OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Re: Angostura Single Barrel Rum & others *now with reviews*

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 21st, 2011, 9:31 am

^^^^good posting man......tempted I am, but only just barely.

224 days sober.....

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 27th, 2011, 8:26 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:

El dorado 12 - nice, but not as good as the 15 ... I've read Internet reviews saying the 12 is the gem of the line, but the 15 is in my opinion better in every way. don't get me wrong, the 12 is fantastic, liquid fruit cake, smooth, not as dry finish as the 15. But it's just the 15 is that much better ... Recommended, but go with the 15 every time.

Obtained: Hi Lo - all

A reassessment here ... I have the 12 and the 15 side by side ... the 15 is more refined, but the 12 is bolder, sweeter, has more bite, more Christmas cake and less leather ... maybe I need to let the bottle of 15 breathe some more ... but thus far I think I have to reverse my initial assessment ... 12 > 15 in this instance! ... But can't go wrong with either ...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 27th, 2011, 9:08 pm

^^^I like your postings man!!!! Keep Up the effort!!!

boomkid

collection of happiness!!!!!!

Postby boomkid » September 3rd, 2011, 5:29 pm

now starting d collection of all my favourites!!!!!!!!
DSC03842.jpg
DSC03841.jpg
DSC03840.jpg

biggy82

Re: collection of happiness!!!!!!

Postby biggy82 » September 3rd, 2011, 6:23 pm

bleh

glenfidditch > johnny walker

Postby X_Factor » September 3rd, 2011, 6:36 pm

^if ur not accustom with single malt scotch you wont like glenfidditch

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 3rd, 2011, 6:47 pm

glen livet >tallisker >glenfiddich den goes jhonny walker blue

dat collection missing real scotch

Postby X_Factor » September 3rd, 2011, 6:50 pm

white oak > the rest!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 3rd, 2011, 6:52 pm

yeah to wash de dead ...

Postby Bizzare » September 3rd, 2011, 7:01 pm

at first sight I thought that was colognes :oops:

Postby rollingstock » September 3rd, 2011, 7:08 pm

Poor people bizness :(

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2011, 7:33 pm

no d'aguiar, no cater. best thing to ever come out of guyana. right after Tr1ad the Great!!!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 3rd, 2011, 7:37 pm

didnt triad drinks scotch? ....

damn guyanese an dey barrelwash

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2011, 7:48 pm

MonsterPower wrote:didnt triad drinks scotch? ....

damn guyanese an dey barrelwash

i nah saying anything about de boss :p. actually it taste better than our local rums IMO.

holy thread merge! :drinking:
feeling like ah bounce enn a stoosh party with meh 3/4 jeans and a wife beaters jed. i'll take my xm 5 year and leave den...geez
Last edited by rfari on September 3rd, 2011, 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » September 3rd, 2011, 7:51 pm

rollingstock wrote:Poor people bizness :(

that actually tasted really good, had 2 bottles recently, good stuff.

JWT

Re: Angostura Single Barrel Rum

Postby JWT » September 3rd, 2011, 11:34 pm

De Dragon wrote:Saw a 15 and 18 year old Glenfiddich in a wholesale place Brasso side yesterday. Going back for the 18 year old. Cost $463.00

yip 18yr old taste great.

old par and glen is only served 8-)

biggy82

Re: OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Postby biggy82 » September 4th, 2011, 12:16 am

my top 5 so far:

1. Laphroaig Single Malt (Triple Wood)

even tho its a 10 y.o., i like the sweet vs woody flavor that follows one another when drinking this.

2. Glenfidditch Solara

this was my first choice until last month when i visited England and tasted the Laphroaig. 15 y.o. that will blow 18 and 21 y.o.s out of the water

3. Glenlivet 15 year

started drinking this when travelling. strong yet subtle

4. Balvenie Double Wood

ah "whoa" kinda scotch. it just hits you with full flavor

5. Johnny Walker Blue

give Johnny his jacket, overpriced in Trini but still a contender nonetheless

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 4th, 2011, 1:51 am

liking the reviews!!!!!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 4th, 2011, 12:20 pm

Laphroaig Single Malt

hmmm biggy never heard of this one but i agree with your list .... jhonny just barely made it..

on a side note i tasted teachers special single malt once in scotland.. this was pleasant but i couldnt afford the $400euro price tag

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 4th, 2011, 3:37 pm

MonsterPower wrote:Laphroaig Single Malt

hmmm biggy never heard of this one but i agree with your list .... jhonny just barely made it..

google "Islay Single Malt Scotch" there are quite a few around; all named for the Islay islands that they are produced on. small distillery and great quality.

you wont get it here tho....may be too expensive and not worth the trouble to import

brought back a couple of bottles; Christmas peeps will get a taste :mrgreen:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 4th, 2011, 9:11 pm

way ahead of you there biggy ... made a few calls and presto .... 2 bottles on their way due to arrive early nov ..

btw what do you think of the tallisker 15 yo ? got a bottle and i think its smoother to the palete than the glen livet

Postby rollingstock » September 4th, 2011, 9:21 pm

AllTrac wrote:

Try it with this, really goes smooth. (btw i not really a drinker, so don't flame me)

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 5th, 2011, 12:46 am

MonsterPower wrote:btw what do you think of the tallisker 15 yo ? got a bottle and i think its smoother to the palete than the glen livet

havent tried that yet. what about Irish whiskeys like Bushmills (not the 10 y.o. eh :sick: ) and Lockes. both are pretty decent single malts

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 5th, 2011, 8:49 pm

got 2 bottles of bushmills .. one with my own personal name on it as well as a jameson irish whiskey specially labelled

havent opened them up yet..

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 6th, 2011, 1:39 pm

Jameson is a good brand as well

MP, like we hadda make a 2nr Whiskey Club meng!

Postby AllTrac » September 6th, 2011, 3:39 pm

AllTrac wrote:

Try it with this, really goes smooth. (btw i not really a drinker, so don't flame me)

actually i chase with Schweppes ginger ale all the time, is either that or mauby.

MMmmmmMMMM starting to feel for it, but i have to have will power cause i cut out de drinking, going to be a pundit next year 8-)

Postby rollingstock » September 6th, 2011, 3:47 pm

^ Or so next year you gonna be chasing under age skirts huh Baba :roll:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 6th, 2011, 5:46 pm

MonsterPower wrote:got 2 bottles of bushmills .. one with my own personal name on it as well as a jameson irish whiskey specially labelled

havent opened them up yet..

sounds like a plan ... i'm not much of a drinker but ever since that whiskey tour in scotland i have been collecting more off the way scotch .. everyone seems to know jhonny walker

i am still in the process of moving in to my house and i feel kurpal dip into my stocks .. damn alcoholic

Postby SR » September 6th, 2011, 6:50 pm

that explains some of his posts on forums...................

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 6th, 2011, 8:54 pm

there are two best rums that i have tasted

1. Ron Zacappa XO
xo.jpg

2. 10 Cane
cane_mojito_kit.jpg