Should I get a Credit Card?

Supra GT-FOUR

Re: Should I Get A Credit Card?

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » September 25th, 2023, 7:44 am

redmanjp wrote:is there a way to find out your credit score independent of the bank?
You can pay for one at TransUnion.

Re: Should I get a Credit Card?

Postby zoom rader » September 25th, 2023, 11:02 am

bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:which bank?
some banks now want to do all kind of interview like is a big favor they giving customers
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:
Thanks. Will get the card in a couple weeks.

RBC - Pre-approved. They invited me. I did not apply.

The first offer was insulting so I ignored them. Then they upped their game and I decided to give it a try for one year. After one year, card charge is $265.00. I might give it up then. LOL.

Years ago Scotiabank used to be sending me invies every month and I never took them on.
They will always up the game until they find sweet spot.

Same as those who say they pay off their cards in full. They will just keep upping ur credit limit until u give in to spend wildy

Postby adnj » September 25th, 2023, 11:12 am

zoom rader wrote:They will always up the game until they find sweet spot.

Same as those who say they pay off their cards in full. They will just keep upping ur credit limit until u give in to spend wildy

How long did it take you to give in? How much did you pay for a bankruptcy attorney? Or did you just stop paying and relocate?

snatman

Postby snatman » September 25th, 2023, 11:39 am

bluefete wrote:
some banks now want to do all kind of interview like is a big favor they giving customers
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

The first offer was insulting so I ignored them. Then they upped their game and I decided to give it a try for one year. After one year, card charge is $265.00. I might give it up then. LOL.

Years ago Scotiabank used to be sending me invies every month and I never took them on.

I've repeated a few times if someone isn't disciplined with their spending and finances, credit cards are not them. Financially prudent persons will never have the urge to spend wildly. A financially savvy person will actually profit from using a credit card.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 25th, 2023, 11:43 am

Pay all your household bills with your card- utilities, groceries etc. Whatever regular expenses you have, use your credit card. Pay your CC bill on time and in full. Don't get trapped in the minimum payment cycle.
After 6 months, look at the cash-back rewards and depending on your expenses, I'm sure It'll more than cover the annual renewal fee.

bluefete wrote:
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

Postby The_Honourable » September 25th, 2023, 11:49 am

bluefete wrote:
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

This is true, they will increase your limit without your consent.

I agree with snatman. Those who pay on time, shows responsibility and have good credit, the increase can be a good thing. For those who in debt and don't have the will power to call the bank and reduce, they will give in to that temptation easily.

Postby bluefete » September 25th, 2023, 11:51 am

pugboy wrote:they must be find you have too much money sitting in the bank and want you to start spending
sometimes them preapproved cards have very high interest rates

bluefete wrote:

LOL - 25.2%. Good luck with them getting 0.01c of that from me.

Postby bluefete » September 25th, 2023, 11:53 am

bluefete wrote:
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

As you said before Zoomie - DISCPLINE! People must know how to manage their financial affairs. Just like you, I am debt free and I am certainly not looking to go back into any kind of debt. CC, I could use and easily pay off.

Postby bluefete » September 25th, 2023, 11:54 am

snatman wrote:
bluefete wrote:
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

I've repeated a few times if someone isn't disciplined with their spending and finances, credit cards are not them. Financially prudent persons will never have the urge to spend wildly. A financially savvy person will actually profit from using a credit card.

EXACTLY.

Postby bluefete » September 25th, 2023, 11:56 am

snatman wrote:Pay all your household bills with your card- utilities, groceries etc. Whatever regular expenses you have, use your credit card. Pay your CC bill on time and in full. Don't get trapped in the minimum payment cycle.
After 6 months, look at the cash-back rewards and depending on your expenses, I'm sure It'll more than cover the annual renewal fee.

bluefete wrote:
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

Cash back is 0.8%. Does not seem like much to me given how I plan to use the card. But I will crunch the numbers and see if what you say makes sense. Once the cash back covers the renewal fee, I am good to go.

Nah boy. I have to spend $33,000.00 per year to cover the renewal cost.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 25th, 2023, 12:03 pm

bluefete wrote:
snatman wrote:Pay all your household bills with your card- utilities, groceries etc. Whatever regular expenses you have, use your credit card. Pay your CC bill on time and in full. Don't get trapped in the minimum payment cycle.

bluefete wrote:
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

Cash back is 0.8%. Does not seem like much to me given how I plan to use the card. But I will crunch the numbers and see if what you say makes sense. Once the cash back covers the renewal fee, I am good to go.

Dude, I spend much more than $50,000 a year in groceries, utility bills, gas, pricemart, basic car maintenance etc. I'm sure you do too. Did you check all the expenses that you can use your credit card for?

My RBL CC gives 1% cashback plus 4% on Pricesmart purchases.

Postby bluefete » September 25th, 2023, 12:10 pm

snatman wrote:
bluefete wrote:

real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

Dude, I spend much more than $50,000 a year in groceries, utility bills, gas, pricemart, basic car maintenance etc. I'm sure you do too. Did you check all the expenses that you can use your credit card for?

My RBL CC gives 1% cashback plus 4% on Pricesmart purchases.

RBC not so generous or it might depend on the type of cc you have. The one I am getting does not give you points. Nothing about Pricesmart either. Something about a refund if you see an item cheaper after buying it and of course the 0.8% cash back.

I am a very conservative spender all around so unless I am doing a big project my grocery bill is about $12k per year. All other stuff way less than that.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 25th, 2023, 12:28 pm

wayzzz...
My 10yr old probably eats 12,000 in groceries by himself!

Postby zoom rader » September 25th, 2023, 12:31 pm

adnj wrote:

How long did it take you to give in? How much did you pay for a bankruptcy attorney? Or did you just stop paying and relocate?
No bro , I never had a personal CC and will never take out one.

I however, had a Company CC which was for the sole purpose of my employer.

Postby adnj » September 25th, 2023, 12:40 pm

adnj wrote:

What does a company account have to do with it? It wasn't your company was it?

See, you don't know whether you can behave responsibly -- and you probably can't. But since all of your friends and your relatives start trembling in the store with a credit card in their hand, you have decided that everyone else is a credit risk. Sad.

Postby Chimera » September 25th, 2023, 12:57 pm

I see yuh trying to rile up zoom but for the people who know him and what he have and accomplished and how he living life.....yuh wasting yuh time. Zoom is not the person you wanna accuse of financial irresponsibility.

Postby paid_influencer » September 25th, 2023, 1:09 pm

bluefete wrote:Cash back is 0.8%. Does not seem like much to me given how I plan to use the card. But I will crunch the numbers and see if what you say makes sense. Once the cash back covers the renewal fee, I am good to go.

see, this is what the game looks like. The bank gets $900 in transaction fees before you even break even. this is what capitalism looks like. the rich get wealthy off exploiting labour. you are labour. never forget that.
379862276_631510122431716_2878048782325155358_n.jpg
379862276_631510122431716_2878048782325155358_n.jpg (87.34 KiB) Viewed 1937 times

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2023, 1:19 pm

boy i forget about the 4% on pricesmart with rbl cards
was supposed to apply for one a while now

Postby j.o.e » September 25th, 2023, 2:21 pm

bluefete wrote:
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

Increasing my limit doesn’t increase my spend. Because my groceries, bills, gas and basic entertainment remains the same as my budgeted amount

Postby j.o.e » September 25th, 2023, 2:24 pm

bluefete wrote:

real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

You don’t spend $2250 a month on gas, groceries, bills and the random dinner and movies?

Postby st7 » September 25th, 2023, 3:52 pm

j.o.e wrote:
bluefete wrote:
real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

Increasing my limit doesn’t increase my spend. Because my groceries, bills, gas and basic entertainment remains the same as my budgeted amount

same... my limit has gone up about 4 times already and i din feel like i needed to spend more. people actually do that or zoom just saying that because he's the expert?

Postby bluefete » September 25th, 2023, 6:02 pm

j.o.e wrote:
bluefete wrote:

real nonsense

bluefete wrote:

You don’t spend $2250 a month on gas, groceries, bills and the random dinner and movies?

ROFL. Goes to check spending spreadsheet

Gas is about $1200 per month - It is the biggest bill but spread amongst 3 persons buying it. I don't spend more than $200 per month in gas. So my cc will real have to spread around. Groceries max $1,000 if so much. So there is your $2250. but that is not my personal total spending.

I have 4 of the same colour $5.00 Elite shirts (bought them on sale over 12 years ago) I wear to work so I don't spend on clothes that much. Got some good stuff at Bluegrass recently at real good prices - should last me well into my retirement days whenever those come along.

Movies - nah. I live like Zoom. Recurring expenditure is seriously in check.

Postby adnj » September 25th, 2023, 7:00 pm

I am noticing some serious household dysfunction in this thread. There are many tuner mysteries revealing themselves.

Postby zoom rader » September 26th, 2023, 12:01 am

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:

See, you don't know whether you can behave responsibly -- and you probably can't. But since all of your friends and your relatives start trembling in the store with a credit card in their hand, you have decided that everyone else is a credit risk. Sad.
Son, I worked for a company that issued my credit card for my health benefit. The card was in my name. It was for only health, dental, and optical related matters. Whenever I used it, I paid the bill, and then I would submit my receipts to the company for my refund. Some offshore companies operate this way when dealing with foreign workers to avoid complications with a country's health system.

Postby st7 » September 26th, 2023, 9:37 am

sound like you were limited by what you can use it for though as stipulated by your employer. it's not the same thing as a free-for-all credit card.

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2023, 9:58 am

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:

Son, I worked for a company that issued my credit card for my health benefit. The card was in my name. It was for only health, dental, and optical related matters. Whenever I used it, I paid the bill, and then I would submit my receipts to the company for my refund. Some offshore companies operate this way when dealing with foreign workers to avoid complications with a country's health system.

And? When did you have a real company credit card? That's the card that is in your name and carries the company name. That's the one where the company pays the bill for you. That's the one that you use for authorized business expenses such as flights, hotels, meals, chartered jets, etc.

Postby zoom rader » September 26th, 2023, 10:44 am

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:

And? When did you have a real company credit card? That's the card that is in your name and carries the company name. That's the one where the company pays the bill for you. That's the one that you use for authorized business expenses such as flights, hotels, meals, chartered jets, etc.
No son, my flights were all booked by my employer. The CC was for health to use anywhere in the world. Extras like meals and Taxis ect I submitted receipts for a refund.

Again, I will never take out a CC and will not advise people to use it either.

Old injun people knew what they doing, cash is king.

I live CC free, I had loans, but they were for investments that afforded me to retire early.

Postby zoom rader » September 26th, 2023, 10:48 am

st7 wrote:sound like you were limited by what you can use it for though as stipulated by your employer. it's not the same thing as a free-for-all credit card.
As I said, it was for only health purposes only and nothing else. Every month I submitted my statements to them.

Apart from that I have debit cards home and abroad

Postby Chimera » September 26th, 2023, 10:52 am

What he had sounds exactly like a company credit card for approved expenses.

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2023, 11:09 am

zoom rader wrote:No son, my flights were all booked by my employer. The CC was for health to use anywhere in the world. Extras like meals and Taxis ect I submitted receipts for a refund.

Again, I will never take out a CC and will not advise people to use it either.

Old injun people knew what they doing, cash is king.

I live CC free, I had loans, but they were for investments that afforded me to retire early.

With no experience with a company card and no experience with a personal card, what is the basis of your determination that no one is capable of paying their debts? I don't believe that you have anything meaningful. You travelling the world with a debit card isn't much in the way of experience -- or common sense.

It seems as if you are actively advising others to use a debit card in lieu of a credit card. I find that peculiar when debit cards are more vulnerable to fraud than credit cards.

I find fraud and identity theft to be more of a personal risk for me than my ability to control my own spending.