The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2013, 10:25 pm

^ seems they are contemplating a smaller, not bigger, size.

iPhone 5 Mini

maybe it's a phone this size or slightly larger

Postby pioneer » January 3rd, 2013, 12:07 am

Ya'll need to get this

Got it at iWorld...was the last one though lol

Postby pioneer » January 3rd, 2013, 1:32 pm

Strauss, I emailed powermax jsut now asking if they accept international credit cards and can ship to bonafide secondary addresses in the US...this was their reply...

"Thank you for your interest in PowerMax. We do appreciate your business, but at this time we do not export Apple computers, displays, iPads, iPod or accessories. Apple won't allow it. In addition, we do not accept international credit cards.

Best regards"

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 3rd, 2013, 1:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:Nokia Lumia and their effect :lol:

I find it looks good tho but it would be funny if apple goes any bigger than they actually are, considering when the iPhone 5 was first announced with the specs and size they did a long ass speech about why they didn't need to go bigger and the big debate people had over screen sizes and justifying the little increase in screen the Apple fans got with the iPhone 5.

Played with a Nokia this weekend, symbian^3 still cool as ever...

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 3rd, 2013, 2:13 pm

pioneer wrote:Strauss, I emailed powermax jsut now asking if they accept international credit cards and can ship to bonafide secondary addresses in the US...this was their reply...

"Thank you for your interest in PowerMax. We do appreciate your business, but at this time we do not export Apple computers, displays, iPads, iPod or accessories. Apple won't allow it. In addition, we do not accept international credit cards.

Best regards"

Something may have changed this year.
Guess you'll have to fall back to Amazon.com
What you looking for?

And you still wanna get rid of express?

Postby pioneer » January 3rd, 2013, 3:30 pm

Was looking at the airport extreme in order to maximise the use of the AX and extend meh range

Orr sell AX and get an extender or sumn

But the AX is so kool

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 4th, 2013, 4:53 am

pioneer wrote:Was looking at the airport extreme in order to maximise the use of the AX and extend meh range

Orr sell AX and get an extender or sumn

But the AX is so kool

You check to see if Richard has Extreme?

With the extreme you can plug in an external HDD to it and use it as a network drive for PC and Mac. The HDD turns it into a Time Capsule backup. (I can't live without Time Machine now).

Locally you also have
http://www.rightent.com/html/net01.htm

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 4th, 2013, 10:28 am

Good day tuners,

Is it possible to gift a app, for example whatsapp, while I on the US store to a user that is on the TT store?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2013, 11:58 am

src1983 wrote:Good day tuners,

Is it possible to gift a app, for example whatsapp, while I on the US store to a user that is on the TT store?

You cannot gift an app

You can either buy the person an iTunes gift card or give them your iTunes login - they can change accounts, login with your account, buy the app using your credit and then log back in with their account on their device.

They will have to enter your password each time they want to update the app though

shandyman

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby shandyman » January 4th, 2013, 1:07 pm

iDynamic wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:Same here but I know of a few people who bought iPhone 5s from bmobile and are experiencing horrible battery life.

One of my friends can't go 5 hrs without having to recharge infact she charged her phone and took it off th charger at 3am and by 7am the battery life went down to 64% without touching the phone

When I trace the imei it appears in a Vietnam forum , when translated their stock and Bmobile stock matches also the activation dates match. So I assume they sent the lower grade iPhones to this region

Received my iPhone 5 last week (purchased from the apple store in ny). Battery life doesn't seem the be very good as I normally won't make it through the day without charging the phone in the afternoon. Came across several posts on the apple forums that seen to suggest that it is an iOS 6.02 issue. I can easily get 8 hours of movie watching and web browsing on my iPad 3. I'm lucky if I can get 5 hrs of constant use from this iphone5. I have tried resetting the device an disabling most of the background functions with the exception of 3G, Siri and some apps that require location services. Battery life still seems poor when compared to my iPad. The attached picture was taken after my phone was unplugged 7-8 hrs ago with approx 4 hrs of moderate use and the remainder on standby. Any iphone5 users willing to shed some light?
image.jpg

2WNBoost

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby 2WNBoost » January 4th, 2013, 1:31 pm

shandyman wrote:
iDynamic wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:Same here but I know of a few people who bought iPhone 5s from bmobile and are experiencing horrible battery life.

One of my friends can't go 5 hrs without having to recharge infact she charged her phone and took it off th charger at 3am and by 7am the battery life went down to 64% without touching the phone

When I trace the imei it appears in a Vietnam forum , when translated their stock and Bmobile stock matches also the activation dates match. So I assume they sent the lower grade iPhones to this region

Received my iPhone 5 last week (purchased from the apple store in ny). Battery life doesn't seem the be very good as I normally won't make it through the day without charging the phone in the afternoon. Came across several posts on the apple forums that seen to suggest that it is an iOS 6.02 issue. I can easily get 8 hours of movie watching and web browsing on my iPad 3. I'm lucky if I can get 5 hrs of constant use from this iphone5. I have tried resetting the device an disabling most of the background functions with the exception of 3G, Siri and some apps that require location services. Battery life still seems poor when compared to my iPad. The attached picture was taken after my phone was unplugged 7-8 hrs ago with approx 4 hrs of moderate use and the remainder on standby. Any iphone5 users willing to shed some light?

Try turning off Bluetooth, WiFi and 3G when not needed.
Also limit location services to those apps that really need it, disable it for the others, e.g. games, news apps, social apps etc...
Facebook can be a battery killer so limit it's functionality (notifications, badges etc)
Overall don't let every app have free reign of your iPhone otherwise your battery life will go down the toilet.

http://www.apple.com/batteries/iphone.html

Hope this helps

Postby pioneer » January 4th, 2013, 1:43 pm

I had the same problem/fear/fret but after a few charge cycles the battery seems to be "conditioned" now so a charges lasts tru an entire day

Keep in mind an iPad battery is bigger than an iPhone5 battery

Postby Kenjo » January 4th, 2013, 4:35 pm

pioneer wrote:I had the same problem/fear/fret but after a few charge cycles the battery seems to be "conditioned" now so a charges lasts tru an entire day

yes with my iphone 5 the first few charges didnt last much but definitely battery life improves with time

shandyman

Postby shandyman » January 4th, 2013, 5:04 pm

Kenjo wrote:
pioneer wrote:I had the same problem/fear/fret but after a few charge cycles the battery seems to be "conditioned" now so a charges lasts tru an entire day

yes with my iphone 5 the first few charges didnt last much but definitely battery life improves with time

Discharged the battery to 3% this afternoon before recharging. Hopefully it should improve like you guys said.

Postby pioneer » January 4th, 2013, 6:17 pm

about 5-6 charges you should see an improvement

Postby M_2NR » January 4th, 2013, 6:30 pm

Doesn't lithium batteries love to be charged a lot and drain cycles (100 to 0) actually weaken them?
From what i read it's good to charge them at any interval and once a month do a drain to 0 and charge to 100 and that keeps the meter conditioned.
Where iDuane? :poke:
(jk)

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 4th, 2013, 7:27 pm

I have no battery issues tho

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357341908.537171.jpg

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 4th, 2013, 9:11 pm

Battery has been an issue for me since iOS 6.0.1 and carried on to 6.0.2. 6.0 was fine.
Lost 42% in 1.8 hrs a time. Friend of mine got a new 5 Christmas and was complaining already of the battery life (is on 6.0.1).
Haven't checked but I am pretty sure there are a couple of threads on Apple's Discussions boards about it

Postby pioneer » January 4th, 2013, 10:35 pm

M_2NR wrote:Doesn't lithium batteries love to be charged a lot and drain cycles (100 to 0) actually weaken them?
From what i read it's good to charge them at any interval and once a month do a drain to 0 and charge to 100 and that keeps the meter conditioned.
Where iDuane? :poke:
(jk)

Yeah once a month drain to less than 20%

After a few "normal" charges right out the box the life improves

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 12:46 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:I have no battery issues tho

the phone's been plugged in since the last full charge

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 4:28 am

That was just to sync something but I've never experienced battery issues like I've heard from some people.
While I may not be looking at videos all day, I'm on the phone a lot (voice) and emails and I could go 1.5 days-2 days on a full charge.

Leaving Facebook logged in kills the battery very fast, a lot of background apps as well.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » January 5th, 2013, 6:25 am

shandyman

Postby shandyman » January 5th, 2013, 9:01 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:I have no battery issues tho

Getting nothing near that. Took my phone off the charger at 12am and when I checked it at 8am the battery was at 86%. The only things that should have been used during those 8 hrs were:

(1) connected to wifi and cellular
(2) got a couple whatsapp messages
(3) Had my email set to fetch every hr (took push email off)
(4) Facebook logged in the background (thinking about deleting/disabling the Facebook account)

Are you on ios 6.02?

shandyman

Postby shandyman » January 5th, 2013, 9:09 am

SRASC wrote:Battery has been an issue for me since iOS 6.0.1 and carried on to 6.0.2. 6.0 was fine.
Lost 42% in 1.8 hrs a time. Friend of mine got a new 5 Christmas and was complaining already of the battery life (is on 6.0.1).
Haven't checked but I am pretty sure there are a couple of threads on Apple's Discussions boards about it

This sounds a lot like my iPhone since I got it three weeks ago. It came with iOS 6.01 installed and I upgraded to iOS 6.02 the same day I received it. Therefore can't really comment on battery life on iOS 6.0.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 9:17 am

I only log in to fb when I need to check something. My emails are of fetch every 15mins...

shandyman

Postby shandyman » January 5th, 2013, 9:36 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:I only log in to fb when I need to check something. My emails are of fetch every 15mins...

Took off Facebook. Let's see if it will make a difference.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 5th, 2013, 10:55 am

pete wrote:You need to individually convert songs to be able to use them as ringtones?

Google says due to some SDK restriction on iPhone, ringtones can have a max length of 40s

Postby Kenjo » January 5th, 2013, 11:04 am

eitech wrote:
pete wrote:You need to individually convert songs to be able to use them as ringtones?

Google says due to some SDK restriction on iPhone, ringtones can have a max length of 40s

yes 40 seconds maximum then the song plays on repeat for that segment,you can create the song your self or use free apps like ringtone on your phone to either download ringtones or use mp3 on your phone to select the segment of the song you want,the song must have the extension m4r and you still need to go through itunes to sync the song to the phone
lots of different combinations just to get a piece of a ringtone

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » January 5th, 2013, 2:37 pm

If you have a song you want to use (not a music file downloaded from iTunes)
Load the track in your iTunes library
Make an acc version of the file
Copy the acc version to the desktop (or wherever)
Change the file extension from .m4a to .m4r
Load file back into iTunes
Transfer to iPhone. It'll be in your ringtones section

& you don't need to reduce the length of the track. None of my ringtones are less than 40s & the track plays out for as long as the phone rings or goes to voicemail.

Postby pete » January 5th, 2013, 2:46 pm

Now I know why so many people with iphones just use the regular ringing tone.