Express article: The education of children of African origin

Redress10

Re: Express article: The education of children of African origin

Postby Redress10 » June 4th, 2021, 1:04 am

Some of you all are really basic jackarses. The education system will actually become elitist instead of this pretend elitism that it promotes. These children will be grouped and zoned according to their ability. There will be no prestigious schools. "Prestigious" is nothing more than a brand at this point. There is no guarantee that just attending a prestigious school will ensure that your child is academically challenged etc.

All schools do the exact same cxc system in TT so there is nothing that separates and define them. If a child is bright like we love to claim then why send them to a CIC, SAGHs or convent etc. That is just a waste of 5 years of their lives. They may be capable of going through the entire O'level curriculum in under 4 years and possibly 3. But right now they simply can't do that because the other 100+ students may be going at a slower pace.

There are schools in TT that allow students to skip form three. But that is usually just an accelerated class. Instead of just one accelerated class I am talking about accelerating the entire school. So the thousand or so students in one school would be capable of successfuly finishing school at an accelerated pace.

The reason for the zoning is to not place students coming from far at an economical disadvantage via transport costs and a learning disadvantage because they are coming from far. They may also have longer school hours due to the increased workload so living nearby will be the better option. The reason for having these schools all over the country is to make zoning easier. The more schools available the closer to home most students will be. That's just an added comfort.

The test scores will simply be so the students will be grouped according to ability. There would be no favoritism. Your test scores will determine the level of coursework that you will face for the next 3-5 years. If you can't cut it then you will be removed and a student showing promise from a lower level will replace that student. Either way the system rolls on with its goal of producing students at a very high level. This is strictly about merit and ability.

This is just exposing your children to the realities of academic rigour at a very young age. This is preparing them for the realities of applying to one of the best universities in the world based on nothing more than their ability to be better than the next applicant.

It may sound cruel but it is the realities of life.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 4th, 2021, 1:21 am

alfa wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Jake is killed by neighborhood thugs, and returns as a mystical figure (The Wraith) to gain revenge.

That's what I'm seeing being advertised to me. The Wraith.

Wraith King making an impression even on the advertisements being delivered/served.....

Anyone from Kamla's the school in the article Iere?

I know some people who went there. Seems to be a decent school.

I went there

You don't hear about it much how is it? It certainly isn't one of the popular Presbyterian schools.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 4th, 2021, 1:22 am

You need to focus on spending money creating a class of people who focus is on running the country. We can't keep educating people who simply pack up and leave.

Not everything needs to be abt race, religion and politics.
Last edited by Redress10 on June 4th, 2021, 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 4th, 2021, 1:27 am

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?

if with the concordat u get success, leave it. take the other schools and mimic their patterns, train their staff to do similar things.

You can either believe 1 of the 2. They can't coexist.

A rising tide raises all ships.

One rotten apple ruins the barrel.

This isn't something impersonal where you can claim "Government needs to spend taxes more wisely etc".

This directly affects your child, hence it's easier to make the decision to separate the chaff from the wheat.

in this case, its a waning tide will sink most boats. u know how hard it woudl be for a student to study in a school of baboons..
birds of a feather, and some children only need to go to school for academics, they dont really care to or need to mix down.

yes its classist, but it produces results. if the govt wnats better schools, work on the poor performing ones, leff the good performers alone.
allyuh people want to hit one wheel hub with a sledge to get both side making noise, equally.

get rid of the concordat, u will get some going totally private, and then u will really see the divide getting wider.

People not gonna go private because they simply can't afford it. The ones who can afford it already go private. Do you think that local chinese/whites/syrians etc go to prestigious schools based on academic criteria? That is only for the indos and blacks. They already know what college or convent they going before they are even born and it aint "shiva boys".

When cxc done they take themselves and they all go to Maple Leaf or International School for the year or two before entering the US/Canada collegiate system. From there they probably stay in foreign and live.They never cared about the academic side of the prestigious schools. This is the reality of your 20% gifted to the denominational boards. Taxpayers money being spent educating thousands of trinis who turn around and don't actually contribute anything meaningful to the country. They usually migrate.

What school do most politicians children go to? Is it the prestigious schools or the gov't schools? Isn't it amazing that most politicians kids end up living abroad but the citizens who went to the government schools are the ones who seem to keep this country running?

The political/ruling/business class is using taxpayers money to access the best educational opportunities for their offspring to get a better life in a foreign developed country. They use the illusion of SEA etc to make the ordinary ppl think they actually have a chance whilst fighting amongst themselves for the limited spaces. These students from poorer classes are nothing more than space fillers/tokens who without GATE or scholarship can't access university.

The ruling classes don't care to improve the education system because their children are guaranteed places in prestige schools. They have too much control on where their children are placed. Remove that control and you will see how quickly all schools begin to improve when the possibility exist that they can be placed in ANY school.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 4th, 2021, 1:53 am

Are we waiting too late to address the problem?

Why start with the post SEA and high school, would it not be better to start at the primary school system?

Better detection of learning disabilities and intervention to really help.

Start streaming from standard 3 to give both the child and parent a better idea of the child's capabilities and what is expected and how to better help the child grow as a person and individual.

Postby The_Honourable » June 4th, 2021, 2:22 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
alfa wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Jake is killed by neighborhood thugs, and returns as a mystical figure (The Wraith) to gain revenge.

Wraith King making an impression even on the advertisements being delivered/served.....

I went there

You don't hear about it much how is it? It certainly isn't one of the popular Presbyterian schools.

It's a prestige school and was once seen as the "Naparima College" of Siparia in the early days. It's usually a first choice preference by students in the Rousillac/Penal/Siparia/Fyzabad areas.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2021, 7:07 am

Redress10 wrote:Taxpayers money being spent educating thousands of trinis who turn around and don't actually contribute anything meaningful to the country.

same thing coudl be said about hand outs and hampers for those lining up all the time. they dont contribute much, and mostly a drain on the treasury due to cepep, hdc, food card, etc.

u remove the concordat, u will get ur prestige needing to remain prestige, and u will get them scalping good performers to keep the ranks of the schools up.

right now, the highest performers of sea, get to go to their first choice, no matter how rich, for the most part. and thats how the top performers end up together.
as time goes on, u get transfers out and in to a certain extent, especially from o level to a level.

remove the govt funding, or zone, u will get ur privatization, and ur still gonna get the top schools taking transfers to keep the performances up.

not all indos gonna get the opportunity as it is now, but it not gonna be the great equalizer as its touted to be.

go right ahead. play mad.

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2021, 7:15 am

What's the point ?

Tobago is 95% black and supported by a black government.

Whose to blame for Bago black folk failure ?

Indian teachers not teaching bago black folk?

The red government is a black goverment supported by their ppl

Red Government higher ups make sure that their families and a selected friends attend the best schools.

Who got secret scholarships?

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2021, 7:20 am

Redress10 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:instead of tearing the excellent down to match the rest, why not lift the lower castes to meet the uppers?

if with the concordat u get success, leave it. take the other schools and mimic their patterns, train their staff to do similar things.

You can either believe 1 of the 2. They can't coexist.

A rising tide raises all ships.

One rotten apple ruins the barrel.

This isn't something impersonal where you can claim "Government needs to spend taxes more wisely etc".

This directly affects your child, hence it's easier to make the decision to separate the chaff from the wheat.

in this case, its a waning tide will sink most boats. u know how hard it woudl be for a student to study in a school of baboons..
birds of a feather, and some children only need to go to school for academics, they dont really care to or need to mix down.

yes its classist, but it produces results. if the govt wnats better schools, work on the poor performing ones, leff the good performers alone.
allyuh people want to hit one wheel hub with a sledge to get both side making noise, equally.

get rid of the concordat, u will get some going totally private, and then u will really see the divide getting wider.

People not gonna go private because they simply can't afford it. The ones who can afford it already go private. Do you think that local chinese/whites/syrians etc go to prestigious schools based on academic criteria? That is only for the indos and blacks. They already know what college or convent they going before they are even born and it aint "shiva boys".

When cxc done they take themselves and they all go to Maple Leaf or International School for the year or two before entering the US/Canada collegiate system. From there they probably stay in foreign and live.They never cared about the academic side of the prestigious schools. This is the reality of your 20% gifted to the denominational boards. Taxpayers money being spent educating thousands of trinis who turn around and don't actually contribute anything meaningful to the country. They usually migrate.

What school do most politicians children go to? Is it the prestigious schools or the gov't schools? Isn't it amazing that most politicians kids end up living abroad but the citizens who went to the government schools are the ones who seem to keep this country running?

The political/ruling/business class is using taxpayers money to access the best educational opportunities for their offspring to get a better life in a foreign developed country. They use the illusion of SEA etc to make the ordinary ppl think they actually have a chance whilst fighting amongst themselves for the limited spaces. These students from poorer classes are nothing more than space fillers/tokens who without GATE or scholarship can't access university.

The ruling classes don't care to improve the education system because their children are guaranteed places in prestige schools. They have too much control on where their children are placed. Remove that control and you will see how quickly all schools begin to improve when the possibility exist that they can be placed in ANY school.

Hoss u hitting hard .

The Red government likes to keep the racial tension alive by stirring up garbage

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2021, 7:24 am

this bunnin anti concordat people eye. and lewis is just to get the rest of the pnmite to buy into it.

getting rid of what u have now, will just make the divide even more clean cut. the rich will pay for their place as normal, and the bright will transfer in. what u will remain with is rubbish rubbing up on rubbish

Postby Redman » June 4th, 2021, 8:11 am

So privatize the education system to the level of a PPP.

Improve the output of ALL the schools by modernized management.

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2021, 8:43 am

Redman wrote:So privatize the education system to the level of a PPP.

Improve the output of ALL the schools by modernized management.
All this race talk is rubbish about who is doing well.

Tobago is 95% African then tell me why Bago kids are not doing the same as Trinidad kids.

What holding back Tobago kids?

Postby paid_influencer » June 4th, 2021, 8:48 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Are we waiting too late to address the problem?

Why start with the post SEA and high school, would it not be better to start at the primary school system?

Start streaming from standard 3 to give both the child and parent a better idea of the child's capabilities and what is expected and how to better help the child grow as a person and individual.

my feeling is this is more about race baiting and scapegoating and less about helping anybody children.

Postby timelapse » June 4th, 2021, 8:54 am

Understand something.Not being racist, it applies to all.
Bring a decent child into a riffraff school and you get riffraff.
Bring a riffraff child into a decent school and you get more than one riffraff.
Bad apples ruin good apples wherever they go.
I remember HFC and Naps girls that used to run down maxi conductors when I was in secondary school.Most of the times these girls had a bright ghetto rat friend that got into these schools because of good grades.Now you can't deny entry if the child has the grades to get in,but imagine if the not so bright ghetto rats get in jusso.That school grades going to get shot to hell.
Let performance dictate entry into better schools.Nobody denying entry if you can qualify.
That 20% dotishness is pure folly.Either reduce it,or get rid of that altogether.I passed common entrance for a very prestigious catholic school in POS.There were some real dunces in my form 1 class.Family names got them in.

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2021, 8:55 am

paid_influencer wrote:

my feeling is this is more about race baiting and scapegoating and less about helping anybody children.
It is a red government strategy to stir up race talk and avoid the real issues facing us. Looks like a cover up is in play right now. It's to deflect those Africans with feeble minds

Postby Redman » June 4th, 2021, 9:08 am

paid_influencer wrote:

It is a red government strategy to stir up race talk and avoid the real issues facing us. Looks like a cover up is in play right now. It's to deflect those Africans with feeble minds

But the stir up here coming from the non PNM crew- so by your logic those are the feeble minds.

Postby timelapse » June 4th, 2021, 9:10 am

These are the same feeble minds that excel in academics, so no beat up on zoom side of the fence
Redman wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

But the stir up here coming from the non PNM crew- so by your logic those are the feeble minds.

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2021, 9:48 am

Redman wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Explain why Tobago kids are not on the same level as Trinidad kids.

What is the difference?

Is there a racist agenda in Tobago?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 9:57 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
alfa wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

I went there

It's a fairly popular choice if you live in the environs of the school. However it's not as popular as both Naparima Colleges.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 10:03 am

Redman wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

You're confusing who created the issue to those defending themselves of false accusations of racism.

Postby Habit7 » June 4th, 2021, 10:05 am

zoom rader wrote:Explain why Tobago kids are not on the same level as Trinidad kids.

What is the difference?

Tobago a mostly rural municipality, performs as good if not better than other rural municipalities.

Stop the misinformation.

Capture.JPG

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 10:07 am

Redman wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Explain why Tobago kids are not on the same level as Trinidad kids.

What is the difference?

The racist agenda in Tobago is have them falsely believe other ethnicities are their enemies. The actual enemy of ambitious Africans is the PNM.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 10:13 am

Habit7 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Explain why Tobago kids are not on the same level as Trinidad kids.

What is the difference?

Tobago a mostly rural municipality, performs as good if not better than other rural municipalities.

Stop the misinformation.

Capture.JPG

Lmao @ Tobago is a rural municipality.

You are a stranger to intelligence and the truth.

Tobago is large enough to have 2 constituencies but you want to claim it's a rural municipality.

Postby The_Honourable » June 4th, 2021, 10:24 am

LMAO...

Divide Trinidad but count Tobago as one.

Ok :lol:

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2021, 10:25 am

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q ... Dk5dGGafWX

Taking bets on ANY LFD RFD PNM official response/sanction.
Last edited by De Dragon on June 4th, 2021, 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2021, 10:26 am

there are a few thigns that trinidad does right. the concordat allows for some sort of academic streamlining and success.
the argument to cancel it, is that the students eventually leave not contributing to society.

then when some person succeeds or excels in a foreign country, who has some grandparent that vacationed in trinidad and pick up the accent a lil bit, trini quick to claim them as their own.

all i saying is , u have a pattern that achieves success, find out what it entails and REPLICATE it in the red and ready schools.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 10:26 am

The_Honourable wrote:LMAO...

Divide Trinidad but count Tobago as one.

Ok :lol:

A rural municipality too eh. Tobagonians are a small bunch of country bookies according to Habit7.

Postby Habit7 » June 4th, 2021, 10:29 am

Can somebody explain to this academic that urban and rural has nothing to do with population amount but density.

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2021, 10:30 am

sMASH wrote:there are a few thigns that trinidad does right. the concordat allows for some sort of academic streamlining and success.
the argument to cancel it, is that the students eventually leave not contributing to society.

then when some person succeeds or excels in a foreign country, who has some grandparent that vacationed in trinidad and pick up the accent a lil bit, trini quick to claim them as their own.

all i saying is , u have a pattern that achieves success, find out what it entails and REPLICATE it in the red and ready schools.

Don't bash them. Look at the same Theodore Lewis. Man left here for the US but still managing to contribute some rank racism.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 10:31 am

sMASH wrote:there are a few thigns that trinidad does right. the concordat allows for some sort of academic streamlining and success.

Again, the goal is not to create better schools but to limit the number of Indians in the current prestige schools and the number of scholarships they win.