triniterribletim wrote:zoom rader wrote:In the UK it does affect u in a way. Some trinis there, students, workers or families stay in a close loop with other trinis. It takes a couple of months to grow friends outside of Trinidad.AlphaMan wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:zoom rader wrote:In a nutshell yes.AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
How you migrating with a credit card to finance your stay over there...
U have to understand these countries need to protect their boarders. You can't have economic migrants just coming in. EU is not Trinidad
But there are ways if u are a young person to get a working visa/school and build urself from there.
Just research
I'd recommend getting a degree that's internationally recognised (UWI is but unless you have multinational experience they treating you like you have A-levels alone) and getting through to the UK. After 5 years you can get ILR then shortly after citizenship.
UK is a great platform to be an expat in other countries.
What's it like to be in another country away from all your trini family and friends?
Does it affect your mental state of mind? Loneliness etc..
Let just say UK folk like to keep to themselves and they don't really care to mingle with u, unless if u belong to a social circle.
In the UK u can go to school or work and know these people for years, but that is as far as it goes. Very rarely will u get invited to their homes or things like celebrations, wedding, parties ect.
However they will invite u to pubs/bars maybe restaurants.
You will find ethic groups stick to themselves
Totally the exact opposite here in Brazil. People will go out of their way to be friendly to you. You will get invited to parties, bars, weddings, beach excursions and all manner of other things. People in smaller cities where foreigners are a rare sight will want to talk to you for a while and take pictures with you. It is harder to not make friends here.
AlphaMan wrote:triniterribletim wrote:zoom rader wrote:In the UK it does affect u in a way. Some trinis there, students, workers or families stay in a close loop with other trinis. It takes a couple of months to grow friends outside of Trinidad.AlphaMan wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:zoom rader wrote:In a nutshell yes.AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
U have to understand these countries need to protect their boarders. You can't have economic migrants just coming in. EU is not Trinidad
But there are ways if u are a young person to get a working visa/school and build urself from there.
Just research
I'd recommend getting a degree that's internationally recognised (UWI is but unless you have multinational experience they treating you like you have A-levels alone) and getting through to the UK. After 5 years you can get ILR then shortly after citizenship.
What's it like to be in another country away from all your trini family and friends?
Does it affect your mental state of mind? Loneliness etc..
Let just say UK folk like to keep to themselves and they don't really care to mingle with u, unless if u belong to a social circle.
In the UK u can go to school or work and know these people for years, but that is as far as it goes. Very rarely will u get invited to their homes or things like celebrations, wedding, parties ect.
However they will invite u to pubs/bars maybe restaurants.
You will find ethic groups stick to themselves
Totally the exact opposite here in Brazil. People will go out of their way to be friendly to you. You will get invited to parties, bars, weddings, beach excursions and all manner of other things. People in smaller cities where foreigners are a rare sight will want to talk to you for a while and take pictures with you. It is harder to not make friends here.
How many countries have you been to and what are they?
You seem to be living life as opposed to most who stuck in a boring cycle..what's the secret?
USA, but its not a matter of getting blank, its a numbers game. Getting a visa is really the tosh of a coin and if the clerk likes you.MaxPower wrote:Which country blanks Trinis the most?
British Overseas Territories (excepting Bahamas) having visa free travel??zoom rader wrote:USA, but its not a matter of getting blank, its a numbers game. Getting a visa is really the tosh of a coin and if the clerk likes you.MaxPower wrote:Which country blanks Trinis the most?
The only give out quota visas to maintain diplomatic relations with Trini as a favour.
Cayman Islands
Bermuda
Bahamas
British Vigrin Islands
Are visa free, rest of the carribean suck salt.
Dohplaydat wrote:zoom rader wrote:In a nutshell yes.AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
Just research
UK uni, accepts cxc. Apparently cxc is now rated higher than Gcse.Redress10 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:zoom rader wrote:In a nutshell yes.AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
Just research
If they want to migrate to UK then it's best they get some sort of UK tertiary qualification. UOL degree etc
zoom rader wrote:UK uni, accepts cxc. Apparently cxc is now rated higher than Gcse.Redress10 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:zoom rader wrote:In a nutshell yes.AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
Just research
If they want to migrate to UK then it's best they get some sort of UK tertiary qualification. UOL degree etc
But the UK milks education for foreign students. One year is like £15 to 20k in fees then u have living expenses.
They do however allow you to work during ur stay, a system which was abuse by bogus Indian students. Some only use this to get into the UK and disappeared.
zoom rader wrote:UK uni, accepts cxc. Apparently cxc is now rated higher than Gcse.Redress10 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:zoom rader wrote:In a nutshell yes.AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
Just research
But the UK milks education for foreign students. One year is like £15 to 20k in fees then u have living expenses.
They do however allow you to work during ur stay, a system which was abuse by bogus Indian students. Some only use this to get into the UK and disappeared.
U are very much correct.triniterribletim wrote:zoom rader wrote:UK uni, accepts cxc. Apparently cxc is now rated higher than Gcse.Redress10 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:zoom rader wrote:In a nutshell yes.AlphaMan wrote:I take it that to comfortably migrate into these eu destinations( Portugal, Switzerland Etc) you have to have some decent capital and in US dollars too right..
Just research
People just don't take advantage of the things available to them because most are too afraid to step out of their comfort zone. I wonder how many people know that the Government of Brazil offers scholarships every year for students to pursue undergraduate or graduate and even postgraduate studies at the best Brazilian universities and even cover flight costs for Trinidadian students, plus gives them a full year to learn Portuguese? Or how about free maritime certification under a different program at the Brazilian naval schools? The only Caribbean person I know who has taken advantage of any of these programs is a Jamaican who is a board certified dentist and orthodontic specialist, but chose to open a Jamaican restaurant instead. Now he has three of them and is looking to franchise out places across Brazil. If people really wanted to leave they could more than do so, while gaining skills and training and even finding new avenues for business opportunities. People will stay in Trinidad, complain about the state of things, get rejected by Uncle Sam and Uncle Justin and just decay in situ.
If people want to leave and have the belly they can leave. Problem is Trinidad is filled with cowards.pugboy wrote:i know somebody who became a dentist in brazil
he never came back after secondary school and has a high standard of living there
AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
Then just don't migrate to the US or UK or Canada? Uncle Joe and Uncle Justin and Uncle Charles have a monopoly on receiving Trinidadian migrants? Plenty places where it's possible to have a better quality of life at a cheaper cost than in Trinidad.
Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
Then just don't migrate to the US or UK or Canada? Uncle Joe and Uncle Justin and Uncle Charles have a monopoly on receiving Trinidadian migrants? Plenty places where it's possible to have a better quality of life at a cheaper cost than in Trinidad.
Where then? Aside from the EU, Australia and NZ, keep in mind the language barrier and cultural familiarity.
Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
Where then? Aside from the EU, Australia and NZ, keep in mind the language barrier and cultural familiarity.
triniterribletim wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
Brazil. The only real obstacle is the language barrier, apart from that, the culture is similar enough that a Trinidadian won't have any issue adapting whatsoever. Cheap CoL, far better infrastructure than Trinidad, cheap real estate, easier access to the international community and infinite things to see and do. Stability and access to insulation from inflationary pressures caused by major supply chain shock because they haven't offshored everything and need to rely on JIT imports is a helluva buffer to have.
88sins wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
I'm surprised you left out the outright blatant racism, because it's definitely a factor
I choose to live in Trinidad
People in Trinidad have found themselves at a crossroads since August 31, 1962. People everywhere find themselves at crossroads—where should I start my first job? Where should I educate my kids? What type of milk should I buy?—here or there, this or that.
It’s very like a Trini to be indecisive. Most Trinidadians pontificate about which path to take, most stay; some leave. And as I see my friends, family, acquaintances and lesser known ones leave, I can’t help but wonder—why? Better job opportunities, some say. My favourite and most understood complaint.
I think, though, unless you’ve had a taste of a foreign work culture, you’re not going to get what you expect; average Americans work about 40 hours a week; Australia, 35, depending on your field. Remember that the next Friday you take off to go to the beach.
One or two leave to “find themselves”. Another frightening example of how little we work to entice people to be fulfilled here, at any age.
This, though, is an envious position to be in. No matter where you are in the world, “find yourself” is about yourself, not about the world.
Brass tacks; it’s crime. It’s everywhere in Trinidad and Tobago, through and through, systemic, and we’re all fed up. Nobody wants crime, in any country. Although with the same energy, we all have to put up with crime. In any country. It’s all over the world, here and there, through and through.
Remember Columbine or Sandy Hook or Umpqua Community College, where eight students and one teacher were killed? Not even kids are safe in the big, wide pond.
Here at home, boys go to jail because nothing fits. Abusive parents, abusive friends, abusive relationships, and there is no way to quell the rage.
We’re not perfect. This nation doesn’t breed effective leadership or an educated citizenry. Perhaps the country is an imperfect solution to the impossible question: where is perfect?
So, ask yourself: why am I leaving? Is it that I’m fed up with the environment, or am I fed up of Trinidad and Tobago? Is it my colleagues, friends or the crime at the local watering hole? If it is, then you must stay. One is a product of their home, not their environment.
How then do those of us who choose to stay reconcile this notion of Trinidad and Tobago and our environment? Find yourself in St James on a Tuesday night at 9.30 or 10 o’clock at Ms Kani’s for a beef roti. You’re safe; with your mouth watering, nothing comes close.
Then you see your primary school mate. You talk and cajole, and wish each other all the best on the corner. Take a sip of your red Solo from the bar, your home, you start to believe.
You get this at every juncture here; it’s a nation of mixed nuts. Like the first song to play Jouvert morning, or the smell of salt on your skin after a sea bath, learn about this place. We’re dripping in diversity.
Moreover now, the capital looks exactly like what you’d expect of a Caribbean metropolis. Dank and dumpy, and not without its fair share of intrigue. You may come to find that this environment is one piece of the puzzle.
The other is the faith that Trinidad and Tobago, home, transcends its environment. How could you leave that? Some do. So we speak of them loudly with love in our hearts; hopefully they can hear.
I hope, too, the next time that song comes on the radio they will hear us sing it for them, “Is here weh conceive meh, is here ah go dead.”
Damon Agostini
Glencoe
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/letters/i-choose-to-live-in-trinidad/article_9c000bb0-7b73-11ee-bfc6-776db7ea8784.html
A man now telling a man who actually living in Brazil that life isn't better, even after the Brazil resident explained how much better it is.... First World biases I suppose.Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
Brazil. The only real obstacle is the language barrier, apart from that, the culture is similar enough that a Trinidadian won't have any issue adapting whatsoever. Cheap CoL, far better infrastructure than Trinidad, cheap real estate, easier access to the international community and infinite things to see and do. Stability and access to insulation from inflationary pressures caused by major supply chain shock because they haven't offshored everything and need to rely on JIT imports is a helluva buffer to have.
Brazil sounds great, but trinis are not going to line to go there. Life is Brazil is not significantly better than living in Trinidad.
Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
Brazil sounds great, but trinis are not going to line to go there. Life is Brazil is not significantly better than living in Trinidad.
triniterribletim wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
Because most Trinis are too short sighted to see that living in a shared basement apartment in Richmond Hill, clinging to the overpriced facsimiles of Trini culture, working for DoorDash/UberEATS and being able to take pictures of yourself in Times Square with a bottle of some ghetto fabulous liquor brand for the people back home doesn't count as having made it. What does count as having made it though is building the sort of generational wealth that allows you to set up your kids for success. Once upon a time, that was easy in both the US and Canada, one could have a reasonable expectation of becoming a homeowner and accumulating at least a modest sum to ensure a comfortable retirement. That has changed drastically, not even natives expect to be homeowners realistically. Housing in in-demand areas for even properties in need of dire renovations are already out of the range of people that would be considered qualified professionals. Inflation has whittled down the expected value of the return on migration, the exception being if one is determined to just work there and be a remittance machine and eventually retire to Trinidad, which seems rather self defeating in the end. Wasn't the dream for most people to have a main residence, a beach house and a new car? To be able to eat out multiple times per week, to be unburdened by house chores and pay someone to get that done, to visit a new place every quarter. People accepting a lifestyle that's not a marked improvement in every metric for the sake of the appearance of having "made it" and are killing themselves to just barely pay rent and buy food and gas in a hostile environment are just whistling past the graveyard as a lifestyle.
If u have no education or skills, then off course life will not be better. This has always been the case as u will have to take low-end jobs if available or hussle. This is in all countries, poor or rich.wing wrote:A man now telling a man who actually living in Brazil that life isn't better, even after the Brazil resident explained how much better it is.... First World biases I suppose.Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:AlphaMan wrote:USA and UK ain't no cheap place to migrate too at the moment.
Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
I would appreciate your opinions in regards to liquidating assets.
I'm fortunate to own multiple income producing property,
would it be best to sell everything and use the cash to purchase property abroad such as mutil family units?
Or is it better to slowly sell assets because it's such a drastic change and a entirely different environment that such a move would not be wise?
Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
I would appreciate your opinions in regards to liquidating assets.
I'm fortunate to own multiple income producing property,
would it be best to sell everything and use the cash to purchase property abroad such as mutil family units?
Or is it better to slowly sell assets because it's such a drastic change and a entirely different environment that such a move would not be wise?