair chance at great Meguiar's product hampers and prizes.

Thank you for the great participant response and support.
Hoping to see you all at the Meguiar's Car Crazy Show on Sunday at Center of Excellence.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 27th, 2012, 8:27 pm

adriano7910 wrote:7.61
Dont think i could do it faster. Highly doubt there is a prize for second. lol

this was the first time i posted a time which was second overall as previous times to this were in the 8-9 second range. as i figures out ways to perfect the pattern of cleaning and smoothing arm movement with a better mouse times kept dropping.
why would a person with many many time posted in the competition and only twice being in the top three but nvr first be considered as cheating.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 27th, 2012, 8:50 pm

if only yall know how hard adriano was "pyonging" this eh :lol: he really wanted de hamper bai

(i woulda take a pass to get a lil sumn for meh rims when he did too :p)

Postby Bizzare » April 27th, 2012, 9:06 pm

Duane, an update still coming? Jus hope you guys can win what u were suppose to win.

Postby rollingstock » April 27th, 2012, 9:24 pm

Steups 5secs, tha's devil thing.

I still maintain that my time of 1 min 22 sec is the best cause i'm the only person to turn my screen around and wash the other side of the vehicle.

I can see some of you all are the type to come home from work after a sweaty, hard day, take a bath and then put back on the same jockey shorts :?

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 29th, 2012, 10:03 am

MichaelR wrote:7:20 Did a 6:92 last night but for some reason it didnt save! It wasnt working properly late yesterday evening. When is the end of this competition?

MichaelR wrote:I figure out a strategy, 6:53

MichaelR wrote:is me alone playing or what? 6:17

MichaelR wrote:I give up, best was a 5:78 Really doubt 3 or even 4 seconds is humanly possible. Do like drag racing and give me the win in the 5 second bracket please.

why were these times posted not referred too. this person had times similar. to mine. and was posting his times just like me from the start. Not sure who Marc Harripaul is but why was he chosen as your benchmark?