Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2016, 11:03 pm

DVSTT wrote:

Gambling people protesting.

This is the tip of the iceberg.... the society is boiling and ready to explode. The Red and Ready supporters would be in the front line just now to run these vampires out.

Re: RE: Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby S_2NR » April 8th, 2016, 11:10 pm

ingalook wrote:
pugboy wrote:Skybox companies will probably introduce an "invoicing" service where they will makeover an invoice
From Amazon to some other name and imaginary address

Get those thoughts out of your head - it is a tax on your Credit Card BILL!

Also - since the government now has a copy of your credit card Bill - remember how you used to "gift" and under-invoice your skybox purchases? - That's going to be mighty difficult when government knows what you bought, when you bought it, and exactly how much you PAID :shock:

The day this happens I am never buying anything online again. Will wait till I travel.
Stupid pnm

Postby DVSTT » April 8th, 2016, 11:24 pm

S_2NR wrote:
ingalook wrote:
pugboy wrote:Skybox companies will probably introduce an "invoicing" service where they will makeover an invoice

Also - since the government now has a copy of your credit card Bill - remember how you used to "gift" and under-invoice your skybox purchases? - That's going to be mighty difficult when government knows what you bought, when you bought it, and exactly how much you PAID :shock:

The day this happens I am never buying anything online again. Will wait till I travel.
Stupid pnm

Local merchants hadda eat too.

Postby shogun » April 8th, 2016, 11:31 pm

Bitter pills I admit. Even I might not agree with every avenue the administration decided to take. Amazing though, how irate tuners are at the grown-ups that have to clean up the mess we're in and not the children that put us here in the first place. Expenditure vs revenue, everyone. Carry on...

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby S_2NR » April 8th, 2016, 11:37 pm

DVSTT wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Stupid pnm

Na screw them. I not going to be strong armed or give this government one red cent in unjustified taxes.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby DVSTT » April 9th, 2016, 12:25 am

S_2NR wrote:
DVSTT wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
ingalook wrote:

Stupid pnm

Na screw them. I not going to be strong armed or give this government one red cent in unjustified taxes.

You gonna force a poor business owner to settle for a normal Benz with no AMG package. You could really live with that on your conscience?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 9th, 2016, 1:00 am

DVSTT wrote:

Gambling people protesting.

I glad this woman see what she voted for.....take it now...

York

Postby York » April 9th, 2016, 5:53 am

it takes 2 to tango, pnm gov't are perfectly tangoing with you lady. holding yuh hand and sucking yuh blood..

PP had we in d Matrix, now PNM wake we up to see the reality of how they can't really cope and manage the economy with harse measures. that's life, no more KFC, raise yuh own chicken and slaughter them too. plant some seasoning and vegetables where possible. back to the ole time days...

Postby Redman » April 9th, 2016, 6:55 am

shogun wrote:Bitter pills I admit. Even I might not agree with every avenue the administration decided to take. Amazing though, how irate tuners are at the grown-ups that have to clean up the mess we're in and not the children that put us here in the first place. Expenditure vs revenue, everyone. Carry on...

+1

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2016, 7:24 am

Citizens 0, PNM financiers 2

Hope you all now understand why Ford Rangers are overpriced now. Apparently ANSA new luxury tax was coming and upped their Ranger prices long before.

Ppl will now look to go with rangers rather than 50% on cars over 2l.

It's a win win for PNM Financiers, they get all the US they want cause you are now taxed 7% and you will be buying their Rangers.

I told you all this long before

Postby Chimera » April 9th, 2016, 7:35 am

I see a lot of doctors complaining on facebook

no panadol in hospitals
all patients have to now go pay for blood tests and dialysis
no anti depressant meds available

yet they take 6 million from health ministry

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 9th, 2016, 7:37 am

zoom rader wrote:Citizens 0, PNM financiers 2

Hope you all now understand why Ford Rangers are overpriced now. Apparently ANSA new luxury tax was coming and upped their Ranger prices long before.

Ppl will now look to go with rangers rather than 50% on cars over 2l.

It's a win win for PNM Financiers, they get all the US they want cause you are now taxed 7% and you will be buying their Rangers.

I told you all this long before

So true zoom
1460202039272.jpg

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2016, 7:49 am

I hope ppl think long and hard when they cast their vote, if ever we get a free election.

This was the greatest PNM con job of all time.

Mark my words, Racket Rail will come when the gas subsidy is totally remove forcing citizens to pay for racket rail.

Taxi and Maxi men will be a thing of the past.
Small businessmen and entrepreneurs replaced by PNM Financiers

Lance

Postby Lance » April 9th, 2016, 7:59 am

I am speculating that there is a bit of scapegoating going on regarding online shopping.

Firstly, this is not an issue of recovering taxes from corporations operating outside of Trinidad. It is about dampening the demand of online shopping to curb forex leakage.

With that in mind, has the government released a estimate for the amount of forex leakage that is occurring through online sales? I heard a number mumbled during the presentation by a back bencher but i'm yet to see a concrete number.

Instead, all we hear is "increasing popularity of online shopping was another culprit, with purchases being paid for by credit cards." or "online shopping is an area of tremendous leakage of this country's foreign exchange" or "Online purchases are now a significant area of foreign exchange demand" (real quotes from newspapers).

And then we over the last 3 years we have the following "corporations":

Pricesmart - US$507 million
Smith Robertson and Company — US$169 million
AS Bryden — US$153 million
Massy Distribution US$136 million

All of which are glorified online shoppers engaged in buy-markup-resell businesses. They offer NO domestic value added and simply transfer surplus from consumers. Will these companies also attract the 7% tax?

The government needs to quantify the leakage attributable to online shopping and provide us with a comparison on how this stacks up with the "corporations" involved in the same line of business- Essentially they are putting the similar strains on forex.

Whether an individual needs these products is another debate. But we need to understand how this affects competition and the distribution of income. Online shopping and low limit credit cards (1000USD limits) have provided the common man with an alternative source for goods and services that could not be afforded on the local market. This had had direct implications on the standard of living for citizens.

This 7% tax is essentially closing the online market and passing the bargaining power back to these "corporations". Their profits will continue to soar and the income will be payable to a select class locally. How many of you own shares in these "corporations"?.

I'm not disputing the need to curb forex leakage. I'm just disturbed in the biased manner in which its being orchestrated. Clearly you can see who the big winners are.

Postby Gladiator » April 9th, 2016, 9:08 am

The online purchasing tax seems to really be a Credit Card tax. Once you use it outside of T&T or online you pay 7%. This is robbery, the result would just be persons going to the bank, buying US and spending the cash abroad.

The reduction in online shoppers and increase in cost of products sold by small businesses that trade online would result in closure of these micro enterprises and killing of the entrepreneurs that take the little risk to buy online and start up.

This is a deliberate attempt to put the power back into the hands of big business and strip the buying power from john public. These tax measures would see the country creep back into the 1980s where only the "big boys" could drive the nice car, own a business, carry their family down the islands, live in gated communities etc.

The tactic is an old and vicious one used by Imbert... keep the population at large repressed, when all they studying is where the next meal and rent money coming from they would behave and keep the straight and narrow line and not complain. And you would see no more Roget and OWTU kickup.... they will tell you now to be happy you have a job cause we all know that with the cost of living now you might as well be dead if you unemployed.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 9th, 2016, 9:24 am

I doh agree with many of the measures in the budget.

But I doh want the IMF in here either.

Time will tell...

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » April 9th, 2016, 9:34 am

Iran,Ukraine,Chechnya,Burmese,Egypt,Tuareg,Venezuela,Turkey,Brazil

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460208704.622783.jpg

TRINIDAD IT IS TIME!!!!!
!!!!!!!
REVOLUTION !!!!!
Last edited by Kalisnakov on April 9th, 2016, 9:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » April 9th, 2016, 9:34 am

Kalisnakov wrote:Iran,Ukraine,Chechnya,Burmese,Egypt,Tuareg,Venezuela,Turkey,Brazil

TRINIDAD IT IS TIME!!!!!
!!!!!!!

Postby 1UZFE » April 9th, 2016, 10:09 am

Lance wrote:I am speculating that there is a bit of scapegoating going on regarding online shopping.

Firstly, this is not an issue of recovering taxes from corporations operating outside of Trinidad. It is about dampening the demand of online shopping to curb forex leakage.

With that in mind, has the government released a estimate for the amount of forex leakage that is occurring through online sales? I heard a number mumbled during the presentation by a back bencher but i'm yet to see a concrete number.

Instead, all we hear is "increasing popularity of online shopping was another culprit, with purchases being paid for by credit cards." or "online shopping is an area of tremendous leakage of this country's foreign exchange" or "Online purchases are now a significant area of foreign exchange demand" (real quotes from newspapers).

And then we over the last 3 years we have the following "corporations":

Pricesmart - US$507 million
Smith Robertson and Company — US$169 million
AS Bryden — US$153 million
Massy Distribution US$136 million

All of which are glorified online shoppers engaged in buy-markup-resell businesses. They offer NO domestic value added and simply transfer surplus from consumers. Will these companies also attract the 7% tax?

The government needs to quantify the leakage attributable to online shopping and provide us with a comparison on how this stacks up with the "corporations" involved in the same line of business- Essentially they are putting the similar strains on forex.

Whether an individual needs these products is another debate. But we need to understand how this affects competition and the distribution of income. Online shopping and low limit credit cards (1000USD limits) have provided the common man with an alternative source for goods and services that could not be afforded on the local market. This had had direct implications on the standard of living for citizens.

This 7% tax is essentially closing the online market and passing the bargaining power back to these "corporations". Their profits will continue to soar and the income will be payable to a select class locally. How many of you own shares in these "corporations"?.

I'm not disputing the need to curb forex leakage. I'm just disturbed in the biased manner in which its being orchestrated. Clearly you can see who the big winners are.

Zr said this but he was accused for attackin syrians. This pre budshit was aimed at fulling Massy, Ansa etc pockets.
Foreign used dealers goin n bawl...

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 9th, 2016, 10:13 am

ZR might be racial and krast in his attempts to get a point across but he was right about this govt..not like the last one was any better

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 9th, 2016, 10:26 am

Kalisnakov wrote:Iran,Ukraine,Chechnya,Burmese,Egypt,Tuareg,Venezuela,Turkey,Brazil

TRINIDAD IT IS TIME!!!!!
!!!!!!!
REVOLUTION !!!!!

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » April 9th, 2016, 10:35 am

Way sahh, that fleshlight I wanted to buy seem like a expensive proposition now.

Postby eliteauto » April 9th, 2016, 10:50 am

Gladiator wrote:The online purchasing tax seems to really be a Credit Card tax. Once you use it outside of T&T or online you pay 7%. This is robbery, the result would just be persons going to the bank, buying US and spending the cash abroad.

Yes because 7-13% price increase is much more than airfare, accommodation and transport

The reduction in online shoppers and increase in cost of products sold by small businesses that trade online would result in closure of these micro enterprises and killing of the entrepreneurs that take the little risk to buy online and start up.

Yes because 7-13% would equate to more than your mark-up and thus your business model collapses

This is a deliberate attempt to put the power back into the hands of big business and strip the buying power from john public. These tax measures would see the country creep back into the 1980s where only the "big boys" could drive the nice car, own a business, carry their family down the islands, live in gated communities etc.

Yup because even when "john public" raises their price by 7-13% which is still cheaper than the 100% mark-up of local merchants the buying public will choose to pay the higher price because PNM make them do that (btw if you're an internet buy and sell person you are a local merchant too)

The tactic is an old and vicious one used by Imbert... keep the population at large repressed, when all they studying is where the next meal and rent money coming from they would behave and keep the straight and narrow line and not complain. And you would see no more Roget and OWTU kickup.... they will tell you now to be happy you have a job cause we all know that with the cost of living now you might as well be dead if you unemployed.

Sometimes I wonder if it's just oppose for opposing sake, so many armchair economists but none willing to admit we're broke

killercow

Postby killercow » April 9th, 2016, 11:04 am

What I cannot understand is why tax the lower and middle class when you have an entity like PriceSmart consuming so much Forex. Especially given the fact that companies like this obtain much more Forex than they actually use / need. And what's worse is that we know PriceSmart's revenue does not stay in this country.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 9th, 2016, 11:05 am

eliteauto wrote:
Gladiator wrote:The online purchasing tax seems to really be a Credit Card tax. Once you use it outside of T&T or online you pay 7%. This is robbery, the result would just be persons going to the bank, buying US and spending the cash abroad.

Yes because 7-13% price increase is much more than airfare, accommodation and transport

Yes because 7-13% would equate to more than your mark-up and thus your business model collapses

Yup because even when "john public" raises their price by 7-13% which is still cheaper than the 100% mark-up of local merchants the buying public will choose to pay the higher price because PNM make them do that (btw if you're an internet buy and sell person you are a local merchant too)

Sometimes I wonder if it's just oppose for opposing sake, so many armchair economists but none willing to admit we're broke

Imbert made this statement during the presentation:

This tax is intended to help manage the increase in foreign exchange outflows from online purchases, reduce revenue leakage and assist local manufacturers and service companies to compete with overseas retailers.

The minister seems to think that the items purchased online via credit cards are being done at the expense of LOCAL manufacturing. Surely you don't agree with this? So if the "local" firms are essentially online bulk importers of the same goods then why are we acting like they are not putting a similar type of strain on forex leakage?

Shouldn't non-productive forex leakage be exposed to a similar type of tax?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 9th, 2016, 11:15 am

The 7% tax will and should Only apply to purchasing ONLINe and not if you're physically abroad, if they try to tax your CC regardless as log as its a foreign based transaction then that's bordering illegal.
You all have until September anyways as the govt says it will try to work with the banks to make it a reality.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 9th, 2016, 11:22 am

TRINIDAD IT IS TIME!!!!!
!!!!!!!
REVOLUTION !!!!!

And then what?

Postby eliteauto » April 9th, 2016, 11:22 am

Lance wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

This tax is intended to help manage the increase in foreign exchange outflows from online purchases, reduce revenue leakage and assist local manufacturers and service companies to compete with overseas retailers.

The minister seems to think that the items purchased online via credit cards are being done at the expense of LOCAL manufacturing. Surely you don't agree with this? So if the "local" firms are essentially online bulk importers of the same goods then why are we acting like they are not putting a similar type of strain on forex leakage?

Now you're offering a different response from the one I addressed above so we can't lump that response with your point. I have always been against insularity when those being insular offer a poor product and get protection just for the sake of nationality, so yes of course I agree fully that non-productive forex leakage should be plugged. I don't support the tax however I also don't support the nonsensical doom and gloom rubbish that seems to be gaining traction by what I'd have to assume are non-business owners, the reality is businessmen will adapt and we both know the first line is to pass the increased overhead on to the final consumer, here is where competitiveness and choice steps in. The fact is this tax while appearing to be punitive in nature to small importers is moot... stupid but moot

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 9th, 2016, 11:27 am

eliteauto wrote:
Lance wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

Now you're offering a different response from the one I addressed above so we can't lump that response with your point. I has always been against insularity when those being insular offer a poor product and get protection just for the sake of nationality, so yes of course I agree fully that non-productive forex leakage should be plugged. I don't support the tax however I also don't support the nonsensical doom and gloom rubbish that seems to be gaining traction by I'd have to assume are non-business owners, the reality is businessmen will adapt and we both know the first line is to pass the increased overhead on to the final consumer, here is where competitiveness and choice steps in. The fact is this tax while appearing to be punitive in nature to small importers is moot... stupid but moot

Econ 101: when prices increase...demand falls

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 9th, 2016, 11:34 am

Some people actually buy Online as apposed to locally because when they buy from a recognized Dealer/ distributor abroad you can actually get a proper and full warranty or replacement option that the smaller resellers locally cannot and will not give you, so this is also something else that Imbutt did not think about.