The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby M_2NR » September 14th, 2013, 9:42 pm

pete wrote:All the play store does is show what permissions the app changes when installed. I don't even read that and just hit accept. If that is too hard for iPhone users then all I can say is wow...
The technicality and terminology of the process for the user to go through is why I mentioned it.

next time an app changes perms and decide to take all of his data/wife/life/money/car/tanty and he juss hit accept let's see how that ends :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 14th, 2013, 11:30 pm

^ I don't think they can change perms without asking - can they?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 1:20 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
uncle sam wrote:Realistically most people by the iphone for the appearance

disagree totally with this one...how many iphone users use the out without a case just to show off the appearance?? most users put the phone in a protective case which hide most of the manufacturer design.

So what you're saying is that if the iphone looked like a nokia 5120 but had the same functionality as it has now they would get the same number of sales?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 1:24 pm

There is a reason why apple is so meticulous about their design and has such a vast design team

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 1:47 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

disagree totally with this one...how many iphone users use the out without a case just to show off the appearance?? most users put the phone in a protective case which hide most of the manufacturer design.

So what you're saying is that if the iphone looked like a nokia 5120 but had the same functionality as it has now they would get the same number of sales?
no what we are saying is if the iPhone looked the way it did but had the same features as a Nokia 5120 it would not get the same number of sales.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 2:03 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

no what we are saying is if the iPhone looked the way it did but had the same features as a Nokia 5120 it would not get the same number of sales.

Put the same Os that from the iphone 3GS and put it in a new body (iphone 5) and see if apple is going to make millions.. Wait... Isnt that almost what they did? Design > functionality= average user

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 2:54 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

Put the same Os that from the iphone 3GS and put it in a new body (iphone 5) and see if apple is going to make millions.. Wait... Isnt that almost what they did? Design > functionality= average user
not sure what you are getting at

the process of updating is to upgrade the hardware and software

If any manufacturer tries to sell their hardware with an OS from 2009 it will not go over well with consumers.

exactly what functionality is lacking that you claim "Apple is design > functionality"?

Postby pioneer » September 15th, 2013, 3:13 pm

He is prolly one of those people upset that you can't pull out ah "memory cyard" with yuh padna mp3's an ringtone on he fone, and put it on your fone.

Someone in work told me that's the reason she would never buy apple products - "yuh cyar share emmpeetree"

I pity these fools, and glad they not part of the Apple master race.

Slaughta69

Postby Slaughta69 » September 15th, 2013, 3:17 pm

Any iPhones for sale

Postby S_2NR » September 15th, 2013, 3:38 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

dude save your breath

you are in the apple thread :lol: just let them be

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 3:51 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

not sure what you are getting at

the process of updating is to upgrade the hardware and software

If any manufacturer tries to sell their hardware with an OS from 2009 it will not go over well with consumers.

exactly what functionality is lacking that you claim "Apple is design > functionality"?

It may be tough for u to perceive but most avg. users want a pretty phone.. And thats it! Cellphones have because an accessory, impression of financial status etc. just like a car.. Take a trip in west mall.. Ask 5 upper middle class women what phone they are using.. Then ask them how to disable siri..

What is wrong with wanting a pretty phone?

I have an iphone 5 and i want a gold 5s.. I don't care for a fingerpint scanner or that snazzy looking colourful OS.. I dont even lock my phone

I didnt mention anything about a lack of functionality... I own a few apple products myself... I am looking at the iphone in particular from a marketing POV, the POV of the average...

and update does not have to be both hardware and software.. It could be either one or both..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 3:53 pm

^ so you think the iPhone is the best looking phone on the market?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 3:54 pm

pioneer wrote:He is prolly one of those people upset that you can't pull out ah "memory cyard" with yuh padna mp3's an ringtone on he fone, and put it on your fone.

Someone in work told me that's the reason she would never buy apple products - "yuh cyar share emmpeetree"

I pity these fools, and glad they not part of the Apple master race.

Hatttttte to show off but i have an iphone, ipod, imac and a macbook pro

Never saw the sense in buying an ipad

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 3:54 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ so you think the iPhone is the best looking phone on the market?

Oh yes!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 4:02 pm

^ if looks alone sold phones then sales of the HTC One would be surpassing the S4

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 4:23 pm

even the z10 is a beautiful phone but it just never caught on....but i get its the "average" consumer right??

the trini market is just what's in, remember when bbm was the "in" thing and people just wanted a blackberry so they can "free txt", they don't use anything else on it, and believe me blackberries are ugly as firetruck

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 4:30 pm

Hence the mass housing changes... All kinda pinks, purples and oranges.. Not to mention fancy themes

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 4:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ if looks alone sold phones then sales of the HTC One would be surpassing the S4

Quoting me incorrect dey man

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 4:42 pm

^ Exactly what are you saying?

Postby pioneer » September 15th, 2013, 4:47 pm

uncle sam wrote:Hence the mass housing changes... All kinda pinks, purples and oranges.. Not to mention fancy themes

Yet they still hold a small poverty portion of the market share

What are you saying?

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 4:53 pm

dont think he even know

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 5:03 pm

Why do you think they are putting on colourful housings... Not to make their phone more attractive? ..more appealing to the eye?

So you guy think if they could afford an iphone they wouldnt buy one.. They just want to use an ugly bb because can get free bbm?
Last edited by uncle sam on September 15th, 2013, 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 5:07 pm

can't speak for anyone else but i always preferred a white phone or the brushed aluminum look.... :| , then there are those who like the black phones with a simple black case....

never liked those colorful cases.....

lifeproof, UAG cases are enough for me....simple and enough protection

my itouch i didn't care for which color since it's in an armband and all you see is the white front....
my macbook pro is in a clear case...again i like the aluminum look...
ipad in an apple case, didn't care much for the color either

other apple products aren't in any case

but again, your opinion isn't across the board, some people prefer apple products because of the function more than anything else....

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 15th, 2013, 5:36 pm

pioneer wrote:Here I was thinking having to enter my apple ID password to install an app was a task

Sorry for android people

grimreaper009 wrote:
pioneer wrote:Here I was thinking having to enter my apple ID password to install an app was a task

Sorry for android people

This

Um it just displays the used permissions, it isn't any task, u just need to hit accept. We don't even need to enter our Google password.

M_2NR wrote:Yeh, that and try getting location restricted apps installed on android. PITA. Oh, and wakelocks... smh.

Installing location restricted apps are extremely simple. Switch on a VPN like hotspot sheild, click switch account and you're on the US play store until a reboot again. Wake locks aren't an issue unless you have crappy apps installed.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 15th, 2013, 5:44 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:can't speak for anyone else but i always preferred a white phone or the brushed aluminum look.... :| , then there are those who like the black phones with a simple black case....

never liked those colorful cases.....

lifeproof, UAG cases are enough for me....simple and enough protection

my itouch i didn't care for which color since it's in an armband and all you see is the white front....
my macbook pro is in a clear case...again i like the aluminum look...
ipad in an apple case, didn't care much for the color either

other apple products aren't in any case

but again, your opinion isn't across the board, some people prefer apple products because of the function more than anything else....

Yip i was only referring to the iphone... I made that pretty clear... And i like how used the word "some". I said "most", not all...

I have a lifeproof.. That thing is big and ugly.. I only use that.. Like now, messaging in the rain but i mostly use my thin clear case show the beauty of the phone. Paper bag over good looking girlfriend's face...Nope

Postby M_2NR » September 15th, 2013, 6:42 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I don't think they can change perms without asking - can they?

yeh but blindly clicking without reading ftw

Jonathan_337 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Yeh, that and try getting location restricted apps installed on android. PITA. Oh, and wakelocks... smh.

Installing location restricted apps are extremely simple. Switch on a VPN like hotspot sheild, click switch account and you're on the US play store until a reboot again. Wake locks aren't an issue unless you have crappy apps installed.
It _used_ to be this easy but not anymore. And with apple you don't even have to worry about a random drain one day or rebooting every so often.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 15th, 2013, 7:22 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I don't think they can change perms without asking - can they?

Jonathan_337 wrote:

It _used_ to be this easy but not anymore. And with apple you don't even have to worry about a random drain one day or rebooting every so often.

It still works fine for me. I clear the Google services data if it gives any trouble and just reboot.

Postby M_2NR » September 15th, 2013, 7:34 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

Jonathan_337 wrote:

It still works fine for me. I clear the Google services data if it gives any trouble and just reboot.

I can make purchases on Google Music with a VPN but never got apps to work although in essence it should ae.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 15th, 2013, 7:36 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

Jonathan_337 wrote:

I can make purchases on Google Music with a VPN but never got apps to work although in essence it should ae.

I use Pandora every other day, and it works great. Try hotspot sheild and see how it works for you.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 15th, 2013, 7:48 pm

uncle sam wrote:Why do you think they are putting on colourful housings... Not to make their phone more attractive? ..more appealing to the eye?

So you guy think if they could afford an iphone they wouldnt buy one.. They just want to use an ugly bb because can get free bbm?
but the colourful housings wont appeal to the people who you claimed bought previous iphones for the look of machined aluminum.
I think they did it to appeal to a new section of the market just like they did with the colourful iPod Touch, Nano, Shuffle etc - Apple's original logo was in 7 colours even the iMac's came in bright colours at one time.

Apple spends alot on design, but if the devices didnt work well they would not dominate the market.

I honestly do not think people will buy (and continue to buy) a nice looking phone that was difficult to use