Over 2 billion obese and overweight people worldwide.

Re: Over 2 billion obese and overweight people worldwide.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 12th, 2014, 12:03 am

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Prof-Hau ... 4481454281

Can check progress reports on his page as well.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 12th, 2014, 12:03 am

Yeah I started a keto a couple months ago. First time in three years I stopped gaining weight. I lost 15 pounds over the past two and a half months without checking measuring anything I ate. Oh and I still cheated some weekends and went out for a bunch of beers. It was that book that opened my eyes and then I checked a website called mark's daily apple for more easy to use information.

With full time job with unpaid overtime and part time classes that have a crapload of coursework I don't get the time to count calories and do a light workout once or twice a week.

I know keto is 0-50g of crabs a day but I normally stick to 50-150g (very slow but consistent results) with most of my calories from fats and dairy.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 12th, 2014, 12:06 am

So the two of you not even gonna comment on the article I posted?

Postby maj. tom » October 12th, 2014, 12:14 am

Once again, no one is ever going to argue with the 1st law of thermodynamics. It is true and will always be true. If you expend more than you intake, you will lose weight. You will lose muscle mass and fat, depending on the macro nutrient deficit.

Two things though. Who the hell is going on a diet of twinkies to lose weight? How long will one sustain this "diet"? No, what I am asking here is about lifestyle over 20-30 years. Just because it "worked" for him means it should work for the other 2 billion people right? What that man did was a case study, not a clinical experiment. And good for him that we once again see that the 1st law of thermodynamics will never be broken.

2nd, is that person healthier because he has lost weight eating twinkies? What we are really concerned with here is metabolic syndrome and insulin resistance. Obesity is merely a symptom of these issues. High cholesterol is a marker of inflammation. Cholesterol is not the problem. The inflammation is! Eating dietary cholesterol (not phytosterols) does not increase serum cholesterol (the inflammatory marker). In fact, if you eat zero cholesterol, your body will be forced to manufacture it because that sterol is required in EVERY single cell in your body. EVERY SINGLE ONE! Please try to understand this is what I am trying to get across in this thread.

And another thing mentioned in that article. The standard USDA American diet. The food pyramid. It is wrong. High carbs with little fiber are not good. Saturated fat is good. This has even reached South Park. It is THAT obvious that the food pyramid is wrong! For 40 years people followed it and now we have this health debacle. Starch is a polymer of what again?

Are you telling me that eating 100 Cals of whole almonds is equal to drinking 100 Cals of a Pepsi? This is what you firmly believe.
Last edited by maj. tom on October 12th, 2014, 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 12th, 2014, 12:24 am

maj. tom wrote:Once again, no one is ever going to argue with the 1st law of thermodynamics. It is true and will always be true. If you expend more than you intake, you will lose weight. You will lose muscle mass and fat, depending on the macro nutrient deficit.

Two things though. Who the hell is going on a diet of twinkies to lose weight? How long will one sustain this "diet"? No, what I am asking here is about lifestyle over 20-30 years. Just because it "worked" for him means it should work for the other 2 billion people right? What that man did was a case study, not a clinical experiment. And good for him that we once again see that the 1st law of thermodynamics will never be broken.

2nd, is that person healthier because he has lost weight eating twinkies? What we are really concerned with here is metabolic syndrome and insulin resistance. Obesity is merely a symptom of these issues. Please try to understand this is what I am trying to get across in this thread.

I understand what you saying but I disagree with assuming one has to eat twinkies for this to work or be sustainable. Twinkies were merely the objects to put the point across. The diet becomes sustainable by replacing twinkles with whatever you want once you don't exceed what you need. Whether it's a low carb object or one that is considered "unhealthy". We are both advocating a lifestyle change. Yours focuses on the types of foods while mine says watch your portion sizes.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 12th, 2014, 12:28 am

Basically we saying quality is more important for health than quantity

Postby maj. tom » October 12th, 2014, 12:40 am

But suppose you go about eating "healthy" foods all your life and then... You get a lipid profile done and find your cholesterol high. Your VLDL small particles high. Your HDL to TGA ratios off the scale? You do an MRI and find massive amounts of visceral fat around your heart and liver. You would have never imagined because you have been eating all these low fat stuff and is good for your heart. Lots of Canola oil. No animal fat. No cheese. No Butter. No bacon! And now... what.....how the hell are you so sick?!

And this is what has happened over the last 40 years. Also increased cases of mental diseases. Strokes. Cancer. The whole works. The statistics. The correlations.

I am telling you that you can eat as much fat as you want and you will never get fat. Believe it or not. Carbs make you fat. Case study of n=1, myself, as well as 10 years of medical research by said doctors before. Dr. Tim Noakes was just like you and I once. Star marathon runner. Wrote a book on how fat was bad and athletes should eat high carbs and grains. This man was big on the running scene. International level. Portions. Health Foods. Exercise. Gym. He got Type II diabetes.

In 2013 he officially retracted his statements. Why? Scientific research. This is the beauty of science. There was a problem. He did research. Created an "absurd" hypothesis. Tested it. Got results. Repeated experiments on many, many subjects. Same surprising results. A scientist should be able to breach conventional "wisdom" when there is obviously something wrong with the results and test his hypothesis.

All I am asking you to do is just open your mind to a new idea that may seem completely ridiculous. Let it sit in your mind for years. Something is wrong with our current diet and exercise model. Look at the world. That's all.

Postby maj. tom » October 12th, 2014, 1:27 am

How do animals in the wild not get fat?

Eat less, exercise more?

Why do some animals in zoos get fat? Less exercise? Gorillas getting cancer at zoos.

Since when did cats need all these nutrients and vitamins and grain found in pet foods today? Lions eat Alpo on the Serengeti eh? Dem does eat grind up corn meal mixed with all the vitamins and minerals and meat flavor they need. Hmm.

Have you ever observed the incidence of disease and obesity in domesticated animals? Cats are closer to feral than domesticated like dogs though. Have you ever looked at a stray dog at Manzanilla beach compared to one on Charlotte St. ? (fish consumption, observe fur health).

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 12th, 2014, 5:27 am

Now mash een a butter and cheese with rotee

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2014, 6:44 am

eat little live long

Postby Trini Hookah » October 12th, 2014, 10:13 am

There's a woman and her family that lived a year without sugar, she said when the year was up they despised the taste of sodas and snacks.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 12th, 2014, 1:43 pm

Sugar is like a pair of darkers on a bright day.

If you wearing darkers all your life you thinking that everything looking normal, but the day you take it off everything is overwhelmingly bright. Just like when you stop eating sugar a lot of things become a lot less palatable like coffee or cocoa for example.

However, after a few weeks your eyes will adjust to the new level of brightness and you will be able to see things how they are supposed to be seen. Just like after laying off the sugar you start to taste all of the tastes that the sugar covered up. You could actually tell the difference between a good cup of coffee and a crappy one. The bitterness in beer doesn't bother you nearly as much and you are able to taste all of the undertones beneath.

That's my experience. I still enjoy sweet stuff at birthdays and thing but I can't eat nearly as much as I used to.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 12th, 2014, 4:20 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Why blame sugar? Reduce your portions and you will lose weight. Whether there is sugar in it or not. If you lose 15 to 20 lbs in two weeks you probably were overeating anyway or you severely starved yourself.

Sugar short circuits the feedback mechanism that tells the brain when you have eaten enough. Because of this you continue to eat larger and larger portions in order to reach that cut-off point. So elliminating sugar from your diet can restore this feedback mechanism.

Sugar is also made up of sucrose (fructose and glucose). Glucose is the only sugar that can be utilised directly by cells all other sugars must be metabolised. The liver can handle only a 1-2 grams of sugar per day....excess fructose gets converted into fat which is stored in the liver tissue which can lead to cirrohsis and liver damage over time, damage to arteries and blood vessels and damage to other major organs. Sugar has absolutely no value for the body since glucose can be obtained from fruit and starchy plants.

If you want more convincing take a look at the youtube video titled " Sugar: The Bitter Truth". This alone should be enough to convince anyone to stop eating sugar and other types of sweeteners. If you drink a 20oz soft drink everyday or every other day you are well on your way to an early death.

Note .... sugar produces long term damage. Sugar consumption sky-rocketed in the 60s and 70s this is why we are now seeing the effects of it 30 and 40 years down the road with epidemic rates of cardiovascular related diseases, diabetes and even cancer. The baby-boom and generation X will be the first generations to NOT outlive their previous generation.

Simply put ... sugar has been killing us slowly but we were concentrating on the wrong things such as fat and cholesterol. Notice despite years of actively promoting fat and cholesterol reduction, heart disease and diabetes continue to soar.

Persons who have given up sugar have seen reduction and in some cases complete reversal of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, allergies, asthma, dementia, alzheimers and many other afflictions all by just eliminating sugar from their diets. In fact going back on sugar will make them physically sick ... sure sign of a toxin.

I say all this to say that while reducing fat and cholesterol intake is important the biggest and most significant change you can quickly make to improve your health is to stop consuming sugar.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2014, 11:53 am

"Sugar - A bitter truth" is a documentary that is on par with Al Gore's "An inconvenient truth". It is definitely worth the watch.

But that last point about fat is not entirely true. Read "Why we get fat and what we can do about it". It shows that our bodies are meant to use fat as the primary energy source and it has loads of data to back it up.

Long story short, you body can't burn carbs and fat at the same time under normal operating conditions. Cut out the carb fuel and your body will switch to burning fat (which it is surprisingly very well adapted to do). That if you eat a caloric deficit on a very low carb diet, your body starts burning residual fat instead of other tissues.

Postby A172 » October 13th, 2014, 12:09 pm

tuner sure hv some shredded sikkunts with all this here knowledge

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 13th, 2014, 2:22 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Sugar is like a pair of darkers on a bright day.

If you wearing darkers all your life you thinking that everything looking normal, but the day you take it off everything is overwhelmingly bright. Just like when you stop eating sugar a lot of things become a lot less palatable like coffee or cocoa for example.

However, after a few weeks your eyes will adjust to the new level of brightness and you will be able to see things how they are supposed to be seen. Just like after laying off the sugar you start to taste all of the tastes that the sugar covered up. You could actually tell the difference between a good cup of coffee and a crappy one. The bitterness in beer doesn't bother you nearly as much and you are able to taste all of the undertones beneath.

That's my experience. I still enjoy sweet stuff at birthdays and thing but I can't eat nearly as much as I used to.

Excellent analogy. The same goes for salt. If you stop adding salt to your food you will actually begin to taste the food instead of food covered up by salt. Note.....the food industry uses salt and sugar as a 1-2 punch e.g. salt in burgers and fries and a sweetened soft drink .... you go from one to the next each one intensifying the craving for the other. The fast food industry has done extensive research into this and develops meal combos to work with this to ensure their customers crave and continue to consume unhealthy (deadly) quantities of both salt and sugar.

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2014, 10:04 am

http://www.mensjournal.com/health-fitness/nutrition/why-experts-now-think-you-should-eat-more-fat-20141020

Here's an important excerpt from the article from Dr. Jeff Volek:

...How a fatty pork chop can trump pasta begins with the fact that our bodies don't process calories from fat, protein, and carbohydrates in the same way. "When we eat carbs, they break down into sugar in the blood; that's true of whole grains, too, though to a lesser extent," says Jeff Volek, a leading low-carb researcher at Ohio State University. The body responds with the hormone insulin, which converts the extra blood sugar into fatty acids stored in the body fat around our middles. Our blood sugar then falls, and that body fat releases the fatty acids to burn as fuel. But carb-heavy diets keep insulin so high that those fatty acids aren't released, Volek says. The body continues to shuttle sugar into our fat cells – packing on the pounds – but we never burn it. Dietary fat, meanwhile, is the only macronutrient that has no effect on insulin or blood sugar. "This means it's likely excessive carbs, not fat, that plump us up," he adds. Low-carb diets stop that vicious cycle, keeping insulin levels low enough to force the body to burn fat again...

Postby Bizzare » October 23rd, 2014, 4:21 pm

losing weight really this complicated? Kublalsingh eh teach allyuh nuttin?

Postby maj. tom » November 17th, 2014, 11:58 am

Sweden Becomes First Western Nation to Reject Low-fat Diet Dogma in Favor of Low-carb High-fat Nutrition

November 17, 2014
Brian Shilhavy
Health Impact News Editor

Sweden has become the first Western nation to develop national dietary guidelines that reject the popular low-fat diet dogma in favor of low-carb high-fat nutrition advice.

The switch in dietary advice followed the publication of a two-year study by the independent Swedish Council on Health Technology Assessment. The committee reviewed 16,000 studies published through May 31, 2013.

Swedish doctor, Andreas Eenfeldt, who runs the most popular health blog in Scandinavia (DietDoctor.com) published some of the highlights of this study in English:

Health markers will improve on a low-carbohydrate diet:

…a greater increase in HDL cholesterol (“the good cholesterol”) without having any adverse affects on LDL cholesterol (“the bad cholesterol”). This applies to both the moderate low-carbohydrate intake of less than 40 percent of the total energy intake, as well as to the stricter low-carbohydrate diet, where carbohydrate intake is less than 20 percent of the total energy intake. In addition, the stricter low-carbohydrate diet will lead to improved glucose levels for individuals with obesity and diabetes, and to marginally decreased levels of triglycerides.” (Source.)

Dr. Eenfeldt also translated an article from a local Swedish newspaper covering the committee’s findings:

Butter, olive oil, heavy cream, and bacon are not harmful foods. Quite the opposite. Fat is the best thing for those who want to lose weight. And there are no connections between a high fat intake and cardiovascular disease.

On Monday, SBU, the Swedish Council on Health Technology Assessment, dropped a bombshell. After a two-year long inquiry, reviewing 16,000 studies, the report “Dietary Treatment for Obesity” upends the conventional dietary guidelines for obese or diabetic people.

For a long time, the health care system has given the public advice to avoid fat, saturated fat in particular, and calories. A low-carb diet (LCHF – Low Carb High Fat, is actually a Swedish “invention”) has been dismissed as harmful, a humbug and as being a fad diet lacking any scientific basis.

Instead, the health care system has urged diabetics to eat a lot of fruit (=sugar) and low-fat products with considerable amounts of sugar or artificial sweeteners, the latter a dangerous trigger for the sugar-addicted person.

This report turns the current concepts upside down and advocates a low-carbohydrate, high-fat diet, as the most effective weapon against obesity.

The expert committee consisted of ten physicians, and several of them were skeptics to low-carbohydrate diets at the beginning of the investigation. (Source.)

One of the committee members was Prof. Fredrik Nyström, from Linköping, Sweden – a long-time critic of the low-fat diet and a proponent of the benefits of saturated fat, from sources such as butter, full fat cream, and bacon. Some quotes from Prof. Nyström translated into English from Dr. Eenfeldt:

“I’ve been working with this for so long. It feels great to have this scientific report, and that the skepticism towards low-carb diets among my colleagues has disappeared during the course of the work. When all recent scientific studies are lined up the result is indisputable: our deep-seated fear of fat is completely unfounded. You don’t get fat from fatty foods, just as you don’t get atherosclerosis from calcium or turn green from green vegetables.”

Nyström has long advocated a greatly reduced intake of carbohydrate-rich foods high in sugar and starch, in order to achieve healthy levels of insulin, blood lipids and the good cholesterol. This means doing away with sugar, potatoes, pasta, rice, wheat flour, bread, and embracing olive oil, nuts, butter, full fat cream, oily fish and fattier meat cuts. “If you eat potatoes you might as well eat candy. Potatoes contain glucose units in a chain, which is converted to sugar in the GI tract. Such a diet causes blood sugar, and then the hormone insulin, to skyrocket.”

There are many mantras we have been taught to accept as truths:

“Calories are calories, no matter where they come from.”

“It’s all about the balance between calories in and calories out.”

“People are fat because they don’t move enough.”

“Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.”

Of course these are not true. This kind of nonsense has people with weight problems feeling bad about themselves. As if it were all about their inferior character. For many people a greater intake of fat means that you’ll feel satiated, stay so longer, and have less of a need to eat every five minutes. On the other hand, you won’t feel satiated after drinking a Coke, or after eating almost fat free, low-fat fruit yogurt loaded with sugar. Sure, exercise is great in many ways, but what really affects weight is diet.”

Article continues at:

http://healthimpactnews.com/2013/sweden-becomes-first-western-nation-to-reject-low-fat-diet-dogma-in-favor-of-low-carb-high-fat-nutrition/

As cited in the article, the current standard western medicine treatment for someone with T2 Diabetes, a disorder of glucose metabolism/insulin resistance disease is to eat less fat but more sugar. Yeah THAT makes sense. :roll:

I hope that the people here on tuner and locally who are reading the things that I post are picking up on all these concepts and will apply it sometime because you want to get healthier and stop further damaging your body with sugar. Yes, it has been shown that those of you with Type II Diabetes can be off diabetes medications and insulin injections within a month if you follow the ketogenic or other well formulated high fat/low carb diet. Google will help you find hundreds of these cases and lectures.

John Yudkin was right all this time. Ancel Keys was an unscientific unscrupulous manipulator!

Disclaimer: The things posted on these Trinituner forums are not medical advice. You do these things at your own risk. There are understandable risks involved with everything involving medicine. There are increased risks with high fat/low carb diet if you have suffered from a heart attack already. If you decide to embark on high fat/low carb, make sure you do it right or else you will get sick(er). The types of dietary fat one eats are select and very important. Consult your doctor for proper medical advice.

Postby maj. tom » November 17th, 2014, 1:12 pm

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 18th, 2014, 10:42 am

maj. tom wrote:Sweden...

Postby DFC » November 18th, 2014, 11:06 am

This whole new wave of fat acceptance is becoming ridiculous. Now you cant call people fat.

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2015, 7:54 pm

Old cholesterol warnings steeped in 'soft science,' may be lifted in U.S.
By Aleksandra Sagan, CBC News Posted: Feb 11, 2015 7:28 PM ET Last Updated: Feb 12, 2015 12:07 PM ET

For decades, health organizations and governments have encouraged people to limit how much fatty foods they eat. Now, it looks like the U.S. government is slowly retreating from its low-fat diet crusade to realign its views with modern science.

Every five years, the U.S. government issues updated dietary guidelines and will release new ones this year. In a preliminary report in December, an advisory panel said dietary cholesterol is no longer "considered a nutrient of concern for over-consumption," and that finding is expected to be part of its new guidelines, which are expected shortly.

The last set of guidelines, issued in 2010, instructed people not to consume more than 300 milligrams of dietary cholesterol daily.

Dietary cholesterol comes only from animal products — like eggs, dairy, fish and meat. But the body also makes cholesterol, a waxy substance that can clog arteries, from certain types of fat and the health concerns about ingesting too much saturated and trans fats in particular are still in place.

Under the old guidelines, a large egg has 186 mg, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Add two slices of cheddar cheese and two tablespoons of salted butter to that and you've surpassed the daily limit.

However, despite setting clear limits on dietary cholesterol in 2010, the U.S. backed away from doing the same for total fat consumption.

Previous reports had included a maximum percentage of a person's daily calories that should come from fats.

'Soft science' sparked low-fat policies

This slow tip-toeing away from the glorified low-fat diet, by eliminating maximum cholesterol and fat intake recommendations, points to "the overall soft science that has been behind our nutrition policies for so many decades," says Nina Teicholz, author of The Big Fat Surprise: Why butter, meat & cheese belong in a healthy diet.

The low-fat trend all started with a persuasive physiologist in the mid-1900s by the name of Ancel Keys, many nutritionists say. Legend paints him as the kind of man who could convince anyone of anything.

In the midst of America's rising panic about heart disease, which was suddenly killing large numbers of men — even then president Dwight Eisenhower suffered a heart attack that sidelined him for several days — Keys became determined to prove that fat and cholesterol consumption were at the root of the problem.

He secured funding for an epic Seven Countries Study that surveyed 12,000 men and their dietary habits to show that countries with high-fat diets had more cases of high cholesterol levels and heart attack deaths.

Keys's study was highly flawed and ignored some contradictory research, Teicholz says. Regardless, his findings showed a link between high-fat diets and poor health, and in 1961, he convinced the American Heart Association to recommend Americans eat less fatty foods.

"The American Heart Association guideline is what was the little, tiny acorn that grew into the giant oak tree of recommendations we have today," says Teicholz. "And it became dogma."

The U.S. government issued its first low-fat diet recommendation in the 1980s.

Low-fat diets 'useless'

Those policies prompted Americans — and others, like Canadians, whose governments were using the same findings to promote low-fat meals — to load up on carbohydrates.

In 1992, the U.S. Department of Agriculture released a food pyramid that showed how much of each food group people should eat daily. Bread, cereal, rice and pasta claimed the largest spot at the bottom with six to 11 recommended servings.

"So, it was get rid of meat, butter, dairy, cheese, eggs and switch over to pasta, grains, rice, potatoes — and those are all carbs," says Teicholz.

Over the next 35 years, Americans started eating about 25 per cent more carbohydrates than they did before, she says.

Recent scientific research, as well as previously ignored research that has since been re-examined, shows little support that a low-fat diet is healthier.Unfortunately, it turns out that carbohydrates are uniquely fattening, she says, because they skyrocket a person's blood sugar temporarily and when it plummets, they're hungry again.

Clinical trial evidence shows a low-fat diet is "at best useless" at preventing obesity, diabetes, cancer and heart disease, says Teicholz, "and at worst, possibly provoking them."

Bad versus good fats

Recent studies have shown a diet that restricts carbohydrates is more effective in fighting obesity, controlling diabetes and managing heart disease, she says.

The U.S. government seems to be following this shift in thinking. The U.S. Department of Agriculture replaced the carbohydrate-heavy pyramid in April 2005 with MyPyramid, which suggested adults consume at least three ounces of whole grains each day. The U.S. dietary guidelines no longer include daily fat intake maximums and may soon eliminate suggesting a maximum intake for dietary cholesterol, too.

"We know fat is essential. Fat is important in the diet," says Cara Rosenbloom, a registered dietitian. "We just have to make sure we're eating the right fats."

There are many different kinds of fats, but man-made trans fat is "the number one bad fat," she says. It's found in processed foods like baked goods or snack foods, and is often labelled as partially hydrogenated oil or hydrogenated oil.

She encourages people to stay away from trans fat, but include good fats in their diet by eating more whole foods. Then they'll naturally consume good fats, including:

Olive oil or oils derived from nuts and seeds.
Fatty fish, like salmon, mackerel, rainbow trout, sardines or tuna.
Nuts and seeds.

"It's kind of getting back to basics," she says of eating more natural and less packaged foods. "Then the type of fat naturally just works out to be better for you. There is no trans fat in a diet that's like that. There's no hydrogenated fat in a diet that's like that."

http://www.cbc.ca/news/health/old-cholesterol-warnings-steeped-in-soft-science-may-be-lifted-in-u-s-1.2953462

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 12th, 2015, 8:25 pm

I does wonder when an obese person dies... if they bury, dais rel oil going in the ground,, it wud be bad for organisms but imagine the high octane fuels it would produce in a couple million years

Postby shogun » February 12th, 2015, 9:07 pm

Conrad wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Sweden...

Good video, wrong thread.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 12th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Oh lawd! They tip over to the other end now.

Carbs are not bad!

People just need to learn how to control themselves. The relatively easy access to food in our society has made us into fat, blaming slobs that follow the latest trend.

Carbs are good
Fats are good

Yes, some processed food are relatively bad...especially in excess.

Want to not become a fat lard bucket, reduce calories, get a well proportioned diet and get off the office chair and go live life outside of TV sitcoms.

You can get fat on fruits and ground provision.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 12th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Not sure if repost

An initiative that might work here is something like Dubai's "Your weight in gold"

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 12th, 2015, 10:23 pm

fouljuice wrote:Not sure if repost

An initiative that might work here is something like Dubai's "Your weight in gold"

Weight loss = Healthy?

Good post BTW.

Postby maj. tom » April 23rd, 2015, 9:25 am

Take a read all you very cool dietary broscientists on Trinituner.

http://www.bbc.com/news/health-32417699

Physical activity has little role in tackling obesity - and instead public health messages should squarely focus on unhealthy eating, doctors say.

In an editorial in the British Journal of Sports Medicine, three international experts said it was time to "bust the myth" about exercise.

They said while activity was a key part of staving off diseases such as diabetes, heart disease and dementia, its impact on obesity was minimal.
Instead excess sugar and carbohydrates were key.

The experts, including London cardiologist Dr Aseem Malhotra, blamed the food industry for encouraging the belief that exercise could counteract the impact of unhealthy eating.

They even likened their tactics as "chillingly similar" to those of Big Tobacco on smoking and said celebratory endorsements of sugary drinks and the association of junk food and sport must end.
They said there was evidence that up to 40% of those within a normal weight range will still harbour harmful metabolic abnormalities typically associated with obesity.

But despite this public health messaging had "unhelpfully" focused on maintaining a healthy weight through calorie counting when it was the source of calories that mattered most - research has shown that diabetes increases 11-fold for every 150 additional sugar calories consumed compared to fat calories.

And they pointed to evidence from the Lancet global burden of disease programme which shows that unhealthy eating was linked to more ill health than physical activity, alcohol and smoking combined.

'Unscientific'

Dr Malhotra said: "An obese person does not need to do one iota of exercise to lose weight, they just need to eat less. My biggest concern is that the messaging that is coming to the public suggests you can eat what you like as long as you exercise.

"That is unscientific and wrong. You cannot outrun a bad diet."
But others said it was risky to play down the role of exercise. Prof Mark Baker, of the National Institute of Health and Care Excellence, which recommends "well-balanced diets combined with physical activity", said it would be "idiotic" to rule out the importance of physical activity.
Ian Wright, director general at Food and Drink Federation, said: "The benefits of physical activity aren't food industry hype or conspiracy, as suggested. A healthy lifestyle will include both a balanced diet and exercise."

He said the industry was encouraging a balanced diet by voluntarily providing clear on-pack nutrition information and offering products with extra nutrients and less salt, sugar and fat.
"This article appears to undermine the origins of the evidence-based government public health advice, which must surely be confusing for consumers," he said.

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2015, 10:04 am

I did try something last year. I derived it from the show naked and afraid.

Eat less, and make sure no sugar from manmade sources.
I lost a lot of weight, after a month it just fell off.

But it needed to be a permanent change in eating habbits, because my deep freeze spoil and had no way to keep the steaks I was eating.