Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-09-02/garbage-thrown-ahmed%E2%80%99s-tour?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=facebookResidents threw garbage at a United National Congress (UNC) entourage and chased its candidate Raziah Ahmed, former Senate President and acting President of T&T, out of Ramsaran Street, San Fernando yesterday during a walkabout in the marginal constituency of San Fernando West.
Police were called in even though Ahmed said she was in no way threatened by the disgruntled residents.
As a banner of People’s National Movement (PNM) candidate Faris Al-Rawi fluttered in the wind, the residents said they did not want to see any politician at election time because of the “gimmicks.”
Natalie Des Vignes, from Ramsaran Street apartments, who contested the local government elections on an Independent Liberal Party (ILP) ticket last year, said they were unhappy with the UNC.
“We fight in the last elections with Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan and she give us nothing. We don’t even have a Cepep contract here to clean the place. We, the residents, have to chip up every month to raise money to cut the yard,” Des Vignes said. The lawn outside the apartment buildings was littered with beer bottles and other debris.
She added, “We have no work here and we don’t mind getting a few contracts because people here cannot even afford to buy food.”
Another resident, who requested anonymity, said, “We don’t want to see the UNC here. All they doing is passing and waving. What they feel this is a beauty contest? Children hungry here and the only way we will welcome them inside here is if they treat us better.”
A third resident added, “Kamla need to come here to Embacadere and meet with us. Come and check the youths, don’t send anybody else.”
Meanwhile, Vicky Ramlogan, who was part of Ahmed’s entourage said police were called in when the residents started to get unruly.
“They should not get on so because people have a right to vote for whoever they want. This is a democracy,” Ramlogan said.
He added that the residents threw their garbage at the entourage, without any care for the environment.
Ahmed said yesterday that it was the first time that she received such a response during her walkabouts.
“People came out on the road and started to shout. We continued to walk. I didn’t hear what they were saying,” she said.
Asked whether she was getting a negative response from the San Fernando West constituents, Ahmed responded, “The feeling we are getting is that some people clearly supports us and there are others who clearly do not support us. This is the first street where we got that response. We haven’t had this kind of situation before where people are getting on with themselves. I don’t know what their problem is but we are here to bring service to the people.” Police continued patrols in the area up to press time but there were no incidents of violence.
find this and the defacing of opponents Signage distasteful... leh we have a clean last week of SIlly Season nah?
Ramsaran st, had always been PNM to the bone. It is made up of 1960s Style barrack houses that PNM gave to them. Some used to pay $4 to $10 rent and even that they refuse to pay. Don't expect anything better from the inhabitants living there. They more PNM than any part of Trini.
It is amazing how you can talk out of both sides of your mouth just win a point.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Is being fired sufficient punishment for corruption?
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Is being fired sufficient punishment for corruption?
Of course not. Let us now see if short man Imbert keeps good on his promise that corrupt people will go to jail.
De Dragon wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Is being fired sufficient punishment for corruption?
Of course not. Let us now see if short man Imbert keeps good on his promise that corrupt people will go to jail.
Never happen, Bimbert have too much cocoa in de sun.........and in he buttam too BTW
Coast Guard's newest ship makes $270,000 marijuana bust.
...haul seized on maiden patrol
Story Created: Nov 12, 2015 at 3:57 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 12, 2015 at 3:57 PM ECT
Following is the text of a Press Release issued by the Trinidad & Tobago Coast Guard on Thursday:
THE COAST GUARD’s latest acquired asset TTS Nelson 2 – CG 60 whilst on its maiden patrol on Wednesday 11th November 2015, at approximately 12:30 pm made its first drug recovery.
CG 60 whilst on its first patrol in northern Gulf of Paria observed a pirogue that spotted CG 60 and suddenly changed its direction and sped off. CG 60 quickly launched its onboard Interceptor and gave chase. CG 60’s Interceptor caught up with the fleeing pirogue the vessel had nothing onboard. Due to the interceptor crew’s diligence an immediate check of the beach area of the nearby island a crocus bag containing smaller packets was recovered.
The crocus bag was later brought to Staubles Bay where twenty-seven (27) smaller packets were found containing marijuana. The packets weighed a total of 13.68 kg with a street value of Two Hundred and Seventy Thousand TT Dollars ($270,000). The Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard remains vigilant in the fight against crime in the maritime sphere and continues to do its service to Trinidad and Tobago.
The illegal packages were handed over to Organised Crime Narcotics and Firearms Bureau, for further processing.
Kirk Jean-Baptiste MA
Lieutenant Commander
Trinidad & Tobago Coast Guard
http://www.tv6tnt.com/home/rotator/Coas ... 50822.html
RASC wrote:Dickriding101 classes being hosted by Dedragon again I see... How this semester's enrollment looking bai?
Cause like you continuously talking to yourself and no one taking you on... Wais that one Dan
Unemployment rate back to 3.2 percent
By Andre Bagoo Wednesday, November 18 2015
THE OVERALL unemployment rate has fallen to 3.2 percent, back to the record low which it had reached in the first quarter of 2014.
The latest Labour Force Bulletin – compiled by the Central Statistical Office – was yesterday released by the Ministry of Communications. It stated the overall unemployment rate for Trinidad and Tobago decreased from 3.6 percent in the first quarter 2015 to 3.2 percent for the second quarter 2015.
The survey data showed an increase of 5,800 or 0.9 percent in the number of persons with jobs, in the quarter under review. Broken down by industry, there was a net increase of 5,500 new construction jobs, and 3,800 new jobs in the “community, social and personal services” sector.
The CSO also stated that there was an increase of 5,500 jobs in the “Government public service/statutory” sector.
The total labour force – or the number of persons over 15-years old, able and willing to work regardless of whether employed or unemployed – rose by 3,100 to 649,100.
The unemployment rate is a proportion of the labour force which does not have work, while the labour force participation rate is the proportion of the population above 15-years old that can work. The overall Labour Force Participation Rate for Trinidad and Tobago increased to 61.0 percent in the second quarter of 2015.
These figures are based on a sample of the total population, and the bulletin gives an approximate margin of error of 9.5 percent in relation to the figures for the total unemployed
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,220072.html
eliteauto wrote:finally after almost 2 years of requests and pleas the entire O'meara road has been paved, one of the major arteries into Arima that was in a horrible state after WASA/Contractor works
Habit7 wrote:Doh worry, WASA coming back...
dougla_boy wrote:eliteauto wrote:finally after almost 2 years of requests and pleas the entire O'meara road has been paved, one of the major arteries into Arima that was in a horrible state after WASA/Contractor works
yes, road was in a state jed...and every night WASA was digging up the ground....for a few months well
Morpheus wrote:Zoom hush yuh kant nah. Steups. Yuh record stick?
I miss UML yes
Morpheus wrote:Small ting. Somebody had to do it. Is freeness yuh like so? Ent you have a big wuk?
urbandilema wrote:Ny thoughts on the new hdc policy heard sum new stuff about the system