Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Dizzy28 » June 13th, 2017, 11:18 am

Why Sat still beating up??....even the UNC who has members who initially supported him and his stance ether voted for the bill or abstained through absence.

SWAHA has already indicated they support the new bill. Maybe Sat's grandson (the one who is sometimes on one of Jagritis nightly programme) and who is being groomed for the leadership role in the SDMS can be a more moderate voice.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 13th, 2017, 11:21 am

dis man getting like kubbielalsingh. jus making a spectacle of him self

Postby K74T » June 13th, 2017, 12:46 pm

gundeleroy2k wrote:Image

Postby matr1x » June 13th, 2017, 2:51 pm

K74T wrote:
gundeleroy2k wrote:Image

Hahahaha.

Devils advocate : at least sat talking female and male. Harvey and church been doing old man and boys for years

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 15th, 2017, 10:31 pm

Law pass. Big deal.

My problem is how many men over the age of 16 or 18 who got lock up/before the court for the 2500 girls under the age of 16 who got pregnant in 2016. Sex is an act that does not need a visa or passport, just raging hormones (for persons under 18). For person over 18, Tuners doh have enough storage to deal with da one

So, by making marriage allowable at age 18 plus, can we now be better off and we will no longer have pregnancies and abortions by girls under the age of 18?

What happens to male and female under the age of 18 who is to now to become parents after this law is proclaimed. Who we sending to JAIL, mummy or daddy? It is inconsequential until your child is about to go to jail. Are we happy that there are already people in the jail who ought not to be there?

HURRAH FARIS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. We have solve child/teenage marriage. What about child/teenage pregnancy?

We will have no marriage or persons under the age of 18, just girls or women under the age of 18 who gets pregnant. Without fear of contradiction, we have truly used the steam roller to iron out this bug.

I urge ALL who are for and those who are against .......... THINK AGAIN, BECAUSE ONCE WE GO DOWN THIS ROAD, THE PERSONS WE LOVE AND ARE TRYING TO PROTECT WILL GET HURT.

Postby sMASH » June 15th, 2017, 10:44 pm

Just like the dangerous dogs bill, this marriage bill was another cheap political points topic that played on the emotions of the simple minded.

The issue they were trying to solve was forced marriages, but eVeryone focused on the age part about it.

Some people can handle starting families at 16. Some people just want to get their rocks off. Either case, just institute some form of legal counseling to confirm that no party is being forced or under duress to wed.

Now u make it illgal and then families can still force their 18 year old to marrid some ole man.
Or Do the religious ceremony and when 18 reaches, then u register it.

Simpletons, the lot who thought this law will solve under age pregnancies and forCed marriages.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 15th, 2017, 11:43 pm

sMASH wrote:Just like the dangerous dogs bill, this marriage bill was another cheap political points topic that played on the emotions of the simple minded.

The issue they were trying to solve was forced marriages, but eVeryone focused on the age part about it.

Some people can handle starting families at 16. Some people just want to get their rocks off. Either case, just institute some form of legal counseling to confirm that no party is being forced or under duress to wed.

Now u make it illgal and then families can still force their 18 year old to marrid some ole man.

Simpletons, the lot who thought this law will solve under age pregnancies and forCed marriages.

Lol i was just having this conversation with my sister in florida. They cant interfere with child marriage. But something might be able to be done about forced marriage where the child doesnt want to marry the person. This way you leave available the option for parents to still consent to their child getting married if the need arises and the child wants to marry the person and not end up putting your entire teenage population in jail for pursuing natural urges.

Postby RedVEVO » June 16th, 2017, 1:01 am

dude2014 wrote:Law pass. Big deal.

My problem is how many men over the age of 16 or 18 who got lock up/before the court for the 2500 girls under the age of 16 who got pregnant in 2016. Sex is an act that does not need a visa or passport, just raging hormones (for persons under 18). For person over 18, Tuners doh have enough storage to deal with da one

So, by making marriage allowable at age 18 plus, can we now be better off and we will no longer have pregnancies and abortions by girls under the age of 18?

What happens to male and female under the age of 18 who is to now to become parents after this law is proclaimed. Who we sending to JAIL, mummy or daddy? It is inconsequential until your child is about to go to jail. Are we happy that there are already people in the jail who ought not to be there?

HURRAH FARIS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. We have solve child/teenage marriage. What about child/teenage pregnancy?

We will have no marriage or persons under the age of 18, just girls or women under the age of 18 who gets pregnant. Without fear of contradiction, we have truly used the steam roller to iron out this bug.

I urge ALL who are for and those who are against .......... THINK AGAIN, BECAUSE ONCE WE GO DOWN THIS ROAD, THE PERSONS WE LOVE AND ARE TRYING TO PROTECT WILL GET HURT.

Yes, good points.

Child teenage pregnancy is political .

Mr Gov't does not want to go there because certain sectors do not believe in marriage
or even the family unit.

Hence one woman - 3 fathers .

And no maintenance .

Postby RedVEVO » June 16th, 2017, 1:11 am

sMASH wrote:Just like the dangerous dogs bill, this marriage bill was another cheap political points topic that played on the emotions of the simple minded.

An Educated tuner :D :D

Yes - the issue was forced marriage .

The "safety net" was removed and even at Parliament level the Law did not
solve any problems. On the issue of teenage pregnancies - Well that to political
or even too cultural for the PNM.

It was cheap political points.

Faris with his nonsense again .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 16th, 2017, 2:01 am

This is actually a really good Law, Rowley deserves a trophy for this and for having the balls to implement this. Kamla would never in a million years implement a law like this because the first thing she would ah study is who it would upset and would it cost her votes, Rowley on the other hand just doesn't give a sh!t.

But what I don't understand if you listen to the radio stations is people like Sat and the other fella Sadro Mohammed who hosts the 90.5Fm late night talk show who are defending child marriage.

Is only old old men really defending this child marriage thing. The other night Sadro went onto say as a Muslim he does not care about the law of Trinidad he goes by the Law of the Koran so it begs the question if this Law will even do anything. In this country people doh really care about the law on the whole.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 16th, 2017, 3:13 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is actually a really good Law, Rowley deserves a trophy for this and for having the balls to implement this. Kamla would never in a million years implement a law like this because the first thing she would ah study is who it would upset and would it cost her votes, Rowley on the other hand just doesn't give a sh!t.

But what I don't understand if you listen to the radio stations is people like Sat and the other fella Sadro Mohammed who hosts the 90.5Fm late night talk show who are defending child marriage.

Is only old old men really defending this child marriage thing. The other night Sadro went onto say as a Muslim he does not care about the law of Trinidad he goes by the Law of the Koran so it begs the question if this Law will even do anything. In this country people doh really care about the law on the whole.

Ed you serious
yes it is a good law no body under 16 should get married , the law stated that having sex under 16 is a crime .

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150913 ... ised-to-18

AS of May 18 this year, the age of consent for sexual intercourse in Trinidad and Tobago is now 18.

The Children's Act of 2012 was proclaimed on May 18 and, in this legislation, the definition of “child” is now “a person under the age of 18 years”.

Prior to May 18, a child was defined as persons under the age of 16 years and the Sexual Offences Act listed various offences for engaging in activities with persons under 16.

However, with the passing of the new legislation, certain sections of the Sexual Offences Act have been repealed, broadening the parameters under which persons can be charged.

During a recent interview with the Express, Christal Chapman, one of the senior legal associates of the Children's Authority (The Authority) explained the basic provisions of the new Act and how it affects citizens of this country.

“The Children's Act of 2012 (the Act), came into force on May 18 and when it did, it repealed the previous Children's Act, as well as certain sections in the Sexual Offences Act. Now what this Act does is it deals with child victims and child offenders and looks at treatment of children and the human rights benefits which should be accorded to them,” said Chapman.

I dont see any one enforcing the second law .
Do a survey how much people who vote pnm married. How much of them having sex with under aged girls ?

Sames goes for bigamy in Trinidad there is the law but many high profile people have more than one wives and no action is taken

so what is the government saying we will tolerate young girls having sex but dont get married?

Postby adnj » June 16th, 2017, 3:34 am

abducted wrote:

Where is Sat getting his information from?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Age_of_ma ... ted_States
This says 18 years in all states except Nebraska which is 19.

This isn't quite true. There are many cases where marriage can legally occur when one or both parties are under 18 in the USA, depending on the state:

"... all states allow minors to marry in certain circumstances, such as parental consent, judicial consent, pregnancy, or a combination of these situations. Most states allow parties aged 16 and 17 to marry with parental consent alone. In most states, children under 16 can be married too. "

Even India has a child marriage law:

"- Prohibition of Child Marriage Act states that a girl in India can't marry before the age of 18, and a boy before 21.
- According to UNICEF, 47% of girls are married by 18 years of age, and 18% are married by 15 years of age. These marriages are often performed without the consent of the girls involved in the marriage."

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/life-style/relationships/love-sex/Courts-still-confused-about-legal-age-of-marriage/articleshow/21333081.cms

Postby sMASH » June 16th, 2017, 4:55 am

The thing about this is it was supported by the masses, so that it wasn't a 'chance' that any political personalities taking in passing it. Its pseudo intellectual stance to ban marriages under the age of 18.
That stands came about because of legitimate reasons, that when women are educated, the children tend or be educated and education tends to lift people out of poverty and allow for them to be independent, not remain in abusive dependent situations. And, in impoverished countries, when a girl is Madrid off, her education stops, so none of what occurs above, gets a chance to happen. So to improve the lives of the people as a whole, the mere act of banning marriages for girls under 18 will solve a whole slew of problems.

So, people like to think that they are smart, modern, progressive, and that we need to ban marriages under 18.

Thing is, that will work in impoverished countries, not Trinidad. People have a lot of wealth, and a lot of freedom, that the majority of young women would not want to marry young, and the majority can choose for them selves when/if they want to do it at all.

And there are plenty young people that ain't business bout school, ain't business bout getting degrees, and jess want to satisfy their instincts to procreate. U not solving a problem there, or creating one where people can't do what they want to do... legally.

When u look at the statistics for marriages under 18, and then pregnancies under 18, and then sexual activity under 18, u would see that banning marriages under 18 only solves a very small part of out of context problem.

listen to the first part of the song, and u would see that u not allowing young people to have a legal way to do what they want.
All you will continue to see is the stories of 'girl under 18 disappears and reappears' increase.

Postby RedVEVO » June 16th, 2017, 9:39 am

Marry when you young - Yes.

Marry old cassava - Desi-tute - No

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 6th, 2017, 7:46 am

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 6th, 2017, 7:46 am

Bride run away yesssss

Postby Dizzy28 » September 8th, 2017, 9:39 am

She come back

A 17-year-old from Aranguez, who allegedly went missing after eloping with her 28-year-old boyfriend last month, has surrendered to police.

The T&T Guardian understands that after the teenager read an exclusive report in Tuesday’s edition of this newspaper on her husband Mitchum Deosingh’s arrest over their marriage and her subsequent disappearance, she decided to go to police to clarify the issue.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-09- ... hild-bride

Postby RedVEVO » September 8th, 2017, 10:20 am

^^^^

Look like the mechanic did not straighten out the chassis ..