T&T's debt to China stands at...

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116769 (+926) cases, 3486 (+19) deaths, 20915 active, 92368 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » February 12th, 2022, 10:27 am

Kenjo wrote:
timelapse wrote:Not even, I am predicting economic warfare.To be started when countries realize that they can't repay China

Yup let the bigger countries fight them and we might get a free ride for our loans
So we taking loans that we know we can't repay and hoping the debtor just forgets due to war? Just remember this is the same China if push come to shove can cripple the US economy by simply demanding all payments upfront. The world better learn Chinese soon.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116769 (+926) cases, 3486 (+19) deaths, 20915 active, 92368 recovered in T&T

Postby Kenjo » February 12th, 2022, 11:28 am

hover11 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
timelapse wrote:Not even, I am predicting economic warfare.To be started when countries realize that they can't repay China

Yup let the bigger countries fight them and we might get a free ride for our loans
So we taking loans that we know we can't repay and hoping the debtor just forgets due to war? Just remember this is the same China if push come to shove can cripple the US economy by simply demanding all payments upfront. The world better learn Chinese soon.

Mandarin

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » February 12th, 2022, 4:24 pm

timelapse wrote:Allyuh study Covid still.
The great depression part 2 or a large war is on the horizon.The world economic stage is ripe for it
We as a species have gotten to big for we britches, events like those long overdue. Not its a question of if we can bounce back this time.

Re: T&T's debt to China stands at...

Postby maj. tom » February 16th, 2023, 8:30 pm

Summit (TT) Luggage Co Ltd, headquartered in Guangdong, China, is the first mover to e TecK’s Phoenix Park Industrial Estate in Pt Lisas.

Company officials Michael Chen and Sera Huang arrived in Trinidad and Tobago on February 3 to provide direct oversight of the customisation and completion of their 5,000-square-metre state-of-the-art factory shell, national investment promotion agency InvesTT said in a statement on Tuesday.

Summit (TT) Luggage is establishing a manufacturing assembly line to produce 90 per cent hard-shell luggage using polycarbonate and polypropylene inputs.

Summit factory manager Chen said: “Many Chinese companies are moving their factories overseas and we chose Trinidad and Tobago primarily for its location so that we can easily reach our clients in the USA.
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/luggage-producer-sets-up-at-phoenix-park/article_7145de0a-ae04-11ed-86a8-6b0f9d549f62.html

Postby Les Bain » February 17th, 2023, 8:40 am

Like the majority of Trinidadians just numb or dumb at this point, yes.

Postby MaxPower » February 17th, 2023, 8:58 am

Les Bain wrote:Like the majority of Trinidadians just numb or dumb at this point, yes.

Both.

Always have been.

Postby bluefete » February 17th, 2023, 9:10 am

maj. tom wrote:
Summit (TT) Luggage Co Ltd, headquartered in Guangdong, China, is the first mover to e TecK’s Phoenix Park Industrial Estate in Pt Lisas.

Company officials Michael Chen and Sera Huang arrived in Trinidad and Tobago on February 3 to provide direct oversight of the customisation and completion of their 5,000-square-metre state-of-the-art factory shell, national investment promotion agency InvesTT said in a statement on Tuesday.

Summit (TT) Luggage is establishing a manufacturing assembly line to produce 90 per cent hard-shell luggage using polycarbonate and polypropylene inputs.

Summit factory manager Chen said: “Many Chinese companies are moving their factories overseas and we chose Trinidad and Tobago primarily for its location so that we can easily reach our clients in the USA.
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/luggage-producer-sets-up-at-phoenix-park/article_7145de0a-ae04-11ed-86a8-6b0f9d549f62.html

China starts its takeover of T&T. They carefully laid the groundwork via huge loans. How many remember Impsbert comment about borrowing from China versus the Multi-lateral lending agencies. China's loan is only at a 2% interest rate or something like that.

Anyway, forget about creating employment because China would have told the T&T gov't that they are importing their own labourers - no doubt including some from the People's Liberation Army!

SBCS was offering Mandarin lessons some years ago. Maybe, they should start bring it back.

Postby maj. tom » February 17th, 2023, 9:13 am

China could be building nuclear weapons in an underground shielded factory in Trinidad and it would be completely undetectable to local authorities until something like the Cuban Missile Crisis happens and one day missiles with a CCP logo just happen to be in Trinidad.

Postby bluefete » February 17th, 2023, 9:26 am

maj. tom wrote:China could be building nuclear weapons in a factory in Trinidad and it would be completely undetectable to local authorities until something like the Cuban Missile Crisis happens and one day missiles with a CCP logo just happen to be in Trinidad.

And that is quite scary and very true.

Postby Les Bain » February 17th, 2023, 9:42 am

The local authorities' main bother in a scenario like that would be keeping it a secret from Uncle Sam then effectively convincing them, when the mark buss, that China had us in the dark the entire time.

Remember, this is a government that prides their relationship with China and Venezuela, 2 communist countries that neither value their people nor environment.
Also, the same government that sees controversial or scam technologies like ChatGPT and NFTs as positive opportunities.

Postby maj. tom » February 17th, 2023, 9:50 am

Another one is what we actually have to pay for the Sinopharm vaccine in that undisclosed agreement. Me thinks China doesn't care about useless dollars as much as owning property and resources.

This was a big scheme in Canada for years until the Government of Canada got wise and stopped foreign nationals who not living there from buying property in the Purchase of Residential Property by Non-Canadians Act.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 17th, 2023, 9:52 am

^ The US would know what is going on here. You really feel the Embassy on Marli Street main purpose is mainly for consular services?

I know someone who once worked at the US Embassy in Jamaica whose job was to scan the papers and internet daily for all mention of the USA and then other stories of significant interest to the USA. I'm sure the US Embassy here already knows about Summit Luggage and has them in their sights.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » February 17th, 2023, 10:06 am

Hail our new overlords!

Postby maj. tom » February 17th, 2023, 10:07 am

Definitely USA knows about things, but not that anyone is saying that anything is a conspiracy about that specific company. But China also runs an equal spy and espionage game and would have facilitated that knowledge in their schemes. Perhaps even run a better outfit than the USA in some places like Trinidad. If shiet is revealed the Chinese Embassy will just lol and say so what? No you must be mistaken and then 7 days later life continues like it always does in Trinidad. TT government wouldn't do anything to upset China.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 17th, 2023, 11:12 am

maj. tom wrote:Definitely USA knows about things, but not that anyone is saying that anything is a conspiracy about that specific company. But China also runs an equal spy and espionage game and would have facilitated that knowledge in their schemes. Perhaps even run a better outfit than the USA in some places like Trinidad. If shiet is revealed the Chinese Embassy will just lol and say so what? No you must be mistaken and then 7 days later life continues like it always does in Trinidad. TT government wouldn't do anything to upset China.

For sure.
The diaspora and travel b/t TT and China isn't that large but they have their largest embassy in the region here.
The staffing of which must include lots of intelligence officers.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 71c00.html

Postby maj. tom » January 10th, 2024, 7:06 pm

Samsonite luggage being made in Trinidad. Dec 1st 2023. https://tt.loopnews.com/content/made-tt-summit-luggage-completes-first-container-goods-685149

from earlier in the thread on the industry set up at Phoenix Park in Aug 2023. Within less than a year from Feb to Aug 2023 they set up the factory, now it shipping out goods. China doh stick.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/made-tt-summit-luggage-completes-first-container-goods-685149
Made in T&T: Summit Luggage completes first container of goods
Caribbean's first Belt & Road project, the Phoenix Park Industrial Estate, to be commissioned in January 2024
December 1, 2023
Speaking at a reception held by the Chinese Embassy to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the BRI at the Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre on Tuesday, Chinese Ambassador to Trinidad and Tobago Fang Qiu said China Summit Luggage, a client of the Phoenix Park Industrial Estate, has already produced its first line of world-famous luggage featuring brands such as Samsonite.

Postby 88sins » January 10th, 2024, 8:13 pm

maj. tom wrote:Samsonite luggage being made in Trinidad. Dec 1st 2023. https://tt.loopnews.com/content/made-tt-summit-luggage-completes-first-container-goods-685149

from earlier in the thread on the industry set up at Phoenix Park in Aug 2023. Within less than a year from Feb to Aug 2023 they set up the factory, now it shipping out goods. China doh stick.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/made-tt-summit-luggage-completes-first-container-goods-685149
Caribbean's first Belt & Road project, the Phoenix Park Industrial Estate, to be commissioned in January 2024
December 1, 2023
Speaking at a reception held by the Chinese Embassy to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the BRI at the Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre on Tuesday, Chinese Ambassador to Trinidad and Tobago Fang Qiu said China Summit Luggage, a client of the Phoenix Park Industrial Estate, has already produced its first line of world-famous luggage featuring brands such as Samsonite.

All fine and dandy
But if the people of this country see half a cent of that revenue that's supposedly being generated here, they real lucky.

Postby adnj » January 10th, 2024, 9:13 pm

maj. tom wrote:Samsonite luggage being made in Trinidad. Dec 1st 2023. https://tt.loopnews.com/content/made-tt-summit-luggage-completes-first-container-goods-685149

December 1, 2023

All fine and dandy
But if the people of this country see half a cent of that revenue that's supposedly being generated here, they real lucky.
How many of the Trinis that work there are chattel slaves? Otherwise, that's employment. And energy purchases. And taxes. And lunches. And rents.

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2024, 9:23 pm

wonder how cost effective it is compared to using the cheap labour over there

i just purchased some stuff in one city and had to pay to have it trucked a few hours to another where my shipping agent is, cost of that transport is $20usd
hard to compete with that kind of costing

Postby paid_influencer » January 10th, 2024, 10:40 pm

let me first say I strongly support China and wish we here in T&T would be more like the Chinese politically and socially. China was the one to give us vaksenses for the masses, when nobody else was sharing, so just remember that out of all the countries, China is the one with the POLITICAL WILL and the NATIONAL STRENGTH to supports us when it really matters. we islanders could learn plenty from the Chinese, the red giant. we are islanders savages by comparison. actual savages BE REAL BE REAL,

savages robbing and raping and teefing ppl. the ones here that learn science and study hard get passed over for jobs because of nepotism and corruption because again, being savages, you try your hand at industry and we get ppl extorting and kidnapping yuh wife and shooting up your business place. every island authority from town and country to customs want a taste so you study hard and work hard and put up your life savings but at the system designed to suck from you and be as inefficient as possible. and bullet if you in the wrong place at the wrong time or ah man happen to want to make ah fast money to go fete during carnival january really is the hardest month oui kfc have deal on tuesday

with that said, all that said, I donno how naively we should be watching that samsonite plant. That whole container load up for the camera man in the video but you ent seeing a worker self in the background. I know is plenty automation but, come nah, that is a different type of 'made in trinidad' that going on there. ah not saying it wrong, just a different flavour. like coconut water drink from solo, that is a different flavour of coconut water. still coconut water, taste very similar infact, I does buy it sometimes it does taste good. a different flavour tho, coconut water drink

is not the same as the lady making sorrel candle or the man freezing mango chutney to sell at trade shows. but the label will be the same. the trade negotiations will be the same. i donno if in the long run it good for all these local interests to be under the same label, like coconut water and coconut drink. i believe we have some of the best local coconuts, every week i does drink a big bottle from the fella in the market

tldr: I support China. They are the only ones treating us like people. They treat us way better than we deserve

Postby Dizzy28 » January 11th, 2024, 6:44 am

^ The US gave us vaccines. China sold us vaccines at a price I think the public still doesn't know of.

wing

Postby wing » January 11th, 2024, 6:46 am

adnj wrote:

December 1, 2023

All fine and dandy
How many of the Trinis that work there are chattel slaves? Otherwise, that's employment. And energy purchases. And taxes. And lunches. And rents.
It's simple, it happened under the PNM, therefore in their minds, it's doomed.

Postby 88sins » January 12th, 2024, 9:35 pm

wing wrote:
adnj wrote:

December 1, 2023

All fine and dandy
It's simple, it happened under the PNM, therefore in their minds, it's doomed.

Yes, the few local employees will eat ah food, and all trinis should be grateful the few gt? Daz not what/how they program allyuh to think?

And lest you feel we forgot
Was it not your same beloved pnm ticks that wanted to use taxpayers dollars to build a billion dollar hotel in tobago for sandals, and sandals getting the lions share of the profits, deciding who are the suppliers, the quota of how many locals will work there, etc, regardless of the potential detrimental effects to all other hotels and guesthouses on the island?

Ok,

Yuh want ppl to think everything is on the up & up , and the nation as a whole will see this as a good thing? Then we need to make known and public all concessions, tax exemptions and any/all other benefits that the China and Samsonite will see as an incentive to engaging in this enterprise.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 13th, 2024, 1:08 pm

Taiwan voted this morning to return their anti CCP Govnt back into power but with a new leader as Tsai Wen was term limited.

Democracy wins again.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 13th, 2024, 1:42 pm

^ I hope you say the same thing when Rowley wins again. :P