Android TV Box Thread

Re: Android Tv Box

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2015, 2:21 pm

killercow wrote:
searchingone wrote:What minimum internet speed you guys find work comfortably for using kodi without a problem?
I upgraded from 2MB to 5MB (Blink)....to be honest the improvement wasn't that significant. There is buffering sometimes still on medium quality streams.

Dan I have a Flow 30Mbps package and still sometimes I does get lag
(for HD/720p/1080p only though).
I'm guessing a 50Mbps package will suffice?
increasing speed won't help if the host can't support the speed.

some servers just not as good as others. Also Flow has cache servers for YouTube and Google, and I think for Netflix, if not soon, so those sites will seem to stream full 1080p or even 4K perfectly with a 5Mb or 10Mb connection if not slower.

I have a 150Mb connection and some of those live streams on Kodi still stick and buffer and show compressed and blocky.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 1st, 2015, 7:39 pm

Having difficulty projecting Kodi on a second display. Not seeing any option for full screen on a secondary monitor or anything.. Anyone could help?

Online Android Companion

Postby Online Android Companion » September 1st, 2015, 8:01 pm

killercow wrote:
Online Android Companion wrote:Watch local tv channels on your android tv box for any country..

Phoenix/crusader88/international channels/choose country

These streams work just like watching the channels online direct on the website.
For example, you'll only get TV6 from 6am-8am and 6pm-8pm.
Other stations are like this as well.

The difference is that the channels for most countries are in one place, so you don't have to search for multiple websites.

Online Android Companion

Postby Online Android Companion » September 1st, 2015, 8:11 pm

killercow wrote:
searchingone wrote:What minimum internet speed you guys find work comfortably for using kodi without a problem?
I upgraded from 2MB to 5MB (Blink)....to be honest the improvement wasn't that significant. There is buffering sometimes still on medium quality streams.

Dan I have a Flow 30Mbps package and still sometimes I does get lag
(for HD/720p/1080p only though).
I'm guessing a 50Mbps package will suffice?
increasing speed won't help if the host can't support the speed.

some servers just not as good as others. Also Flow has cache servers for YouTube and Google, and I think for Netflix, if not soon, so those sites will seem to stream full 1080p or even 4K perfectly with a 5Mb or 10Mb connection if not slower.

I have a 150Mb connection and some of those live streams on Kodi still stick and buffer and show compressed and blocky.

I agree!

Increasing speed won't help, once you got a minimum of 12mbps you would be good. If however, you are getting the buffering issue, it can be clean up with, Shadow Build, find and install the repo and run the addon. I cleaned up the following models MX111, M8, MX and MXQ and they are holding up nice with kodi 15.1.

PLEASE be careful not to erase your entire system.

-Android

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » September 2nd, 2015, 1:14 am

Duane, the airmouse I use is some unknown brand but works real best on both Windows or Android:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2015, 1:29 am

Thanks - I'll look into this.

I've setup my Harmony Ultimate Home remote with the Android Box and it's working great, except I can see the need for a keyboard, not so much for a mouse though.

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » September 2nd, 2015, 1:39 am

Specifically mine is the Mele F10 PRO. U just point ur screen and click or type. It will work in harmony with ur Harmony too.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 2nd, 2015, 3:12 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Having difficulty projecting Kodi on a second display. Not seeing any option for full screen on a secondary monitor or anything.. Anyone could help?

Anybody ?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 2nd, 2015, 3:18 pm

Only Kodi you having this problem with, scotty?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 2nd, 2015, 3:20 pm

See if this helps

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 2nd, 2015, 3:27 pm

Yup. Everything else works fine with extending display. VLC. Air play / HDMI.
But with Kodi, it crashes most of the time.
I managed to get it on the second display one or two times but only as windowed, not full screen.
The crashes consistently real annoying though. Like most times it would crash as soon as starting if I have my display extended from before. Using Isengard 15.1 on MacOSX Yosemite.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 2nd, 2015, 3:30 pm

Works ok with display mirroring though. But that kinda doh make sense

scotty_buttons

Android Tv Box

Postby scotty_buttons » September 2nd, 2015, 3:38 pm

searchingone wrote:See if this helps

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1LeMXNCBMzY

Yeah can't even reach that option since Kodi keeps crashing. Either almost right after I launch or while loaded PVR channels. Tried reinstalling and restarting several times. No difference. Real trying to avoid a clean install cuz I'll have to add my sources and settings all over again manually :(

simplec

Postby simplec » September 3rd, 2015, 9:35 am

These are what i use as apps all are USA base subscription :shock:

simplec

Postby simplec » September 3rd, 2015, 5:39 pm

Postby gastly369 » September 3rd, 2015, 5:40 pm

Yeh bro link Meh with ah lil info in PM nuh

Online Android Companion

Postby Online Android Companion » September 3rd, 2015, 9:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:looking for a way to watch the MTV VMAs from last night on Kodi

It's on kodi now phoenix.......

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 3rd, 2015, 9:29 pm

yeah I got it on the newsgroups a few days ago - thanks!

Online Android Companion

Postby Online Android Companion » September 3rd, 2015, 9:44 pm

M-Tech wrote:Duane, the airmouse I use is some unknown brand but works real best on both Windows or Android:

air mouse.JPG
air mouse.JPG (37.84 KiB) Viewed 14786 times

I use these air mouse, it fits in your hands comfortably.......(the touch pad mouse is in the middle area)

simplec

Postby simplec » September 4th, 2015, 11:21 am

what the price on these @Online Android Companion

thatlife

Postby thatlife » September 7th, 2015, 11:22 am

is there an app to watch local TV stations?

I heard someone saying that they can see TV6, CNC3, etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2015, 1:13 pm

thatlife wrote:is there an app to watch local TV stations?

I heard someone saying that they can see TV6, CNC3, etc
I get local stations TV6, CNC3 etc on my android box by installing Phoenix.

Open Phoenix, go to Crusader88 > International Channels > Trinidad & Tobago >

They have CNMG, CNC3, Gayelle and TV6

they only stream during news time though

Postby Country_Bookie » September 7th, 2015, 1:25 pm

It have another app called an antenna that does stream dem local channels all day. No subscriptions either, just a one time purchase!

thatlife

Postby thatlife » September 7th, 2015, 2:00 pm

^ thanks guys!

droggy_ba

Postby droggy_ba » September 14th, 2015, 1:39 pm

I just got one a few days ago. It works pretty well so far. Still getting familiar with how to use it, but I have a fair idea so far. A lil YouTube and Google and yuh would learn it in no time. You would need to get an air mouse or a wireless keyboard/mouse because the remote is pure sheit. It is a good replacement for cable. From reviews I've read this is one of the better android tv boxes.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 14th, 2015, 3:49 pm

What advantages do these Android tv boxes offer in comparison to a simple Amazon Fire TV stick with Kodi install?

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » September 14th, 2015, 6:23 pm

Iv'e got a new android box ........1,400.........

telfer

Postby telfer » September 14th, 2015, 6:54 pm

What brand and u have pics

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » September 14th, 2015, 7:12 pm

MX111......with an air controller........I also had it tuned...

mx3.jpg
mx3.jpg (17.81 KiB) Viewed 14513 times

telfer

Postby telfer » September 14th, 2015, 7:15 pm

What's the least Internet connection