Happy Birthday UML

rodfarva

Re: Nizam fired!!!

Postby rodfarva » April 5th, 2011, 1:25 pm

Scene
I agree to an extent. I have no problem with facts. If a factual statement offends me, then its MY problem, not the person who made the statement.

But I think its wrong to assume that people would feel uncomfortable or unsafe because of the racial composition of the Police Force.

I only replied based on
5onDfloor wrote:so u are saying Pres Max and all of us are mad rite?
So why the PM office dissassociated themselves?
Why Anil & Jack call for him to resign?

Postby RBphoto » April 5th, 2011, 1:52 pm

Wagon, I see friends. It is a fact that there are racial differences in Trinidad, and there are people who are racially biased.

Nizam got a letter of a complaint to the COP, and not from just anyone, but from president of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service Social and Welfare Association. In adressing the concerns of Rammesar, it is unclear how much he was reading from the letter and how much was him stating what he felt.

He ventured that they should get to the root cause and fix the percieved imballance. I would assume that he did a head count (don't ask me how he categorized race, is either you African or Indian, white or chineese, and if you have 1% african, you are African as far as most people concerned). He stated that there are senior officers writing exams and since that is based on merit, instead of selection based on seniority, you may get a better mix of races, rather than just skewed towards those with seniority or there might be less chance for those with a racial agenda to interfere with the process.

He also stated that the confidence of the Indian population in the police service may be eroded with the percieved inballance.

If you put aside emotion when reading something and get to the root of the matter dispassionately (as Nizam himself suggested) you will be hard pressed to blow something like his statements into a racial fiasco. What if they got to the root cause and they found out that people of African decent just send in more applications for senior positions, and the acceptance rate for Indians and Africans is the same, so the stats are skewed by just the sheer number of applications, won't the "PERCEPTON" of racial inballance be dispelled even though there is a disproportionate representation of the ethnic distribution of the population?

I don't agree totally with Nizam, however, as I find proportional representation stupid. I never saw anyone do a study to see if Beetham scavengers represent a fair mix of the population, or if they need to send more Indians to live in the Beetham. Unfortunatey, an inballance in ethnic composition will raise questions of racial bias in the selection process, so if they have to investigate I say go ahead, and solve the chicken / egg situation.

I see no reason to remove Nizam based on his satements.

Probably because I have no problems with racial labels I can step back from the situation and comment from afar. I am mixed, married to a mixed woman, so I really don't care one way or another, though I would be lumped with the Indo Trinidadian category if you ever saw me.

Cheers CD.

Postby zoom rader » April 5th, 2011, 2:29 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Wagon, I see friends. It is a fact that there are racial differences in Trinidad, and there are people who are racially biased.

Nizam got a letter of a complaint to the COP, and not from just anyone, but from president of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service Social and Welfare Association. In adressing the concerns of Rammesar, it is unclear how much he was reading from the letter and how much was him stating what he felt.

He ventured that they should get to the root cause and fix the percieved imballance. I would assume that he did a head count (don't ask me how he categorized race, is either you African or Indian, white or chineese, and if you have 1% african, you are African as far as most people concerned). He stated that there are senior officers writing exams and since that is based on merit, instead of selection based on seniority, you may get a better mix of races, rather than just skewed towards those with seniority or there might be less chance for those with a racial agenda to interfere with the process.

He also stated that the confidence of the Indian population in the police service may be eroded with the percieved inballance.

If you put aside emotion when reading something and get to the root of the matter dispassionately (as Nizam himself suggested) you will be hard pressed to blow something like his statements into a racial fiasco. What if they got to the root cause and they found out that people of African decent just send in more applications for senior positions, and the acceptance rate for Indians and Africans is the same, so the stats are skewed by just the sheer number of applications, won't the "PERCEPTON" of racial inballance be dispelled even though there is a disproportionate representation of the ethnic distribution of the population?

I don't agree totally with Nizam, however, as I find proportional representation stupid. I never saw anyone do a study to see if Beetham scavengers represent a fair mix of the population, or if they need to send more Indians to live in the Beetham. Unfortunatey, an inballance in ethnic composition will raise questions of racial bias in the selection process, so if they have to investigate I say go ahead, and solve the chicken / egg situation.

I see no reason to remove Nizam based on his satements.

Probably because I have no problems with racial labels I can step back from the situation and comment from afar. I am mixed, married to a mixed woman, so I really don't care one way or another, though I would be lumped with the Indo Trinidadian category if you ever saw me.

Cheers CD.

Dude people here dont want to face the truth, they evade the truth to name calling and silly jokes.People dont agree with Nizam becuase you not suppose speak agianst the methods used to employ persons in the forces.They perfer the old way of doing things and this has lead to a failed police force.
As for the Beetham scavengers , one only has to take a look at the Indo scavengers at the Forrest Park dump

Humes

Postby Humes » April 5th, 2011, 4:38 pm

16 pages.

Postby Bizzare » April 5th, 2011, 4:57 pm

Just posting to say that I was here. Don't have enough political jargons in my vocabulary to contribute. Sorry.

Postby shogun » April 5th, 2011, 5:54 pm

^lol.

Prakash removes Anil

Postby UML » April 1st, 2012, 3:11 am

April Fool's

shady23

Re: Prakash removes Anil

Postby shady23 » April 1st, 2012, 6:33 am

Yawn..

Postby ronsin1 » April 1st, 2012, 6:42 am

UML is rally Trinidad yuh think people have time with your antics

Postby Rooki3 » April 1st, 2012, 7:01 am

UML needs a reminder of his high school days

Postby ismithx » April 1st, 2012, 8:00 am

woi, the last ferrari looking sweet!

Postby Rainman » April 1st, 2012, 8:02 am

Happy birthday uml

Prakash removes Anil

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 1st, 2012, 8:50 am

Yup Happy Birthday UML!!!

Postby janfar » April 1st, 2012, 8:57 am

Happy drop day UML

Postby AllTrac » April 1st, 2012, 9:20 am

Rooki3 wrote:UML needs a reminder of his high school days

Postby UML » April 1st, 2012, 9:29 am

ronsin1 wrote:UML is rally Trinidad yuh think people have time with your antics

apparently u do

allyuh like too much bachannal :mrgreen:

Rainman wrote:Happy birthday uml

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 1st, 2012, 10:06 am

to be honest you got me......read the topic and was wdmc wrong with fkn prakash!!!!

I so naive.....back to sweeping house.

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » April 1st, 2012, 8:36 pm

uml, yuh want a comforter in yuh mouth & ah rub belly,so yuh could fall asleep or wah. stop that assjack sheit & grow up :lol: :lol: .

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » April 1st, 2012, 8:44 pm

Postby rfari » April 1st, 2012, 9:03 pm

Error: Bellars cannot be administered during a school vacation period. Please try again in two weeks' time. Sorry for the inconvenience.

:x

Postby Stephon. » April 1st, 2012, 9:10 pm

rfari wrote:
Error: Bellars cannot be administered during a school vacation period. Please try again in two weeks' time. Sorry for the inconvenience.

LMFAOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

neoise

Postby neoise » April 1st, 2012, 9:12 pm

Riiiiiiight ...... +1

Postby S_2NR » April 1st, 2012, 9:15 pm

rfari wrote:

Postby Mark! » April 1st, 2012, 9:15 pm

tmrw please come

Postby BrotherHood » April 1st, 2012, 11:57 pm

I'm laughing at myself. I got caught.

UML's Birthday Thread (formerly Jack sacked!!!!)

Postby UML » March 31st, 2013, 11:59 pm

April Fools Fool!! 0X

....it was either dis or Manning dead :mrgreen:

* don't forget to :bump: it up to fool others :wink:
Last edited by UML on April 1st, 2013, 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Jack sacked!!!!!!

Postby sharkman121 » April 1st, 2013, 12:02 am

yr life must suck...

Re: Jack sacked!!!!!!

Postby nervewrecker » April 1st, 2013, 12:04 am

Bellarz?