Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

silent_riot

Re: Economical food places in Trinidad

Postby silent_riot » July 4th, 2012, 11:30 am

Recently saw a lot of fast food restaurants offering cheap weekday lunches. Papa John's has a mini pizza/calzone plus drink for $25. I think Church's and Pizza Boys have something similar but never really checked it out...only saw some signs.

Postby wagonrunner » July 4th, 2012, 11:51 am

Japs still has a mobile unit south of KFC on independence square?

Economical food places in Trinidad

Postby S_2NR » July 4th, 2012, 11:56 am

Tried Japs and it was decent. Had a nice homemade taste to it and good value for money compared to KFC. Locations too inconvenient though and lack of delivery not helping.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 4th, 2012, 12:02 pm

JAPS taste good but I find they not all that again. When they now open that was d bomb.

Postby wagonrunner » July 4th, 2012, 12:10 pm

Ok. so is that a yes or a no?

Postby gastly369 » July 4th, 2012, 12:46 pm

nervewrecker wrote:i feel next week i hitting that roti shop on dundonald st yes.

wah yuh thin bout krispy krunch hoss.. $20 2pc fries and a bun

ah see dey spreading ..

one done reach la romain and penal getting one by shaq090 business place

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2012, 12:49 pm

gastly369 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:i feel next week i hitting that roti shop on dundonald st yes.

wah yuh thin bout krispy krunch hoss.. $20 2pc fries and a bun

ah see dey spreading ..

one done reach la romain and penal getting one by shaq090 business place

K47T mentioned it awhile back so I got a box a few weeks later (im more of a bbq guy). I'd say its good value for $$$ and dont taste too bad at all.
Glad to see they expanding too.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2012, 12:51 pm

S_2NR wrote:Tried Japs and it was decent. Had a nice homemade taste to it and good value for money compared to KFC. Locations too inconvenient though and lack of delivery not helping.

u actually eat japs,hmmmm,next thing is cascadoux then?

Postby gastly369 » July 4th, 2012, 12:53 pm

yep. they not that bad (thank god they fired the last fry cook) swear was BBQ she was trying to make :\

some fella making it now tasting better

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2012, 12:58 pm

gastly369 wrote:yep. they not that bad (thank god they fired the last fry cook) swear was BBQ she was trying to make :\

some fella making it now tasting better

nah nah spoke to the owner and said things changing now,because several complains came from a number of customers,concerning how they were when they now started and how they were a few weeks ago.he changed things around ah bit and well he's back at prolly a decent standard now.

btw,new outlet opening in Arima in ah few weeks time.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 4th, 2012, 1:01 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Have a new place open on park street right next to the chinese place mentioned / suggested in here.
Little red tent in a car park (looking like they selling digicel phones), lunches from $25.00 they say. Looks like it recently opened too.

Someone be a ginnie pig and try it nuh?

Guy that was handing out flyers seems polite though, I hope the rest of the people like that.

Name of the place is "Hotbox" no lie. And the best thing on the menu seems to be the 2 gyal handing out the flyers.

Postby gastly369 » July 4th, 2012, 1:01 pm

krispy going arima and all :shock:

Postby wagonrunner » July 4th, 2012, 1:02 pm

S_2NR wrote:Tried Japs and it was decent. Had a nice homemade taste to it and good value for money compared to KFC. Locations too inconvenient though and lack of delivery not helping.

wait. you further south than Debe?

Postby S_2NR » July 4th, 2012, 1:05 pm

:lol: never even been to debe.
Their only locations I know of is St Helena and arima. I think all of them are in the East. I not going so far east just to buy fry chicken.

I only pass tru the St Helena one because I was going to the airport. :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2012, 1:06 pm

S_2NR wrote::lol: never even been to debe.
Their only locations I know of is St Helena and arima. I think all of them are in the East. I not going so far east just to buy fry chicken.

hoss the thing aint open in Arima yet eh.unless u went Grande and aint noe,summin wrong.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 4th, 2012, 1:08 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Japs still has a mobile unit south of KFC on independence square?

Last time I checked they still there, but taste and portions are way off. Better to drive to St. Helena.

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2012, 1:13 pm

I just passed by le bistro, scopsing it out. But feeling for a rodee. The gate looks locked, but it's open. The place is tinted and you don't know what's really inside. Pompous signs like "Bistro and living art" can be seen outside. A mural is in the driveway. So I decide, I eh like how this place looking too much. Lemme take my country ass self and get de roti oui. So walking away and a metro looking guy goes "Excuese me!" and says that he saw me looking at the place and wants to give me a flyer. I think, "cool man, I could keep this for future if I want to pass back".

He asks if I was looking for somewhere to have lunch. I answer, "Well, I was trying to decide if to come in, or have a roti". "I'm gonna take a little walk and pass back".

Man says, "Ithink you should come in!"

Steups. So I say, "NAH, I'm taking a walk"

THEN he took the hint and went back inside.

Steups...

Fin.

Had a roti at the good ole roti shop instead.

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2012, 1:14 pm

The flyer says Here are a few comments from our May 12th tasting session:

"fantastic turkey sandwich!" - all patrons.

ALL PATRONS???

Really????

Postby S_2NR » July 4th, 2012, 1:19 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

hoss the thing aint open in Arima yet eh.unless u went Grande and aint noe,summin wrong.

Never went to the arima one. Just heard there was one. I only ha japs once and that was st helena. Not me and St Helena again na. Them love to stare yu down boy. Make me and my woman uncomfortable.

Rel never see come see business in that area. :lol:

Postby tr1ad » July 4th, 2012, 1:20 pm

tr1ad wrote:wa bout albion grill cbh?

yuh hada show me this roti shop

yuh doh even respond to the man from berbice eh

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2012, 1:24 pm

I had albion grill once. I didn't like it too much, and I doh like the cyat and mouse man handing yuh yuh food through a hole scene.

The roti shop easy to find. Almost to the southern end of dundonald street.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2012, 1:24 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Never went to the arima one. Just heard there was one. I only ha japs once and that was st helena. Not me and St Helena again na. Them love to stare yu down boy. Make me and my woman uncomfortable.

Rel never see come see business in that area. :lol:

:? :? bess u do valencia or grande nah,becuz u might get ur arse jacked.

Postby S_2NR » July 4th, 2012, 1:29 pm

Jacked? Ohhh god, St Helena is a hotspot.. :lol:

Thanks for the advice but I'll just go one of the many kfcs around if I feel for fried chicken.

Postby tr1ad » July 4th, 2012, 1:31 pm

crazybalhead wrote:I had albion grill once. I didn't like it too much, and I doh like the cyat and mouse man handing yuh yuh food through a hole scene.

was there yesterday... only thing going tru the hole is yuh morney now

the counter basically open

when next you having one of these pos roti lemme know from morn..i aint know what street is that

Postby wagonrunner » July 4th, 2012, 1:41 pm

S_2NR wrote::lol: Their only locations I know of is St Helena and arima. I think all of them are in the East. I not going so far east just to buy fry chicken.

makes sense. the one in an Juan will forever stay a mystery. to allyuh. :|

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » July 4th, 2012, 1:45 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Japs still has a mobile unit south of KFC on independence square?

They still there...they recently put a mobile unit on the corner of French and Ariapita

crazybalhead wrote:I had albion grill once. I didn't like it too much, and I doh like the cyat and mouse man handing yuh yuh food through a hole scene.

People does only go there for convenience is either there or the van.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2012, 2:04 pm

S_2NR wrote::lol: Their only locations I know of is St Helena and arima. I think all of them are in the East. I not going so far east just to buy fry chicken.

makes sense. the one in an Juan will forever stay a mystery. to allyuh. :|

yuh aint glad

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Nasrallah wrote:

They still there...they recently put a mobile unit on the corner of French and Ariapita

People does only go there for convenience is either there or the van.

True. Trinis too fv ckin lazy.

Postby wagonrunner » July 4th, 2012, 2:14 pm

wagonrunner wrote:makes sense. the one in San Juan will forever stay a mystery. to allyuh. :|
yuh aint glad
the blind leading the blind isn't something to take joy in.

ZeroOne

Re: Where has the best Gyros?

Postby ZeroOne » July 4th, 2012, 2:19 pm

yayyy st james 8-)