COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3853 cases, 61 deaths, 2097 active, 829 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2020, 7:23 pm

abducted wrote:‘Last lap’ led to Covid spike

When Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced a roll-back of Covid-19 restrictions on August 15, hundreds of people flocked to beaches and rivers for a “last dip”.

Hundreds also flocked to bars for a last lap before bars were forced to close, in keeping with the restrictions. It was this behaviour that led to the recent spike in Covid-19 cases. This is according to epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds, who noted the numbers began to increase from August 17.

Speaking during yesterday’s virtual media conference, Hinds presented a series of graphs showing the spread of the virus in T&T.

“We do see that post the recommendation on the 17th, we see that we have no in-house dining, no gatherings in beaches, etc, there continued to be something of an uptick; and then on September 2, which is approximately two weeks after the ‘last lap’ activity that preceded the closure of beaches and bars, that we did have a spike that most likely corresponds to an increased number of individuals coming into contact and transmitting illness,” he said.

He added that a downward trend was observed at the end of July, following the reintroduction of restrictions on public gatherings and other regulations.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 15640.html

Seems the PNM is attempting one of those "don't believe what your eyes and brain are telling you" kind of strategies to propagandize the response, or lack thereof. The apportioning of blame seems heavily skewed away from everyone EXCEPT the PNM GORTT, who so far have shown no inclination to accept any.

is not that they believe it ehno... is that they will support it and push it cause is their tribe. they know is bs, but emperors new clothes... if massa say so, then is so and every body else could UDFR

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3853 cases, 61 deaths, 2097 active, 829 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » September 20th, 2020, 7:44 pm

pugboy wrote:4 for the day is highest daily so far

It didn't have a 7 in one day a week ago or so?

Postby goalpost » September 20th, 2020, 7:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Bluefete and honourable

That's 15!!! Coincidence??? Or no???

Buss the mark?? Ah go wait on allyuh

Buss d mark nah man

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 20th, 2020, 7:45 pm

What allyuh talking about here?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2020, 7:47 pm

I would wait for them men to respond. I aint really have court clothes these days nuh

Postby bluefete » September 20th, 2020, 7:55 pm

If the only way to get them to tell the truth is to buss de mark.

THEN BUSS DE MARK!!!!!!!!!!

But buss it so that you have some form of protection.

I am totally fed up of the games.

We cannot continue this way and although Dr. Hinds is blaming the spike on the many who went to the beaches and bars before the last partial shut down, he is staying away from the thousands who jumped up for the election with no masks.

Also drastic action is needed to get our economy moving again. I wonder if they will wait for oil and gas prices to improve, as they were doing for the past 5 years.

Postby bluefete » September 20th, 2020, 8:01 pm

Gasparillo government primary on lockdown.

A relative of one of the teachers died from Covid and ALL the staff were in school last week preparing packages.

ALL teachers must go into quarantine.

Funny thing is that it is not on the news.

Postby paid_influencer » September 20th, 2020, 8:11 pm

^ I heard on news about a teacher that died, but no details and they didn't even mention COVID19 which was strange.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2020, 8:21 pm

Right now Valencia police station under pressure. An officer tested + and he was working like normz. A police station is fastly becoming a very dangerous place to visit

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2020, 8:26 pm

basically every week a station getting shutdown
for sanitizing and staff reset

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Right now Valencia police station under pressure. An officer tested + and he was working like normz. A police station is fastly becoming a very dangerous place to visit

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 20th, 2020, 8:27 pm

Updated CDC guidance acknowledges coronavirus can spread through the air

https://www.cnn.com/2020/09/20/health/c ... index.html

Postby Dave » September 20th, 2020, 8:31 pm

This begins our worst fears! Makes using a mask even more fundamental to keeping this at bay.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 20th, 2020, 8:31 pm

Could you all point in the direction of said mark, you don't have to "buss" said mark.

Postby bluefete » September 20th, 2020, 8:33 pm

I am doing an analysis here and it is mind boggling.

They are deliberately spreading out the statistics. Sunday and Saturday afternoon SEEMS to be daily totals. Go figure out everything else.

I hope people take Shakes seriously when he is trying to educate people.

Sunday afternoon 20/9 - 35 cases (no date spread)
Sunday morning 20/9 - 13 cases (no date spread)

Saturday afternoon 19/9 - 114 cases (no date spread)
Saturday morning 19/9 - 88 cases (period 10/9 - 18/9)

Friday afternoon 18/9 - 139 cases (period 4/9 - 18/9)
Friday morning 18/9 - 78 cases (period 4/9 - 17/9)

Thursday afternoon 17/9 - 98 cases (period 4/9-16/9)
Thursday morning 17/9 - 9 cases (period 4/9 - 15/9)

Wednesday afternoon 16/9 - 34 cases (period 4/9 - 16/9)
Wednesday morning 16/9 - 70 cases (period 4/9 - 15/9)

Tuesday afternoon 15/9 - 40 cases (period 4/9 - 14/9)
Tuesday morning 15/9 - 42 cases (period 4/9 - 14/9)

Monday afternoon 14/9 - 50 cases (period 3/9 - 12/9)
Monday morning 14/9 - 49 cases (period 3/9 - 12/9)

Sunday afternoon 13/9 - 23 cases (period 2/9 - 12/9)
Sunday morning 13/9 - 26 cases (period 3/9 - 11/9)

Postby bluefete » September 20th, 2020, 8:34 pm

Re Duane's post: Isn't the CDC kind of late with that info about the virus spreading through the air?

But given what I know about the CDC and their nasty, stinking ways, I am not surprised.

Postby bluefete » September 20th, 2020, 8:37 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^ I heard on news about a teacher that died, but no details and they didn't even mention COVID19 which was strange.

That was a teacher from south. I think Cipero (the school Lyndsey Doodhai is principal)

This one is a relative of a teacher who died but the teacher was exposed and was in Gasparillo Primary for the week in close contact with other teachers.

Postby bluefete » September 20th, 2020, 8:37 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Could you all point in the direction of said mark, you don't have to "buss" said mark.

How the death numbers are being released.

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2020, 8:50 pm

bluefete wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Could you all point in the direction of said mark, you don't have to "buss" said mark.

u hadda follow up on the sample dates of those results. they say that 'so and so results come from sample between the period so and so'. i not taking it on cause the graphs showing a trend upwards just not as steep as it should be, but some of the sample batches are from a long time before.

Postby paid_influencer » September 20th, 2020, 9:11 pm

bluefete wrote:

this is a good Sunday night pep talk

:drinking:

Postby The_Honourable » September 20th, 2020, 9:22 pm

The intel is that those death numbers especially the last 15 are allegedly not recent. The deaths were allegedly at different locations. Informing the family and the public are intentionally delayed but not by an unreasonable amount of time. You would have less reports of family members taking to social media and the public would not panic with a spike in deaths. Slow release of numbers averaging 2 deaths per day (sometimes 4 sometimes 0) where the delayed numbers would eventually be officially tallied.

People not dying in mass like we saw in other countries so you have the luxury to control numbers.

Low selective testing was the start. Now it's statistical manipulation.

Postby paid_influencer » September 20th, 2020, 9:38 pm

The_Honourable wrote:People not dying in mass

all i really need to know right now

keith keeping we safe. downward trend

Postby MaxPower » September 20th, 2020, 9:44 pm

Trinis are simply unconcerned with anything to do with Coronavirus.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2020, 9:46 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

The intel is that those death numbers especially the last 15 are allegedly not recent. The deaths were allegedly at different locations. Informing the family and the public are intentionally delayed but not by an unreasonable amount of time. You would have less reports of family members taking to social media and the public would not panic with a spike in deaths. Slow release of numbers averaging 2 deaths per day (sometimes 4 sometimes 0) where the delayed numbers would eventually be officially tallied.

People not dying in mass like we saw in other countries so you have the luxury to control numbers.

Low selective testing was the start. Now it's statistical manipulation.

We go left it so

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2020, 9:48 pm

blame it on the education system

matix

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3901 cases, 65 deaths, 2083 active, 1753 recovered in T&T

Postby matix » September 20th, 2020, 11:02 pm

Have a couple friends working at Mt. Hope in the lab for testing samples. They're currently testing the backlog of samples. The lists are insane with positive cases. The numbers being posted definitely don't match and are certainly not up to date.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3901 cases, 65 deaths, 2083 active, 1753 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » September 21st, 2020, 12:33 am

IMG_5147.JPG

Throw back to when you Trinis did nothing and thought allyuh had it control.

Look at the cases now and you Trinis still doing nothing.

What a failed nation all because of the Trinidadian mentality.

Everything is a joke.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3901 cases, 65 deaths, 2083 active, 1753 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2020, 5:11 am

^ You do remember we were no1 in the world in the fight against covid eh. Terrence said that to win elections. After election, truth fly out

Postby sMASH » September 21st, 2020, 5:40 am

MaxPower wrote:IMG_5147.JPG

Throw back to when you Trinis did nothing and thought allyuh had it control.

Look at the cases now and you Trinis still doing nothing.

What a failed nation all because of the Trinidadian mentality.

Everything is a joke.

how u mean did nothing? didnt we hold an election? :D premised on 'we managed it well'? :D
if it wasnt for those pesky immigrants not quarantining at home, and those bars and churches. :D

Postby goalpost » September 21st, 2020, 6:03 am

So has there been more deaths beyond the 15 delayed? If so, those are also delayed.?

Postby Gladiator » September 21st, 2020, 6:13 am

History would remember them for that...
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:^ You do remember we were no1 in the world in the fight against covid eh. Terrence said that to win elections. After election, truth fly out